We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Blue Calmer?” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Karma Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Blue Karma Hotel to your Saves list
Blue Karma Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jalan Raya Seminyak, Gang Bima No 2, Seminyak _ | Kuta, Badung, Seminyak, Bali 80361, Indonesia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 107 Hotels in Seminyak
Coventry, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Blue Calmer?”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

Blue Karma was the last hotel we stayed at during our time in Bali, and yes this hotel is outstanding...an idyllic oasis off a busy street and It deserves 5 stars, but I have one major issue to warn all future could-be guests about!

I'll start with the rooms, they're spectacular, very large with a contemporary, Eco friendly green feel, the one design issue with them is the roof. So...my issue, they're all thatched roof villas, sound gorgeous right?....they are, - but there is no real thick material to sound proof outside noise. Other reviewers have previously mentioned the cockerels, but it isn't just them, all night you hear traffic, dogs barking, music from a near by temple, street prayers. It just knocks that 5* edge off it, and does let it down, when you're expecting an upmarket luxurious resort in Bali I don't think noise, but this is my one and only quibble with Blue Karma.

It really is an oasis, and perfect hideaway from the nearby hustle, the staff are lovely, and very friendly, but far too many of them? Perhaps I'm used to the right budgets with payroll in the UK. but at times there were 5 of them with nothing to do, plaiting each others hair and taking photos of each other? - this sort of thing doesn't tend to bother me too much, but ultimately it does look unprofessional.

Pool was very warm, and definitely worth a daily afternoon dip!

Breakfast was a perfect amount, and you order what you want, and can also help yourself to bits too, which is a nice combination as other Balinese hotels tend to over feed you! A small tip to Blue Karma would be to present guests with a small menu. I do feel a menu should be available at breakfast to see what you can order, not having one lacks a sleekness upon ordering with the waitress as you don't have a clue what is available?

The hotel is well situated for walks to the beach or to shops, - I believe Blue Karma offer a shuttle bus to the main Bintang supermarket, but god knows why anyone would want a lift there is 100m walk around the corner!

We walked to Kuta one day, along the beach. long walk, perhaps 1 hour, but there isn't much else to do in the area, just a tip for travelers - just avoid, you may as well be in Magaluf, and the people do not leave you alone.

This hotel does advertise it's self as Seminyak, but central Seminyak where all the restaurants etc are is around 30 mins walk away, so there aren't too many places to eat around Blue Karma, but you can eat at the hotel. This was pricey for Bali standards, but can't comment on the food as we didn't try it out!

Blue Karma offer complimentary free upon arrival which I took, which was fantastic, but didn't extend the massage as it was extortionate for Bali standards.

I would recommend this hotel to everyone, as it is top notch, but I feel the noise lets it down, and this is why I probably wouldn't stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fred N, Public Relations Manager at Blue Karma Hotel, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Hello and Thank you for your lovely feedback of what looks like a great stay in Paradise. We appreciate your feedback which will be shared with the team who hosted you. We do indeed have amazing rooms showing the traditional and cultural side of the island compared to large concrete hotels. We are delighted you have enjoyed the facilities and definitely the main pool which is a real oasis for all our guests. See you again soon on the next trip
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

360 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    242
    96
    18
    2
    2
See reviews for
53
188
16
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Burleigh Heads, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

Thankyou Blue Karma Hotel. Most beautiful villa with my own pool. I came for rest and relaxation and that's what I got. My bed was turned back every afternoon and the staff were extremely helpful and friendly. To be able to drink the water from the tap and shower was an added bonus and the menu was sensational. Everything fresh and delicious. Even though I had my own pool, I still swam in the main pool sometimes and it is beautiful along with the gardens. I especially loved showering under the stars. Thankyou Blue Karma. I will see you next year

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanaimo, Canada
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2013

We originally stayed five nights at the Blue Karma hotel when we first arrived in Bali at the end of November, and we thoroughly enjoyed everything about the hotel - the staff, beautiful rooms, pool, restaurant and gardens. The backyard is absolutely stunning with lovely landscaping, and you really feel like you are in paradise.

We left Seminyak to go to Ambon for a diving trip, and returned back to Bali earlier than expected, and we were thrilled that we were able to stay again at the Blue Karma. The staff welcomed us back like family members, and we were very happy to feel like we were back in paradise for another four nights.

A special thank you to Utari, Budi, Betty and Sri for outstanding service.

We will be back to the Blue Karma when we can travel again to Bali, and we highly recommend this hotel.

There is nothing we can think of that needs improvement.

Room Tip: Both rooms we stayed in were excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fred N, Public Relations Manager at Blue Karma Hotel, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Dear Michelle and Michel, Lovely to have hosted you twice during your Bali trip and that you fully enjoyed your stay with us. We have passed all your wishes to Utari, Budi and Sri as well as the rest of the team for their outstanding service. Thanks for your recommendations and see you again soon for another wonderful holiday. Warmest regards and Happy New Year
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carvoeiro, Portugal
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

We stayed in this hotel during the first 4 days of our holiday in Bali and decided to go back for another 2 nights after traveling around on the island. Excellent accomodation, clean, very nice pool and 5 stars service with a smile. The hotel is expensive compared to other hotels in Bali, but it's certainly worth the money. If we go back to Bali we will certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geelong, Australia
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

Having travelled extensively throughout South East Asia,and Europe ,we were overwhelmed with the beauty and simplicity of design of this lovely Resort.But even this cannot compare to the generosity of the staff.The girls at reception were caring , humble ,so informative and so much fun.Thank you Mang Sri ,what a complete day with you greeting us of a morning ,you and Budi adding to the stay with pleasant enjoyable conversation .
Having never recommended any resort on our travels,my wife and I would be remiss not to have recommended Karma Blue .Definitely will back to enjoy all the positive energy that comes at no cost to you from all the staff .Thank you ( F and J ) Geelong

Room Tip: All rooms are exceptional ,as we were with two other couples ,all three rooms were great
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
linzilu
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013 via mobile

This resort is beautifully designed in a Balinese style which gives it a unique Balinese character. The food is also excellent with lovely fresh breakfast in the continental hotel style with a variety of choices e.g. Pastries, coffee, fruit, cooked breakfast. The pool is also lovely

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fred N, Public Relations Manager at Blue Karma Hotel, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Selamat Pagi and thank you for capturing the real essence of Blue Karma Bali through the services of our team and the owners designs in great rooms with Balinese Design. We look forward to welcoming you back soon for more holidays
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

I have stayed at the Bali Blue Karma three times in the last two years. If anything the experience get's better. The staff go out of their way to look after you and I love the accommodation, it's great having a plunge pool when you come back on a hot evening. I would recommend this place without hesitation. It's so central to everything, yet a quiet little haven.
Kathy Holden Perth

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Blue Karma Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Karma Hotel

Address: Jalan Raya Seminyak, Gang Bima No 2, Seminyak _ | Kuta, Badung, Seminyak, Bali 80361, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Seminyak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Seminyak
#16 Romantic Hotel in Seminyak
#18 Spa Hotel in Seminyak
#20 Luxury Hotel in Seminyak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Blue Karma Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blue Karma is a lifestyle resort in the heart of Bali activities and happenings – Seminyak. The resort is within walking distance to the shops, restaurants and to the beach. Artistic creativity, comfort, ethnic design and flourishing garden have come together to make a vacation paradise in Blue Karma.You will get unique hotel experience and personalized concierge service. Blue Karma welcomes to pamper yourself in Slimming center and Spa, in Restaurant and Lounge Bar enjoy tasteful delights with designer menu options in raw food, listen to mellifluent sounds at live music events and experience special holistic programs as well as creative workshops and authentic trips to discover Bali.This is the lifestyle you deserve, and we are happy to share our passion and curiosity to life with you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Asiatravel.com Holdings, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Blue Karma Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Karma Hotel Bali/Seminyak

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blue Karma Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.