We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Little hidden paradise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Green Chaka Villas

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save Saved
You added Green Chaka Villas to your Saves list
Green Chaka Villas
Petitenget Beach, Seminyak, Bali 80361, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 75 Seminyak B&B and Inns
Hefei, China
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“Little hidden paradise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014 via mobile

The Green Chaka Villas were our first introduction to Bali and what a wonderful introduction it was. I think the sole most important thing to mention about the GCV was the owner Chandra, and his attentive and kind small staff. Every one of our needs was met, and every question answered. Excellent customer service and we would definitely return if in Seminyak again.

Location: The first time finding Green Chaka could be difficult but since we had a driver pick us up from the airport, it was no problem. I would definitely recommend getting picked up, even though it was a little pricey, it was well worth it. This little paradise is down a long alley, and then down another long pathway through the main gate. The wonderful part about being a little removed is the privacy (we were also the only guests at the villa during our stay!) but also the lack of street noise. Walking into town on many occasions, I would not want to stay at some of the guesthouses along the main road. The walk to local restaurants is anywhere from 5 to 15 minutes, depending on where you want to eat.

Tip: Herman, a driver you can hire through Green Chaka, is a trustworthy and friendly individual who charges a fair price upon request.

Transportation: We mostly walked from our villa in and around Seminyak and the beach. We did hire Herman to take us to Tanah Lot, and I would recommend hiring a taxi or driver for longer trips. We also hired Herman to take us to Ubud, although this resulted in a couple of unexpected stops at tourist galleries, one for silver, and one for coffee. Interesting but way overpriced.

Breakfast: Breakfast came free with our stay and it was simple and delicious. Fresh fruit, fruit juice, coffee or tea, and eggs with toast. It was available when we woke up and it was nice to sit on our ground floor terrace by the pool.

Amenities: We stayed in a ground floor bungalow and it was perfect! Two steps out the front door was the pool, very clean and refreshing. The room was private with curtains and very nicely decorated. Chandra has definitely spent some time making the villas into a beautiful home and his care and attention to detail show. The shower was spectacular, with a skylight right above, and vines growing down from outside. It felt like I was showering in a jungle!

Cats: The villa has 2 cats, Rama and Shinta and both friendly. If you're like me, villa cats are a bonus when choosing a place to stay!

Thank-you Chandra! Stay in touch and we hope to see you again soon :)
-Becky and dani

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    4
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
2
14
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Salzburg, Austria
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

Very nice location, walking distance to everything. The entrance to the Villa was a bit strang and we not really knew... were the want to bring us..small way behind somwhere. Sunddenly they open the maindoor and the feeling was like we enter a paradise .... beautyful garden, great pool, the rooms are big and not average.. very colorful ... the furniture in traditionale Bali style, the bathroom like an outside shower... The owner did everything to make us happy ... the staff also very helpful..the walking distance to the beach is 10 min. and u can find also one of the best beach club there.. there are many nice resteraunts where you can get traditionale food but also internationl food ....
We just can really recommend Villa Green Chaka ... we defenetly wanna come back.

thank you Chandra for everything

Room Tip: the Villa have 3 rooms ... u can book all of them ... every room is great
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

We decided to spend our last night of Bali trip in this elegantly decorated, tranquil and pleasant little hotel. It only has three rooms, a large beautiful pool and lots of space in front of the rooms wi th tables, long chairs, french style lamps etc. The rooms are also very spacious, with amazing bathrooms. Having showers in that bright, sun roofed bathroom was sheer joy!

The staff is super friendly and helpful (they even let us stay for extra few hours in our room, carried our suitcases with their scooters) and the owner Chandra is more than a hotel owner, he's like a new friend! (:

Overall, we LOVED everything about Green Chaka, and will be definitely back for the next time in Bali

PS: Make sure to have their phone numbers with you, so your taxi driver can call them and ask for directions.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sint-Annaland/Zeeland/Holland
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

This hidden paradise is difficult to find, but very next to restaurant La Lucciola and the Petitenget Beach. Unfortunately all around this place new hotels and restaurants are being build. During our stay that didn't cause any problem, but the reservation did. There was a problem with our booking via Agoda and the manager of this very small accomodation offered us an alternative. We didn't have any chooice so we decided to except, but where not very happy with it. Mistakes we al make, but solving the problem in a more proactive way would be recommendable. Nevertheless our stay at the Green Chaka Villa (the second time) was perfect. De villa excist of two studios. The staff is just one person and he is very good. Ulli prepares breakfast (you can choose), cleans de room and garden and solves every problem with a big smile. The airco and fan inside the room are working good. The property is clean but staying outside the room on the veranda there are lots of musquitos and other stitching animals. The pool is fantastic and also the shower and toilet are okay but become worn out. Because of the location (next to the beach and the best restaurants of Seminyak), the privacy of the accommodation and the very friendly staff makes me to recommend this villa to everyone who loves to stay in a small and cosy place like this. I hope that the properity could resist the huge development of this area and that the owner will invest in maintenance and better facilities (bathroom) and disinsectization.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013 via mobile

First of all I need to say that I hate leaving negative reviews so I will just list the things that led me to rate this bed and breakfast 1 star.

1.Location is difficult to find and when our driver called to get directions no one answered the phone. After 45 minutes trying, someone picked up and told our driver (in Balinese) that the "owner" was away on another island and that he would have to call us back with directions.

2. 10 minutes later someone calls with directions. We arrive and are greeted by 2 young men for which English was a challenge. One of the two didn't
speak English at all.

3. The room, although large and nicely decorated - which looks amazing on their website - was not clean. There was a dusty shag rug that had never seen a vacuum and the towels were musty. We found hair strands on the sheets and called to have the sheets changed. We were then asked if we wanted ALL the sheets changed or just the one with the hair on it. We requested ALL the sheets be changed. Moments later they had redone the bed and sprayed half a bottle of Fabreze on the mattress.

4. The bathroom was massive. It had a skylight above the shower from which people on the terrace above could look down into the shower. There was also a window that was "boarded up" with decorative boards and a porno decoplage.
The boards had huge gaps between them so it was easy for mosquitoes and critters to get in. At night we had to sleep under the mosquito net and wear repellent.

5. The houseboys then disappeared and we felt as if we were abandoned in a deserted house. We went into common areas and found 2 shaggy Persian cats - one sleeping on the dining table, the other sleeping on the kitchen counter.
The sink had dirty containers and the stopper was filled with food. There were also dirty ashtrays and stained, dirty rags on the counter. The refrigerator was empty except for a plate full of watermelon slices and drawers full of plastic medicine bottles. We lost all appetite for the "included breakfast" and decided to eat out every morning. We also desperately tried to get a room elsewhere but everything was full. Since it
was only a 3 night stay we decided to bite the bullet. At least we knew the bed was clean.

6. Because of the lack of personnel or of the language barrier were unable to get directions, suggestions or even a map and pretty much had to fend for ourselves.

7. The day before we left we asked for our bill. We were told the missing owner would email us the amount. The next day we were told it needed to be paid in cash - of course. We went to an ATM and paid the houseboy. We were told we'd receive a receipt via mail. I write this 3 weeks later and still have not received anything.

8. As we were leaving we met 2 newly arrived guests. A STRAIGHT married couple from Australia! So much for this being a gay, clothing optional
place.

Staying at this villa left a bad taste in our mouths. Having stayed at 2 amazing locations the previous weeks (Phil's Place in Seminyak and Taman Bebek in Ubud) - we left Bali wishing we had gone home earlier so that we wouldn't have had the negative experience at Green Chaka's Villa Eden. Don't be fooled (as we were) by the beautiful photos on the website or all the positive reviews you read. The place is dirty, has -0 customer service, the "staff" doesn'tspeak English and it misrepresents itself online.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013 via mobile

Its my second time within 5mnths staying at the villa.The owner Chandra and his boys makes our stay memorable..we are treated as friends and not as guests..good service nice ambience..privacy..will definitely continue staying here

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

I simply cannot praise the beautiful owner Chandra and his wonderful staff for making my stay perfect.I had a the hugest room - immacuately and beautifully presented and a jungle style shower bathroom. The hotel is private, secluded and idyllic and the staff sweet and so helpful.

Just go there !! - it's a classy and special place :)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Green Chaka Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Green Chaka Villas

Address: Petitenget Beach, Seminyak, Bali 80361, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Seminyak
Amenities:
Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 75 B&Bs / Inns in Seminyak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Green Chaka Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Green Chaka Villas Bali/Seminyak

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Green Chaka Villas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.