We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great menu and food - worth wandering off Eat Street to come here” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Maya Sayang

Maya Sayang
Jl. Mertasari No. 1 Seminyak, Kuta, Bali 80361 Indonesia | +62 361 732230, Seminyak, Bali, Indonesia
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #113 of 305 Restaurants in Seminyak
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: http://www.mayasayang.com/
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great menu and food - worth wandering off Eat Street to come here”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013 via mobile

Actually had dinner here then a lunch the next day as it was right next to our villa. Dinner was great. Good drinks menu and great choice of food. So much fresh sushi and sashimi to pick from, plus some Korean dishes too.
Great value for money and good service.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    23
    7
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Quality of the fish was average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

For me, the quality of the tuna, macherel and salmon was not what I expected. We ordered cucumber rolls and some soft shell crab rolls. The soft shell crab was OK, but the rice was average and rather tastless.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Some of our order didn't arrive and the wait was too long”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

The food is fresh and good. Really good. I had sushi, nori rolls and some fresh noodles and boyfriend had 'beef sushi' which he loved.

But the service!

We waited and waited and waited. We ordered some sushi to start with which was so slow to come out, and then when the waitress finally came back we ordered some more things but by the time we left some of the items we'd asked for originally, hadn't even arrived yet.

It was such a frustrating experience because the food really is so fresh but there just wasn't enough to back it up. There seemed to be 3 menus which makes it all a little confusing, especially when none of the dishes are categorised - they're just sort of all over the place. The staff need some serious training and some systems before I'd go back there.

A real shame.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Japanese in Seminyak”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

Lovely Japanese restaurant set back slightly off the main street in Seminyak. Good portions and very reasonably priced. Happy hour cocktails and free "ladies desert". So good we ate here twice!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Western Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Simply Delicious”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

I am always craving sashimi, 24/7 and can never seem to get enough without breaking the bank. Maya Sayang delivered! My tuna and salmon sashimi was delicious and fresh, and my bowl of miso was also very hot, fresh and tasty.
The service was attentive and half priced cocktails were great value.
My list of restaurants to try in Bali is very long but I will try and get back for another sashimi feast before I depart!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Maya Sayang also viewed

 

Been to Maya Sayang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maya Sayang, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.