We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect escape, but central to everything” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Karma Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Blue Karma Hotel to your Saves list
Blue Karma Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jalan Raya Seminyak, Gang Bima No 2, Seminyak _ | Kuta, Badung, Seminyak, Bali 80361, Indonesia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
Ranked #19 of 115 Hotels in Seminyak
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Singapore
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Perfect escape, but central to everything”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

We spent two nights at Blue Karma and couldn't fault it. The rooms were nicely furnished and very comfortable (bed was quite heavenly). Pool was lovely and big and the staff were all very pleasant and accommodating. One thing to really make mention of is the food. It is definitely a cut above what you would expect. We did have a bit of a problem with the shower in our room, but this was fixed promptly and we were offered an other room, which we didn't need to switch too in the end as it got fixed. The resort is very centrally located so is walking distance to most of what Seminyak has to offer, but is tucked in behind the crazyness and is in fact very quiet and calm. I'd definitely stay there again. :0)

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

395 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    267
    105
    19
    2
    2
See reviews for
57
209
18
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

We recently stayed at the Blue Karma for 6 nights. My husband and I traveled with another couple and we shared a 2 bdrm villa. We were checked into Lotus. When we arrived we were quite surprised to see that the 2 bdrm set up was not what we expected. One of the bedrooms was also part of the main living area where the lounge was. So it certainly wasn't as private as the bedroom upstairs. We asked to be moved and the staff were very obliging and moved us to a 4 bdrm villa ( Jasmine) where we had completely separate bedrooms and a lounge/kitchen area in the middle, which suited everyone. They blocked off access to the upstairs area. As others have mentioned, beware of the roosters crowing and motorbikes going past, locals heading off to work early. In Lotus we had a dog that loved to bark and the owners loved to have their music turned up. Not the ideal location if you want to chill out and relax in peace and quiet by your private pool.The main pool area was lovely and nice and peaceful for those that like to sit back and relax with a book. The outdoor showers took a little bit of getting used to.
We found the staff to be very friendly and helpful, and overall enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fred n, Public Relations Manager at Blue Karma Hotel, responded to this review, March 30, 2013
Thank you fro your feedback and again our apologies with the allocation of our family 2 bedroom villa. As mentionned the issue was fixed immediately and we are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. Semyniak is a busy shopping and nightlife centre with dogs and roosters around - the joy of Bali. We do our very best working in the community to minimise the disruption to our valued guests while providing one of the most central location in town. Hope to see you again very soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013 via mobile

Blue Karma is a bit of Balinese heaven off the crazy streets of seminyak. A feeling of calmness washes over you as soon as you arrive. A beautiful still pool greats you amidst wooden statues and greenery. The rooms are as lovely as the staff and the food and spa add to its luxurious feel. Small and friendly I have already recommended this place to all who will listen!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We had a lengthy stay in one of the first floor suites. While we travel extensively this was our first time back in Bali since 2000. Despite a lot of changes around the island had a great stay! The room was well appointed though we really didn't spend a lot of time in the room. If you are a light sleeper ask for a room towards the back of complex. The reason is the thatched roofs that have no sound insulation qualities. During the night we did hear the thumping bass sounds of music from the nightclub/bars in the adjoining street.

Bathroom products were good particularly the body lotion. Central location is excellent down a Gang (lane) off Jalan Ray Seminyak. Close to shops, restaurants and the beach was a 10 minute walk from the back of the Gang. Or just use the 'fantasy island' golf buggy to get to the beach. Grey sand beach may not suit everybody.

Enjoyed daily breakfast offerings. especially the fresh tropical fruit and continental breads and spreads. Freshly prepared fruit juices were a hit. Other tripadvisors comments on the pool area are accurate. While the space is compact, the landscape design really maximises the site well. It is distinctively different with the outdoor wooden sculptures. Don't expect to be overly refreshed with your swim as the water is typical tropical lukewarm. It really gets hot so more shade would have been useful, possibly using some of the grassed areas.

Staff were friendly and enthusiastic. Hopefully we will be able to return later in the year with our children who are currently living in different parts of the world. There are many great restaurants/warungs a short walk or taxi ride away. Petitenget is an upcoming area for restaurants. Do try Sarong and Biku or Grocer and Grind. Even closer you have Made's Warung and Chez Gado Gado. For supplies and small gifts the Bintang Supermarket is a 7 minute walk away. To change your money I found the BMC money changer just up and across the road from the Bintang Supermarket to be honest, secure and safe. Taxis are cheap and plentiful, so just walk up to the main street to hail one. Once you know the price of fares it is not necessary to use the Bluebird taxis for short trips as they charge the minimum fare of 25,000 Rp. Most fares to the places mentioned will be 10,000 - 20,000 Rp. I trust our experiences help others.

Room Tip: Stay refreshed in the humid climate and use taxis as they are cheap and plentiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

The hotel itself is beautiful, the rooms spacious and interiorly decorated to a high standard.
The facilities including spa are perfect, including an interesting and high quality yet reasonable menu.
The staff are all faultless in service, friendly with a high level of English, nothing is too much trouble.
The location is great for a choice of shops, restaurants and near the beach, but you could easily hide from the world for a week in Blue Karma and feel utterly relaxed.
This is easily the best hotel I have ever stayed in.

Room Tip: All are amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fred n, Public Relations Manager at Blue Karma Hotel, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Hi Betsy, Warm thanks from the entire team for your feedback. We are delighted to read you have enjoyed our team's attention and services as well as the facilities. Our location is very special and we look forward to welcoming you again soon, Warmest regards BK team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalbarri, Western Australia, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

We just arrived home after staying in bali 2 weeks with the Blue Karma being our last 3 days stay. The staff were very welcoming, the room was gorgeous, the bed soooo comfy and the bathroom was great. Their complimentary soaps and products were of great aromas. The balcony to our room (violet) was a little small with only 1 chair and you had to open the louvre doors to get outside which exits at the end where the chair is making it a pain. To have a cigarette we had to go downstairs which was easier than opening the door. This was not a problem cos the grounds and pool were amazing. The showers go hot then cold then hot again. The breakfast was a thorough spread, the complimentary cakes in the afternoon were also great and the staff, especiallly gede were awesome. Would highly recommend this hotel for ambience, good service and location. Thanks to all. :)

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fred n, Public Relations Manager at Blue Karma Hotel, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Siang Michelle, Special thank you for your lovely feedback which we have shared with the team - looking forward to your next visit to sample more yummy cakes :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Absolutely amazing! I have been to Bali numerous times before and stayed in some fairly nice hotels/villas. Blue Karma by far tops the list. Immaculate rooms, spectacular grounds and the service is that of the highest quality. I can honestly recommend this as one of the best Resorts in Bali, I promise you will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: A villa would be the most suitable choice for a family or a someone traveling with friends. They als...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fred n, Public Relations Manager at Blue Karma Hotel, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Hi Jack, Cheers for your great feedback, a pleasure having you and that you enjoyed the property and grounds. Looking forward to hosting you again soon, the BK Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Blue Karma Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Karma Hotel

Address: Jalan Raya Seminyak, Gang Bima No 2, Seminyak _ | Kuta, Badung, Seminyak, Bali 80361, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Seminyak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Seminyak
#17 Spa Hotel in Seminyak
#18 Luxury Hotel in Seminyak
#18 Romantic Hotel in Seminyak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Blue Karma Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blue Karma is a lifestyle resort in the heart of Bali activities and happenings – Seminyak. The resort is within walking distance to the shops, restaurants and to the beach. Artistic creativity, comfort, ethnic design and flourishing garden have come together to make a vacation paradise in Blue Karma.You will get unique hotel experience and personalized concierge service. Blue Karma welcomes to pamper yourself in Slimming center and Spa, in Restaurant and Lounge Bar enjoy tasteful delights with designer menu options in raw food, listen to mellifluent sounds at live music events and experience special holistic programs as well as creative workshops and authentic trips to discover Bali.This is the lifestyle you deserve, and we are happy to share our passion and curiosity to life with you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda and Asiatravel.com Holdings so you can book your Blue Karma Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Karma Hotel Bali/Seminyak

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blue Karma Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.