We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't say enough good about this amazing villa” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bali Ginger Suites

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Seminyak
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bali Ginger Suites
Jalan Drupadi II | Turn at LaSal Rest, Left at End Down Driveway, Seminyak, Bali 80361, Indonesia (Formerly Shikumen Suite Seminyak)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
20% off room rate
Ranked #186 of 295 Specialty lodging in Seminyak
Jakarta, Indonesia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Can't say enough good about this amazing villa”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

As mentioned in other reviews, this villa is stunning, and even better than the photos. The staff is extremely helpful, friendly, and responsive to any guest issues. The attention to detail, the small touches, the beauty, and serenity - it's off the beaten track so you won't be bothered by hawkers and you don't notice other guests.
The only (small) issue is something the hotel can't control, which is that there is a bar nearby that played music quite loudly until well past midnight. It was not so loud that we couldn't sleep, but it was too loud to be drowned out even by a white noise player on my phone.
We happened to arrive the same day a honeymooning couple were arriving and had a chance to see how they had decorated the suite - it was stunning, really too beautiful for words, with a heart of fresh red flower petals on the bed.

Room Tip: There isn't a bad room in the place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lou W, Owner at Bali Ginger Suites, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Thank you so much for your wonderful review. It certainly gives us all here great pleasure to know that staying with us helped you have a lovely holiday. We love The Shikumen Villa, and are finding that our guests are really enjoying the design and ambience.

We are sourcing earplugs to supply complimentary to guests staying at The Shikumen which should help solve the problems of the nightclubs, which unfortunately are a general problem now in Seminyak. By regulation they should not be open late, however we have not been successful in getting this changed.

Also, thank you for mentioning The Shikumen Suite. We do have a honeymoon package available for the Suite, although people are also booking the package for anniversaries and any other romantic occasion. Of course simply staying in Bali is enough of a romantic occasion to justify it.

We look forward to seeing you next time, regards, Lou.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    8
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
6
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

From the minute we arrived hot and sweaty until we sadly had to leave we were spoilt with the great attention of lovely Balinese staff, cooled by the great a/c and long soaks in the fantastic pools that are a delight to look at. We stayed in the shikumen villa "honeymoon" suite and how beautiful it was! Huge comfortable bed to get lost in, silky soft bamboo sheeting. The cutest little Chinese bath. Glorious lighting. Everything you need is supplied, but if you want more the staff are only too willing to help. Nothing is too much trouble. Fridge well stocked with drinks at the cheapest prices which was very nice! Yummy pastries to start you in the morning. Even though all the rooms were full we felt like we had our own space and privacy and were not disturbed at night at all. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: Can book adjoining rooms for families or groups traveling together
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lou W, Owner at Bali Ginger Suites, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
What a great review. Thankyou so much.

We really had a lot of fun setting up the Shikumen Suite knowing that sometimes it would be used for honeymoons, and are so pleased that you enjoyed it. It is unique and memorable, and that is exactly what a honeymoon is as well.

Please feel free to stay again even after the honeymoon is over.

Best wishes, Lou
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PDX
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

This villa was even more gorgeous in real life than it was in the photos, which is rarely the case. They did an excellent job with the design and the details. It feels so new and clean, very comfortable- quality bedding, flat screen TVs, and effective AC. The villa also had an iPod/iPhone dock with speakers, hair dryer, stocked kitchen and fridge full of well priced drinks and snacks.

The location is good, but a little to far to walk to some of the places we liked (Potato Head, Grocer and Grind, Bodyworks). That wasn't a problem though with taxis being easily accessible and able to drive you there with AC for about $1.50.

We had read some reviews where people mentioned it being noisy from the local nightclubs. We didn't notice that at all. Once in our rooms with the air on, we didn't hear a thing until the roosters woke up in the morning.

The staff was also extremely helpful during our travel planning and our stay.

We would definitely return to this villa and recommend it.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lou W, Owner at Bali Ginger Suites, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Thankyou so much for your lovely review. We really appreciate your comments and feedback.

As you say, the location is close to many restaurants, nightclubs and shops, but if there are other place you want to get to, taxis are cheap and plentiful.

We look forward to you staying again soon.

Regards, Lou
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melville, Western Australia, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

Our stay at Shikumen Villa and Ginger Suites epitomised everything that Bali means to me! Good food, great shopping, friendly people and a beautifully appointed relaxing haven to come home to. Walking distance to my favorite boutique, Seminyak Beach, and loads of great bars and restaurants it gave us the perfect home base to do everything we wanted. The staff went out of their way to make our stay comfortable and a most memorable holiday. The attention to detail that has been given to these rooms is evident and I would have to say the best night's sleep I've had away from home (maybe not the rooster). The mattress was incredibly comfortable and the bamboo sheets to die for! The accommodation was personalised with our own made to order breakfast in the villa. I can't wait for our return visit.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lou W, Owner at Bali Ginger Suites, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Thankyou for your wonderful review Sue. It is particularly good to read that you had the "best nights sleep" away from home. we know how important a comfy bed and room setting is when you are on holiday. We look forward to seeing you next time.

Best wishes, Lou
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Humpty Doo, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2012

This villa is a short walk from a large number of restaurants, shopping and day spas. About 500 metres from the beach. The small number of rooms allows for extra attention as guests. The staff were extremely helpful with nothing too much trouble. The setting allows for some relaxation after a day out. The owners have added in the little extra's (like plunger coffee which is a real bonus in Bali) that enhances the overall experience. We would have no hesitation in recommending this venue to others. Though it is suitable for families with up to three bedrooms linking, I would not recommend this for small children due to the pools.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LouWestbury, Owner at Bali Ginger Suites, responded to this review, August 6, 2012
Dan and Wendy, thankyou for your wonderful review. You have beautifully articulated exactly what we wished Bali Ginger Suites would become when we were planning it.

We look forward to seeing you next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Bali Ginger Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bali Ginger Suites

Address: Jalan Drupadi II | Turn at LaSal Rest, Left at End Down Driveway, Seminyak, Bali 80361, Indonesia (Formerly Shikumen Suite Seminyak)
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Seminyak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #186 of 295 Specialty lodging in Seminyak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Private, luxury 1 bedroom suite, completely different from anything else in Bali. Romantic, unique and very very sexy.The Shikumen Suite is romantic and spacious featuring an antique hip bath in the huge stunning bedroom, as well as a private en suite and courtyard. It is a great option for a honeymoon or anniversary, or any other romantic interlude you have planned. The structure is antique, but contemporary luxury is a key feature of the Shikumen Suite. The bed is big and comfortable, and dressed with bamboo linen for that extra special feel on your skin. Blending an antique wooden Chinese house with contemporary design, Shikumen Suite is unique, elegant, beautiful and very very romantic.GENERAL INFORMATIONShikumen Suite is nestled in the heart of Seminyak. Indulge yourself in the pleasures of Seminyak's fabulous restaurants, boutique shops, vibrant night life and the popular beach only a short walk away. Guests also have free use of the 14 metre Ginger SwImmIng Pool and it's double day beds.The location is ideal for guests who want to be close to the beach as well as looking to experience inner city living, dInIng and shoppIng Bali style.Hidden down a secluded lane, but within Bali's premiere tourist district, Shikumen Suite is located in fine company; fine dining, fine shopping and fine night-life. It is walking distance to many great restaurants and venues, and a 5 minute taxi-ride to places such as KuDeTa, "Eat Street", Potato Head and just around the corner from Jalan Seminyak with great restaurants such as Queens Tandoor and Made's Warung.Only 500 metres from the beach and our favourite Spa around the corner, it is the perfect location for a relaxing and sensuous holiday with numerous options for you to explore, including the option to stay right where you are.DIRECTIONSTurn on to Jalan Drupadi from either Jalan Camplung Tanduk (known locally as Jalan Dyana Pura) or Jalan Kayu Aya (known locally as "Eat Street"). Then turn into Jalan Drupadi II (La Sal Restaurant is on the corner) then go straight until you reach the end of this short road and then turn left into the driveway lined with umbrellas which light up the driveway at night.Access by motorbike can also be made from Jalan Dyana Pura. Look out for Cosa Nostra Pizza Restaurant and turn right into Gang Cempaka. Follow this small gang (lane) around a bend which will then lead you into the driveway of Shikumen Villa and Suite. This is also the driveway to Bali Ginger Suites. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bali Ginger Suites Seminyak

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bali Ginger Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Bali Ginger Suites to your Saves list