We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Colony Hotel Bali

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Colony Hotel Bali to your Saves list
The Colony Hotel Bali
3.5 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Jalan Laksmana 22, Seminyak, Bali 80361, Indonesia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
December Special
Ranked #2 of 78 Seminyak B&B and Inns
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“lovely place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

reluctant to do review, because it's a small place, we want to go back, and the great review this place deserves hopefully won't make it too popular. Rooms clean, bright, comfortable, staff nice, location terrific. Nicely designed for it's size. Agree with previous review: no kids is a refreshing policy.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    187
    50
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
15
115
28
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

We stayed 8 nights from the 27th Oct rooms are spotless, staff well managed high standards every where you looked.
Located in the centre of the Seminyak area so nowhere is far to go.
So well priced for the hotel of this standard and location, we will be back!

Room Tip: Sea Circus next door has a great menu loved it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

We were looking for a boutique hotel that will satisfy our group (we were celebrating our wedding with family and friends from 5 continents with a wide range of group age) and we found this less-commercial hotel in the perfect spot.
We checked reviews and photos and since all of them are possitive, we decided to go ahead.
The reservation process was smooth and Tami was amazing on handling our back and forth (typical wedding) group arrangements.

When we arrived at the hotel, we were really happy that the hotel was as beautiful as the pictures (which is sometimes not the case) and it felt very homy.
The location, can't be beaten - just a step away from Petingenget beach and fairly close to Seminyak's best restaurants and cafe
Throughout our stay the service was perfect, not too much and not too less. Thumbs up for the chefs who prepared our breakfast - simple but tasteful, just what you need to start your day.
The amenities and facilities are well thought and all in good condition.
Another bonus, the policy of accomodating only 16 years and above guests made this hotel perfect for what it is made for.

As a pleasant touch, we really appreciate that the GM ensure he spends some time with each guests and personally ask us for an honest feedback.

We really love the concept and overal experience and we will definitely come back.
Thank you to The Colony team for a memorable stay with our loved ones,
Alex+Franscisca

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

Stayed for 5 nights in October 2012 - and wished I could have stayed longer. Very grateful to my friend for recommending this property to me. The highlights: great price (seriously good value), awesome location, friendly staff, beautiful rooms. Oh, and that there are no kids under 16 allowed. I'm sure that won't make everyone happy, but it sure makes for a peaceful and relaxing environment!

The rooms are spacious and well appointed, with lovely decor and fresh orchids in every room. In the evening the property has an enchanting atmosphere with the coach lights lit up all around the pool.

Walking distance to anything that is worth visiting in Seminyak, the property is hidden down a small alleyway which means you're sheltered from the sights and sounds of the main road. Across the road from the beach.

I'd say book now before it is booked out! Will definitely return. Big thanks to Jarlath and Adrian for helping make the stay special.

Room Tip: The largest room category are great value. Balcony rooms are great, but those without balconies are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

Stayed at the Colony on three occasions in the last month. Simply the best Boutique Hotel in Bali. Excellent location - near the beach with great restaurants nearby while quiet and peaceful inside the hotel - attentive helpfull staff, great rooms - spotlessly clean, excellent breakfast. Simply a great well run hotel

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

We have just returned from Bali, our daughter was married in Seminyak 2weeks ago. Staying at the Colony Hotel for the second time was once again magical. The location was perfect for our family and guests, many of them not been to Bali before. The staff are very friendly,caring and ever attentive. Our rooms were spotlessly cleaned daily, we love the French Colonial style and they are stunningly decorated. Breakfast by the pool each morning was relaxing. We love Bali and will continue to visit many times, always choosing to stay at The Colony.

Room Tip: All the rooms look onto the pool, most of them are ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

I stayed at the Colony with my partner for 5 nights. We were greeted with smiles, friendly staff and a welcome drink. The rooms were very clean and the bathroom was excellent. While we sat by the pool a staff member gave us a nice class of chilled water and an ice cream. The location of the hotel is right near the beach and near some great restaurants. The main street (restaurants and shops) are a short cab ride or walk away.
The only small negative was limited sun beds by the pool. While we stayed there a group of 4 people often occupied the beds all day which meant there were only 4 left for other guests to use.
Overall, I would highly recommend staying at the Colony Hotel.

Room Tip: A room further from where breakfast is served would be best
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Colony Hotel Bali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Colony Hotel Bali

Address: Jalan Laksmana 22, Seminyak, Bali 80361, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Seminyak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 78 B&Bs / Inns in Seminyak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Colony Hotel Bali 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Colony Hotel Bali is located in the heart of Seminyak and within walking distance to all the fun and leading places that creates your perfect Bali boutique hotel vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Colony Hotel Bali reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Colony Hotel Bali Seminyak

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Colony Hotel Bali, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.