We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Place but lacking a little on service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Semara Resort & Spa Seminyak

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Semara Resort & Spa Seminyak to your Saves list
Semara Resort & Spa Seminyak
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jl. Petitenget, Seminyak, Bali, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #62 of 104 Hotels in Seminyak
Melbourne
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful Place but lacking a little on service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

I recently stayed for 4 nights at the Semara Resort and spa. Everything about the resort is beautiful. We stayed in a superior Poolside room (401) which is located by the second smaller pool. The room was very big and size of the bathroom was unbelievable.

Positives: The resort is located in a quieter area of Seminyak and there are a couple of great places to eat nearby. It is right next door to Potato Head, you just have to walk down the long drive. Staff are very friendly. Rooms are very large, although I am not sure how big the standard room was. There was no problem with some friends who were not staying there coming and spending time with us. The cabanas at the end of the main pool are wonderful although they are near the children's pool not so great if you are not wanting the noise. the restaurant food and coffee is good.

Negatives: I think that we were spoiled by the place that we had been staying before Semara as the service there had been impeccable. In comparison the Semara was slightly lacking. This may sound like moaning so I am sorry but we had just had such a wonderful experience. We arrived at 4.30pm and had to wait around 20 minutes for the room to be ready. The daily service of the room was average with things like tissues not being replaced when they had run out on the first day. Often there were not enough towels left for us after the cleaning. The price of food and drink was a little on the higher side. Breakfast was not included in our room rate so that was a bit of a downer.

I would probably recommend it to friends but I would also say that there are better places to stay....

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

472 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    224
    167
    45
    20
    16
See reviews for
123
170
23
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (194)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

Really loved the Semara, it's in the slightly quieter part of Seminyak but still with plenty of great restaurants, bars and spas around - including Sarong, which is just down the road and without doubt one of the best restaurants in Bali. The resort is fairly new, modern, stylish and the rooms are massive, with an extra big bathroom and huge balcony. It's got a good size pool and some cool pool cabanas, the gym has great equipment and the Deck bar and restaurant serves pretty good food too.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

The resort is pretty new and in a great location, next door to Potato Head and near La Lucciola and Sea Circus. There are a lot of kids though so if you are looking for a child free sort this is not it. There is a kids club on site which seems to attract a lot of families. We were upgraded on arrival which was great as I was traveling with a friend and the smaller rooms would have been a bit cramped. There are a lot of great places to eat nearby, Sea Circus has a great breakfast, the food at deck bar was ok. Would stay again if I got a deal. The spa is expensive compared to others in the area, but fantastic.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

We stayed at the Semara with our 2 kids and will definitely be back. The location is great - right next to Mr Potato Head and a short walk to La Luciola. The rooms are very big, clean and tidy with a nice outlook. The resort has 2 pools - we spent our time at the bigger pool and loved it. The cabanas at the end of the pool are a great place to spent the day and the pool area was pretty quiet. The staff are always available and willing to help. The gymnasium is good with fitness classes available but I found it a little frustrating that you had to get the pool attendant to let you into the gym. Breakfasts are available at the Deck Bar and they were delicious but it is surprising that the resort are not making more use of the bar area near the pool - this would be a nicer place for breakfast away from the noisy street. The kids club is really good with lots of things for the kids to do. Overall, a great resort.

Room Tip: The executive suite is huge and really good value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013 via mobile

We stayed as a couple at Semara Seminyak and found it pretty average for the cost. The resort is good but the rooms, tiny. We stayed at the poolside room and as reviewers have rightly pointed out, this place is not for the ones who need some time for themselves.

There were just too many people around the main pool so we thought of going for the private pool, where children were apparently prohibited to enter.

Private pool was smaller but it was noisier thanks to a number of kids belonging to a family on the presidential suite. Presidential treatment, I must say!

The restaurant (The Deck?) was ok. Food and the service were good. We went there for lunch and unlimited coconut juice was on offer... but no one came offering for it once we finished our first glass. I ended up asking for more, haha. Seemed to me they were being a bit chintzy with the freebies. Toothbrush, toiletries, slippers, bathrobes aren't provided by default -you need to ask. No complimentary breakfast either...

The spa was pretty good but I got a feeling that they tried to hardsell their most expensive services... I opted for the signature massage and dozed off halfway through the course... and woke up totally relaxed...

Another plus would perhaps be the location..its situated right next to the Potato Head..and has many shops nearby for generic, but expensive, shopping..

We thought Semara was a bit expensive for what we got in return....it wasnt a bad experience...but not the greatest either..we has better times elsewhere in Ubud...

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town, South Africa
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013 via mobile

The rooms are big and modern. The swimming pool was never overcrowded and very relaxing. Had great dinner at The Deck. It is a bit far away from everything, you need to take a taxi for eveything you want to do. Just because of the location I will not stay here again. If the location is not an issue for you I would recommend this resort. It is not such a big deal but I was celebrating my 30th birthday during our stay here and a happy birthday card or anything would have been nice :)

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

We have just arrived home after two weeks in Bali - one of which we spent at Semara. It really is a lovely place and the staff were exceptional. Nothing was too much trouble, smiling all the time and the beautiful warmth and gentleness you always get from the Balinese people. Room size fantastic compared to most other hotel style rooms. Perhaps could add a small table/chairs as there is ample space to do so. Fabulous outdoor area off the room with day bed and a couple of chairs. If adding a bed or a cot - plenty of room for that. Whilst we don't go to Bali to watch TV, in our routine lives we are incredibly busy and don't have time to watch much TV so for us part of the experience of Bali has always been to watch a movie or two when we want some down time however this was not possible at Semara as there was no DVD player in the room and it was quite expensive to hire by the night. There is a DVD shop across the road where you can hire one for a third of the price charged by Semara. Our room was far enough away from the pool to be very quiet but rooms close by could have been quite noisy at peak times. When booking ask for rooms 117 or 217 and beyond. This will get you away from the noise. We upgraded to Presidential Suite for three nights as part of a special deal. It was really very nice and would be fantastic for a large family or a group of people for a special event. Great size rooms and bathrooms. Great balcony with all rooms opening to it. The adult/quiet pool is right at the front door. As good as it was, I'm not sure we would bother if not for the special upgrade deal we got. Still no DVD player in the suite. Prior to coming home we sent out all our laundry. Sadly it was not done well and some pieces of clothing were just as dirty when they returned. The Spa was sensational. We indulged in quite a few experiences including massage, reflexology, pedicure, manicure, skin treatments and facials and I purchased some of their Aloe Vera products. It may have been expensive by Bali prices but when compared to Australian prices it was very cheap and the experience and standard was equal to some of the most expensive spas around town in Melbourne. We had breakfast at the Deck on three of the mornings we were there. A little pricey for what you get and the menu is a little ho hum. On morning four we discovered Biku across the road. Great find with the most beautiful ambiance. Prices very reasonable. Try the "High Breakfast". A real treat in the morning and keeps you going all day. Overall Semara is a really lovely resort with everything you need close by. We may stay again when we are next in Bali.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Semara Resort & Spa Seminyak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Semara Resort & Spa Seminyak

Address: Jl. Petitenget, Seminyak, Bali, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Seminyak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#31 Family Hotel in Seminyak
#39 Romantic Hotel in Seminyak
#44 Spa Hotel in Seminyak
#46 Luxury Hotel in Seminyak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Semara Resort & Spa Seminyak 4*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Semara Resort and Spa, is perfectly located in the heart of Seminyak and only a short walk to the beach. You will find us conveniently situated between W Resort and Spa and Ku De Ta. Our luxury boutique resort is set amongst superbly landscaped tropical gardens where one can take in the ambiance from their own private balcony or enjoy a cocktail or sumptuous tasty treat by the pool. At Semara, we place particular emphasis on spa treatments & wellness activities such as yoga and aqua aerobics and for those traveling with children, we will be offer the island's best kids club experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, AsiaRooms, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Semara Resort & Spa Seminyak reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Semara Resort & Spa Seminyak Hotel Seminyak
Semara Resort And Spa Seminyak
Semara Resort & Spa Seminyak Bali

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Semara Resort & Spa Seminyak, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.