We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Villa and Wonderful Staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rumi Villas

Save Saved
You added Rumi Villas to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Rumi Villas
3.0 of 5 Villa   |   117 Jalan Laksmana | Gang Intikulit, Seminyak, Bali 80361, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #119 of 297 Specialty lodging in Seminyak
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
“Beautiful Villa and Wonderful Staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We had the most amazing stay over 4 days at Rumi Villas in August. Our maid Dayu was fantastic and went out of her way to ensure we had a wonderful stay - cleaning, cooking and making sure we were comfortable. The villa was gorgeous - great pool, modern fittings and lots of room for 4 adults. We were a very short stroll away from the main shopping strip but our peaceful villa made us feel miles away - we were able to get the best of both worlds! Would absolutely recommend the villas to anyone planning a trip to Seminyak and will no doubt return again and again. Thanks Mike!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    14
    1
    8
    1
    0
See reviews for
10
2
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Rumi Villas are an absolute dream!! The photos do not do its beauty justice!! 2 minute walk to the main stretch of Seminyak. Dayu our housemaid is simply gorgeous. She was so kind and as four girls we felt so comfortable with her looking after us. I highly recommend you request Dayu. The villa is in impeccable condition and all of the furniture and finishings are just stunning. We came home every day to a beautiful place and barely wanted to see any of Seminyak because our place was so lovely. Our driver from the airport was also fantastic and so helpful with our bags etc. Thank you, Mike!! Your staff are a credit to you and I plan to return very year!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geelong, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We just returned from a stay at Rumi Villas. The place is the best. Such a great location and five minute walk to main street. We loved the fact that we had our own little oasis away from the hectic shopping strip. Our maid Nana was beautiful and couldn't do enough for us.
We would highly recommend anyone to choose Rumi Villas for a holiday to remember.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

We were a group of 4 who stayed for 7 days at Rumi Villas. We were very happy with the villa & the facilities it provided, however would have been nice if we didn't have to supply our own shampoo/soap/hair dryer etc. Our maid Dewi was very helpful and happy to assist whenever required. The villas are very close to restaurants and mini marts which is very handy. The rooms were very clean and the beds were excellent. Mosquitos were fairly bad, however sprays and mozzie coils were provided. The Wi-Fi was unstable most of the time so we weren't able to access emails etc. Aside from that I would highly recommend these villas.

Room Tip: I would imagine the first villa would be quite noisy as it's a bit of a thoroughfare for scooter...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

We have only just returned (8/8/14) from staying 10 nights @ 4 Villa Rumi accommodation (three couples & one singe) which we found absolutely perfect as much due to overall comfort but more due to extremely helpful and efficient staff (nothing was to difficult). Villas are in an excellent location, close to all facilities, close to the beach and close to some of the beast Bali's Restaurants. All these made my 1st visit to Bali most satisfying.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shoalhaven heads
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014 via mobile

We had 14 people stay age group ranging from 8 to 67. Booked the 3 bedroom villa and the adjoining 2+2 bedroom villa. It was just a perfect set up for us. Wayan and the girls were fantastic and as for their cooking it was amazing. The staff were awesome and couldn't do anymore for you. Mike the owner has done a fantastic job on creating paradise villas in Bali. Highly recommend staying there.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

We are an expat family from the U.S. currently living in Asia, so we've had the opportunity to travel quite a bit. This is our 3rd visit to Bali over the past 5 years since many of our visitors want to experience this special place. We always choose to stay in a villa over a hotel -- this is just one of the things that we feel makes visiting Bali extra special and different from many other locations.

We stayed in the 4-bedroom villa and I'll start with the positives:
- The villa was beautiful with just the right balance of Balinese and modern style
- The location in Seminyak was very convenient to restaurants, cafes and shops
- The staff was gracious, though I think you'll find that at most places in Bali
- Beds and rooms are incredibly comfy and we all slept great!

Some of the challenges
- The wifi is flat out bad. If you are in Bali simply to relax (which many people are) or you just need to periodically check email, than you'll be fine. What you wouldn't be able to do is download files or participate in a video conference, which both my husband and I needed to do at one point during our stay.
- The beach is quite a distance on foot. We don't mind a nice walk, but we found it wasn't really practical to walk to the beach from the villa -- cabs are everywhere, so getting there won't be an issue except on the way home when you're wet and sandy. Taxis will still take you but might charge a bit extra!
- There were an extraordinary amount of mosquitoes at the villa. We currently live in Malaysia and are quite used to battling with mosquitoes, but this took the battle to a whole new level. It was probably amplified by the fact that all the common areas in the villa are completely open and exposed. It's the end of the wet season in Bali, so you may not find this same problem throughout the year.
- The breakfast is great, but I would recommend eating out for the rest of your meals. We've been to villas where one of the highlights was eating dinner in the villa, but this is not that place. The villa is surrounded by amazing restaurants and I imagine most guests take advantage of that and therefore a 5-star chef at the villa isn't necessary.
- Make sure to bring all of your own toiletries as there aren't any provided (not even shampoo). We typical travel with that stuff anyway, but our friends didn't and I was a bit surprised by the lack of this small detail.

A few side notes:
We suffered a lot of power outages throughout our stay, which is not the end of the world, but is a bit inconvenient when you're in the midst of a shower and the water shuts off. I haven't seen anyone else complain about this, so maybe this was an isolated issue that will soon be fixed. We tried to get a sense for that, but no one could answer that question.

Nyepi Day (Bali Day of Silence) only happens once a year, but since it frequently falls during Spring Break, this happens to be the 2nd time we've been in Bali for this. It's an extra challenge at this particular villa since they won't have any staff. Hotels and some other villas do. When we experienced Bali on Nyepi day before, we enjoyed the day of rest and relaxation (you aren't allowed to leave the villa or keep lights on) and the chef cooked us a dinner that we ate by candlelight. In this case, the staff left the day before Nyepi at 2pm and so we spent our first two days cooking, cleaning and washing dishes. I believe it's because they don't have any guest quarters for the staff at this villa and no one is allowed to come or go on that day, so I don't imagine that will change.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rumi Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rumi Villas

Address: 117 Jalan Laksmana | Gang Intikulit, Seminyak, Bali 80361, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Seminyak
Hotel Style:
Ranked #119 of 297 Specialty lodging in Seminyak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Rumi Villas 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rumi Villas are luxury villa accommodation Set in the heart of Seminyak, Bali, the private villas are ideally located to enjoy nearby beaches, shopping, spas, restaurants & cafes.Rumi Villas are a fusion of traditional Bali Villa style with all the modern comforts in 2, 3 and 4 bedroom contemporary designed luxury private villas, all with open air living, tropical gardens and pool areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Rumi Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rumi Villas Bali/Seminyak

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rumi Villas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.