We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sensational Semara Resort” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Semara Resort & Spa Seminyak

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Semara Resort & Spa Seminyak to your Saves list
Semara Resort & Spa Seminyak
Jl. Petitenget, Seminyak, Bali, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #71 of 113 Hotels in Seminyak
wimmera
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Sensational Semara Resort”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2011

My husband & I stayed at Semara October 10-17, 2011 and we thoroughly enjoyed our 7 night stay. Our Superior Room no. 224 was up gentle stairs & at the back of the block which was also in a very quiet location. We had a delightful balcony overlooking superbly manicured gardens and our room was suprisingly large, fantastic airconditioner, and extremely well appointed ammenities. The bathroom is spacious & modern with twin sinks as well as separate bath and shower. Our room was serviced more than just daily - beds turned back in evening and fresh towels etc. as well in the evening.
The overnight laundry service (wash AND iron) was ever so cheap and was delivered back to our room looking first class. The Atrium Restaurant was most enjoyable dining - and don't forget to try their yummy chocolate souffle!!!!Georgies Poolside dining was also very enjoyable. The Massages we receivd were top class & great to share together as a couple!!
Front of House staff also deserve a special mention as they were so helpful and they surely know how to smile and be ever so polite. All spoke excellent English as well!!
Thank you to the wonderful travel agency MyBali.com's Hayley Powell for making our trip something so special we will neve forget & we would love to return to Semara Resort as we thought it was absolutely SENSATIONAL!
Hugs to all at Semara xx

Room Tip: Room 224 upstairs and extremely quiet but from what we could sense the Resort is generally fairly qu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

490 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    227
    176
    47
    21
    19
See reviews for
130
174
23
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (200)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
lax
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2011

Semara has the only kids club on the island that takes 2 year olds. Fantastic awesome people. Super clean, age segregated, great activities and really nice people. Essentially $50 for four hours or so and well with it. Note they don't answer the phone all the time but... Took our 2.5 year old there 2x and he loved it!

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SemaraResorts, General Manager at Semara Resort & Spa Seminyak, responded to this review, November 9, 2011
Hi there,

We're happy to hear that Cubby House was a treat for your child. We do aim to please!

I would like to mention to all readers that Cubby House is available to anyone, it does not matter if you are not staying at Semara. We do have great prices for a casual pass or better value fun passes if your kids are planning to join us on a regular basis.

My apologies the phone was not answered. Unfortunately with a large amount of kids you can imagine the noise and we will need to turn up the volume of the ringer during those busier times!

Kind Regards

Alisa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2011

This was our second stay at Semara, so the fact we returned is a sign we think the hotel is pretty decent. The hotel itself isn't huge, but it has all the facilities you'd expect to find in a larger one.
The spa is beautiful, and offers a range of treatments at average 'hotel' prices. Coudn't fault any of the treatments we had there, and highly recommend the one and a half hour massage (the extra half hour is worth it).
The breakfast was pretty good for buffet, with the usual egg station. Hollandaise sauce, egg white omelettes also options. We ate a the Atrium Restaurant twice and were very pleased with the quality of the food. Guests also got 50% off on certain nights. Food around the pool were good portions, the pizzas pretty decent, and cocktail options fairly standard.
Rooms are great, as expected at a new hotel. Large bathrooms in both the superior and poolside rooms, all amentities, lots of pillows, beds comfy, large screen tvs. Superior is massive, a bit of useless space in the room but the balcony we had was great. The only issue we had in these rooms were that they catered for families with interconnecting doors, so early in the morning you could hear babies crying, children screaming. Earplugs required if you have early bird kids as neighbours. Hotel staff did try to move us, but the place was pretty busy so no avail.
The pool area is not massive, but the pool is lovely and there are plenty of places to lay and get either sun or shade. There is a smaller pool attached to the main pool for children.
Semara is in a great spot if you want to be in Seminyak but the quieter part, and only a few minutes walk from the beach. Located less than a few hundred metres from a range of excellent restauarants like Sarong, Biku, Dahana, La Lucciola, Jemme, Potato Head is right next door, and W if you fancy a cocktail and music.
Our only issue with this hotel apart from the connecting rooms is that it seems a little
confused as to who it is catering for. Families, couples, groups? Not sure it can do all things for everyone.

Room Tip: Poolside rooms 306-310 are away from all night time activity through the resort, but if you want to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2011

A lovely hotel, with great friendly staff. Loved swimming in the pool in the evenings & lounging at Georgies pool bar. Our first time to Bali, we suffered from culture shock, but the Semarang resort was like an oasis that we could escape back to each evening.
The only small criticism would be that the menu at both eateries was a bit limited (especially after 10 days) and the meals a tad fancy. Otherwise, a great place to stay whilst in Bali.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Western Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2011

We are currently staying at the samara and it is lovely. We had a little problem on arrival (they forgot to pick us up from the airport and when I called thy said I didn't have a hotel reservation) this was all a little miss understanding and was dealt with by offering us a transfer back to the airport which is appreciated

Pool area is lovely, rooms beautiful, grounds really well presented

Downside, the floors in the room and bathroom are very slippery, my son has slipped over 3 times yesterday. The pool area is also very slippery, just about every child slipped yesterday afternoon, something needs to be done before someone gets hurt.

Generally a great friendly place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thailand
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2011

Had a quick 3 nights stay here during our Bali trip and found this new resort to exceed our expectations. The spa is massive for the size of the resort and just beautiful. We had the couples massages and was totally pampered.
Buffet breakfast certainly had enough variety to keep me very full for the day and loved all the food. The market fish is to die for! Found the customer service of staff and management excellent compared to other bali hotels and they were well informed when it came to booking my tours and recommending other great places to eat. You have to try La Plancha. It's a shack on the beach and perfect to watch a sunset!

Room Tip: 2nd floor superior suites overlooking the pool is nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2011

I am quite astonished at the review by Clelia C. Semara is certainly not as bad as in the comments this person made. You really need to go and check it out yourself. Having just returned from a 7 day stay the the Semara, it does not disappoint. Beautifully appointed rooms, very well kept pool and gardens and the staff could not be more helpful. We booked a massage the day after we arrived and staff had no trouble arranging our appointment. We had room service on a couple of occasions and it was very well presented and fresh.
So again, I say, please find out for yourself and do not let one bad review put you off such a beautiful resort.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Semara Resort & Spa Seminyak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Semara Resort & Spa Seminyak

Address: Jl. Petitenget, Seminyak, Bali, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Seminyak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#38 Family Hotel in Seminyak
#44 Romantic Hotel in Seminyak
#51 Spa Hotel in Seminyak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Semara Resort and Spa, is perfectly located in the heart of Seminyak and only a short walk to the beach. You will find us conveniently situated between W Resort and Spa and Ku De Ta. Our luxury boutique resort is set amongst superbly landscaped tropical gardens where one can take in the ambiance from their own private balcony or enjoy a cocktail or sumptuous tasty treat by the pool. At Semara, we place particular emphasis on spa treatments & wellness activities such as yoga and aqua aerobics and for those traveling with children, we will be offer the island's best kids club experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Semara Resort & Spa Seminyak reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Semara Resort And Spa Seminyak
Semara Resort & Spa Seminyak Hotel Seminyak
Semara Resort & Spa Seminyak Bali

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Semara Resort & Spa Seminyak, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.