We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful boutique resort” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Colony Hotel Bali

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Colony Hotel Bali to your Saves list
The Colony Hotel Bali
3.5 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Jalan Laksmana 22, Seminyak, Bali 80361, Indonesia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
$150 (USD)
Ranked #3 of 81 Seminyak B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful boutique resort”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012 via mobile

My husband and I went over to seminyak for our 17th wedding anniversary and chose this lovely intimate resort.
The service was excellent we wanted for nothing. The breakfast was small on choice (not a Buffett) but was very yummy and always freshly cooked. We chose a junior suite room and it was presented beautifully. Only downside if there was one is there isn't enough day beds around the pool,especially when the hotel got busier. But would definitely recommend this lovely hotel to anyone and would stay again in a heartbeat.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

292 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    228
    58
    4
    2
    0
See reviews for
22
145
33
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Byron Bay
Level Contributor
153 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

The Colony is a tasteful boutique hotel on Jalan Laksmana perfectly situated close to great restaurants and shopping. Extremely quite and discreet, rooms are tastefully done out, although a touch on the small side. Reasonably priced with consistent service. The only drawback is the bathrooms shutters let in morning sunlight meaning no lie in.

Room Tip: Go the superior room for extra space and or a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

I stayed at The Colony Hotel for 6 nights and had a great experience. The location is a big draw card - only a 2 minute walk to the beach and close to great breakfast/lunch spots and a minimart with ATM. It's tucked away from the hustle and bustle of Seminyak which gives it a very relaxing ambience. Only problem is that your taxi driver may not find it very easily as it's also quite new - but just tell them it's opposite The Samaya Resort.

The staff are very attentive and caring, giving tips for things to do, restaurants and calling on your behalf to arrange bookings and drivers if you need. A hearty and tasty breakfast is available, but we found cheaper meals outside of the hotel.

The rooms have a luxurious feel and include everything you need - wifi, safe, iron, toiletries, complimentary water, air con and a very comfy bed.

There are only around 30 rooms so there's quite an intimate, boutique feel and it doesn't take long for the staff to get to know you. We asked if we could store our bags at the hotel on our last day in Bali (a week after we checked out) and the staff not only obliged but also allowed us to use the wifi, pool, and shower before arranging a driver to take us to the airport. Wonderful hospitality!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

what a lovely place to escape from Seminyak yet be so close by.. Great feel of this hotel of being quiet, relaxed, stuning rooms, pool, garden and very helpful staff.

Nothing was too hard, book flights? no problem, a car? sure no problem, ..

really felt very spoilt and would happily stay again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

The Colony is a nice, cosy boutique hotel. A hidden pearl in Seminyak. Good location near beach, restaurants and shops. Nice rooms/suites, comfortable beds and very helpful staff. We had booked for our first stay of 5 days and decided to book for our last 4 days as well. We will come back when visiting Bali.

Room Tip: we had junior suite near swimming pool. excellent location
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

I was very impressed with the boutique hotel experience at The Colony - terrific staff, beautiful setting, fabulous well0-appointed room and great location. A beaut alternative to the big hotels and traditional Bali villas. Will return for sure.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
119 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

Colony is a new hotel directly opposite the famed Samaya. While it does not have the Samaya's beachfront location, it also is a fraction of the cost for a good location. Rooms are nicely appointed, being new everything works well. Importantly for me the soundproofing is fantastic as planes fly overhead but the noise is much muted. They can arrange cars and restaurant bookings and if you are fortunate to meet the manager he is extremely knowledgeable about restaurants, giving us two very good recommendations (Biku and Sardine).
The rate does not include breakfast which is mediocre, so go just outside the hotel and eat at Sea Circus instead!

Room Tip: Ask for a ground floor room, opens directly onto the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seminyak hotels
0.2 mi away
The Seminyak Beach Resort & Spa
0.1 mi away
The Legian Bali – a GHM hotel
0.1 mi away
The Samaya Bali
The Samaya Bali
#6 of 121 in Seminyak
5.0 of 5 stars 1,379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
W Retreat & Spa Bali - Seminyak
0.3 mi away
The Oberoi Bali
The Oberoi Bali
#5 of 121 in Seminyak
4.5 of 5 stars 1,173 reviews
0.7 mi away
Luna2 Studiotel
Luna2 Studiotel
#1 of 121 in Seminyak
5.0 of 5 stars 130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Colony Hotel Bali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Colony Hotel Bali

Address: Jalan Laksmana 22, Seminyak, Bali 80361, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Seminyak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 81 B&Bs / Inns in Seminyak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Colony Hotel Bali 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Colony Hotel Bali is located in the heart of Seminyak and within walking distance to all the fun and leading places that creates your perfect Bali boutique hotel vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Colony Hotel Bali reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Colony Hotel Bali Seminyak

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Colony Hotel Bali, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.