We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home cooking” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Warung Eny

Warung Eny
JL Petitenget 97 | (across from Gourmet Cafe next to Villa Lumbung), Seminyak, Bali 80361, Indonesia
+0361 73 6892
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #72 of 324 Restaurants in Seminyak
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: Indonesian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Home cooking”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

This is a great, cheap little Balinese restaurant that offers a menu in English and cooking classes. You can watch your meal being prepared in the kitchen by the family. The corn fritters are great, as is the sate, and I wish I'd tried their bubur injin!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

363 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    190
    122
    29
    9
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Absolutely amazing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

Best dinner we had in Bali during our nine day stay! Absolutely amazing!!
Very small and hidden place, it can get busy so you might have to share a table but it's well worth it! We ordered three main meals, a fresh fruit juice and two beer and paid around 11 AUD - wow!!
Highly recommended!!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Balinese nosh - better than Jimbaran bay prawns”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

We arrived in torrential rain. I read about this Warung from a Gourmet Traveller review. Good on you Gourmet traveller because it was spot on.
This is a tiny eatery, with no air con, and a kitchen that you are almost sitting in. Well, what a great meal. The BBQ ( that is half on the road and footpath) was cranked up in the rain and we were cooked those classic giant prawns to perfection. We also had the yummy shredded chicken dish and a great salad of chopped up fresh veggies and cocconut. This food was far better than some of the other larger tourist warungs closer to town and the prawns were better than any I have had at Jimbaran Bay. I think it cost about $15 each so we left a super huge tip that almost doubled our bill we were so Impressed ...

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reigate, England
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“good home cooking”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

Great Balinese cooking run by Eny and her family. Corn fritters and nasi goreng yum yum! Get there early evening to ensure a table as it gets popular with Balinese and tourists.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Eat the entire menu”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

Great value for money. About 20 metes from Hotel Vila Lumpung. Small & quaint. Everything on the menu especially the specials section) is worth trying. We particularly liked the Balinese duck batutu (135,000Rp; whole duck; signature claypot indonesian cooking style), Balinese salad (20,000Rp), giant prawns (110,000Rp), sate lilit (minced meats spiced and put around head of a lemon grass stalk; 80,000Rp). Prices as of June 2013 when AUD1=9400Rp.
Some dishes like the Balinese duck batutu and the black rice have to be ordered the day before. The batutu takes 4 hrs to cook.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Warung Eny also viewed

 

Been to Warung Eny? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Warung Eny, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.