We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice place to getaway in Seminyak” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Semara Resort & Spa Seminyak

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Semara Resort & Spa Seminyak to your Saves list
Semara Resort & Spa Seminyak
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jl. Petitenget, Seminyak, Bali, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #72 of 107 Hotels in Seminyak
Merimbula, Australia
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
66 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
126 helpful votes 126 helpful votes
“A nice place to getaway in Seminyak”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

We arrived at Semara without a reservation, after leaving the hotel we had originally booked in Seminyak (that’s another story).
Hotels/Resorts like Semara are not normally somewhere we would choose to stay as we prefer smaller hotels, however upon arrival at Semara and looking at the rooms, we decided it would be the perfect location to spend the rest of our time in Bali.

LOCATION: Semara is located on JL Petitenget in Seminyak. Right beside the road to Potato Head.
The location is far enough away from the main shopping streets of Seminyak so you can escape the traffic, but close enough that you can easily reach everything by a 5 minute drive. There are plenty of great eating places nearby.

TYPE OF ROOM: We stayed in 2 types of rooms at Semara.
Room 404 – Superior Room.
This room was in an area of the resort which is zoned as a quiet area, with your own lawn and pool area. The room itself was beautiful with a big comfortable bed, and nice furnishings.
The downside to this room was that although it was beautiful, it was located along the side road which is the main access for Potato Head bar, and therefore quite a lot of evening traffic both on foot and on wheel was going past the room until well after 1am.

After 2 nights with not a lot of sleep in 404 (due to traffic to and from Potato Head) we made the difficult decision to upgrade to an Executive room to the other side of the hotel.
The decision was difficult because the Executive rooms are not as secluded and are not furnished in the same style as the Superior rooms.
Our Executive room was 291. The Executive room was a much larger room (square metre wise) which is why you pay more to stay in it, however furnishings in 404 were nicer. Sleep quality in 291 was much better, no road noise at all.

BATHROOM:
The bathroom in 404 was stunning. The middle of the room was set with a huge stone bath, one side of the bathroom had a double hand basin and toilet room, and the other had the shower. There was a bamboo ladder to hang towels on.

The bathroom in 219 was nice, but not as large as 404. It also offered a large bathtub, double hand basin, shower and toilet. There was no towel rack/rail in this room.

The water pressure in both rooms was fantastic.

The hotel have an amenities program where body wash, conditioner and shampoo containers and refilled rather than replaced every day, I think this is a great initiative in terms of reducing environmental impact.

CLEANLINESS: Both rooms were spotlessly clean.

CLOSET SPACE: There was plenty of closet space in both rooms, and lots of space in the rooms themselves for storing bags and luggage.

TV/INTERNET: There was a large TV in each room with an excellent selection of Indonesian and English channels.
Wi-Fi was free throughout the resort, and we had full strength in both our rooms.
In fact with the assistance of the staff we booked our room at Semara online whilst sitting in the hotel lobby and using the free Wi-Fi.

BREAKFAST: The breakfast selection was quite extensive, however appeared to be fairly much the same variety of Western and Indonesian food every day. There was also an omelette chef.
The food at breakfast was tasty and personally I was quite happy with what was provided.
The breakfast times are quite strict with breakfast finishing at 10am, in fact they started to pack up about 9.45am which I believe is too early when you’re on holidays.

SERVICE: After driving around all morning trying to find accommodation in Seminyak in the middle of their high season, it was nice to arrive at Semara and have the smiling face of Dewi to assist us.
Dewi, a fellow male staff member and their manager went out of their way to show us the various room options, recommend the best way to book, and allowed us to sit in their hotel lobby to access the Wi-Fi and make our reservation.
The room we chose was cleaned early so that we could check in earlier than the scheduled 2pm check in time.

OVERALL: If you’re looking for nice hotel, with friendly staff and beautiful rooms, Semara ticks the box. Our favourite rooms were the Superior rooms, however due to the road noise it would be best to ask for one as far from the road as possible, there are only 4 of these rooms though.

Room Tip: Rooms away from the access rd to Potato Head are much quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SemaraManagement, Public Relations Manager at Semara Resort & Spa Seminyak, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
Thank you for taking time to review our resort. We are in constant contact with the Potato Head regarding reducing the noise level and they have agreed to install more speed bumps on their road to assist. We now also have ear plugs available complimentary for any in house guests. Interestingly some of our guests specifically choose to stay at Semara due to our close proximately to Potato Head. Agreed the buffet breakfast should be until at least 10am, from now if any quests come after between 10 -11am we will allow them to order from an a la carte breakfast menu. Towel rails have just started to be installed in the Executive Suites. It has been difficult to access rooms due to high occupancy over the past few months. It is appreciated that you made note of our outstanding staff, I have passed on your appreciation to Dewi and team.
Hoping to see you again when you next holiday in Bali.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

481 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    225
    172
    46
    21
    17
See reviews for
125
173
23
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (198)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nagambie, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

the resort is fantastic, i have just got back yesterday. the staff are extremely helpful especially Dewi at the front desk and Neka at the poolside bar. the rooms are enormous and well looked after i would deffinatley recommend the place but i found kuta/legion another thing, very grubby overcrowed and overpriced. Ubud was beautiful stay there. thailand is cheaper.

Room Tip: higher floors have no noise and its nice to have a balconey.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012 via mobile

We have recently returned from 5 nights at Semara. We had a wonderful time, with a great poolside room, which we found to be a great location. It was very peaceful and quiet in the morning, breakfast was good, with very attentive staff. The road noise was perhaps the only thing that i could find to moan a little about, but my partner found it added to the atmosphere, and liked it. The food in the restaurant was amazing, could not find better in Seminyak at all. I had a back massage in the spa which was fabulous, and it is located next to Potato Head, which was perfect for meetting some of our friends. I would definitely recommend Semara, and we will definitely return.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SemaraManagement, Manager at Semara Resort & Spa Seminyak, responded to this review, September 30, 2012
Dear Lillou1,

Thank you for the great review. Looking forward to your return to Semara Seminyak. We will soon have a great offer for our repeat guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broome, Australia
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

We stayed at Semara for a week in August and loved it, we have stayed in 5 other hotels in the seminyak area and this was definitely the best in most ways. We booked through travelonline.com.au who seem to regularly have excellent deals.

The room was huge and outside area wonderful, we asked for a room close to the pool (105) so that we could use our baby monitor while toddler was sleeping, this was priovided and was perfect for us. Bathroom was clean and the huge bath was wonderful. Bed and pillows were comfrotable and when we were even provided with a proper wooden cot as opposed to a porta cot. Food around the pool was not amazing but there were definintely options on the menu that we liked and could always find something, not super cheap but cerrtainly not excessive.

Breakfast was good with lots of options, it was the same every day and by the end of the week you do get a bit sick of it however this is my experience in all hotels. There is no direct beach access but we did know this before staying, my husband surfs and hired a scooter as the roads are not too busy around the hotel and this gave him the option of more places to surf nearby than he would have had if he had just walked to the beach out the front.

Staff were wonderful, kids club we used a few times and was also great, good gym and nice spa. The 2nd pool area at the back of the resort would suit people wanting to get away from kids however we didn't find it too bad, yes we do have a child but still would have noticed if there were too many kids being really loud, the pool area was actually generally pretty quiet and I would think that outside school holiday times when there are generally younger kids there it wouldn't be too bad. I agree with previous comment that the music could be improved by changing to some chillout but that would really be my only criticism.

Location can seem slightly out of the way if you want to be right on one of the main streets but there are a lot of popular places within very easy walking distance and it is a bit less hectic being a little out of the way which we liked.

We will definintely stay again!!

Room Tip: If you have kids and want to be close to the pool rooms 105 - 110, otherwise down the back would be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SemaraManagement, Manager at Semara Resort & Spa Seminyak, responded to this review, September 30, 2012
Dear NCBROOME,

Thank you for the great review. Looking forward to your return to Semara Seminyak. We will soon have a great offer for our repeat guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AUSTRALIA
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

My husband found a fair offer through Fusion to stay here. It is a comparatively new hotel that is clean and well presented. Our room was large and beautiful. Aside from mildew in the corner of the shower (not unusual in a humid environment), the accommodation was immaculately clean. The bed was comfortable and the feather pillow relieved pain and stress of sore necks from previous poor pillows. The gardens and public areas are maintained to a very high standard. I heard that there are only 60 rooms in the hotel and this made the public areas pleasant to visit, because it was never overcrowded. There are two pools, however, the hotel is not forthcoming in telling you about the second. Indeed, when I asked one staff member, I was told "its private". When we found the pool, it was by chance, with a sign describing the area as a place for quiet and peace. There are few loungers there. There is no beach access, although it is very close to the coast. The main restaurant is by the main pool. We didn't eat dinner there - but had lunch from there most days. While you might order something on the menu, you got what they had rather than what you ordered, in addition, servings were so small, you felt you were being rationed. No explanation or choice as to if you would like to change your order was ever offered when they ran out of things. The same applied to cocktails from there. It was both frustrating and hilarious, but also reflects the lack of quality in service and the level of expertise in managing a hotel. Staff were, however, delightful people - they simply lacked training and knowledge of service delivery. The rooms lacked amenities. I have read somewhere that there are no clocks - this is true, although this didn't bother us too much - we relied on our phones and watches. What was irritating was that power went off when you left your room and you could never leave anythng to charge. Between our e-readers, ipad and phones, we could never both have our "toys" charged for use when we needed. Only one small towel was provided for use for each of us, but if we asked for more (we did shower more than once a day), this was not a problem. There are no towel rails and nothing to put your wet bathers on! How silly in a resort with a pool. You are required not to put your clothing outside to dry! The three hotels we had previously stayed at during this visit to Bali provided us with at least 4 bottles of water each day, but not Semara, only one small bottle each per day and you had to purchase any further you required. Happy hour was "buy two and get a third free". Like another hotel we had stayed in nearby, the cocktails were distinctly weak. Breakfast was the worst I have had in Bali. I just ate eggs and tomatos. We had neighbours who always came back to their room late and slammed their door open, then closed and afterward, proceeded to open and slam every door inside their accommodation. We got to the point of waiting for them to return before we could settle. Buffers on doors might eliminate this problem. It was otherwise peaceful there. If you can get past the fact that the hotel does really badly with providing the luxuries you might expect from a "5*", a visit to Semara can be quite enjoyable.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SemaraManagement, Manager at Semara Resort & Spa Seminyak, responded to this review, August 28, 2012
We thank you for taking the time to review our resort and we are pleased that you enjoyed the majority of your stay with us. We have recently introduced a guest relations service, if any guest arriving does not get an opportunity to meet with one of our guest relations staff when they check in at the resort we strongly recommend that you request for the Head of Reception to arrange a time for you. They will happily show you around the resort and let you know all the special features of our property. We are very proud of the quiet zone swimming pool located near the gazebo bar where guests can soak up the ambience of the space, read, dip in the cool water or enjoy cocktails. We have also got a 25 metre lap pool and a children's pool located near Georgie's Pool Bar. Guests should make sure they take time to visit our gym, which is very well equipped. We also recommend taking time to meet with the spa & wellness manager, Stephanie, to arrange a complimentary consultation to work out a suitable exercise, wellness and spa treatment program to fit with your holiday schedule. We even have developed special packages for people staying for more than 2 days so they can enjoy lots of treatments as special prices. Once this is done our guest relations officers are able to arrange any other things you would like to do during your stay, such as book a table at one of the many wonderful restaurants of Seminyak, arrange for a tour to experience Bali, or set you in the best direction to take advantage of the shopping, beach walks or other fun things to do in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denpasar, Indonesia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

Amazing location, within walking distance to many great bars, club and restaurants in Seminyak. I have to say the best thing about Semara is its spacious room. Minimalist decor, not too pretentious; and its private terrace with lounge sofa (very comfy) is very great.

Staffs were really helpful; although there was one security that asked too many things about me and my friend when we got back from club (around 2 am) as he could not believe Indonesian could afford to stay at Semara. A little problem when check-in, bell service escorted me to wrong room although he had room key (& number) with him. However, the rest of the staffs are very accommodating; especially pool staffs.

Breakfast were great; hotel's standard. in the end it was a great stay; definitely would go back again.

I didn't realize that this resort does not have a direct access to the beach though.

bath amenities are amazing by the way! i was really tempted to put all of those to my luggage.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warkworth, New Zealand
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

This hotel and spa is a modern facility in the middle of frenetic scene that is Bali, complete with motor bikes, barely paved roads with no side walks, lots of tourists looking for surf and action, patient smiling Balinese locals, all at a high decibel level. THIS IS BALI, FOLKS!
If you are looking for peace and quiet in this scene, Semara delivers it along with a nice pool, great breakfast buffet, free WiFi access, attentive friendly staff, and a clean well maintained building and grounds. Catch up with bargain rates on Expedia. You don't need to bring the kids to enjoy it and family life at the hotel is not very intrusuve on the oldies staying there.

Room Tip: Try poolside for privacy or patio/lawn access if you are with a group of friends
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Semara Resort & Spa Seminyak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Semara Resort & Spa Seminyak

Address: Jl. Petitenget, Seminyak, Bali, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Seminyak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#36 Family Hotel in Seminyak
#43 Romantic Hotel in Seminyak
#50 Spa Hotel in Seminyak
#50 Luxury Hotel in Seminyak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Semara Resort & Spa Seminyak 4*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Semara Resort and Spa, is perfectly located in the heart of Seminyak and only a short walk to the beach. You will find us conveniently situated between W Resort and Spa and Ku De Ta. Our luxury boutique resort is set amongst superbly landscaped tropical gardens where one can take in the ambiance from their own private balcony or enjoy a cocktail or sumptuous tasty treat by the pool. At Semara, we place particular emphasis on spa treatments & wellness activities such as yoga and aqua aerobics and for those traveling with children, we will be offer the island's best kids club experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, AsiaRooms, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Semara Resort & Spa Seminyak reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Semara Resort And Spa Seminyak
Semara Resort & Spa Seminyak Hotel Seminyak
Semara Resort & Spa Seminyak Bali

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Semara Resort & Spa Seminyak, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.