We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“gorgeous villa, excellent staff and good location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rumi Villas

Save Saved
You added Rumi Villas to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Rumi Villas
117 Jalan Laksmana | Gang Intikulit, Seminyak, Bali 80361, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #38 of 293 Specialty lodging in Seminyak
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“gorgeous villa, excellent staff and good location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014 via mobile

I stayed at rumi villa on the 24th Jan till the 29th Jan 2014, in a two bedroom villa. We bought the package deal and corresponded with Mike the owner. We got the deal which included cooked breakfast daily, transfers, 30min massage daily and a driver for two days and also a maid daily. The first day we had our transfer picked us up and take us to rumi villas. Our first impression on the villa was that it was spacious. The pool is slightly bigger than a plunge pool, the villa was well maintained. The rooms was spacious, the toilets as well. The villa is located in the heart of seminyak but away from all the noise. we had a maid called daywu for the first two nights and she cooked us breakfast daily, made our beds and even did our laundry and ironing for us! The next day we had a driver who took us to where ever we needed as it was included in our package. His name was Agus and he was very nice and knew all the directions and places we wanted to go. It was kind a relief to have a driver who was really good and he was so patient with us and waited for us.For the next three days we got a different maid and her name was Wayan, she was just as helpful as the first maid and continued to do our cooking, cleaning and anything else that we required. There was also a security guard who guarded the villas and even he was so helpful as my friend had lost her key to her padlock and the guard was able to open it with a chopping knife. Our daily massages was fantastic you can choose from a foot massage or back massage. Overall me and my girlfriends was really impressed with our stay here. We were happy with the villa it was beautiful but the staff made our stay even more pleasant as they were friendly, professional, kind and a favour was never out of their way. I would recommend this stay to anyone it was defiantly value for money and we loved the pool. When the sun cane out it would shine its rays on the pool so you do get the sun in the villa. the only negative thing I could probably say is that the toilet flush was weak at times and so can take a while for the toilet to flush but nothing that management can't work on and also it would be nice if there was a mirror in the rooms or living room as if one person is getting change in the bathroom the other is waiting for a mirror get change.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    94
    21
    8
    1
    0
See reviews for
63
10
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014 via mobile

My first trip to Bali and I didn't know what to expect. We booked the 4 bedroom villa and as soon as we entered , and we're greeted by the smiling staff , I knew it would be a great holiday .
The 4 bedroom villa was well set out , the bedrooms were large and spotlessly clean and I loved the privacy. Yes I would go back to Rumi villa as I felt very relaxed on my return to Melbourne .

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

Firstly I have to say that our housekeeper Dewi was more than wonderful. Without her our stay would have just been average, but having her to cater to everyday tasks was such a joy and made our stay a true holiday.

The villa on the other hand needs some major maintenance. The pond, which could (and should) be a beautiful feature was nothing more than a dank wet spot. No plants and one solitary sad looking goldfish.
The grassed areas were about 50% grass and 50% mud. Apparently there is a full time gardener, but we didn't see them once and I don't think the villa had for months. The shutters on the windows on the upstairs room could not be kept open as all of the latches were broken. The plugs in the bathroom sinks went in just fine, getting them up again was tricky indeed. The pool fence (although it was free and we were very happy to have it) was rusty and held together with plastic twine. Our two year old needed to be supervised when he went near it as if he had wanted to he could have easily gotten through. One of the bedrooms stank of damp which I know is often part and parcel of tropical travel, but the other two were just fine so perhaps this was an indication of a problem. If all these things were attended to and the place had a lick of paint then it would be entitled to use the word "luxury" as it claims. We did however have a look in at the 4 bedroom villa, and it was perfect. But why the lack of care in the others.

The gate lock wasn't working properly when we arrived and I broke the key in it. I tried to find the "security" guard but he was nowhere to be found. Later the same night another staff member was looking for him. Apparently he was in a vacant Villa, with the gate locked from inside. Excellent security.

Also Mike the owner must brush up on his customer service skills. "Hi & final payment due" doesn't quite cut it as far as I'm concerned.

Putting all this aside, I don't mind not so luxurious digs, from what I can tell the price is pretty good, and Dewi was marvellous. Therefore I will probably stay again.

Fix the issues Mike and it will be a truly great place.


Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

I have been coming to Bali for 20 years, and have stayed at many different types of private pool villas - this is the first time I have decided that I would return to the same villa for my next trip. We stayed in a 2 bedroom villa at Rumi Villas for a family holiday in January, and when we got home to Sydney, we re-booked again for September to come back with friends! The design of the villa is simple, stylish and very comfortable. Each villa is assigned it's own maid for the duration of your stay, and we fell in love with ours, Nana. Apart from cooking us delicious breakfasts each day, keeping our villa spotlessly clean, washing our clothing & assisting with things like drivers, local info etc, Nana was friendly, kind, thoughtful and personable. Rumi Villas is at the heart of everything in Seminyak, yet set far back from the main road and is therefore very peaceful & quiet. The location is a major plus...we were able to walk to the beach, to all of our favourite restaurants, boutiques & days spas, and there is a supermarket conveniently located within minutes by foot. For everything else, taxis were a short ride, otherwise, the manager Nyoman arranged a driver for us. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

We have stayed at several other villas in the past and they are all fantastic! Having paid a cheaper price for Rumi compared to others, I was a bit nervous.We found no reception area when we arrived at Rumi around 6pm in Jan 2014. As we used to receive welcome drinks and cold towels on arrival, it was weird that a friendly security man open the door of our 2 beds villa(Ruru) and got drinks out of the fridge for us.The style of the villa is very rustic and homely, easy to access to shops and restaurants. Not for those who are after a very modern luxury villa.
All basic necessities in Kitchen include a stove top kettle but no microwave.Cost 15.000rp to refill 15 litter water bottle(cheap!!). Gas didn't run out during our stay but apparently around $8 for a refill.
We love that every villa has their own maid who does everything for us(That's why there is no guest service or reception). Our maid "Dayu"made our trip very special and memorable!!

Just a few concerned: Toilets flush very very slow and it can block if you use it one after the other. Not even small toiletries(shampoo etc).Steps to upstairs has no rail on one side(watch out if you have small kids).

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

I would recommend this accommodation to anyone. It is positioned just a short stroll from all the restaurants, bars, clothes shops and the Coco supermarket is very conveniently close by. We were able to stroll through a few lane ways and then we were at the beach. If we felt lazy, virtually anything was a A$3 taxi ride away! We stayed in the 2 bed villa with the main bedroom upstairs with a lovely outlook and private balcony and own bathroom. Downstairs is the beautiful tropical feel open lounge/ dining area and another bedroom with its own bathroom and of course all overlooking the fabulous pool.
The villa decor and set up makes you feel relaxed and private when needed.
The very best part is the having your own staff, in our case Dawu ! It's a special holiday to have someone so pleasant around that with a smile cooks whatever you request including shopping from the local market for the ingredients . She also changed money for us, did laundry, arranged drivers, massage, tours, pretty much anything we wanted, it was done!
Just Go, You will love it!!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

We had a fabulous time at Rumi, great staff and position. Dayu looked after us cooking very tasty fresh meals and keeping the place spotless, she couldn't have been more helpful. Very happy with our stay. Lynette

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Travelers also viewed these Seminyak hotels
Shuttle Service...
Show More
0.7 mi away
O Villas
O Villas
#5 of 293 in Seminyak
5.0 of 5 stars 68 reviews
Airport Transpo...
Show More
0.0 mi away
My Villas in Bali
My Villas in Bali
#6 of 293 in Seminyak
5.0 of 5 stars 58 reviews
Free internet...
Show More
0.0 mi away
KoenoKoeni Villa
KoenoKoeni Villa
#16 of 293 in Seminyak
5.0 of 5 stars 81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pool, Villa, Fr...
Show More
0.1 mi away
Space at Bali
Space at Bali
#9 of 293 in Seminyak
5.0 of 5 stars 221 reviews
Luxury, Pool, V...
Show More
0.2 mi away
Serene Villas
Serene Villas
#11 of 293 in Seminyak
5.0 of 5 stars 282 reviews
Airport Transpo...
Show More
0.6 mi away
Kubu Pesisi Villas
Kubu Pesisi Villas
#25 of 293 in Seminyak
5.0 of 5 stars 16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rumi Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rumi Villas

Address: 117 Jalan Laksmana | Gang Intikulit, Seminyak, Bali 80361, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Seminyak
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 293 Specialty lodging in Seminyak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rumi Villas are luxury villa accommodation Set in the heart of Seminyak, Bali, the private villas are ideally located to enjoy nearby beaches, shopping, spas, restaurants & cafes.Rumi Villas are a fusion of traditional Bali Villa style with all the modern comforts in 2, 3 and 4 bedroom contemporary designed luxury private villas, all with open air living, tropical gardens and pool areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Rumi Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rumi Villas Bali/Seminyak

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rumi Villas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.