We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best steak!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bistro Batu Kali

Bistro Batu Kali
Jalan Laksamana No. 55 | Oberoi, Seminyak, Bali 80361, Indonesia
+62 361 730928
Improve this listing
Ranked #107 of 289 Restaurants in Seminyak
Price range: $5 - $12
Cuisines: European, Seafood, Australian, Pacific Rim
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
North Wonthaggi, Victoria, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Best steak!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

Such cheap meals! The steak was $7 and it was the best cut of meat if had in a long time and cooked to perfection. We went here twice we liked it that much. The service was fantastic. The drinks were delicious with cheap cocktails (they were on special at the time) desserts were amazing but very small unfortunately. Australian chef who took the time to come and talk to us at the table. Caters for gluten intolerance sufferers too!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

283 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    140
    87
    26
    18
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Have a drink, don't touch the food”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

Staff were quite friendly... when they were around. But they did leave us sitting there for about 20 minutes before we were asked if we'd like to order drinks, then we had to wait to order our meals even though we knew what we wanted.

Steak tenderloin was disappointing and under cooked, prawns were not fresh and served oddly.

I can forgive lax service if the food is good, but it wasn't.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brett S, Manager at Bistro Batu Kali, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
Thank you very much for posting your potent remarks on Trip Advisor, because it provides us with valuable feedback. You have actually touched on 2 of my favourite subjects: Australian Eye Fillet steak and local Jimbaran Ocean King Prawns. If you allow me to elaborate on your comments, I have noted that your Eye Fillet was a little on the rare side - well to have one such comment spanning many months of reviews is testament to the strength of our ongoing training and monitoring program in the kitchen, to ensure delivery of quality product consistently to the consumer. Every day our Australian Beef Supplier delivers 7 kg - 10 kg of fresh whole eye fillet to our restaurant. As each loin is portioned into 250 gram serves that equates to 30 - 40 very satisfied diners every evening; 365 nights a year. Additionally, our King Prawn Supplier delivers 5 kg - 7 kg of Ocean fresh King Prawns on ice from a dedicated refrigerated van late in the afternoon every evening. When the diner orders our King Prawn special, we simply split the large King Prawns (5 size 12 prawns to a serve for Rp 127 000_AU$12)in the shell and sear them, flesh down for 1 minute and turn them over and finish them for a further 1 1/2 minutes shell down on our BBQ hotplate. They are removed from the heat, brushed with White Wine Garlic Sauce and plated over scorched potatoes accompaniment. You cannot get prawns served any more simpler or tastier than this culinary style. Noted your purported wait time for initial drinks - which would be a little out of character for our scintillating floor and bar staff. However some blended fresh fruit juices or more elaborate blended cocktails can take a little more preparation time. However, one of my key roles, is to monitor guest waiting times for drinks and following up to ensure fluid service. The reported time seems a little exorbitant - again many apologies - an area I continually monitor and enhance. Warm regards from all of the wonderful team at Bistro Batu Kali. Brett K Sweeny Food & Beverage Manager kalinights@outlook.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Disapointed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

Just like pub food, not Seminyak standard.

Breakfast included in hotel rates. Nothing special, better off to eat out.

Other menus also sub standard, pizza bases are frozen commercial type.

Salads are skimpy and tasteless.

Can do much better at many of the local eateries, plentiful and fresher ingredients.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brett S, Manager at Bistro Batu Kali, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our restaurant. It is noted in my journal that you were in-house guests at Amadea Villas and repeat guests to our establishment, and I am a little surprised that you overlooked bringing these remarks directly to my attention following your dining experiences with us. I endeavour in my role to gather as much insight into our diners experience as possible during the course of the evening, and I know we did speak prior to your departure back to your villa, on several occasions. Never the less, following your remarks concerning pizza bases, we are working closely with our baker, who supplies our restaurant with fresh pizza bases, to create a more desirable pizza base. Thank you once again for your patronage, and we look forward to see in you on Bali once again. Brett K Sweeny Food & Beverage Manager kalinights@outlook.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“worth a visit”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

the service is good, the food ok and the value reasonable so if you are in seminyak it is worth a visit

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Average meal”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

We ate here as it was close to our villa and looked inviting and comfortable inside and out and we were seated one level up from the street.
We were not that impressed with our meals unfortunately though, and had expected better quality, but the fish cakes were very average and tasteless, and the massaman curry was dry and did not come with any side dishes to break up the saltiness. Then our night (with our 2 young children) was spoiled by the rowdy smokers who arrived at the next table during our meal. We all moved to the far end of our table to get away from the smoke and noise and after finishing our meals we promptly left to get dessert elsewhere. Had our entrees and mains been more enjoyable we may have stayed and put up with our noisy neighbours but it did not seem worth it. There are so many options along this street, this place could really stand out with more refined and tasty dishes and perhaps a separation of smokers and non smokers - especially when there are small children nearby. We made the decision pretty quickly that despite this place being handy and convenient, we wouldn't bother going back.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bistro Batu Kali also viewed

 

Been to Bistro Batu Kali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bistro Batu Kali, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.