We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expect a little more for this price...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Jas Villas Bali

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Jas Villas Bali to your Saves list
Jas Villas Bali
4.0 of 5 Villa   |   Jl. Laksmana (Oberoi) Gang Bugis, Seminyak, Bali 80361, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #124 of 306 Specialty Lodging in Seminyak
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Expect a little more for this price...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

We stayed in The Banyumas Residecnce for 2 nites before moving to this villa which cost 3 times more and had a pvt dipping pool (1 swing of your arms & you reach the other side).

IMHO, The villa is kind of old. The freezer part of the fridge is full of frost. For those not picky type, this is ok.

The villa is clean and the pool is nice. The pump for the pool will stop at 8pm and start at 10am. The pool is level and if you are about 160cm, even if you tiptoe, your toes also can't touch the floor. The water is not cold.

The hot water in the bathroom is not warm enough.

The reception office is just only one clerk and can fit max of 4 persons. It is smaller than the bathroom.

They provide free pick up around the hotel area. The driver will charge a little more than the taxi (which i feel is reasonable but i didnt use as I wanted to check whether the rate is ok). For eg. they will ask for Rp50K to Discovery Mall at Kuta but a cab in a jammed road will cost about 40K.

There is no phone in the room. They will give you a functionable mobile phone and you use this to communicate with the reception.

They will photocopy ALL your passports but will not take any deposit or charge slip. They will only charge you upon checking out. Perhaps i use asiaroom tat's why they dont take deposit. But i also use asiaroom for Banyumas and they collected 2 days of rent upon checking in. --puzzled--

The hotel is about 200m from the main road. If the hotel's car is not around, you have to walk out but the road is paved. The big building (a new hotel) that most reviews talked about has completed construction and is in the final stage of decorating. However, there are new construction coming up...

I was unlucky as someone had booked my room and i couldn't extend the checkout time of 12noon. I had to rush back to check out. They allowed us to keep our luggage there and we picked up again at 7pm before leaving to the airport. If you need to stay in another room from 12pm to 6pm, the charge is USD50. The 'bellboy' is very helpful. He even helped us carried the luggage to the taxi even though we were no longer their guests.

They will provide 'Aqua' drinking water. However, they forgot to replenish the water on the 2nd day. I had to call to ask and they gave us another brand of water (Club) which taste salty.

The breakfast was ok. We had fried rice and chicken meat ball soup. The food is not hot when served. The yogurt with fruit is nice.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    57
    23
    15
    5
See reviews for
48
43
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights. First time staying in a Seminyak villa over countless times staying in Kuta. We got quite a good deal through agoda. Location is in a prime area of Seminyak, fairly easy walk to shops and Seminyak Square. The villa is just off Jalan Laksmana, Oberoi but the signboard is hard to see and taxi drivers are unsure of the location. We missed it when we first arrive by taxi and so did our friend when he arrived the next day. We asked a friend of ours who's staying in Bali to meet us here and he too missed the signboard and he had to stop his bike to ask around.

The villas are about 2 years old although not in an excellent condition, we had quite a peaceful stay. Never feel so relaxed while staying in Bali before. They could actually improve on the features and furnishings of the villa like adding a television in the living/dining area so that while swimming in the private pool we could watch shows, at least that’s how I prefer it. Air conditioning units in the rooms must be replaced to a powerful one and placed strategically near the bed to ensure a comfortable sleep. We left the AC running the whole day and when we got back to our rooms in a bid to the escape the unbearable heat, we were not relieved. The room still feels warm. The blinds are broken at some parts and should be replaced. Television channels have quite a lot of channels but placed in an awkward angle in the master bedroom. The open ceiling concept toilets can get very hot during the day so it's not a relaxing time while doing your business. Breakfast are promptly served and tasty, not bad a selection to choose from. Overall it feels like a budget villa, so if you're looking for a luxurious villa, look elsewhere. No matter what we had a good stay, not great just good.

They could also improve on the free shuttles they provide around Seminyak. Tried calling reception to pick us up a few times but the car is always not available.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Territory
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Having stayed in villas and in Bali (including Seminyak) before we were very disappointed with Jas Villas. They were overpriced worn villas located down a dark muddy lane way (difficult for taxis to travel down), away from the 'centre' of Seminyak. Unfriendly check in. On the outside kitchen appeared modern but inside cupboards were old and damaged and struggled to close drawers. Water damage to bedroom ceiling and poorly flushing toilet (if your bin doesn't have holes in it, fill that to flush the toilet). Semi open air bathroom, with glass panels to allow for natural light which was good but the modern fountain type shower head was not practical, splashing water all over the bathroom and wetting the toilet and vanity. Private pool area with nice fountain feature and daybed but pool quite deep (and same depth all the way along). Bedrooms made up sporatically, even when we had been out all day we had to ask for the room to be made up and for fresh towels. Bed was uncomfortable. Breakfast was served in the villa and the different dishes arrived at various times so could not eat at once or all together if you wanted the food warm (or to eat toast with your eggs). Also took a long time for breakfast dishes to be cleared. Service charge on mini-bar exhorbitant. There are plenty of other places to stay in Seminyak and surrounds so recommend to pick somewhere else!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

Stayed here with my family for about 9 days in jan 2013.
Villa itself was nice.
The bedrooms are enclosed, but all else is kind of open air.
Nice pool, and being private was a bonus
Had some problems with air-con in one room, but the staff were very helpful with getting it fixed.
The breakfast was nice, but became a bit boring due to the limited choice. Ended up going out for breakfast last few days.
As other have said the road/path leading to the main street is a bumpy/dark walk - not really hotels fault.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

This is a great value villa, in a great location just off one of the main streets hosting restaurants such as ltimo, Rumours, Trattoria, The Junction, Cafe Bali, Champagne Bar, Kaizen, Chandi and of course the best beaches at Kudeta and La Lucciola. The villas were clean and the bedrooms a reasonable size one with an outdoor bathroom (which constantly smelled unfortunately) and the other with an indoor bathroom which didn't. Staff were great and overall we had a great stay. We could have done with a little more room, but all in all very good

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

Not sure what 4 star hotel operates like this but this is what we faced:

1) Non working of air conditioner in 1 room
We left the AC on in our room at 4 PM and on our return around 8 PM, the room was still hot. We waited for another hour and asked the reception to have a look. They called in their maintenance staff to work on it and they finally got it to work marginally better around midnight. We waited outside in the heat and with mosquitoes for 4 hours after a long day and the result was still the same. We had plans the next day which we had to cancel and reschedule due to this inconvenience. While we waited for the problem to be resolved, the receptionist was busy cracking jokes and laughing on her phone conversation.

2) No Water in the Bathroom
The water stopped flowing in the bathroom while I was taking a shower. We checked the other bathroom and that had no water either. Again, a call to the reception and the lady mentioned she had no clue why there was no water and had no maintenance staff on site to take a look at it immediately and that it would take some time to fix delaying our plans further.

3) Misrepresentation of information
Our booking included buffet breakfast however we were given a sheet of items and were asked to pick only 1 item per person in each category and anything additional would be charged. For e.g - if I had a pancake, I had to pay additional to eat a croissant.

4) Rude Customer Service
We reserved a villa for 5 adults however the reception told us we had to pay an additional price for the 5th adult as their villas were meant to accommodate only 4 adults and that we would not be able to get breakfast for the 5th person if we didn't pay for the 5th person.

5) Dirty Linen and sheets
The linen in the rooms was dirty and we had to ask them for it to be changed. This in spite of we having had to wait to check in (arrived at 1 while check in was at 2).

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

We chose the Jas Villa to stay at on our second trip to Bali in August because of it's location which is right near cafe Bali which was our favourite place to get coffee! I even explained this when making an enquiry before booking and all emails were from "the Jas Villas". We arrived at 10pm and went straight to the Villa to check in only to be told that because we had a one bedroom villa we were actually staying at "the jas boutique villas which was situated about a ten minute drive away . I told them I was not happy and wanted to stay at that location but they said they were full and due to it being nearly midnight we had no choice but to go to the other villa.
I hated it! The walls on the villa were so high and claustrophobic and unlike the previous villa we stayed at which was open and spacious on a previous trip this was a narrow walled in villa situated at the rear of a paddock !
The pool saw no sun due to the high walls around it and the day bed next to it with a canopy and there was no room to even put chair to sit in the sun.

When we complained the next day and said we wanted to leave as this was not what we booked and we were never told we would not be staying in Seminyak or that all one bedroom villas were at their other location we were told they would charge us a cancellation fee of three nights. I was then told if I did not pay the cancellation fee they would take it out of the managers salary so basically they made me feel guilty about it. We paid but as soon as we booked in to another wonderful hotel I emailed the owner and complained and they refunded my money.

Room Tip: Be very careful to ask which location you will be staying in as the Jas villas are in Seminyak but t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Jas Villas Bali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jas Villas Bali

Address: Jl. Laksmana (Oberoi) Gang Bugis, Seminyak, Bali 80361, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Seminyak
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #124 of 306 Specialty Lodging in Seminyak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Jas Villas Bali 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jas Villas Bali sought after area. Seminyak is renowned for its trendy cafes, modern art galleries, fashionable boutiques and astonishing beaches. Here, you are not just experiencing a retreat but you will discover the spirit of Bali. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, AsiaRooms, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Despegar.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Jas Villas Bali reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jas Villas Bali Hotel Seminyak
Jas Villas Bali Seminyak

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jas Villas Bali, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.