We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Serene retreat in the middle of Seminyak” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Amana Villas

Save Saved
You added Amana Villas to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Amana Villas
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jalan Wirasaba No.5 | Off Jalan Kayu Aya, Seminyak, Seminyak, Kuta, Bali 80361, Indonesia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel virtual tour
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
30% DISCOUNT
Ranked #6 of 81 hotels in Seminyak
Houston, TX
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Serene retreat in the middle of Seminyak”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

This was the first hotel we stayed at on our recent holiday in Bali. It was a fantastic starting point. It's on a side street that runs into one of the main streets in Seminyak, but somehow you are sheltered from the hustle and bustle and once you are in your villa, it seems like you are miles away from everything. You have a ton of space not just in your room, but the grounds surrounding it as well. The bedroom and bathroom are on the bottom floor, while the living room/dining room are on the 2nd floor. The pool is also on the "second floor" as well. There's an outdoor tub which is pretty neat, nothing like taking a bath out in the open! The walls surrounding the villa and pool are very tall, so you have plenty of privacy. The waterfall that goes from the pool to a shallow pool in front of the bedroom is a nice touch. It only runs from about 7 am to 9 pm or something like that. The bed was incredibly comfortable.
So while the villa itself is fantastic, there's a lot of little things that just put it over the top. For one, the breakfast was really good. Try the rice congee (I forget what it's called, but it's delicious). They come and serve you in your villa at whatever time you want. Also, when you stay in a signature villa they loan you an iphone with a SIM card so that you can make calls and use google maps. Very useful, especially as we were wandering around Seminyak. That brings up another good point, the location. So while it isn't right on a beach, that wasn't as big an issue for us. It's a cheap cab ride (or a 15 minute walk) to the beach, and we enjoyed being in the city more. You could walk easily to several spas and restaurants. My wife enjoyed walking around looking in all the shops.
I think it's relatively new, so the cab drivers didn't know where the hotel was. We would have to tell them to go the Red Carpet bar or the Coco Mart. (By the way, sunscreen is really expensive there, we bought a little bottle for $16 at the CocoMart. Better to bring your own).
The concierge also has good advice on restaurants to try as do the butlers as well. We asked them all sorts of questions.
There's no on-site fitness center, but you get a day pass to the Canggu Club. We never went so can't tell you much about that.
All in all, it's a fantastic resort and we would highly recommend staying there. I made a video tour of the villa, but not sure how to upload it, let me know if you would like to see it and I can send it to you.

Room Tip: We stayed in a signature villa, it was room 208. Seems like it is on the very end so you only have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amana V, General Manager at Amana Villas, responded to this review, January 27, 2013
Dear Albert C,

Thank you very much for your comments regarding your stay with us at Amana. We are all glad to hear that you were able to experience the true Balinese hospitality that we always try to provide.

Looking forward to seeing you again one day ... cheers !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

171 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    146
    18
    6
    1
    0
See reviews for
11
127
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

I'm just going to post what I wrote to the manager at Amana Villas after leaving:

"Just a quick note about my stay at the hotel from 25/11 to 29/11. I was absolutely blown away by the level of service and hospitality. I frequently stay in 5 star hotels across the world (Plaza hotel - NYC, Peninsula hotel - NYC / Hong Kong, and was just married at the Four Seasons in Hangzhou). I found your hotels staff to far surpass any of these other locals. I can't wait to stay here again. Dewa and the rest of the staff helped plan out trip from scratch as we came from a destination wedding where we spent the previous weeks planning everyone's trip but ours. Each and every member of your staff were courteous and thoughtful and I feel like we met almost everyone while we were there.

We are currently in Lombok and will head to the Four Seasons in Ubud tomorrow, but we are already missing Amana Villas! Thanks so much for having us!"

Room Tip: Get the waterfall pool, definitely worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

I was recommended to Amana Villas by a dear friend, and as we have similar tastes in hotels I took his advice. Glad I did!
The villas are in a great location. Very close to Mama San, which quickly became my favourite chic restaurant/bar and Earth Garden, the healthy cafe and store which met the needs of my vegan, health mad daughter. Seminyak beach and Legian beach are a quick cab ride away and you would pay about 20,000 rupiah for this. Taxis are easy to get on the main street, just 50metres away and clean and air-conditioned. (On that, the bar Red Carpet is on the corner of the lane that runs to Amana Villas so just tell your cab driver to take you to Red Carpet.  Everyone knows this spot)
We had a waterfall pool villa and it was very sleek, modern and beautifully designed. Waking up to the view of the waterfall wall beyond our window was fantastic. Staying at Amana Villas makes you feel like a rockstar / supermodel / goddess. You choose :-) 
Our delicious breakfasts were  delivered to the suite and set up by our butler Dewa, quite possibly the most gorgeous man in Bali. (Hot tip if you're a bit of a nerd germophile like me: save the wrapped straws that come with the breakfasts for use during the day. You might get a fresh coconut juice and appreciate a nice clean straw. We certainly did!) The butler service is something you can use to the level you require. I wasn't up for taking it to the max, but I have to say that even after we checked out, Dewa was happy to pick up some garments from the tailor for me while we were staying in Ubud. We picked them up from Amana Villas on the way to the airport for our departing flight.  It was nice to leave is in the hands of someone I could trust and not have to come back earlier to get to the tailor before closing time.  Dewa is GOLD. And gorgeous. And humble and sweet. Dewa means "God" in Balinese. Enough said!
But all the staff there are just wonderful. We were heartily welcomed and nothing was too much trouble. Smiles and smiles and smiles.
The spa was amazing.  I recommend the Balinese massage. Bliss.  
This is a great place to come for a romantic break, and perhaps it was wasted on a mummy /daughter trip like we had although we loved it anyway. I would think though that in a sexy chic private villa like this romance would go into overdrive. :-)
I will definitely be coming back to Amana Villas next time I am im Seminyak. 

Room Tip: There are no yoga mats at Amana so if you want to practice yoga in your rook bring your own mat.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa, CA
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

We stayed at Amana Villas from November 5 through November 7. It is a class act from start to finish. Pick up at the airport was smoothly accomplished and set the tone for the rest of our stay. Upon our arrival we were warmly greeted by several staff members and immediately shown to our villa (waterfall villa which is quite lovely). Check in was handled inside our villa and everything was expertly explained. The villas are accurately depicted on their website. Expect Zen like minimalist surroundings and you won't be disappointed.

As others have mentioned, the service and attitude of the staff is beyond compare. My husband and I have stayed at several five star resorts and the service at Amana is the best I have ever experienced by far. It is flawless. As an example, my husband mentioned he had lost his hearing aid batteries when we were leaving Amana to go to Ubud to stay at the Royal Pita Maha. I was amazed when they actually called us at the Royal Pita Maha to say that they had checked everywhere but had not found the batteries - above and beyond superior service if you ask me.

The spa services were excellent and very well priced if you compare them to United States prices. My husband's birthday was celebrated at Amana and they were nice enough to present him with a cake and give us free facials when we went for our scheduled massages.

Amana is located just off "eat street" and a short stroll from there gives you access to many fine restaurants. Be aware that you are not close to the beach (if that is what you came for). Amana does provide access and transportation to a beach club, but we did not take advantage of that so I can't comment on what that experience might be like.

I want to be clear that I have no complaints about Amana at all, but if you or a companion have problems with going up and down stairs, then the waterfall and signature villas may not be the best choice in terms of access. Amana does have pool villas that are on one level, but they are much smaller and the pool is not as large as in the waterfall and signature villas.

The food at Amana was very good. Breakfast is served in your villa every morning and the friendly and chatty butlers like to hear what you have planned for the day and give you any tips they can to help make your day the best it can be. We ordered room service several times and while the food choices were somewhat limited, all of the items were well priced and very tasty.

When you originally make your reservation with Amana they provide you with a questionnaire to fill out that allows you to express your preferences on things such as food preferences (spicy or mild?), type of music provided in your villa, and your privacy levels. My husband and I preferred not to have staff enter our villa without checking with us first and I must say that they honored that completely and always telephoned our room before delivering anything, entering to clean, etc. They are totally respectful of your wishes. Communication was never a problem - all of the staff speak English very well.

For those seeking a romantic escape, well the pools in the villas are skinny dipping private and the bedrooms, which look out onto the waterfall flow, provide the soothing sound of water splashing just outside your door. The water in the pool is a nice temperture also which I really appreciated as cold pool water is a personal pet peeve of mine when paying premium money to have your own private pool.

To sum it up, Amana is well worth your hard earned money and you will enjoy being pampered there - we surely did.

Room Tip: They are all good, but the Waterfall and Signature Villas are bigger. Expect to go up and down sta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012 via mobile

We stayed 7nights. We had the best honeymoon ever. The staff are so nice and the villaas are amazing. I do recommend it for memorable holidays. Thank you Amana villas team for your great services. I Love Bali........


Omar & Haneen

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petaling Jaya
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012 via mobile

Everything was good..loved the place..although its in the middle of a busy town, this villa somehow is like a different place..service was awesome..friendly and helpful staff..breakfast was great..love the cake n lemongrass tea though!sweet treat!got a massage which was just nice after a tiring and super hot day..its a great place if you're in bali just to relax!

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

The design of Amana is really cool. Warm and welcome staff and the room is huge with completed amenities. We stayed in Water villas. It is very wonderful. Swimming pool is deep with an average size. This hotel is in the heart of seminyak, where is easily to find good restaurants and shops. However, it is quite far from the beach. Also the hotel is small, there is no restaurant. So, every morning, breakfast will be served at the room.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Amana Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amana Villas

Also Known As:
Amana Villas Bali/Seminyak
Address: Jalan Wirasaba No.5 | Off Jalan Kayu Aya, Seminyak, Seminyak, Kuta, Bali 80361, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Kuta > Seminyak
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Seminyak
#33 Family Hotel in Seminyak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Amana Villas 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amana Villas Seminyak is derived from the Indonesian word "Aman", which means peace and tranquility.Renowned for its creativity & dedication to green issues, AMANA VILLAS is one of the world’s first hotels to showcase its unique “waterfall” design concept, custom iConcierge iPhone apps, 100% Bamboo Linen and a complete green design concept in its architectural design. It also offers a host of other exclusive services such as full butler services and complimentary access to Bali's premier member's only country club, Canggu Club.Amana Villas Seminyak is the product of passion. A passion for life, unparalleled services, technology, luxury, wellness and most importantly, the belief that we can all make a difference for a better tomorrow. We pride ourselves in making our guests smile, and offering them luxury beyond their expectations.It is not often in life that you get to be part of something special. We invite you to join us in our quest to redefine luxury.The following are some of AMANA VILLAS' most prominent features :> BEST VILLA LOCATION IN SEMINYAKAMANA VILLAS, situated at the most convenient location in the heart of Seminyak, the trendy centre of Bali. It is at the junction of the famous "Food Street" Jalan Kayu Aya ( also known as Jalan Oberoi or Jalan Laksmana ) and "Shop Street" Jalan Seminyak. AMANA VILLAS is within easy walking distance from all the popular Seminyak destinations such as Kudeta, Potato Head, Made's Warung, Metis, The Living Room and Seminyak Square.> CONTEMPORARY GREEN DESIGNDue to the enormous impact from tourism and construction of hotels and resorts all over Bali in the recent years, the environment is gradually being depleted; the blue ocean is polluted and the trees are cut down with no replanting program. Hence, at AMANA VILLAS, we have employed at least 12 different environmental strategies in the architectural design, aimed to help play our role in the preservation of the natural environment.> WATERFALL DESIGN CONCEPTOur Waterfall Villas & Signature Villas offers a one of a kind "waterfall concept" where the infinity pool overflows onto a pond in front of the bedroom below. Enjoy the tranquil sounds of trickling water while gazing into the stars above the waterfall. A true visual experience like none other.> 100% BAMBOO LINENAmana Villas is one of the few hotels in the world to offer its guests 100% pure bamboo linen. Bamboo is known for its environmental friendliness (it only requires 30% of water for irrigation compared to cotton ), anti-bacterial and anti-odour properties and it is biodegradable. Most importantly, it is very soft, and often compared to the likes of Egyptian cotton.> iCONCIERGE FOR iPHONEAMANA VILLAS is also one of the first to introduce iConcierge iPhone app exclusively customized for our guests. Apart from basic hotel information, it boasts a very detailed guide to Bali, where guests can easily perform searches for places to eat, play and relax. It even includes GPS tracking where guests can find their bearings on a map. There is also a one-touch call button to your personal butler.> PERSONAL BUTLER & IN-VILLA SERVICESAt Amana Villas, we believe in pampering our guests, “everything at your doorstep”; At your behest, your personal butler is able to arrange everything from candle light dinners prepared by private chef, , beauty treatments and even private instructor sessions of yoga/pilates right in your villa.> COMPLIMENTARY ACCESS TO CANGGU CLUBFor guests who crave a taste of the recreational sports, we offer an exclusive and complimentary access to Bali's premier country club, Canggu Club. It boasts a full selection of facilities including a 25m swimming pool, gym, tennis, squash courts and etc. It is another perfect way to spend a lazy afternoon on the exotic island of Bali.> AMAZING PACKAGESAmana Villas also offers amazing bespoke packages for all our guests. Amongst one of the favourites is our romantic sunset cruise, serving dinner and champagne on a private yacht. The perfect way to spend quality time with your loved one, or create the ideal ambience for any special occasion! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Venere, AsiaRooms and Asiatravel.com Holdings so you can book your Amana Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amana Villas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.