We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, great value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Semara Resort & Spa Seminyak

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Semara Resort & Spa Seminyak to your Saves list
Semara Resort & Spa Seminyak
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jl. Petitenget, Seminyak, Bali, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #72 of 107 Hotels in Seminyak
Hong Kong, China
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great location, great value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

We came here with our two children (both under age 2) and really enjoyed our time here. It's located within walking distance of many great restaurants and shops. The staff were all very lovely, and our room was spacious, clean, and comfortable. We didn't use the Cubby House Kids' Club too often (though nannies are available for children under 2 if you're staying at the hotel), but would probably use it once our children are a bit older. The wi-fi is a bit spotty at times, but otherwise, we had a really great time and have no complaints. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SemaraManagement, Semara Seminyak Management at Semara Resort & Spa Seminyak, responded to this review, November 6, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thanks so much for your great review.
We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and will recommend us.
Our location is in the prime position in Seminyak which makes it especially easy to walk around.
Semara's Cubby House kids club is exceptional and caters for a variety of ages, so we are glad to hear that you will use it once the kids are of age.
For special discounts and promotions follow us on facebook and check our website.

Thank you and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Best Regards,
Semara Seminyak
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

481 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    225
    172
    46
    21
    17
See reviews for
125
173
23
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (198)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

I stayed here for 4 nights over a weekend and chose this place due to its location to Potato Head and W Hotel.
W hotel was way to over priced, but we still spent a day chillin at there restuarant and sunset bar which was good.
The two places above are like a 2minute walk from the hotel, so its perfect.

I would request a room further away from the front reception, as ours was on the top floor near reception and sometimes it was a bit noisy.

My only real negative point about this hotel which was VERY annoying was the slow checkin and checkout process. Astra and Mandala took forever to check me in on arrival, and then on departure it must of taken nearly 25minutes to check me out! They couldn't work out how much to charge me for mini-bar items or something. So annoying! Surely this should be straight forward and an easy process like every other hotel around the world.

Get your staff on the front counter better trained and process things in advance so your not holding up others behind you waiting for assistance and you dont need to allow 20minutes for a checkout process!

Hotel is clean, good sports bar at the front, and friendly bar staff. AFL was on the Tv which was handy and plenty of poool tables if you like that.

Room Tip: Ask for a room further towards the rear of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SemaraManagement, Semara Seminyak Management at Semara Resort & Spa Seminyak, responded to this review, November 6, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind review.
We apologise that it took so long to check you both in & out.
We are working on training and improvement, within all our departments including reception and general customer service.
Semara Seminyak is happy to hear you enjoyed your experience with us. We are a family friendly hotel, but endeavour to accommodate everyone with our adults only pool area.
Our quiet zone and amazing location is the perfect combination.
We look forward to seeing you again next time. Don't forget to join us on facebook to stay up to date with all of our latest specials.

Best Regards,
Semara Seminyak
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

We recently stayed at the Semara sharing two adjoining suites between six of us. The location is fabulous, two doors down from Potato Head and a short walk to The W Hotel and Amo Spa. We loved our room, it was very spacious, comfortable and clean and the beds were super comfy. The staff were very helpful and accommodating. The only suggestion I would make is to request a room close to the quiet zone as the pool area can get noisy early in the morning when staff are setting up for breakfast. I would definitely stay here again, it was fabulous! x x x x

Room Tip: Request a room close to the quiet zone!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SemaraManagement, Semara Seminyak Management at Semara Resort & Spa Seminyak, responded to this review, November 6, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your lovely review and we do apologise for the late reply.
We are so pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We do strive to provide an unforgettable experience!
Next time, check out our wonderful spa - Body Temple located on site at the resort. They have amazing treatments and you're bound to be blown away.

We look forward to seeing you again next time. Don't forget to join us on Facebook to stay up to date with all of our latest specials.

Best Regards,
Semara Seminyak.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

We would recommend the Semara to first time travellers to Bali with young families, looking for a smaller boutique hotel.
Staff are very friendly and accommodating. The Poolside family area is lovely, freshly made wood-fired pizzas great for keeping rumbly tummy's at bay, and the serviced cabanas gives the area a relaxing vibe. The Body Temple spa is luxurious. The staff are friendly and treatments very professional. It is reasonably priced compared to Australian spas of a similar high standard. Cubby House is great for kids under 6 years. Those who have more active and older children would be better off looking into accommodation that offers outdoor activities as well.

Room Tip: Executive rooms great for families with 1-2 young children.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SemaraManagement, Manager at Semara Resort & Spa Seminyak, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Hi Liz

Thanks so much for taking the time to write your review!

We're glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We do endeavour to provide an unforgettable experience to all of our guests, ensuring all of your needs are met.

It's great you were able to experience our new Body Temple Spa. Our staff were happy to hear your feedback and glad you enjoyed your treatments. Please feel free to leave a review for them on their trip advisor page.

We have noted our guests concerns regarding Cubby House Kids Clubs' activities for older kids. We are in fact about to open a second location at the Canggu Club, where there will be an outside area with a splash pool and basketball court for the older kids to run around in and enjoy. The Canggu Club is also opening Splash Water Park, Bounce Trampoline Centre, Strike 10 Pin Bowling very soon, all within about 10 minutes of the Semara Seminyak. Be sure to check it out next time you're here. The Canggu Club also has a Body Temple Spa and Sports Bar for parents to enjoy!

See you again next time!

Semara Seminyak
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

We just returned home today, having spent the better part of a week here. Very hard to fault the Semara. The room was spacicous and service top notch. The cubby house is decked out (and staffed) superbly for kids up to about 6-ish. Older kids may crave an experience more their age (as we learnt), but this is no fault of the hotel's. We checked out potato head next door only to return 5 minutes later to the quieter sanctum of Semara.

Oh, and I have it on authority that the day spa is pretty good value too, not that I would know...

Room Tip: Go the exucutive suite. You'll appreciate the extra room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SemaraManagement, Manager at Semara Resort & Spa Seminyak, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Hi Shanoe,

Thank you for your review!

We do aim to cater for everyone, including families!

We're pleased to hear you were able to use our Cubby House Kids Club. Thank you for the feedback regarding activities for the older kids - our second location at the Canggu Club will be open very soon, where they have an outside area including a small splash pool and basketball court for the older kids enjoy. You will be able to use your Holiday Fun Pass and Super Fun Pass at either location. Make sure you check it out next time you're here.

The Canggu Club will also be opening Splash Water Park, Bounce Trampoline Centre and Strike 10 Pin Bowling - perfect for the older kids and adults to enjoy! It's only about a 10 minute drive from Semara Seminyak too.

Looking forward to seeing you again soon.

Best Regards,
Semara Seminyak
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

We recently returned home from our second holiday at the Semara Resort n Seminyak. We absolutely love this place. The staff, the spa, the grounds, the facilities, the rooms - everything is fantastic. We are particularly grateful to their manager for helping us out of a booking error. The error could have cost us our whole trip, ( we booked the wrong month, and didn't realise until much , much later. Instead of charging us all over agin, they moved our booking to the dates we wanted, were exceptionally understanding and accommodating - and we will always recommend this resort to anyone travelling to Seminyak.
We will definitely go back. Again and Again. Thankyou Semara.

Room Tip: the executive suites are huge! plenty of room for a family of four (60 metres square)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SemaraManagement, Manager at Semara Resort & Spa Seminyak, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Hi Robyn

Thank you for choosing to stay with us again!

Dewi was more than happy to assist you with the date correction - accidents happen, we totally understand.

Glad to hear you enjoy our food, drinks and all of our facilities. Be sure to join us on facebook to stay up to date with all of our latest specials.

See you next time!

Semara Seminyak
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharm El Sheikh, Egypt
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014 via mobile

I am currently relaxing on my day bed with my partner and thought I would share a review on my fabulous stay thus far. We were kindly upgraded to the executive room upon arrival, this room is nice and spacious. The resort has 2 pools, 1 adult only pool which we haven't needed to use as the main pool is really relaxing, next to the bar and the kids don't bother us however for those who like the privacy it's great to have the option. We feel very spoilt waving our blue flag down at the pool and the waiters happily greet us with a smile and a menu. The food is yummy with western and local options. We could stay in the resort for our entire holiday but with thanks to reception they organised a driver out to finns beach club yesterday in ullawato, which was a fun day out!
Location couldn't be better, if you're a foodie we highly recommend this resort as it is within walking distance to all the 'hot spots' such as ku de ta, merah phuti and potatoe head.
I also arrived after a stressful few weeks at work and my skin had broken out. The body temple spa have saved the day as I've had 2 facials and my skin has started to clear up, make sure you ask for Wayan he is a fantastic therapists.
Great value you for money, thanks Semara :-)

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SemaraManagement, Manager at Semara Resort & Spa Seminyak, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Hi Sarah

Thank you for your great review!

We are so pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We do strive to provide an unforgettable experience!

We are happy to hear you enjoyed our Body Temple Spa facials! We passed your kind words on to Wayan as well - he was delighted. Our spa does have it own's trip advisor - so please feel free to leave a review for them as well.

We look forward to seeing you again next time. Don't forget to join us on facebook to stay up to date with all of our latest specials.

Best Regards,
Semara Seminyak
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Semara Resort & Spa Seminyak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Semara Resort & Spa Seminyak

Address: Jl. Petitenget, Seminyak, Bali, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Seminyak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#36 Family Hotel in Seminyak
#43 Romantic Hotel in Seminyak
#50 Spa Hotel in Seminyak
#50 Luxury Hotel in Seminyak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Semara Resort & Spa Seminyak 4*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Semara Resort and Spa, is perfectly located in the heart of Seminyak and only a short walk to the beach. You will find us conveniently situated between W Resort and Spa and Ku De Ta. Our luxury boutique resort is set amongst superbly landscaped tropical gardens where one can take in the ambiance from their own private balcony or enjoy a cocktail or sumptuous tasty treat by the pool. At Semara, we place particular emphasis on spa treatments & wellness activities such as yoga and aqua aerobics and for those traveling with children, we will be offer the island's best kids club experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, AsiaRooms, Priceline, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Semara Resort & Spa Seminyak reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Semara Resort And Spa Seminyak
Semara Resort & Spa Seminyak Hotel Seminyak
Semara Resort & Spa Seminyak Bali

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Semara Resort & Spa Seminyak, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.