We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden Paradise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Karma Hotel

Save Saved
You added Blue Karma Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Blue Karma Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jalan Raya Seminyak, Gang Bima No 2, Seminyak _ | Kuta, Badung, Seminyak, Bali 80361, Indonesia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 101 Hotels in Seminyak
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Hidden Paradise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

This personalized boutique hotel is perfectly situated in the heart of Seminyak, a stones throw from all your hearts desires in this area of Bali. Immaculately kept, with lush surroundings and heartfelt service, Blue Karma offers you the very best in Balinese hospitality. Ideal for people who want to be centrally located but tucked away from all the hustle n bustle. The fabulous garden surrounding the poolside bar and lounging area provides for a perfect serene and relaxing backdrop suitable to every creature comfort. Don't be shy about exploring the restaurant's menu in its entirety; especially the creative selection of healthy life-renewing smoothies! The entire staff are perfectly attentive with wonderfully warm smiles. We will definitely return!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

315 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    211
    84
    17
    1
    2
See reviews for
49
160
15
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cairns, Australia
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

Unfortunetly I didn't stay here, but fortunately found this beautiful boutique hotel and restaurant located down a small gang off the main street and had 2 beautiful meals here. I did take a look at the Villa's and they are just divine. Do yourself a favour and check this place out before you book anywhere else.
The location is perfect, in the middle of the best shops and restaurants in southern Bali and not too far from the beach, yoga and great day spa's. It is like walking into a Vogue Magazine, the staff are so friendly, everything is clean and perfectly kept. Also has a gorgeous boutique. Will be booking in on my next time to Bali. I work as a Travel Agent and will have no hesitation in recommending this property.

Room Tip: A ground floor close to the pool would be nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

My partner and I have recently returned from a 6 night stay at Blue Karma in Seminyak; our first trip to Bali since we were kids. We thoroughly enjoyed Blue Karma, it was relaxing, great value for money, the staff were friendly and helpful and the room was huge! We stayed in a one bedroom suite (Rose) and loved the spacious nature of it, the view over the pool, the big, comfortable bed and the overall ambience of the room.

We enjoyed breakfast at the hotel each morning which was good. However, my partner is a big eater and would have liked to have both the special and the eggs without paying as he preferred to eat both. We also had afternoon tea one afternoon by the pool which was great as well as a lunch and a few cocktails along the way.

The best thing about this hotel is it's serenity, and true Balinese feel, for a few days while we were staying there was only us and another couple in the hotel and by the end of the week, the hotel was booked but it never felt busy, overcrowded.

The staff at Blue Karma were very helpful, booking restaurants and spa treatments (used both the inhouse and other spas in Seminyak) and the location of the hotel meant that it was an easy walk to both Kuta and the heart of Seminyak and Krebokkan for eateries.

We loved this hotel so much so that we are planning a larger family holiday in 6 months and plan to go back to Blue Karma!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

we stayed here for a couple of nights during a recent Bali trip. we were very happy with Blue Karma - it's smaller than many of the other hotels/villas, but good value for the price, and the smaller size gave it a more intimate feel.

staff were helpful and generous. their pool is great - try it at night!

at times the staff could have been a bit better informed about directions to local attractions etc., but this could have partly been due to language differences.

recommended.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fred n, Public Relations Manager at Blue Karma Hotel, responded to this review, January 12, 2013
Selamat Siang Sam, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience, we are delighted you enjoyed our little Gem of BK in Semyniak. We are in the process of creating new informative Guests Compendiums and this will no doubt please a lot of guests with some hidden treasures in the Area of Semyniak and beyond. See you again very soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

This boutique hotel is fabulous. Tucked away in a lane off the main street, it is a calm, serene oasis in the midst of bustling Seminyak. The accommodation is in a series of separate villas set around the central pool and restaurant area. Our rooms in the 2 bedroom villa were large, and stylishly furnished in a modern tropical style, with all mod cons such as a/c, TV with cable, fantastic lighting, bar fridge and so on. The bathrooms are semi-outside in the fresh air, but discrete, giving a wonderful indoor/outdoor feeling to the design. Our villa had its own small pool, which was great for a private swim, and the large main pool was just outside the door if you wanted to stretch out a little. The hotel is not large with only about 10 villas, so there was never a crowds issue - loungers and seats at the bar were always available.

All the staff without exception were friendly and kind, and went out of their way to help us. Arrangements for day trips, taxis, late checkouts, luggage ... anything, were all made without fuss. And all the time the staff smiled and were happy. They are a great advertisement for Bali and this hotel. I took advantage of the in-house spa and had a 1 hour massage - very relaxing, and remarkable value. Ideal de-stressing.

There is a restaurant/bar area serving local and international dishes, and room service if required. We ate and drank in fairly often, as the food was good and the atmosphere so relaxing. Trips out to restaurants were easy being either a short walk or drive, and you could hail a taxi from the street if needed.There are some wonderful restaurants nearby.

Outside the hotel, the beach is not close, and it would be best to take advantage of the hotel's courtesy buggy transfer rather than a sweaty walk if that's what you want. Available at all hours. Beware that the beach and the streets are full of hawkers and hassle - be prepared for the onslaught, and if that isn't your thing stick with the hotel.

I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone seeking luxurious, private relaxation in Bali. Thank you Blue Karma.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fred n, Public Relations Manager at Blue Karma Hotel, responded to this review, January 12, 2013
Hello and thank you Metrovoyager for your great feedback. We are delighted you enjoyed the oasis we created at Blue Karma and our wonderful team of excellent hosts making the experience even more pleasurable. We look forward to hosting you and friends again very soon, Have a wonderful 2013
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

My husband and I stayed Nov 2012. We booked over the phone and told them we found a great deal online and they matched it. It was very resonably priced when you consider what you would get if you stayed in something similar in other countries.
Our first few days was in the Lavendar Villa. We loved the private pool and private courtyard. The villa furnishings etc were amazing in our HUGE room. The rooms were clean, comfortable, great air conditioning, good selection in minibar, yummy smelling shampoo etc and a really cute turn down service each night.
We then went to UBUD for three days and rebooked back into Blue Karma for two more nights as we really appreciated our first stay there.This time we didnt have a private pool villa as they were fully booked but we still had a lovely swim in the main pool where we were served drinks by the amazing staff! We chose to eat and drink at the hotel because it was convenient, clean, efficient and lovely staff, lovely food and not too pricey if you compare it to Auzzie prices. The complimentary massage at the spa was ok but i didnt use it again.
We actually tried to extend our stay in Bali because we really enjoyed our accommodation here (but we were too late with our airline lol)
It is up an old alleyway but do not be discouraged as we were pleasantly surprised when we pulled up and were greeted warmly with a complimentary drink. We also had an early morning flight on departure and they packed us a brekky to go - how thoughtful!
We have now stayed in kuta, ubud, sanur and seminyak and we loved seminyak best as it is cleaner, less hawkers and nice location to get to other places.
We would definitely recommend the Blue Karma to other singles,couples or families with older children as there is not much in the way of entertainment unless your kids like swimming.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fred n, Public Relations Manager at Blue Karma Hotel, responded to this review, January 12, 2013
Siang Megs, Thank you for your message and delighted to hear your romantic stay went well and you chose to stay with us again already. We pride ourselves in our services and comfortable luxury in a little oasis amongst Seminyak so we look forward to hosting you again very soon - Sampe Jumpa :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

Blue Karma, what can I say, this place offered a great atmosphere, topped with a such an excellent service, I am loving my two nights stay in the exclusive villa. The rooms and beds are clean and comfy, the bathrooms are exotic, with such a 'refined primitiveness' I found it truly unique. The staff are attentive, kind and professional, and quickly attended our request. One of the A/C in our room was not cold enough, we called them to had it checked, and they fix it right away. With such an amazing privacy, we had a great and happy time during our stay in Bali, thank you to Blue Karma....

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Blue Karma Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Karma Hotel

Address: Jalan Raya Seminyak, Gang Bima No 2, Seminyak _ | Kuta, Badung, Seminyak, Bali 80361, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Seminyak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Seminyak
#17 Romantic Hotel in Seminyak
#18 Spa Hotel in Seminyak
#20 Luxury Hotel in Seminyak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Blue Karma Hotel 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blue Karma is a lifestyle resort in the heart of Bali activities and happenings – Seminyak. The resort is within walking distance to the shops, restaurants and to the beach. Artistic creativity, comfort, ethnic design and flourishing garden have come together to make a vacation paradise in Blue Karma.You will get unique hotel experience and personalized concierge service. Blue Karma welcomes to pamper yourself in Slimming center and Spa, in Restaurant and Lounge Bar enjoy tasteful delights with designer menu options in raw food, listen to mellifluent sounds at live music events and experience special holistic programs as well as creative workshops and authentic trips to discover Bali.This is the lifestyle you deserve, and we are happy to share our passion and curiosity to life with you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Tingo, Odigeo, Otel and HotelsClick so you can book your Blue Karma Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Karma Hotel Bali/Seminyak

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blue Karma Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.