We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Private Luxury” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Amana Villas

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Amana Villas to your Saves list
Amana Villas
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jalan Wirasaba No.5 | Off Jalan Kayu Aya, Seminyak, Seminyak, Bali 80361, Indonesia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel virtual tour
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
30% DISCOUNT
Ranked #33 of 106 Hotels in Seminyak
Kuala Lumpur
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Private Luxury”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

We stayed here last fall when they had just opened, thanks to a Groupon. I was very impressed by the whole operation -- service, facilities, etc. -- and am happy to see that they have kept up their high standards. The best aspect for me was the privacy: each bungalow is completely hidden from the outside and each other, so that it's the closest thing most of us will have to a Balinese vacation home. The sleek but homey interior and in-room breakfast reinforce the effect.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    212
    32
    8
    2
    1
See reviews for
15
196
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

Have just returned on a 3 night stay and I must say, this IS the best resort/hotel/villa/anything that we have ever stayed in. The things that separate this place from any other is the attention to detail in their service.

Like the other positive reviews on this site, the service provided by the staff was fantastic. Here is a small run down on our experience.

- Arrived at the villa and was greeted by a refreshing cold towel. Anyone that has traveled to a tropical climate will agree that after spending 1 hour + from the airport to the hotel, nothing beats a cold, refreshing towel on arrival.

- Efficient check in service. Rather than linger in the lobby, hotel check-in is done in your villa, where your butler will give you a run down on all the details of your stay as well as the operations of the villa. There, we were greeted with a ice cold lemon and ginger tea and fantastic banana cake.

- Complimentary iPad and iPhone (and Sim card) was provided. Need to know anything about where your want to go? log on the iPad to the complimentary Wi-Fi and plan your trip with ease. Connecting the simcard to the iPhone was also taken care of by our butler. Like I said earlier, brilliant service. And another thing, the iPhone is pre-loaded with new and retro songs, and theres nothing better than pumping up the speakers, while you have a morning dip in the pool.

- Breakfast. 12 Selections (4 Asian, 4 Western and 4 Healthy). Time selection in 15 min intervals. Everyday, it arrived the time we selected. Never late and never early. Breakfast was filling as it includes loads of other sides such as small fruit salad, juice and coffee/teas, croissants and toast.

- We stayed in the one bedroom signature villa and i must say, the pool was fantastic. Clean, beautifully designed. Could not ask for anything more.

- Amana Spa. Although Amana's spa is small compared to other places, it still offers a great massage for those who would don't want to travel to far. Went there on 2 occasions and we walked out very refreshed. The therapists like all other staff are courteous and are trained well.

- Location. Good location. Area surrounded by restaurants and cafe's. about a 15min walk to Potato Head Beach Club and the W Hotel. Hotel does provide a free transport service in the Seminyak area, so if your don't want to walk, let your butler or reception know, and they can organise the transport there. In terms of other places, It cost us 40,000 RPH ($4Aud) to one way to Kuta by Taxi and abut 70,000 RPH ($7Aud) to Depensar Airport. Tanah Lot temple was an approx 40min ride (one way) and we agreed to hire the taxi for $25 AUD 3 hours (driver waited for us in the parking lot), but im sure you can get a much better price if you're willing to barter.

As mentioned above, overall this is the best hotel we have stayed in. With Bali, there are plenty of Villas/hotels to choose from and most are top notch in terms of facilities. But what sets Amana Villas apart from the others is the level of service. Little things like waking up and finding a small cake congratulating on our anniversary was a sweet and thoughtful touch that we didn't expect. Highly recommended. Will definitely return.

Room Tip: - If money permits, the Signature Villa is well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Amana Villas to celebrate his 30th birthday in March 2013 on the advice through other tripadvisor reviews - we were certainly not disappointed!

The entire process of booking, arriving and departing was so easy and I was kept well informed throughout. From the moment we were picked up by our Amana Villas driver, we knew that we had picked a great place to stay with. The driver was very professional, and the car immaculately clean, air conditioned. The car also had wifi and our own music selection that we had chosen previously in our Guest Experience menu which was sent to us prior to arrival and allowed you to choose tours and experiences, along with romantic evenings etc to be planned ahead.

On arrival, we were greeted by friendly, warm smiles and our butler showed us around our Waterfall villa. Walking into our villa we were thrilled - it was just beautiful. And so much space! Everything had been well thought out with the planning of the villa, and this resulted in a wonderful stay. The villas are very modern, for the aesthetic of the design, to the technology available, including an iPad to use for the duration of our stay.

Amana is very well located in the heart of Seminyak, where you can walk easily to the Main Street for shopping and cafes, restaurants and bars. Amana also provides a comprehensive list of places to visit and eat at - if you stay in Seminyak we highly recommend a visit to Potato Head, Kudeta, Slippery Stone, Metis and Gado Gado.

We also visited the Canggu Club, a complimentary fitness facility about a 15-20min drive from Amana. The gym was fantastic, and my husband made good use of the lap pool. The restaurant also looked great, although we didn't dine there as we just wanted to get a quick workout in. You could easily spend a day there if you chose to, however if you're not planning to use the gym/lap pool, you might as well stay in your beautiful Villa and enjoy the yummy in-villa dining options there.

We also had two other couples with us staying at Amana, one couple opted for the One Bedroom villa, and the other chose the Signature Villa, so with us staying in a Waterfall Villa, we were able to experience all villa types during our stay. The One Bedroom Villas are lovely, but much smaller than the other types. The pool is about a third of the size of the Waterfall villa's pool. The Signature Villa is absolutely beautiful, very large with a lot of space. The Waterfall Villa was also stunning, it's very similar to the Signature villa (the same on a slightly smaller scale) and I would not hesitate to stay in one again. I think if I had to pick, I would definitely go the Waterfall Villa as it is much better planned out space wise than the one-bedroom villas. If you want to spend the extra money on the Signature villa - go for it, you will not be disappointed! But our friends did say that they would all pick a Waterfall villa if we stayed again, it's the perfect size for a couple, and so similar to the Signature Villa you hardly notice it's a little smaller.

The staff are only too willing to help, any request and they will be there to assist! They even surprised my husband on our first day with a beautiful birthday cake, and all the staff sang Happy Birthday - it was just a lovely touch that made us feel very welcome. All of the staff are very professional, friendly and always smiling. The drivers are very informative about the local area and very reliable, and also a lot of fun. The staff make Amana Villas a very special place to holiday, and we can't wait to come back to stay again. Our particular thanks to Aji for all of his wonderful service during our holiday, and also to Yuda for making our drives around Seminyak so much fun!

Terima kasih Amana Villas!

Room Tip: Go for a Waterfall Villa
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amana V, General Manager at Amana Villas, responded to this review, March 30, 2013
Dear Erin C,

Once again, we would like to thank you for spending your husband's 30th birthday with us. It was indeed an honour. We are also glad to hear that you noticed all our small gestures, like the wifi in the villa cars, music selections tailored to your choices, our birthday surprises etc. It is our belief that it is always the small things that matter most to ensure a great stay with us.

Your praises for Aji and Yuda will be personally commended.

We look forward to seeing you again in Bali !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Chose after exhaustive comparisons with other villa accommodation and mindful of excellent location and it met every expectation. Ideal for couples who want totally privacy and the luxury of your own pool to do anything you want, without being bothered. Over 5 days we had a pool villa which is all on one level and with the tripping about you'll do it is fine. Looked at waterfront villa and whilst more spacious, we didn't go for the outside bath and stairs and no seating for tv screen viewing. Breakfast was super and plenty of choice. Staff couldn't do enough to made visit better.
Location is awesome. Quiet but walking distance to eat/drink/shops
TIPS
Scooter rental opposite Red Carpet Bar is 5000 day ea. you don't an international drivers license but if you crash it may be a sticky point with your insurer. We didn't crash!
Bluebird Taxi to airport is 66000
Amana Villas will drive you to local addresses foc
Bring your own duty free booze as Bali prices v high for spirits and wine

Room Tip: All rooms in a line so none seemed to offer any advantage. Complex due to expand soon as it is very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amana V, General Manager at Amana Villas, responded to this review, March 30, 2013
Dear Desmovalve,

Thank you very much for your recent stay with us at Amana Villas. We are glad to hear that your expectations from online reviews prior to arrival was met. It is of utmost importance for us to maintain our high level of standards to each and every guest.

With regards to our expansion plans, we are about to start construction soon to build a new common pool, bigger spa, 8 one bedroom villas, 2 two bedroom villas, and 2 four bedroom villas. They should be completed by 2nd quarter 2014.

We look forward to seeing you soon in Bali again ! Terima Kasih !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013 via mobile

After having gone through many reviews of different villas in bali,I decided to choose amana for my recent stay in feb, mainly enticed by the many fabulous reviews I read about them. and I must say it totally matched my expectations! At the reservation stage, the staff are very prompt in their email replies and upon check-in, the staff displayed great service attitude and are very professional in their work, and accomodating and hospitable too. They have very good teamwork and I feel valued as a guest. As for the hardware,the villas are very clean and modern, and the waterfall in the villa is impressive. I'm glad I chose the signature villa although the price was higher. I must say the stay at amana was truly the highlight of my trip to bali, adding much merit to my overall satisfaction of bali tourism.
Only downside was that airport transfer wasn't included in my package so I had to make extra effort to organize my own transport on check in day.
But overall ,it was a great experience!this is my first time writing a review for hotel stay so u can see how much I really wish to share the goodness :)

Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amana V, General Manager at Amana Villas, responded to this review, March 30, 2013
Dear CheakyTan,

Thank you for your recent stay with us at Amana Villas. We are glad to hear that we were able to match ( if not exceed ) your expectations from our online reviews. It is vital for us to maintain our service for each and every guest that stays with us.

We are glad that you appreciated our reservations process. For us, the Amana guest experience starts as soon as you make your reservations or inquiry ( not when you actually arrive ). We try our best to make your entire stay as easy and as carefree as possible.

Once again, we look forward to seeing you again in Bali :) Terima Kasih !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

Some downfalls:
1. There happens to be some miscommunication, so the nice air con car with wireless that are suppose to pick us up from airport, somehow did not show up. However, the hotel did try their best to arrange another fetching service free of charge and apologized sincerely.
2. During our stay, power shortage occurred a few times, especially when we are trying to use the hair dryer, and that can be quite scary at night, luckily it was only for a short period.

Here comes the good part:
As you can see my rating for this villa is very high. Besides the problems mentioned above, everything else was just perfect..!!!
The service is great, butler attend our every needs, also very helpful with exchanging money and driving us around in seminyak.
Breakfast is included in the room fare, delivered to our villa every morning, always on time and always warm, really appreciated that. And there are plenty of choices, will never get bored.
Rooms are very spacious, the design is very chic and modern, great fir young couples, and picture perfect..!! the waterfall design gives the place a tranquil atmosphere, very peaceful... the bamboo linens and their pillow are definitely the most comfortable ones among hotels I've been to. And their spa..!! Omg their hot stone massage, a must try, will send u to heaven after a long day trip...!! Our booking also includes a complimentary 60 mins massage, which is good as well!!
Yes it's a bit far from the beach, but it's located in the center of seminyak, lots of cute boutiques and nice restaurants within walking distance.

However, there are rooms for improvement, we lived in a waterfall villa, and the fact that we must go up to the living room to get our room key every time, is just annoying, especially when it's raining... And we felt that a makeup mirror could be added in the bathroom.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amana V, General Manager at Amana Villas, responded to this review, March 30, 2013
Dear JulieJulieSmile,

Thank you very much for your comments and your recent stay with us. Again, we would like to apologize for the missed airport pickup and occasional power shortages, and are happy to learn that you appreciated our complimentary items as a result of this. Problems do occur occasionally, but we always try to make up for them in one way or another.

We are glad to hear that the rest of your stay was carefree and that you enjoyed our many services like butlers, spa, in villa dining etc.

We look forward to seeing you again in Bali !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

My husband & I stayed here during Feb for our wedding anniversary. We stayed in a private pool villa which had a great plunge pool we later upgraded to the Waterfall pool villa and was excellent! Beautiful private pool spilt level for bedroom & living room area. The breakfast choices were superb we tried everything on the menu. The location is in the heart of Seminyak with the famous eat street within walking distances.
To the Amana Villas staff..Outstanding service above and beyond. Special thanks to Yudis for travelling to the fruit market everyday free of charge at the end of his shift to get fresh coconuts for my husband. Another special thanks to Yuda for all his accurate advice, worthy reccomendations & complete honestly when helping us gauge the price for shopping & travels. We have travelled to many countries & have found Amana Villas Seminyak to be the best in Bali. We highly reccomend you stay here & understand they are friends as much as staff. We hope to be back in Bali and stay at Amana Villas again.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amana V, General Manager at Amana Villas, responded to this review, March 30, 2013
Dear SunnyJoey,

Thank you very much for your recent stay with us at Amana Villas. We are glad to hear that you appreciated all of our little extra efforts during your stay. Our team have now embraced the fact that our role is to make your stay a carefree and memorable one, everyone tries to do their best to ensure this.

Your comments of Yudis ( buying coconuts for you after work ) and Yuda ( good local advice ) will be commended to our team. We are indeed very blessed with an awesome team of individuals.

Thank you, and we look forward to seeing you again at Amana Villas.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Amana Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amana Villas

Address: Jalan Wirasaba No.5 | Off Jalan Kayu Aya, Seminyak, Seminyak, Bali 80361, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Seminyak
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#19 Family Hotel in Seminyak
#26 Romantic Hotel in Seminyak
#28 Spa Hotel in Seminyak
#30 Luxury Hotel in Seminyak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Amana Villas 5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amana Villas Seminyak is derived from the Indonesian word "Aman", which means peace and tranquility.Renowned for its creativity & dedication to green issues, AMANA VILLAS is one of the world’s first hotels to showcase its unique “waterfall” design concept, custom iConcierge iPhone apps, 100% Bamboo Linen and a complete green design concept in its architectural design. It also offers a host of other exclusive services such as full butler services and complimentary access to Bali's premier member's only country club, Canggu Club.Amana Villas Seminyak is the product of passion. A passion for life, unparalleled services, technology, luxury, wellness and most importantly, the belief that we can all make a difference for a better tomorrow. We pride ourselves in making our guests smile, and offering them luxury beyond their expectations.It is not often in life that you get to be part of something special. We invite you to join us in our quest to redefine luxury.The following are some of AMANA VILLAS' most prominent features :> BEST VILLA LOCATION IN SEMINYAKAMANA VILLAS, situated at the most convenient location in the heart of Seminyak, the trendy centre of Bali. It is at the junction of the famous "Food Street" Jalan Kayu Aya ( also known as Jalan Oberoi or Jalan Laksmana ) and "Shop Street" Jalan Seminyak. AMANA VILLAS is within easy walking distance from all the popular Seminyak destinations such as Kudeta, Potato Head, Made's Warung, Metis, The Living Room and Seminyak Square.> CONTEMPORARY GREEN DESIGNDue to the enormous impact from tourism and construction of hotels and resorts all over Bali in the recent years, the environment is gradually being depleted; the blue ocean is polluted and the trees are cut down with no replanting program. Hence, at AMANA VILLAS, we have employed at least 12 different environmental strategies in the architectural design, aimed to help play our role in the preservation of the natural environment.> WATERFALL DESIGN CONCEPTOur Waterfall Villas & Signature Villas offers a one of a kind "waterfall concept" where the infinity pool overflows onto a pond in front of the bedroom below. Enjoy the tranquil sounds of trickling water while gazing into the stars above the waterfall. A true visual experience like none other.> 100% BAMBOO LINENAmana Villas is one of the few hotels in the world to offer its guests 100% pure bamboo linen. Bamboo is known for its environmental friendliness (it only requires 30% of water for irrigation compared to cotton ), anti-bacterial and anti-odour properties and it is biodegradable. Most importantly, it is very soft, and often compared to the likes of Egyptian cotton.> iCONCIERGE FOR iPHONEAMANA VILLAS is also one of the first to introduce iConcierge iPhone app exclusively customized for our guests. Apart from basic hotel information, it boasts a very detailed guide to Bali, where guests can easily perform searches for places to eat, play and relax. It even includes GPS tracking where guests can find their bearings on a map. There is also a one-touch call button to your personal butler.> PERSONAL BUTLER & IN-VILLA SERVICESAt Amana Villas, we believe in pampering our guests, “everything at your doorstep”; At your behest, your personal butler is able to arrange everything from candle light dinners prepared by private chef, , beauty treatments and even private instructor sessions of yoga/pilates right in your villa.> COMPLIMENTARY ACCESS TO CANGGU CLUBFor guests who crave a taste of the recreational sports, we offer an exclusive and complimentary access to Bali's premier country club, Canggu Club. It boasts a full selection of facilities including a 25m swimming pool, gym, tennis, squash courts and etc. It is another perfect way to spend a lazy afternoon on the exotic island of Bali.> AMAZING PACKAGESAmana Villas also offers amazing bespoke packages for all our guests. Amongst one of the favourites is our romantic sunset cruise, serving dinner and champagne on a private yacht. The perfect way to spend quality time with your loved one, or create the ideal ambience for any special occasion! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, AsiaRooms, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Amana Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amana Villas Bali/Seminyak

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amana Villas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.