We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ku De Ta without the air-kissing” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Plancha

La Plancha
on the Mesari Beach, between JL Double Six and Jl Dhyanapura | Jl. Dhyanapura, Seminyak, Bali, Indonesia
(878)614-16310
Improve this listing
Ranked #104 of 245 restaurants in Seminyak
Price range: $3 - $15
Cuisines: Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: on the beach between Jl. Dhyanapura & 66 road.vibrant spanish beach bar & restaurant named after a traditional spanish way of cooking 'la plancha'traditional, simple, unpretentious, fresh spanish food & comfortable colourful beanbags to enjoy a drink & watch the amazing bali sunsets.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
244 helpful votes 244 helpful votes
“Ku De Ta without the air-kissing”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

Seriously cool retro beach joint. La Plancha is riding the wave of Tex-Mex that is very "now" in Bali with a simple south-of-the-border menu including fresh uncomplicated seafood (grilled sardines, oysters, fish) with a Spanish twist (jamon!). Nautical themes abound with driftwood bench-tops, glass net floats and sandy floors.

Get here early, grab a bean bag, and enjoy the same sunset you'll see 200 yards up the sand at Ku De Ta with a lot less fuss and pretense. It'll be easier on the wallet too. Even if you're just stopping by for drinks while doing the jalan-jalan along the beach you shouldn't miss the place that is today what Ku De Ta was yesterday.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

311 reviews from our community

74% Recommend
    96
    137
    54
    9
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wollongong, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great for sunsets”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

A little hard to find but worth it in the end.. We opted to sit on the roof as the beach was so hot but the sunset still beautiful. The bean bags looked great and filled up pretty quick so if you want a bean bag get there about 4:30ish
Drinks a little more expensive than other places. Try the Black Iced Tea, best cocktail ever...
We had some of the bread which was lovely with the ailoli.
Staff were great and we didnt have to wait long for a drink...
If your after a place to watch the sunset without the price tag then this is a great place to sit and do it.
Will be going back next trip

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
“Cool ambiance”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

This is a cool place to go to see the sunset and have a few drinks with friends. It is right on the beach and not accessible by car. You would have to walk depending where you got dropped off.
There are benches and tables to sit or you can sit on the beach on bean bags. If you prefer to sit on the beach then wear shoes easy to put on and take off. Also wear clothes you don't mind getting sand on.
The food is delicious, however prices for drinks were high. We ordered a jug of sangria that cost us about $48US!!!!!!
Service was horrible though. Our order was mixed up and when the bill came, we were charged for things we ordered but never got! Rarely did the waitress check on us.
Although the service was horrible, I would go back for its ambiance and great food.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Kool place.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013 via mobile

Just loved this place to watch sunset and relax on the bean bags.
Get there early to get a bag as I couldn't believe how quickly it filled up.
I could watch sunset every night at this place on my holiday.
Fantastic. .

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wroclaw
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Best place to be for sunset”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Great place to chill after all day of adventures, just grab a beer and relax with friends. They also serve some food.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Plancha also viewed

 

Been to La Plancha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Plancha, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.