We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Half price cocktails for 3 hours and the food is fantastic” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Maya Sayang

Maya Sayang
Jl. Mertasari No. 1 Seminyak, Kuta, Bali 80361 Indonesia | +62 361 732230, Seminyak, Bali, Indonesia
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #111 of 328 Restaurants in Seminyak
Cuisines: Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: http://www.mayasayang.com/
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Half price cocktails for 3 hours and the food is fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013 via mobile

Hidden off the main street behind Ultimo Italian restaurant this is a little gem! We made it our regular place for half price cocktails and we weren't disappointed with them. We also tried an array of food which was equally as good...okay it was delicious :)

We tried the Salmon crunch. Sounds weird: breadcrumbed sushi deep fried but it was a taste sensation. The ribs were fantastic, all the sushi and sashimi was fresh and very tasty. Tempura is also very good. Even the free nuts which have fried bits of garlic are delicious!!

Won't disappoint!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    24
    8
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Paris, Ile-de-France, France
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent japanese food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Some of the best japanese food I ever eat, be it in Japan, Paris or anywhere else.
Bali is full of wonderful place to eat, this one is one of them and definitely regarding japanese meals.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Hidden Japanese gem”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

This restaurant is tucked out of the way just off Jl Kayu Aya near Ultimo. It serves excellent, well priced Japanese food and great cocktails. It may not look like much from the street but it is definitely worth a visit. Come for the fresh, delicious sashimi, stay for the 2 for 1 cocktails and great service.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“My favorite could be yours as well...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

This is by far the best Japanese in Seminyak. Hidden around the corner from Ultimo, Maya Sayang elicits Japan in so many ways including the attention to detail that goes into the presentation (and taste) of the menu items. I chose to dine here a number of times as I was made to feel very welcomed by the staff. The dishes are top value and true to traditional Japanese flavours. Go for the beef tataki, tempura and iced green tea!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rheinfelden, Switzerland
Level Contributor
34 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Hidden but surprise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Hidden in Jalan Laksmana, behind the Ultimo, a perfect location but guess not so many people know about this amazing place.

They have the best curry udon, the best the best the best and makes you want more and more. I always come back here for their signature dish, the curry udon.

It's just too good and delicious, you can't miss it.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Maya Sayang also viewed

 

Been to Maya Sayang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maya Sayang, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.