We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine dining in a fabulous setting” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kura Kura

Kura Kura
Jalan Kayu Aya | Hotel the Oberoi Bali, Seminyak, Kuta, Bali, Indonesia
+62 361 730361
Website
Update restaurant details
Ranked #40 of 231 restaurants in Seminyak
Price range: $12 - $40
Cuisines: Indian, Indonesian, International
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night
Perth Western Australia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Fine dining in a fabulous setting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

My husband and I recently spent 8 wonderful days staying at The Oberoi Bali.

Kura Kura, The Oberoi's fine dining restaurant was just that - the food, service and attention to detail were outstanding and not just by Bali standards.

This restaurant stacks up against 5 star restaurants in Singapore and Australia.

We both had entree and main course and my husband had dessert and at no time did we feel rushed - the time between each course was appropriate and this added to the experience as we both hate being rushed through a meal so that an establishment can reseat our table.

The little touches like an amuse bouche, a selection of bread from a trolley, a palate cleanser after our mains and a frangipani when we left were the icing on the cake.

Chef Enrico Wahl visited each table and seemed genuinely interested in whether or not we had enjoyed our meals.

Great job- keep up the good work and we will definitely be staying at The Oberoi and dining at Kura Kura again.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

89% Recommend
    24
    2
    2
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good Food & Great Experrience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

On a stormy night, we were delightfully treated, served & spoiled by the staff of the Kura Kura Restaurant & the adjoining bar. Food was of a very high standard. Comparable to any 1-3 Hatted restaurant. But the service was better than most. A little pricey for bali terms but the food & cocktails are worth it.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Intimate restaurant, well-presented food, excellent service.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

Located in the Oberoi, this restaurant is designed like a traditional balinese royal courtyard. With the tables well spaced out throughout the restaurant, it is one of the rare places you can have a quiet dinner in the Seminyak area while hearing the roaring ocean.
All the dishes were prepared with extreme care and attention to detail and the service was attentive yet discreet.
Must-trys are the smoke-infused salmon, pork cheek and seared scallop dishes!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Fabulous food, wonderful location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

My wife and I ate here in May for her birthday, then returned in November for our 10th wedding anniversary. One both occasions the meal was the highlight of our trip. The location (right on the beach) is glorious, the service wonderful, and the food is fantastic.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seminyak
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Best fine dining in Bali”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

This was our second time at Kura Kura and it was absolutely wonderful from the linen and silver cutlery to the bread cart, which my husband thinks should be installed everywhere, everything was perfect.
There is no where else in the world, where you can sit listening and watching the waves on the beach, while eating delicious food highlighted with touches of molecular gastronomy. The setting alone could sell this to me! However the stand out was the food. Poetry on a plate!
The chef is amazing in his care and presentation and the staff are attentive without intruding.
Definitely one of the best dining experiences. Would recommend it to everyone.
Wish I could nominate 6 circles!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kura Kura also viewed

 

Been to Kura Kura? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kura Kura, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.