We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, atmosphere not the best” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Husk Restaurant

Husk Restaurant
Jalan Camplung Tanduk | The Royal Beach Seminyak Bali, Seminyak, Bali 80033, Indonesia
62-361-730730
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #174 of 289 Restaurants in Seminyak
Price range: $10 - $150
Cuisines: Asian, International
Dining options: Reservations, Buffet
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Buffet
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great food, atmosphere not the best”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

We were excited to try Husk after all the hype, but tried to keep reasonable expectations. We had very late reservations (9:45) but when we got there, the hostess told us to go next door to the bar and get a drink and we'd be seated in 10 mins. The bar next door is really cool - best atmosphere. The bourbon selection is excellent. We were seated quickly. The restaurant is basically an old house, with different rooms with tables. We were seated in an upstairs room with only 4 tables, so that was cool, but you could definitely hear everyone else's conversations.

We started with the fried green tomatoes/pimento cheese and pork belly with corn/blueberries. Both appetizers were done very well and the flavors were paired really well. We especially liked the fried green tomatoes. For entrees, we had the Wagyu sirloin and trout. The trout was rich and flavorful, with perfectly crisp edges. The sirloin was a little tough but with the amount of fresh fish on the menu, that is probably their specialty. We got a side of grits with mushrooms and cheddar and the cheese overpowered the grits. That and the dessert we got were the only really disappointing items. We got fried peach pie which was sort of like an empanada with very little flavor.

The service was a bit off. The server was rather informal, hurried, and acted a little put out when my wife ordered a glass of wine. She was plenty chatty with other tables in our room, though, The house is pretty and has nice artwork, but it's not a particularly romantic or private atmosphere, and the light is pretty bright inside. Overall, not bad, but would expect better service out of a fine dining establishment.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    9
    4
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Hidden dining gem in Seminyak: Husk!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

Husk Restaurant: The Royal Beach Hotel Seminyak

A visit to 'Husk' restaurant is a must for any visitor to Bali staying near Seminyak or Kuta. 'Husk' is the main restaurant located within The Royal Beach Hotel Seminyak. The Royal Beach is located between The Oberoi and the Anantara, Bali.

Our family stayed at The Royal Beach Seminyak for 10 nights in July 2012. We don't normally choose to dine in hotel restaurants. Our preference is to research traveler recommended restaurants and to sample these. We did do this on this trip but, to our surprise and complete delight, 'Husk' was better than just about all of them. We ended up dining there on 3 nights! The setting is tranquil and the food is delicious, of generous portion size and most reasonably priced. The cuisine would be best described as contemporary fusion with Indonesian favourites available as well. The presentation of the meals was the most elaborate that we experiences during our Bali stay. Our son chose the the Satay Chicken which alone would have fed us all. There were 12 skewers and this was served on a small, hot coal BBQ with numerous side dishes. It was almost a work of art! The Nasi Goreng, a favourite of mine, was similarly generous and was, again, the best I had whilst in Bali

All this delicious food can be sampled with a first rate and reasonably priced international wine list. I was able to have a chilled glass of New Zealand Sauvignon Blanc so I was in food and wine heaven! You must make sure you leave room after your mains though as their Chocolate Fondant dessert is one of the most delicious desserts that I've ever had and I'm someone who reads the dessert menu before the full menu!

As if this was not enough there was even live entertainment with a pianist playing a grand piano.

The restaurant is of open air design and is set back from the beach but with lovely views out over the frangipani pool, gardens and beach.

We also tried the restaurants at Cocoon, Potato Head, Breeze and Gado Gado but, for mine, 'Husk' trumps them all!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theroyalmanager, Marketing Coordinator at Husk Restaurant, responded to this review, July 17, 2012
Dear Aussieholiday,

Thank you for sharing so may details about your culinary experience with us . It is always a pleasure to receive nice feedback from our Royal Guests.
I will share your review with the head of department concerned, our Chef and the F&B team and I am sure that it will encourage them to maintain our standard of services.

Looking forward to welcoming you back to the restaurant for another delightful moment.

Sincerely,

Camille Ringeard
Marketing Coordinator
The Royal Beach Seminyak Bali
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Amazing food with average service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2012

We weren't too impressed with the vibe of the place at first although that did improve quite quickly. It was very impressive food with pretty average service. The waiters were friendly but you could tell the restaurant was pretty understaffed. We shared the tuna carpaccio, vietnamese prawn salad, and stuffed chicken wings for entree- the tuna was average but the rest was fantastic. For mains we had the lamb chops- beautiful!- and the terriyaki chicken, was pretty good but nothing amazing. We also had 4 cocktails between us and had an accor advantage card that gives us a 50% discount on food. Price was 800k for the meal and drinks. Would only go back because we had our discount as the price for food was ok but not amazing as well as the service and atmosphere were average.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2011

food was excellent and the location is great. For relaxed hotel food this place ticks all the boxes. Each night the hotel has a theme night the tapas night must be highly recommended

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theroyalmanager, Manager at Husk Restaurant, responded to this review, December 21, 2011
Dear Andym1981,

Thank you for your kind review and for the recommendation! We are looking forward to serve you better on your next visit.

Sincerely,
Ana Dewi Permana
Marketing Manager
Husk Restaurant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noosa, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Teppenyaki to die for”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2011

The Husk restaurant has a Teppenyaki restaurant attached to it & it is just amazing. Some of the best food we have ever had. We had a set meal which is a great way to taste a little of everything. The main seafood & steak were just fantastic. All were so full of flavour, tender, juicy & succulent. We wish we had found this place sooner & could take it home with us! The chef was brilliant! I loved sitting there watching him do his magic! Make sure you book

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theroyalmanager, Manager at Husk Restaurant, responded to this review, October 20, 2011
Dear KellieW123,

Thank you for your kind compliment and review. It is a great motivator for us to maintain the quality of the services.
Looking forward to see you again in the restaurant!

Sincerely,
Ana Dewi Permana
Marketing Manager
Husk Restaurant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Husk Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Husk Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Husk Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.