We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still finding their feet but will make you feel at home” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Centra Taum Seminyak Bali

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Centra Taum Seminyak Bali to your Saves list
Centra Taum Seminyak Bali
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jalan Lebak Sari 37-39 Petitenget | Kerobokan, Seminyak, Bali 80361, Indonesia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free Wi-Fi + Free ABF
Ranked #59 of 115 Hotels in Seminyak
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Still finding their feet but will make you feel at home”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2012

We stayed at Centra Taum for just over a week in May and used the hotel as a base for the guests of our 35 guest wedding party. To begin with most of the reviews on TA are correct and the pictures advertising the property meet the reality.

We definitely had a number of hiccups when we first arrived, however these were sorted through patience and polite communication with the Taum Team.

This hotel is still finding it's feet, however the Housekeeping Team, especially Rully and Ari worked beyond a limited hotel service expectations and would be a credit to any 5 Star hotel in Bali.

Rooms

As we had 35 guests in our party I think we saw just about every available room in the hotel. My personal opinion is the duplex pool suite is the best value for money, but the studio at $56++ would out shine any studio / hotel room in Seminyak, if not the World when compared. All rooms are spacious and the beds are incredibly comfortable - probably the best I have had in Bali.

There is no mini bar, however there is a full service kitchenette which will meet any of your kitchen requirements from home - not that you would want to cook in Bali as the are culinary delights on every corner. When we stayed the hotel only had 1 corkscrew for the entire hotel - I went to Bintang Supermarket and bought an extra 17 but again the hotel is finding its feet and for the price this should be overlooked.

The bathrooms are spacious, clean and come with amenities and are serviced well daily.

The pools in the rooms are fantastic, great temperature and always clean.

Privacy of the outdoor areas really depends which room you are staying in.


Restaurant

The restaurant is basic and fairly inexpensive - 70k for a large Bintang and 50k - 100k for most standard hotel food offerings - Burgers, Club Sandwiches, Balinese dishes etc.

The food is average, the hotel needs to pick up in this department, but again the restaurants on your doorstep will make up for this.

Breakfast is included and again for the price there is no need to go hungry, just don't expect champagne and caviar on a shoestring budget.


Staff

Meta and her team in the front of house delivered with Balinese purity and professionalism and made our stay comfortable and relaxed. Some promises of completed construction - the spa, availability of transfers did not come into fruition however I expect this was due to management overselling the construction / availability of services and the staff communicating this to guests.

All of the staff referred to our party by name by the end and this was appreciated.

As mentioned, Rully and Ari from the Housekeeping Team served beyond expectations and allowed us to inspect each room and leave an arrival present for our party before each guest checked in. Any maintenance issues were addressed by this team by politely addressing them and we will always remember their dedication to us.

Mid way through our stay we stayed up the road at Villa Air Bali for our wedding - see review - and when we returned to our room for the final night Rully and Ari had decorated our room with bouquets of flowers, chilled wine, petals and candles. It was amazingly beautiful, thank you. To your credit I am now writing this from the "6 Star" Semara at Uluwatu for our honeymoon and so far I haven't seen one flower in our room.

In the restaurant Lia and her colleagues assisted and served our team diligently each day with a smile and courtesy. We thank you from the bottom of our hearts for your service. To management you need to assist you team by ensuring the food is quality controlled and you have stock of items on the menu.


Notes to make a good hotel great:

The lifts need to be air conditioned - In Bali heat at the middle of the day they are unbearable
All rooms need mosquito nets
The lights in the rooms need to be identified for guests - for those reading they are under the timber flap on the side table next to your bed!
Save money on the excessive bathroom amenities and invest this in items guests need - corkscrews, room service menus in each room etc
Restaurant needs work on the western menu and needs to be quality controlled n.b Plastic wrap is not edible
Cocktails - Far too strong, even for Australian's - F&B training for your team would make them shine even brighter
Arrival desk - Change this to cover the wires etc and it will add to initial presentation of the hotel
Groups - I would offer groups staying with you a specific menu that you know you are able to service, our group would have spent 3 times more if items including beer were always available.
Spa - Again, an opportunity to make money - The spa is not yet open so we brought in massage therapists, make up artists, spa treatment artist to the hotel and had these by the pool and in guests rooms - The hotel could have offered these services from an outside provider until the spa is completed and would have made added margin.
Internet - Wifi is fine but the resort computer needs replacing, far too slow.
Gym - Great gym for holiday fitness, just add amenities such as towels and water


Overall our stay was made unbelievable by the staff and affordable for all guests. This is the type of hotel where if you are staying in groups or with family you will feel comfortable no matter what you can afford. For budget travelers it will exceed expectations for high end travelers it will be comfortable yet more than affordable. For families you will enjoy your time here if you want to get away from the big resort crowds.

Room Tip: Most rooms are split over to levels, apart from the studio and 2 bed pool suite. All pool rooms are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

371 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    143
    164
    37
    19
    8
See reviews for
77
129
27
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2012

I had an early flight into Bali so i arrived at the hotel early and only had to wait about 30 minutes for my room to be ready which was great. I had emailed earlier to advise them of this so it may pay to let them know if you are arriving out of normal check-in times. The hotel is only very new and is a modern design and clean. Some of the finishes are a bit unfinished and there are pieces of cardboard on some of the smaller windows instead of curtains or blinds which is a bit weird. Overall the place is nice and once some of the kinks are worked out, it will be much better. The pool area is great and the staff are lovely. The breakfast is your choice of hot food, plus a small buffet of pastries, juice, tea & coffee, fruit and toast. If you are the type who likes a massive feast at breakfast you will be disappointed, but we found this to be tasty and suitabley sized for the average person.
Watch out for the crappy road to get to the hotel from the main road, as they are still building hotels in the area and the government won't pave the road until works are completed. You will get a "free bum massage" as our driver liked to joke. It's only a 5 minute walk to the local mini mart, spas, restaurants and cafes etc, but it is out of the main drag of Seminyak so may be too far for those who like to be right int he middle of things. 5-10 minutes in a taxi will get you to Seminyak Square and the beach for about $1 so it's not hard to get around. It was a very comfortable stay and we had no problems at all.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian C, General Manager at Centra Taum Seminyak Bali, responded to this review, May 14, 2012
Many thanks for this review, I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and took the trouble to review us. Just for information, we have just put in our permanent breakfast buffet counter. So we will be having an egg cooking station and all hot food from this counter. This will make breakfast service much more convenient, and also allow guests to choose exactly what they wish.

Hope to look forward to welcoming you back to Centra Taum Bali!

Ian Cameron
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2012

For S$70 per night inclusive of breakfast for 2 indeed value for $$$. Spa is not ready, no 24hrs room service as the Hotel is still pretty new. Hotel allow us to order food delivery to the room.

Nice room, nice bath room with bath tub. Room with attached out door balcony with comfy day bed.

Room Tip: Choose rooms near the swimming pool if you are travelling with old folks as there are many stairs to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2012

It was a new hotel, and granted it's not finished, but it was a wonderful stay. The rooms were big and clean, the pool is gorgeous, restaurant nice, food good, staff friendly and welcoming, and best of all the bed is big and extremely comfortable.
We stayed 4 nights with a 2 year old. They had a cot ready for us. Our worries after reading some of the reviews were unfounded. It was the best part of our holiday in Bali. It was calm and tranquil in hectic Seminyak, and we were very happy with it overall. It's actually perfect for familiies with little kids as the kiddie pool is great and they have a little play area as well.
The breakfast was good every day. The staff try hard and are hospitable.
We would certainly recommend this place.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2012

Me and my friend stayed in this hotel from 6/4/2012 to 9/4/2012. This is recommended by our local travel agency and as Centra group is a big brand so we chose this hotel.
First day we arrived the room, we have paid an extra bed and extra set of towels, but they haven't prepared any of those. Also our wardrobe has no rail and hangers, luckily they have fixed everything eventually, but already gave us a lot of trouble.
Another inconvenience is our room location. The design of the hotel is like M.C. Escher's maze. 2 out of 3 elevators are out of order. We have to take the lift to 2/F and go up one more floor and then pass a lot of stairs and bridges before we can reach our room, however there are NO indication along the way, hence we have got lost for a few times.
At last, we have gave their manager a letter to complain everything we suffer, and their manager replied us with offering an upgrade of our room, a meal at the hotel and a refund (which he didn't mentioned what is he going to refund). We have only one night left for the upgrade, so we packed our stuff at noon before we go out as their request and the staff promised that they will move our stuff to the new room at 2pm. However when we came back at 10pm, our luggage were still in our old room. Not to mention the free meal is totally rubbish and no wifi in both rooms.
Till now, we still didn't receive anything from the hotel about the refund. We didn't ask for a refund in our letter, however I can't believe a hotel manager of such a big hotel group will offer something without doing any follow up. I am totally disappointed about this hotel and the Centra group and would not recommend anyone to stay there.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the pool are the best rooms already, but generally I won't recommend this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian C, General Manager at Centra Taum Seminyak Bali, responded to this review, May 14, 2012
Thank you for your comments, let me try to answer the points you raise.

Although we try to have a guests room ready for their arrival, with early arrivals this is not always possible. You arrived at the hotel a 8am in the morning, and the room that we had initially allocated for you was still occupied by guests due to depart that day. So we prepared the first room that became available for you, hence the extra bed not being in place when you initially went to your room. As you were keen to get into your room, our Receptionist felt it more important to achieve that first and put the extra bed in afterwards.

Although all the rooms are numbered sequentially, there is additional directional signage that will be fitted by the end of May that will assist in navigating the resort. We did experience some technical problems with one of our elevators on the day of your arrival, but I am pleased to note that this was fixed later in the afternoon.

With regard to your room move, as you say our Duty Manager asked that you pack your belongings so we could move them. Unfortunately, when our staff came to move these they found that whilst one bag was packed and ready to move, two others were not. The one bag that was packed was moved to your new room, but for security reasons it would have been quite improper for us to handle the belongings that were not packed. So the Duty Manager took the decision to await your return so the rest of the belongings could be packed, and a Bellboy was then assigned to you to assist in moving those bags to your new room.

Neither the Duty Manager, nor our Rooms Division Manager, with whom you spoke offered any refund to you. Indeed, as you had paid through a travel agent it would not be possible to give a refund directly to yourself. Both of these managers are fully aware that any refund would have required my approval, which was not sought. So I am not sure how this misunderstanding has occurred, our Duty Manager offered you a room upgrade and a complimentary meal in our restaurant, which were the proper responses to your situation.

Obviously, I am disappointed if you did not enjoy your stay with us, and for the causes of that which are under my control I do apologize.

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2012

The hotel is new and interlocking buildings are interesting.
I particularly like the space at the pool area. The rooms are comfortable and all things were functional.
We booked the Centra Studio and added 1 bed. The room was spatious enough for 3, and the wide couch could have doubled up as the 3rd bed.

The staff was friendly, sometimes giving us useful tips on travel etc.
I found Seminyak to be a great area to stay - nice restaurants away from the madderning crowd and vendors of Kuta. However the hotel location is off a unsealed dirt road that is abit far off the main street, and not very well lit at night. So the bicycle rental is useless until the road is paved.
Hotel airport transfer is also rather expensive quoted at around RP180 000. Eventually we took a blue bird cab, which came up to not even RP70 000.

Room Tip: pool view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livermore, California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2012

This hotel was open around Dec 2011 last year, thus there were still many works in progress during our stay (4-8 April 2012). Apart from the dust, the works didn't bother us that much. The receptionist was very helpful, he was trying to make sure that we were satisfied with the room we were in.

We were quite impressed with the layout of this hotel. It almost like a maze! Our room was a deluxe studio, which was on the top floor. It was so confusing to use the stairs =) good thing this hotel has elevator, not just elevator but a glass elevator (caution it can be so hot inside the elevator during the day)! Good size of pool and breakfast.

The suite itself was spacious, big bathtub, small kitchen (no microwave tho), cozy bed and pillow, a balcony with single size sofa and on top of our room there was a secret garden with two beach chairs.

The location of this hotel is quite close to 66 beach. It takes around 15 min by motorbike (~AUD$8/day).

With a good management, this hotel has a potential.

Room Tip: Get a room with a secret garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Centra Taum Seminyak Bali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Centra Taum Seminyak Bali

Address: Jalan Lebak Sari 37-39 Petitenget | Kerobokan, Seminyak, Bali 80361, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Seminyak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#45 Spa Hotel in Seminyak
#50 Luxury Hotel in Seminyak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Centra Taum Seminyak Bali 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centra Taum Seminyak Bali features 90 prestigious Studios, Duplex Suites, Family Suites and Pool Suites with several units offering 15 m2 private plunge pools. Each room offers extensive private furnished balcony complete with double daybed whilst every Duplex Suite features sofa bed suitable for up to 2 children. All family friendly units feature cooking facilities as well as separate lounging area. Free Wi-Fi Internet access is provided throughout the resort, in all guest rooms and public areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Centra Taum Seminyak Bali reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Centra Taum Seminyak Bali

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Centra Taum Seminyak Bali, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.