We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Family Holiday at Semara” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Semara Resort & Spa Seminyak

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Semara Resort & Spa Seminyak to your Saves list
Semara Resort & Spa Seminyak
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jl. Petitenget, Seminyak, Bali, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #74 of 117 Hotels in Seminyak
Kalgoorlie, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Family Holiday at Semara”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

We recently stayed a week at Semara. We were looked after from the minute we arrived with an Early Check in which allowed us to get straight into the pool & grab some lunch after an early morning flight.

We had paid for buffet breakfast as part of our package but this was no longer on offer. Instead we were generously credited 130,000++ Rph per adult (half per child). & this could be used at the restaurant or other resort facilities. This was actually great because we could choose to eat at The Deck (which we enjoyed, Fab coffees for 15,000rph) or go elsewhere.

We ate at the The Deck alot and were impressed with the food/prices. Occasionally there was a breakdown in communication but quick to apoligies and try to correct. Kids meals very generous and twice we ordered Entrees as mains due to the size of the portions.

Kids club was included for us staying a week despite my kids not willing to spend much time in there the ladies were lovely (maybe next time)

Spa was beautiful (1 hour massage also included for free as part of our Pay 6 stay 7 deal)

Initally asked for ground floor Executive but none available. On first floor which once we checked in we realised it was a great spot. big balcony where we could sit while kids slept. No life so carrying stroller upstairs got a bit annoying.

Slight ant problem from balcony but otherwise Executive rooms are amazing and with a family of 4 still had huge amount of space.

Love the location of Semara. We could walk to Potato Head, Seminyak Squ, Breezes, La Luchiola. Petitenget restaurant/bar.

New Laundry opened up next door. Significantly cheaper than the hotel so everything got washed.

Pool was really nice, cabanas beautiful and kids pool perfect depth for my little one. Miss that swim up bar social life of a big hotel but for a smaller boutique resort Semara is lovely.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

490 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    227
    176
    47
    21
    19
See reviews for
130
174
23
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (200)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

My family and I stayed at this resort in January. It is a nice place but there were a few problems which were off putting. Firstly, we were not able to get a room key for 24 hours - they had run out of keys. Secondly for 4 of the 8 nights we stayed - no room towels - I had to call reception each time to get some towels. TV in room - picture was like a snow storm - we complained and it was fixed the next day. This place could be so much better by fixing the small things.

Room Tip: Go for the 60m2 rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

I recently stayed for 4 nights at the Semara Resort and spa. Everything about the resort is beautiful. We stayed in a superior Poolside room (401) which is located by the second smaller pool. The room was very big and size of the bathroom was unbelievable.

Positives: The resort is located in a quieter area of Seminyak and there are a couple of great places to eat nearby. It is right next door to Potato Head, you just have to walk down the long drive. Staff are very friendly. Rooms are very large, although I am not sure how big the standard room was. There was no problem with some friends who were not staying there coming and spending time with us. The cabanas at the end of the main pool are wonderful although they are near the children's pool not so great if you are not wanting the noise. the restaurant food and coffee is good.

Negatives: I think that we were spoiled by the place that we had been staying before Semara as the service there had been impeccable. In comparison the Semara was slightly lacking. This may sound like moaning so I am sorry but we had just had such a wonderful experience. We arrived at 4.30pm and had to wait around 20 minutes for the room to be ready. The daily service of the room was average with things like tissues not being replaced when they had run out on the first day. Often there were not enough towels left for us after the cleaning. The price of food and drink was a little on the higher side. Breakfast was not included in our room rate so that was a bit of a downer.

I would probably recommend it to friends but I would also say that there are better places to stay....

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

Really loved the Semara, it's in the slightly quieter part of Seminyak but still with plenty of great restaurants, bars and spas around - including Sarong, which is just down the road and without doubt one of the best restaurants in Bali. The resort is fairly new, modern, stylish and the rooms are massive, with an extra big bathroom and huge balcony. It's got a good size pool and some cool pool cabanas, the gym has great equipment and the Deck bar and restaurant serves pretty good food too.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
57 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

The resort is pretty new and in a great location, next door to Potato Head and near La Lucciola and Sea Circus. There are a lot of kids though so if you are looking for a child free sort this is not it. There is a kids club on site which seems to attract a lot of families. We were upgraded on arrival which was great as I was traveling with a friend and the smaller rooms would have been a bit cramped. There are a lot of great places to eat nearby, Sea Circus has a great breakfast, the food at deck bar was ok. Would stay again if I got a deal. The spa is expensive compared to others in the area, but fantastic.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

We stayed at the Semara with our 2 kids and will definitely be back. The location is great - right next to Mr Potato Head and a short walk to La Luciola. The rooms are very big, clean and tidy with a nice outlook. The resort has 2 pools - we spent our time at the bigger pool and loved it. The cabanas at the end of the pool are a great place to spent the day and the pool area was pretty quiet. The staff are always available and willing to help. The gymnasium is good with fitness classes available but I found it a little frustrating that you had to get the pool attendant to let you into the gym. Breakfasts are available at the Deck Bar and they were delicious but it is surprising that the resort are not making more use of the bar area near the pool - this would be a nicer place for breakfast away from the noisy street. The kids club is really good with lots of things for the kids to do. Overall, a great resort.

Room Tip: The executive suite is huge and really good value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

We stayed as a couple at Semara Seminyak and found it pretty average for the cost. The resort is good but the rooms, tiny. We stayed at the poolside room and as reviewers have rightly pointed out, this place is not for the ones who need some time for themselves.

There were just too many people around the main pool so we thought of going for the private pool, where children were apparently prohibited to enter.

Private pool was smaller but it was noisier thanks to a number of kids belonging to a family on the presidential suite. Presidential treatment, I must say!

The restaurant (The Deck?) was ok. Food and the service were good. We went there for lunch and unlimited coconut juice was on offer... but no one came offering for it once we finished our first glass. I ended up asking for more, haha. Seemed to me they were being a bit chintzy with the freebies. Toothbrush, toiletries, slippers, bathrobes aren't provided by default -you need to ask. No complimentary breakfast either...

The spa was pretty good but I got a feeling that they tried to hardsell their most expensive services... I opted for the signature massage and dozed off halfway through the course... and woke up totally relaxed...

Another plus would perhaps be the location..its situated right next to the Potato Head..and has many shops nearby for generic, but expensive, shopping..

We thought Semara was a bit expensive for what we got in return....it wasnt a bad experience...but not the greatest either..we has better times elsewhere in Ubud...

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Seminyak
1.0 mi away
The Royal Beach Seminyak Bali - MGallery Collection
0.3 mi away
The Samaya Bali
The Samaya Bali
#4 of 117 in Seminyak
5.0 of 5 stars 1,354 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Seminyak Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
W Retreat & Spa Bali - Seminyak
0.1 mi away
The Kayana Bali
The Kayana Bali
#23 of 117 in Seminyak
4.5 of 5 stars 510 reviews
11.6 mi away
Semara Luxury Villa Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Semara Resort & Spa Seminyak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Semara Resort & Spa Seminyak

Address: Jl. Petitenget, Seminyak, Bali, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Seminyak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#44 Family Hotel in Seminyak
#47 Spa Hotel in Seminyak
#47 Romantic Hotel in Seminyak
#56 Luxury Hotel in Seminyak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Semara Resort & Spa Seminyak 4*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Semara Resort and Spa, is perfectly located in the heart of Seminyak and only a short walk to the beach. You will find us conveniently situated between W Resort and Spa and Ku De Ta. Our luxury boutique resort is set amongst superbly landscaped tropical gardens where one can take in the ambiance from their own private balcony or enjoy a cocktail or sumptuous tasty treat by the pool. At Semara, we place particular emphasis on spa treatments & wellness activities such as yoga and aqua aerobics and for those traveling with children, we will be offer the island's best kids club experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, EasyToBook, Asiatravel.com Holdings, TripOnline SA and Travelocity so you can book your Semara Resort & Spa Seminyak reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Semara Resort And Spa Seminyak
Semara Resort & Spa Seminyak Hotel Seminyak
Semara Resort & Spa Seminyak Bali

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Semara Resort & Spa Seminyak, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.