We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great villa, great location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Alice

Save Saved
You added Villa Alice to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Villa Alice
Jalan Mertasari, Seminyak, Bali 8036, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #76 of 295 Specialty lodging in Seminyak
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great villa, great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in the two-bedroom Villa Alice 2 for a week with two good mates. Staff (led by Made) were friendly and accommodating, the modern open-air villa is much bigger than it appears on the website (pretty well equipped with big open kitchen, new fridge, giant TV and TVs/DVDs in the bedrooms - although main sound system could do with upgrade) - and the pool had a great cabana and good shade, a tick after hot April days shopping around Seminyak. The gigantic outdoor bathrooms are best we've seen on our fourth Bali villa holiday, and villa's quiet location - end of private lane two minutes walk from Jl Oberoi (a few villas behind Ultimo) - is handy. Easy stroll to Grocer and Grind for coffee, La Lucciola for beachside breakfast or Chandi/Cafe Bali for dinner. Food in the villa was good, but too many better options not to head out. In short, would certainly recommend to friends/family. Made et al, thanks for a relaxing break.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    18
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
5
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

I chanced upon Villa Alice right before confirming another villa we shortlisted. They had only 11 reviews back then but after communicating with the villa manager directly, I felt assured to proceed with my booking through an agent. We travelled with our 3yo in Villa 1.

It's not a luxurious villa with grand reception area (it didn't even have one cos there're only 2 villas) and water features etc. But the simple and contemporary design of the villa was what I was looking for. Overall a very pleasant stay. Reason why it didn't get "Excellent" from me was because of the cranky hot water shower which affected my child (see below). Sharing some comments/feedback below.

Villa compound:
+ Very well-maintained & neat garden
+ Wonderful free-form pool with a generous shallow area for kid's waterplay (key reason why I chose this villa)
+ Gazebo added a nice touch though we didn't use it much
- Concrete slabs lining the garden grounds were too slippery when wet though; had a fall
- Some form of shade at the shallow end of pool would be good since gazebo doesn't provide any shade for the pool (Villa 2 had a pool umbrella)

Villa interior:
+ Very spacious rooms, living and dining areas and bathrooms
+ I like it that there're plants in living/dining area but they're shut behind glass doors. Meaning, no extra mosquities & bugs indoors.
+ Furniture & appliances were still quite new
+ Mosquitoes, yes, but not as rampant as I'd imagined
- Ants swamped the cakes we bought for our kid when we left the bag on kitchen top...
- Room doors were a tad too squeaky
- Floors were however very sticky for some reasons, making our first day very uncomfy. We had to buy slippers to wear indoors thereafter.
- Mosquito coils will be good if provided by default in bathrooms too
- Curtains in living area would be better off replaced with roll-up blinds if purpose is for shade; flying too much

Villa amenities:
- Kitchen top, napkins, linens were stained & didn't encourage usage...table napkins they use for breakfast is especially bad - oughta change
- Hot water for shower was cranky; big demerit point on this one because my young child had to shower in cold water most part (he might have caught his cold from this), especially bad when wind was blowing at the same time in the open bathroom
- Hand shower holder needs repair...kitchen tap looked very worn
- Flushing system didn't work everytime too (and I'm not referring to consecutive flush)
- WiFi was bad the first day but Mr Made (incharge of villa) got help to have it sorted somewhat the next day

Villa staff:
+ Mr Made was great - always helpful and patient
+ Other villa staff were nice too

Communications:
+ Very prompt & helpful responses from both the villa manager (Stefania) & Kadek from Individual Bali; some hiccups on payment but amicably sorted
+ No problem with Mr Made nor the drivers arranged by agent

Meals:
+ American bkfast with any types of eggs, pancakes, toasts & generous fruit platter
- Expect same fare everyday...but I guess we'd usually buy back some stuff for breakfast when we're out
+ Easy to order in (though there're lots of restaurants a short walk out); took just about 30-45min to be delivered

Surroundings:
+ Very inconspicuous lane leading to villa but exclusive in a sense
+/- Short walk out to streets with restaurants & Seminyak Square but not very "walkable" roads for travellors with young kids like us
- Need transport to get to nearby supermarkets eg. Carrefour
- Nothing much to do around the area for us since we're not after beaches (kinda expected that which explains a nice pool villa is important for us to stay-in most of the time)

Room Tip: both villas are lovely, depending on your preference and travelling group
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in Villa Alice 1 towards the end of February 2013. Everything we organised in advance was ready (pool fence, cot, high chair etc) - Very spacious living area and bedrooms. The length of the garden was great for the kids to run around in, and the big shallow end of the pool was perfect fof the kids to splash in. The staff were all exceptionally kind, nice and helpfull. As per previous reviews, the breakfast was just great, and yes, the omlettes are just divine! Laundry service very cheap and fast. Location wise, this is just the best area in Seminyak, close to everything. Some fixtures and fittings are starting to wear a bit and are in need of some love, but dont let this put you off. Compared to some other villas nearby, Villa Alice has a lot to offer at a very competitive price. Airport pick up was all good and efficient. We will definately be staying here again. Note full payment required in advance - little bit unnerving, but getting more and more common for Villas, and in hindsight it worked for us!

Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

2 bedroom privately owned villa with a pool, chef for breakfast, 24 hour friendly staff. Very clean, spacious, Next to the main street in Seminyak.Lots of botique shopping nearby. Great location. Cheap laundy service. Massages are cheaper out on the street than through the service they offer. Will definately stay there when we visit again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

We stayed at Villa Alice 1 at the start of December 2012. We were 2 couples both with small children (16 months and 13months). The villa was excellent for us and suited our needs. We organised a pool fence through the villa before we arrived which did not spoil the experience. Rooms and living area were massive and it was also nice to have a grassed area around the pool. Service was first class. Breakfast was good (omlettes excellent). The Villa was also quite convenient in the heart of Seminyak. Probably only thing that the villa lacks was a "family" toilet as both bathrooms were through the bedrooms. A great holiday

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

Having recently stayed at Villa Alice with a group of 4 friends, I would highly recommend this property to anyone looking for a place to stay with mates. Everything was well set out, 2 separate rooms with private (large) ensuites. The pool area was incredibly spacious and we enjoyed full sun from morning to night. The staff really make this place; so friendly and accommodating. Breakfast is made for you every morning as well as any incidental requests taken care of; eg. our shower head was playing up and was replaced within a couple of hours of mentioning it to staff. Walking distance to shops, restaurants and amenities. You will not be disappointed with Villa Alice! ;-)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2012 via mobile

We stayed in Villa Alice 1 for 3 nights in May. We were so happy with the Villa and the staff were so accommodating and friendly. It is in a fantastic location, right near trendy restaurants and shops. Only a 5-10 minute walk to the markets and Ku De Ta. The photos are exactly what it is in real life. We could not have been happier staying in a fantastic, clean, friendly place, we really did not want to leave. The staff became our friends and were so helpful. Thank you so much for everything and we can't wait to come back, next time it will be longer. We definitely recommend Villa Alice.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Villa Alice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Alice

Address: Jalan Mertasari, Seminyak, Bali 8036, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Seminyak
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #76 of 295 Specialty lodging in Seminyak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
n the heart of Seminyak close the best restaurant in Bali as L'Ultimo. La Trattoria, Chandi, Cafe Bali, La Lucciola and famous places as Kudeta, Potato Head, Living Room, Hu'u Bar, Mint. Close to wonderful beach of Seminyak famous for its waves and one of the best world sunset. Close to district shopping of Jalan Oberoi, Jalan Seminyak and Jalan Legian. Rent car and motorbike available (extra cost). Delivery food available (extra cost). In Villa Massage available (extra cost). Tours to Ubud, Tanan Lot, Umalas, Lovina, Kintamani, Gili Islands available (extra cost). Free transport from/to airportVilla Alice is a complex of two villas with a common area for staff and parking. Each one villa has 2 bedrooms with ensuite open air bathroom, large living room with american kitchen, big garden with private pool. Villa 2 is 210 sqm on a land of around 600 sqm. Each one villa is fully equipped and 5 staff people work there during the day. Security served all night. Very difficult to find new building (2011) in Seminyak area with big garden, big bedrooms, big living. Breakfast is served very morning at time of guest wake up. Available private chef for lunch or dinner or barbecue (extra cost). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Villa Alice reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Alice Bali/Seminyak

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Alice, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.