We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A chic haven in the heart of Seminyak!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Colony Hotel Bali

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Colony Hotel Bali to your Saves list
The Colony Hotel Bali
3.5 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Jalan Laksmana 22, Seminyak, Bali 80361, Indonesia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
SUMMER ESCAPE
Ranked #2 of 79 Seminyak B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Manila
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
“A chic haven in the heart of Seminyak!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

We finished off our stay in Bali last week with 3 days at The Colony in Seminyak and we were absolutely delighted with our stay and really didn't want to leave! I had read all the very positive reviews on Trip Advisor and went ahead with the booking hoping that the hotel would live up to its reputation. I am happy to report that it certainly did and more!

The Colony is located directly across the street from Samaya and just up from The Legian, so an excellent position on Jalan Oberoi. The hotel is set back from the street so there is no noise whatsoever making it a peaceful haven in what can be a rather noisy road in Seminyak. The hotel has built an extension on the front of the hotel which is going to be their main restaurant but is not yet open. We loved the look of the hotel and were pleased that it looked exactly like the photos on the hotel's website. The rooms are built around a central courtyard that houses a small swimming pool and the breakfast area as well as a few sun loungers and tables.

Our room (No. 11) was located upstairs on the second floor and was very comfortable and well-appointed with a wonderful bathroom. Our only disappointment was that the windows of the room looked out onto a wall so there was no view whatsoever but I suppose that is inevitable because of the design of the hotel. Many of the other rooms have views of the pool area. Room No. 5 even has a lovely balcony and is probably one of the most desirable rooms in the hotel. Perhaps when booking it is best to find out what view the rooms have and choose accordingly.

The breakfast was served every morning on the terrace near the pool and was lovely. Not a huge selection but adequate and well-prepared. Our only complaint would be the French-press coffee which wasn't really that nice as we always ended up with lots of 'sludge' in the bottom of our coffee cups which wasn't particularly pleasant. Perhaps just normal brewed coffee or lattes or cappuccinos would be a better alternative. The staff at the restaurant are polite and efficient and do their job very well.

We were very impressed with the staff at The Colony. Tami and Adrian were a great source of information about where to go, where to eat and what to do in the area and they both do their job very well. All the staff were professional and efficient in carrying out their various tasks. The rooms were absolutely spotless, as was the whole hotel.

There is a wonderful sense of peace and quiet that pervades everything at The Colony and it is the sort of place where you can relax totally. The absence of kids is much appreciated- we had spent the previous 4 nights at The Conrad in Tanjung Benoa which was lovely but full of cute but noisy little ones, so the contrast when we arrived at The Colony was striking. Seminyak tends to be quite noisy so it was always a relief to arrive back at the hotel which is a bit of an oasis of calm in the midst of the hustle and bustle of the outside world.

We loved our stay at The Colony and can't wait to return. Many thanks to Adrian, Tami and the whole staff for making our few days at their lovely hotel so memorable.

Room Tip: Probably the nicest rooms are No. 12, No. 5 and No. 3 which are all on the second floor overlooking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

265 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    208
    53
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
19
130
29
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013 via mobile

The Colony is a fantastic hotel. Would support all the positive reviews here in relation to its location, style & design, the amazing staff & the tranquil atmosphere.
We were surprised at how busy Seminyak is, so we were very glad to arrive back to the hotel each night as it was like a different world. We stayed in Junior Suite 12 (gorgeous room with balcony over looking the property and pool) and it was our Honeymoon. We were due to stay four nights but ended up staying a fifth as we enjoyed it so much.
It's close to the best bars, restaurants, massage parlours and the beach.
Staff are so nice (from Tami who patiently dealt with all our initial requests) to the numerous staff on site. Breakfast was lovely.
Highly recommend the Colony; a great place.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

We wanted something between a resort villa and a large hotel and The Colony was the ideal venue. Hidden away in the midst of the bustle of Seminyak restaurants and shops is this quiet retreat with all the luxury facilities you will need. We found the staff professional, friendly and very helpful and the rooms around the swimming pool are well equipped and very comfortable. We stayed in a room on the top level which seems to be more private but the ones on the ground level are adjacent to the swimming pool and the sundeck so no climbing stairs. The location is within easy walking distance of many of the top Seminyak restaurants and the staff are only too willing to recommend others within a short taxi ride. We will certainly make a return visit. Peter Nomchong

Room Tip: Our room on the top floor at the end of the pool would be my choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

Nice view...
We had a pleasant stay in junior suite room, nice for taking photo shoot in balcony.
The staff also helpful and clean our room regularly.
This hotel recommended for couple but not for children.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

The Hotel was one of the highlights of my holiday. The room was simply amazing and the staff could not do enough for us. The pool area was also top rate and the Hotel was in walking distance from many shops and restaurants. The only downside was the lack of variety in the breakfast offering. I would have loved it if there could have been Muesli with Yoghurt or some cereals as after 2 weeks on holiday I was getting bored of eggs and Banana Pancakes very day.

Overall this is a brilliant place and I will definitely come back again ASAP!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

Had very pleasant nine nights at the colony in july. The hotel is in a great location near both kudeta and potatohead beach clubs. It offers nearly the same level of luxury as larger properties such as the legian and the oberoi which cost 3-4 times as much and are located just accross the street.

The staff at the hotel are fantastic. Because it's so small, the colony offers a true personal service experience. I had various requests for the front desk which were fulfilled with astonishing immediacy. These guys know how to treat their guests!

I stayed in multiple hotels during my stay in bali and the colony is the only one i would truly recommend to a friend. If you're going to Seminyak, definitely should consider it.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

This place was amazing. If I could give it 7 stars, this place has it. Staff were helpful in doing anything we asked. Beautiful, clean accommodation so centrally located to the best places in Seminyak. My only regret was not staying long enough.

Room Tip: We stayed in Junior Suite 1 and Junior Suite 2, which were right by the tables for breakfast, drinks...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to The Colony Hotel Bali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Colony Hotel Bali

Address: Jalan Laksmana 22, Seminyak, Bali 80361, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Seminyak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 79 B&Bs / Inns in Seminyak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Colony Hotel Bali 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Colony Hotel Bali is located in the heart of Seminyak and within walking distance to all the fun and leading places that creates your perfect Bali boutique hotel vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your The Colony Hotel Bali reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Colony Hotel Bali Seminyak

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Colony Hotel Bali, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.