We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic ambience....great service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Karma Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Blue Karma Hotel to your Saves list
Blue Karma Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jalan Raya Seminyak, Gang Bima No 2, Seminyak _ | Kuta, Badung, Seminyak, Bali 80361, Indonesia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
Ranked #17 of 115 Hotels in Seminyak
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Sydney
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic ambience....great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

Blue Karma, what can I say, this place offered a great atmosphere, topped with a such an excellent service, I am loving my two nights stay in the exclusive villa. The rooms and beds are clean and comfy, the bathrooms are exotic, with such a 'refined primitiveness' I found it truly unique. The staff are attentive, kind and professional, and quickly attended our request. One of the A/C in our room was not cold enough, we called them to had it checked, and they fix it right away. With such an amazing privacy, we had a great and happy time during our stay in Bali, thank you to Blue Karma....

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

393 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    266
    104
    19
    2
    2
See reviews for
57
207
18
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

We travelled to Bali and stayed at the Blue Karma resort in Nov. Wow, what a gem of a place. Peaceful, but not dead, Close to everything, but not noisy or busy. We stayed in a 1 bedroom villa with private pool and were more than happy with it. The shuttle to Seminyak beach was a really nice addition (used it most evenings to go for sundowners)
One suggestion and this is by no means a negative. The showers are less than perfect. The shower is in the bath and is a bit low (hand held) - just be careful getting in as it is quite slippery!! Apart from that, staff, service, etc was exceptional. Will and have recommended to anyone.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

With great staff and a fantastic pool and secluded rooms, Blue Karma is more a small collection of private villas than a hotel. This means no matter how many people may be staying there, it never feels crowded and you can relax equally as comfortably in your room or by the pool.

Blue Karma's location is in a side alley just off a main road. You are sufficiently away from the hustle and bustle not to hear constant horns, but close enough to the hustle and bustle to find what you want and not confuse taxi drivers.

I will say, however, that the Hotel's location is a little 'no man's land'. To get to the heart of either Legian, Kuta or Seminyak (where the bigger shops and restaurants are), you're forced to get a taxi. The reception will call a metered taxi for you when you need one, but the traffic means you might feel like you're spending half your holiday in the back seat of a car.

This is not to say the location is bad. You could comfortably stay within walking distance of the hotel and have a fantastic holiday. The hotel also offers a 'concierge' service, where they will collect whatever you need from nearby shops (groceries etc) for you. I enjoy wandering around on my holidays, so I never took advantage of this, but you could definitely get away with not setting foot outside the perfectly manicured lawns of the place.

The staff at Blue Karma are amazing. EVERYONE was very polite and attentive, not just the receptionists and the waiters/waitresses, also the porters, gardeners and cleaners. The staff spoke perfect English and were very hard working, with a smile never leaving their face.

We had the pleasure of staying in two different rooms. The first room was smaller than the second, but was still big enough to be comfortable. Unfortunately, a blocked drainage pipe meant this room flooded during heavy rain during our second day. Within seconds of calling reception, we had a small army of staff in our room with towels and brooms, moving our things to safety and drying everything. Within an 10 minutes, everything was back to normal, but the staff insisted we change rooms. Our next room was clearly an upgrade, with more space, bigger bed and an outdoor room. It was amazing.

The hotel has a 'refined primitiveness' style. You could spend an entire day admiring the wood carvings that adorn everything (door handles, tables, swimming pool) and still find new interesting things to look at the day after.

The first room we stayed in had an indoor bathroom, but the second one was outdoor. The outdoor bathroom shared the balcony with the toilet and a sun bed. Although the room serves three purposes, modesty means you can only really use it for one purpose at a time (unless you enjoy reading a book in a group, with someone on the toilet). I personally enjoyed the openness of the outdoor bathroom, but having to coordinate toilet visits around my girlfriend's reading grew awkward.

I like to eat around on holidays, so I only had one meal at the hotel's restaurant. It was delicious.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

We stayed in a one bedroom suite and the room is spacious with a really comfortable bed. These are things that I take for granted in Bali. The only thing that I did not like was the toiletries provided but that is just personal preferences there.

It was the service and the little touches that make this hotel an excellent stay for us. The management is really thoughtful for the guests.

On the little touches, towels and free coconut drinks provided during check-in is refreshing. Add on the fresh fruits platter in the room all nicely peeled awaiting our consumption was very welcoming. The free hour massage just whisk us straight into holiday mood. The masseur in the hotel spa is very good much better than the one I had in Spa Bali.

In additional, the hotel provides free afternoon tea from 3.30pm to 5.00pm. Nice touch for those lazying by the pool. It is what a holiday should feels like. I guess most guests have private pool hence the main pool though not big is rarely crowded. I think the pool is not chlorinated which I like too. They also have a nightly turned down service which really helped getting the irritating mosquitoes out. I will choose Blue Karma again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bunbury
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

My friend and I spent one week at Blue Karma, and loved every minute. The staff were excellent, and the rooms were clean and beautifully appointed. We were met at the airport, and transferred in comfort to the hotel. When we arrived, we were presented with a voucher for a one hour massage, which we both used the next day and loved. We had booked a double room, which was great, but when we switched on the shower that night, we discovered there was no hot water. We called the reception, and they sent somebody out immediately to investigate. They decided that they could not fix it that night, so whisked us straight off to a pool villa where we spent the entire trip at no extra charge. They could not have been more helpful - carrying our clothes and belongings, and hanging everything up for us in the new room. We loved the breakfasts, and found there was something to suit all tastes from traditional bacon and eggs, to continental croissants etc. The location is excellent - tucked away down a small street, but still in the heart of Seminyak. The central pool is beautiful and very pretty at night. We didn't use it however, as we had the luxury of our own pool! Thank you Blue Karma for a very memorable time - we will definitely be back.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fred n, Public Relations Manager at Blue Karma Hotel, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Selamat Siang, Many thanks for your wonderful feedback which we have passed on to the team. We are delighted to know you have spent an amazing holiday indulging in the services of the property and our team. The location in the centre of Semyniak while providing a quiet heaven place is of very high importance and a great plus when on holiday. We look forward to welcoming you again soon, Warmest Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

Situated down a quiet alley off the main street in Seminyak, Blue Karma is a haven for peace and quiet. You can feel the stress peeling away as you walk through to the courtyard. The room itself was large and spacious. The little touches on the rooms made the stay special - such as the beds turned down at night with a floural arrangement. The bed was one of the more comfortable that we have ever found in a hotel room. The pool was warm and inviting. Staff were all extremely helpful, friendly and the service excellent. Location is walking distance from the main streets for resturants and there is a large supermarket a few minutes away.

Yet there were a few points which made this stay interesting. The main was the outside bathroom and toilet. I didnt read this in the reviews or on the website so it was a bit of a shock. Showering in the courtyard listening to the couple downstairs do the same was OK, but having the toilet out there as well was not comfortable. There was a day bed outside as well, but having it overlooking the toilet which had a clear glass door was not a good idea. Some things are not for spectators and even after many happy years of marriage, there are activities that are not meant to be shared.
The other point of interest was the loss of water for a day. Apparently a fault in their supply, which was fixed during the night, but there was little communication about it. Staff were a little lost we felt.

This is an excellent small hotel for couples or adults. I wouldnt suggest taking a family of young children (our usual holiday) - the venue is too quiet and peaceful for them and the pool more suited for a gentle swim than children's play.

Definitely a hotel we would recommend.

Room Tip: Ask for an inside bathroom unless you would enjoy the voyueristic charm of the outside toilet with t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fred n, Public Relations Manager at Blue Karma Hotel, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Selamat Siang Kate Many thanks for your review and feedback we are delighted to hear you have enjoyed the property and our team's services and attention. We sincerely apologise for the loss of water and glad it was fixed very quickly. As for our bathroom only a few are indoors and we would be delighted to accomodate this request on another visit to the property. Looking forward to your next visit to our little of peace and quiet in the centre of busy Semyniak.Warmest regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

Blue Karma is only a year old and was a relaxing, peaceful place to stay.Travelling solo, I wanted to stay in a place that was comfortable,safe,modern and fully serviced so I didn't have to venture too far out of the way for spa treatments and food!The hotel has 24 hr security too.Rooms and suites are set around an inviting pool and luscious green gardens that are attended to daily, it truly is like a little oasis.My 1 bedroom suite was comfortable, clean and spacious, complete with 2 balconies and outdoor furniture,would easily suit a couple.On arrival a personalised welcome letter was waiting on the hall table and the room already prepared for me to just jump into bed!I also received a voucher for a complimentary massage to be used at the spa.Spa services are a little more pricey than you would find outside of the hotel, but you are guaranteed quality service, dont forget to add the tax onto the price.Each night hotel staff would spray the room for bugs, bed would be turned down, mosquito nets drawn and lights dimmed.Rooms were cleaned daily either early morning or mid afternoon, all hygiene products supplied along with 2 bottles of water per day complimentary.Breakfast was included, fresh fruit, cakes, cereals and scrambled eggs on request.The in house menu was simple but satisfying and would suit individuals looking for a convenient meal or snack, the frozen daquiries are lovely and refreshing too.Water from the tap is apparently safe to drink and is filtered,and filters are cleaned every 3 days.This is one of the nicest places I have stayed in and suited my short stay,it was quiet (other than the roosters at the crack of dawn), clean, comfortable and the staff were accommodating and friendly.It suits people looking for the ultimate relaxing getaway without the kids!I will definately be staying again with the other half next time.Thankyou Blue Karma!!

Room Tip: Rooms available with private pools which looked amazing, would suit 2 or more people and are a littl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Blue Karma Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Karma Hotel

Address: Jalan Raya Seminyak, Gang Bima No 2, Seminyak _ | Kuta, Badung, Seminyak, Bali 80361, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Seminyak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Seminyak
#15 Spa Hotel in Seminyak
#16 Luxury Hotel in Seminyak
#18 Romantic Hotel in Seminyak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Blue Karma Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blue Karma is a lifestyle resort in the heart of Bali activities and happenings – Seminyak. The resort is within walking distance to the shops, restaurants and to the beach. Artistic creativity, comfort, ethnic design and flourishing garden have come together to make a vacation paradise in Blue Karma.You will get unique hotel experience and personalized concierge service. Blue Karma welcomes to pamper yourself in Slimming center and Spa, in Restaurant and Lounge Bar enjoy tasteful delights with designer menu options in raw food, listen to mellifluent sounds at live music events and experience special holistic programs as well as creative workshops and authentic trips to discover Bali.This is the lifestyle you deserve, and we are happy to share our passion and curiosity to life with you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Agoda, Expedia and Odigeo so you can book your Blue Karma Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Karma Hotel Bali/Seminyak

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blue Karma Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.