We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Karma Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Blue Karma Hotel to your Saves list
Blue Karma Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jalan Raya Seminyak, Gang Bima No 2, Seminyak _ | Kuta, Badung, Seminyak, Bali 80361, Indonesia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
Ranked #18 of 115 Hotels in Seminyak
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Great stay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013 via mobile

Oh how I miss this place! Was a great stay, I'll list the pros and cons
Pros
- friendly attentive staff
- ok location near the beach, shops and restaurants
- fabulous main pool, lovely, warm and spotless
- great breakfast although not replenished as well as I would have liked
- large rooms and loved outdoor bathroom except at night as I hate bugs!
- good quality toiletries although not replaced often enough
- relaxed and calm atmosphere, no outside noise at all (other reviewers state lots of local noise but we didn't hear a thing and slept soundly)
- felt homely and comfortable as small complex, all staff always said hello and happy to help, knew our names
-lovely cocktails at the bar!
-great complimentary massages
Cons
- this was part of a honeymoon trip but we had NO special treatment due to this even though they knew this was the case, no flowers, no wine, nothing, very disappointing, no one actually acknowledged it was our honeymoon.
- no bath tub in our room
- I wish we didn't pay extra for the private pool because we didn't use it. It was very cold and no where near as nice as main pool. There was always a colony of ants crawling round our pool which wasn't very enticing.
- hit and miss breakfast selection, sometimes eggs were included sometimes it was extra. And if you want seconds sometimes it's included sometimes it's at an extra charge.
- room service selection sparse and our sandwich wasn't very nice, had to go out to eat everyday

Overall was a great relaxing and comfortable stay at blue karma. Would recommend for couples but disappointed as not really a honeymoon retreat

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fred n, Public Relations Manager at Blue Karma Hotel, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Selamat Siang, Thank you for your review and glad you are recommending our property after a great stay. I am truly sorry about missing to wish you our congratulations, we are currently reviewing this with our team for improvements. We trust you will have a fantastic time together and we look forward to welcoming you again at the resort. Warmest regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

394 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    266
    105
    19
    2
    2
See reviews for
57
208
18
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

This hotel is absolutely beautiful - my husband and I had stayed in a few hotels before this one for our Honeymoon (all more expensive than this one), and this surpassed then all. Room was lovely - we stayed in a room without a private pool, but to be honest the pool area is so lovely that we would have used this anyway. Immaculately clean, all staff were so friendly - when I had a bug one night and my husband went down to dinner and breakfast, they offered to bring something up to the room for me. They also always greeted us by our first names every day - little touches like this really make it that extra bit special. Amazing hotel with lovely Bali style decor. We can't wait to come back!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fred n, Public Relations Manager at Blue Karma Hotel, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Anna - you are very special and we thank you for sharing your feedback on Blue Karma Bali. We truly hope you are now fully recovered and it was again a pleasure ensuring that your honeymoon was as wonderful as possible. we hope you will return very soon to see us, Warmest regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

Overall an amazing experience. We would stay here again for a relaxing vacation in Bali.

[Positives]
Amazing Balinese rooms and surroundings! Outdoor shower, and semi-outdoor toilet, are a novelty. Hospitable staff. Just a few steps from the shops of trendy Seminyak. Free ride to the beach. Free wifi. Free bottled water, and purified tap water. Complimentary 15 minute Balinese massage. Friendly, relaxing, and cozy atmosphere.

[Negatives]
$18 airport service expensive compared to comparable taxi. In evenings until around the time we were about to sleep, we could still hear locals from a nearby temple practicing Balinese music.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fred n, Public Relations Manager at Blue Karma Hotel, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Thank you for sharing your feedback and delighted to hear of your positive and warm experience at Blue Karma Bali. We have taken your feedback on-board in regards to Airport Transfers but noting they offer a waiting service while guests arrive as opposed as Taxi but provide a safe and secure direct to the hotel transport to make any arrival smoother. Seminyak is a busy area and while providing an oasis sanctuary at the hotel we do occasionally have neighbouring music to remind all guests of the local culture :) Lovely to having host you and hope you will return soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

This is the second time we have stayed at Blue Karma in as many months. The first time was for a mother daughter break In July and the second for the whole family to celebrate my mother- in-law's 85th birthday in September. On both occasions we found the service and welcome by the staff to be exemplary. The complex is delightful and the villas of a very high standard(the beds are very comfy!) All of the staff strive to ensure that you have a very personalized experience and nothing is too much trouble for them to organize for you, including birthday cakes! It is hard to believe you are just off the main street of seminyak, as the surrounds are very beautiful and peaceful. You certainly feel as if you are having a true Balianese experience.
Our driver argus was super and the spa, whilst limited in menu choices was fantastic. The food is superb, so much so my daughter and I ate in every night on our first trip. If you are flying out early they will even prepare a breakfast box for you to take to the airport.
I highly recommend Blue Karma and we will be back soon I hope.

Room Tip: Villa coconut was great. On our first trip we had a one bedroom villa lemon which was lovely, but th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fred n, Public Relations Manager at Blue Karma Hotel, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Thank you Lisa for both your stays and sharing the love of Blue Karma Bali with your family. We are delighted all enjoyed it and our team and onsite facilities such as the spa and simple raw menus pleased you during your stay. Hope you will return very soon for another fantastic holiday. Warmest regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portishead
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

Absolutely loved this place just returned from a weeks stay was glorious! Staff very helpful and even sang to me on my birthday and came with cake. Arranged restaurant bookings and taxis for us nothing was any trouble. Stayed in "rose" then stayed in " bergamot" for the last few days a one room villa with plunge pool. The hotel is just off a busy road but is full of shops, spas restaurants and bars to peruse. Breakfast good with eggs/bacon, crepes, pastries, toast etc. around 15 mins walk to seminyak beach and 5 mins walk to bintang supermarket.
This hotel was an oasis in the middle of a busy area!
* footnote - to the really loud Aussies that woke me up at 5.30 last sun morning shouting and screaming by the pool... Really wish I'd come past your villa with some cymbals at 11am! Haha!

Room Tip: You don't need to book a villa with a pool.. Save your money the main pool is gorgeous! You'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fred n, Public Relations Manager at Blue Karma Hotel, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Thanks so much for your lovely feedback shared with our team who was delighted to welcome you for your week stay. You summarised the essence of Blue Karma Bali : '' hotel was an oasis in the middle of a busy area'' - we aim to provide a sanctuary and glad we delivered. See you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

Had a unforgettable time in Blue Karma villas . Location, staff, villa, ambiance everything was wonderful. Located in center of seminyak shopping lane , 15 min walk to beach , surrounded by thousands of restaurants of everyone's taste.
Booked one bedroom pool villa but they allotted us 2 bedroom pool villa with one room locked . The time we entered in our villa we lost in paradise. Our villa "champaka" had luxurious setting with romantic bedroom , living room with small kitchen setup with microwave , fridge and tea/coffee cattle opened in our L shape private pool. Surrounded by high walls and bamboo fence our pool was quit relaxing and private. Bathroom was as big as bedroom with semi open roof included a big bath tub and head shower. we never heard any outside noise after closing our bedroom doors.

Great staff with friendly attitude, they did best they can for making our holidays memorable.
They provide golf buggy to drop you at beach but we never used it as we liked to walk through tourist shopping area towards beach.

The only miss was Wifi which we never able to surf in our bedroom and in some way this made our holidays more exciting.

Bali is very beautiful place with friendly and lovely people . we booked at bayubalitour.com for our day trip in bali and had great english speaking chauffeur driven service.

Bargaining works in Bali and you must as shopkeepers always quote 5 times rates.

All together , we had one of the best experience in our life .
And i must say well job done guys. we will definitely return.

Room Tip: Ground floor pool villas, we stayed in "champaka" villa and it had wonderful setting.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fred n, Public Relations Manager at Blue Karma Hotel, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Selamat Siang, thank you so much for sharing your stay with us with other travellers. We are delighted that we made it a truly enjoyable and memorable experience and that both our facilities and services with our outstanding team made the difference. Hope to see you again soon :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fremantle W.A.
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

Blue Karma well situated for easy access to Main Street in Seminyak. We had previously checked out Blue Karma so everything was as we expected. Two storey fills arranged around a very nice pool. Functionally adaptable design allows lower two bed units to be linked to upper third bedroom via internal staircase or locked off allowing upper story to be used independently. Double rooms all have small private plunge pools.
Staff were pleasant and helpful at all times and check in was efficient. Room we had was "ginger", located on 2nd floor and was large, comfortable bed with air conditioner (not the best but sufficient to keep room coolish ). Outdoor bathroom and daybed were very good.
WiFi was a bit hit and miss maybe we were too remote from source but certainly have had much better in Bali. Only stayed two nights and breakfast was OK nice creeps, omelettes or eggs were offered with fruit, cereal and breads etc.
Would recommend

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fred n, Public Relations Manager at Blue Karma Hotel, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Thank you very much for sharing your feedback and knowing you enjoyed the functionality of the resort structure and facilities coupled with our outstanding service. We are very proud of our team and their hospitality. Come back again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Blue Karma Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Karma Hotel

Address: Jalan Raya Seminyak, Gang Bima No 2, Seminyak _ | Kuta, Badung, Seminyak, Bali 80361, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Seminyak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Seminyak
#16 Spa Hotel in Seminyak
#17 Luxury Hotel in Seminyak
#18 Romantic Hotel in Seminyak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Blue Karma Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blue Karma is a lifestyle resort in the heart of Bali activities and happenings – Seminyak. The resort is within walking distance to the shops, restaurants and to the beach. Artistic creativity, comfort, ethnic design and flourishing garden have come together to make a vacation paradise in Blue Karma.You will get unique hotel experience and personalized concierge service. Blue Karma welcomes to pamper yourself in Slimming center and Spa, in Restaurant and Lounge Bar enjoy tasteful delights with designer menu options in raw food, listen to mellifluent sounds at live music events and experience special holistic programs as well as creative workshops and authentic trips to discover Bali.This is the lifestyle you deserve, and we are happy to share our passion and curiosity to life with you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Agoda, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com and Priceline so you can book your Blue Karma Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Karma Hotel Bali/Seminyak

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blue Karma Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.