We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A perfect location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bali Ginger Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Bali Ginger Suites to your Saves list
Bali Ginger Suites
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jalan Drupadi II | Turn at MiniMart, Opp Harris Hotel, Seminyak, Bali 80361, Indonesia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
30% off room rate
Ranked #31 of 102 Hotels in Seminyak
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A perfect location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

We stayed two days of our honeymoon at the suites after staying in Ubud. Our booking was a breeze and post booking we connected with Pia and Vita who were a charm to interact and arranged for a pickup from Ubud. We opted for a small boutique hotel such as this instead of a larger one simply for the privacy and personalized service - which we got. We took the room facing the alley instead of the swimming pool

The suite is exactly as shown in the pictures, it was clean and had the most comfortable large beds; a simple yummy breakfast is included with a choice of a coffee (latte, espresso etc) or juice along with pan cakes or eggs or yogurt with whole wheat granola. We had the eggs and the yogurt which were delicious. A welcome drink is also offered..
Our room was cleaned with the linens and towels changed the next day without asking.
The room comes with a kitchenette, fridge, safe, cable TV and a water cooler.

At first we were apprehensive while booking after reading the reviews of noise from the clubs, but we hardly heard any and nothing which kept us awake. Since we were staying in town we couldn't complain about the noise which is part of being in the city.

Though we didn't swim in the pool, we just sat at the edge and relaxed after a long day. It felt we had the whole place to ourselves.

Yes to get to the suites you need to walk through a dark alley and the surrounding area can be poorly lit but we never felt unsafe. There is a nice small cafe right down the road from the suite which was open late.
The suite is located right behind a street lined with shops and restaurants and the main street is a walk able distance so the location was perfect.

We would definitely recommend this place and will be staying there once again.

I suggest the owners not to club the pictures of their other properties along with this suite simply so its not confusing for the reader.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lou W, Owner at Bali Ginger Suites, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
It was a pleasure to read your review and we really enjoyed your comments.

One of the things you highlight that is important to us is that our photos and room descriptions are accurate. We want our guests to be clear about what to expect and what they have booked. In addition, guest reviews are a tool so that people can be aware of our service and the surrounding areas. Seminyak is a vibrant, busy and stimulating part of Bali, with a robust nightlife, great shopping and terrific beaches. Inner-city living; Bali-style.

Again, thank you for taking time to share your experience.

Best wishes, Lou
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    26
    4
    3
    4
See reviews for
13
52
17
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2014

We went to Seminyak as most of the people would do when they are travelling to Bali and we had a fantastic time at Bali Ginger suites.

The design was great, the villa is similar as photos, and I would say even better when you get there for the first time…so designed and with lot of amazing deco.

The staff were super great, super warm and genuinely hospitable. We have to say that it was one of the factors which helps us to spend great holidays : Warm welcoming of the entire staff, we really felt at home.
A special thanks to Pia and Vita who were amazing.

The only reason why I would not recommend this villa is to keep it available for myself next year…!
I look forward to coming back really soon.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lou W, Owner at Bali Ginger Suites, responded to this review, 5 weeks ago
It was great to read your review and we are so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. We think our staff do an excellent job of making our guests feel welcome and at home during their stay, and we are glad you appreciated this.

We look forward to seeing you next time (and we will keep a room available just for you).

Regards, Lou
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2014

The Bali Ginger Suites are located in a tiny dirty and dark back alley and are extremely difficult to find. To the south of the suites there are noisy night clubs, which you can hear until 5 am before the roosters next door start crowing. To the immediate north there is a dark, sewerage stinking road with little to offer tourists. we rarely feel unsafe in Bali but we did here walking down this street at night.
The suite we had was very average. The breakfast had little choice, was extremely small and was the worst we have ever been offered in Bali. The fridge and kitchenette area is located outside where it receives the afternoon sun, this makes it unsuitable to store food in this area.
Our room was never cleaned during our 3 day stay, nor linen changed. When we fell extremely ill during our stay no one from Bali Ginger even bothered to check on us or help us.

I would not recommend the Bali Ginger Suites to anyone. There are so many better places to choice from in cleaner more tourist friendly areas.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lou W, Owner at Bali Ginger Suites, responded to this review, 5 weeks ago
Thank you for providing feedback about your stay. It was very disappointing to hear about your experience. We will take on your feedback and make sure that wherever we can we improve our service.

After reading your comments regarding cleaning I have checked our Housekeeping Log Book, which has noted the following; "called them if they want us to clean their room but the guests always answer "not today, we don't feel like going out, we just want to rest""

On another day it notes the following; "they asked for fresh towels, face towels and a bath math twice and we delivered to the room twice and also offer if the staff can clean the room, but they said "no it's fine, we want to sleep""

In addition the Log Book records; That the staff did "call a doctor and ambulance came, ordering chicken noodles for them and send it to their room, printing their boarding pass, booked bluebird as they requested for early morning check out.."

Clearly we have let you down and I will speak with my staff about ways to better take care of the guests. However it is confusing for them as they believe that they were doing what you had asked by leaving you alone to recover. We certainly want to provide a good level of cleaning in all the rooms and we will review our processes to ensure this happens.

We provide 4 options for breakfast;
Omelette with cheese and grilled vegetables.
Granola and yoghurt with tropical fruit salad.
Croisant and jam.
Banana Pancakes with Palm Sugar, infused with vanilla pod and cinnamon.

There is a choice of any style of coffee (latte, cappuccino, espresso, plunger etc), tea or fruit juice.

Unfortunately it is not practical for us to offer a wider range of breakfasts.

Finally, my husband and I did meet you personally during your stay at Bali Ginger Suites, and remember that you seemed to be enjoying your stay. You certainly did not raise any of these concerns with us at the time, nor give us the chance to address some of these issues directly. We are committed to giving our guests the best stay in Bali that we can, and welcome the chance to help our guests when possible.

Best wishes, Lou
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014

Im currently staying in the 2 bedroom villa for 4 nights and its outstanding, comfortable beds and nicely furnishings. Breakfast is included, only tried the pancakes which werent that great, hopefully tomorrow will be better. in a nice quite part of seminyak but still a short walk to cafes and shops.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lou W, Owner at Bali Ginger Suites, responded to this review, August 27, 2014
Thanks for your review and I am so glad that you are enjoying your stay.

Thanks for your feedback about the pancakes. Will check what they are doing because they should be delicious. We have also just found a recipe for palm sugar syrup infused with vanilla bean and cinnamon.

Regards, Lou
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

The suite was gorgeous, the bed huge, all the linens and furnishings etc were of high quality. Our suite had a kitchenette, separate bathroom and daybed for lounging, in addition to the lounges surrounding the central pool area. Breakfast was included and they also made extra to suit our tastes at our request for a small additional charge. The staff were friendly and accommodating and couldn't do enough for us to make us comfortable. Our only regret was that we didn't stay longer as it was only one night en route to Ubud. Next time we will stay longer to enjoy the peaceful vibe.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lou W, Owner at Bali Ginger Suites, responded to this review, August 22, 2014
It was a delight to read your review, and the detailed description you included about our property. We have worked hard to make sure the suites are well appointed as well as functional, and your review reflects this. We think Bali Ginger Suites provides a great mix of privacy as well as the opportunity to meet guests around the pool or cafe in a relaxed atmosphere.

We look forward to seeing you next time.

Regards, Lou
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014

We Miss you Guys.

My Family and i spent 8 magnificent days at Bali Ginger suites. We had the 3 bedroom villa which includes the Shikumen Suite.Plenty of room for all, it sometimes felt to big. The children loved the pool and the staff, especially Breakfast. They also made new friends with some of the local children.
At times i thought my kids are having to much fun and perhaps annoying other guests, apparently this wasn't the case, as i'm told they were well behaved and i'm sure i witnessed a tear or two when we departed. Hopefully it wasn't tears of joy.
My fridge was constantly refilled with Bintang everyday, never running low and at a very reasonable price. Nothing better than a cold Beer.
The free wifi was just like being at home. Probably the best service we recieved anywhere in Bali. We stayed at Popular large family resort for another 8 days following the Ginger Suites and there Wifi was non existant compared to the Ginger Suites.
I only wish we had Lucas "Resort Driver" to take us on our trip to Ubud. I asked for a driver with good english, sence of humor and happy to muck around with the kids. This was not the case, our assigned driver never spoke unless spoken to, couldn't recommend any restaurants in Ubud,didn't understand me when i asked for a restaurant with BBQ and or good suckling pig and wasn't sure of certain areas close by i asked to be driven too. FYI, He also provided us the Transfer to the Dynasty resort and couldn't exactly find it. I ended up directing him. On our return, YES WE'LL BE BACK, if thats ok, hopefully this will be rectified.
All in all, A great time was had, many restaurants all close by to chose from and all great quality, we ate somewhere different everynight. The bike transport provided when requested was also very convenient and appreciated.
The bedding and sheets are amazing. Yes there was some club noise at night however if you were unable to sleep through it, u hadn't had a big enough day. Slept like Babies,all of us

Thank you so Much Pia, Vita and all of the staff for a memorable stay, like i mentioned earlier, "WE MISS YOU GUYS" and your a credit to Lou.

Kind Regards,
Jeff,Trudi,Max,Jessica & Jack

Room Tip: All rooms are comfortable, cool and clean. May still order the Sheets "Bamboo"
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lou W, Owner at Bali Ginger Suites, responded to this review, August 22, 2014
Thank you for such a wonderful and heartfelt review. The Indonesians are great with children, and it is a bit unusual for us to have family groups at Bali Ginger Suites, and our staff really enjoyed it.

Great to read that the wi-fi is operating well, as we have had problems which we have hopefully now had sorted out. We realise how important it is to our guests.

Regarding the driver, we have our own car and driver. When he is booked then we go to a contractor and book a car and driver on our guests behalf. Usually they are great, but we will take your feedback on-board and let the company know that we expect better.

Again, thanks for taking the time to write this review and include such helpful feedback and information. I am sure many people will find it quite useful.

Best wishes, Lou
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york, ny
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

The hotel is small and cute (not much privacy), very clean and hotel staff really great. BUT we have been lying in bed for over an hour as a nightclub nearby keeps us awake!!! (It's 1am and my mom is 60 years old, not the quiet retreat we hoped for and read about). The road was also too dark, dirty and dangerous for us to walk to the main Street tonight.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lou W, Owner at Bali Ginger Suites, responded to this review, August 16, 2014
Hi, and thanks for taking the time to post a review. We are disappointed that you did not enjoy your stay with us.

While our place may not be ideal for light sleepers I checked our guests sleep quality rating following your review, and note that it is currently rated at 4.5 out of 5, as is our location.

In your review you state that it is not the "quiet retreat" you were looking for. We endeavour to accurately describe our location in all of our advertising, and in this day and age with internet feedback most of our guests have a very clear picture of what we are providing. Inner city Seminyak is a busy and vibrant location with many options for guests including access to the best clubs, restaurants and shopping in Bali, many of which are within walking distance.

There is good news regarding the road to the villa. The nearby construction is virtually complete now and we will be installing lighting as well as upgrading the entrance in the near future.

Regards, lou.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bali Ginger Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bali Ginger Suites

Address: Jalan Drupadi II | Turn at MiniMart, Opp Harris Hotel, Seminyak, Bali 80361, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Seminyak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Seminyak
#28 Spa Hotel in Seminyak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Bali Ginger Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Book direct for Best Rates and for the best personal care we take pride in giving our guests. Boutique holiday accommodation in the heart of Seminyak. Only 500 meters from Seminyak beach. Bali Ginger Suites is 8 luxury suites offering 1 and 2 bedroom apartment style living, with relaxed tropical design. Plus 2 bedroom villa with private pool. 24 Hour reception, breakfast served in your room or by the pool, concierge service, giving you the conveniences of a small resort, without the crowds. The beautiful swimming pool surrounded by large day beds in secluded courtyard make for a quiet oasis away from busy streets. All suites have king beds with quality mattresses and lush bamboo linen and are a dream to sleep in. With full housekeeping and turn down service and very helpful staff with good English makes for a relaxing tropical holiday. The 2 Balcony Suites each with 1 bedroom are neatly appointed rooms on the first floor, each with their own daybed and kitchenette on private balcony; funky. There are three 1 bedroom Poolside Suites each with their own private living area with daybed, dining area and kitchenette, framed by a small lush garden. The stylish bedroom is spacious and comfortable, with cathedral ceilings and a tropical-style indoor/outdoor en suite; sensuous. The romantic Shikumen Suite is an exclusive suite designed to make your stay unique and memorable. It features a stunning bed in a restored 150 year old Chinese timber house, elegantly furnished, and featuring an antique Chinese hip-bath set to the side of the very spacious bedroom; romantic. The 2 bedroom Poolside Suite includes a fully equipped kitchen/dining area, ideal for families or couples. The 2 Bedroom Poolside Suite features a large terrace, accessed by a bridge over the pool; magical. Sweet Ginger Villa is a 2 bedroom private villa with open kitchen/dining/living area. It is set in a private courtyard garden filled with frangipani trees, creating a great hideaway from the tropical heat. It is the perfect place to relax on a sunbed with your favourite drink or cool down in your own private pool. Sweet Ginger Villa connects to the Shikumen Suite via a large antique door in the garden wall to create a 3 bedroom villa; indulgent. Or you can book any of the Poolside Suites to accommodate a larger group. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Venere, Agoda, HostelWorld and Odigeo so you can book your Bali Ginger Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bali Ginger Suites Seminyak

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bali Ginger Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.