We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great lunch” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Warung Eny

Warung Eny
JL Petitenget 97 | (across from Gourmet Cafe next to Villa Lumbung), Seminyak, Bali 80361, Indonesia
+0361 73 6892
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #60 of 289 Restaurants in Seminyak
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: Indonesian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
Perth
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

We had lunch here after walking by the day before and watching the owner cook seafood in cocnut husks on the fire. A family run Warung, with Dad on the bbq and Mum in the kitchen. We ordered chicken satay and calamari. We did have to wait about 20 minutes for our meal, but drinks were served quickly (the Bintang is kept at 0oC in a freezer) and while waiting we could watch the family at work in the kitchen. Cooking lessons are available and we watched a couple help prepare and cook their meal.
Our food was delicious, hot and fresh. Some dishes have to be ordered a day in advance(mainly seafood- lobster etc) as the family go to the market every morning at 5am. A very relaxed and casual atmosphere, traditional Balinese fare at a good price. Meals and drinks for 2 came to less than AUS$15 including tip.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

336 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    175
    114
    26
    9
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“One of the few that serve real Balinese food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

We had the typical Balinese Lawar (without the pork fat and blood luckily), and we had king prawns, red snapper and chicken sate. The food was really really good! Quote from my company: the best satay I had on bali! People are friendly and the place looks nice. Good value for money. Really worth a visit.

Small note for the owner: play some nice music!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“I wish I had a better review”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

We were greeted warmly and the business owner was really delightful. The atmosphere was authentic and nice for a change from all the other tourist driven restaurants. Unfortunately, we really didn't like the food . I ordered the massive prawns after the rave reviews and couldn't eat them ... They were so tough and rubbery. The skewers were average at best . I really wanted to like this place as much as I liked the business owner but it just didn't happen and wasn't even close .

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great traditional family food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

The best meal we have had in Bali so far provided by friendly welcoming family run business! All fresh organic ingredients cooked right in front of you by the whole family. Relaxed cosy atmosphere would recommend this to anyone!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Amazing food, excellent value, impecible service!! A must eat in Bali!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013 via mobile

This place is absolutely amazing. We had the king prawns in garlic sauce, and the mud crab in sweet chilli sauce. Impeccable. The portions you get for the price is astounding. If you want good fresh tasty authentic food, this place has to be on your list. They also do cooking classes. We will be back.

Thank you so much Eny. You're lovely.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Warung Eny also viewed

 

Been to Warung Eny? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Warung Eny, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.