We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful haven in Seminyak” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Raja Gardens

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Seminyak
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Raja Gardens
Save
You added Raja Gardens to your Saves list
Jalan Abimanyu (Dhyanapura), Seminyak, Bali, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #113 of 306 Specialty Lodging in Seminyak
London
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Peaceful haven in Seminyak”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Just completed a week in the Raja Gardens. For the previous week we had stayed in a very luxurious expensive hotel in Ubud. Raja gardens doesn't suffer from the comparison-it is a very quiet, peaceful hotel which some beautiful gardens. When required the service is good (including reasonble room service)...but i like the fact that the staff leave you be!The hotel is a very short walk from the beech -ideal and it is also near to the best beach bars (to rest whilst you watch the sun go down). Having ventured further up Seminyak beach, the area definitely declines with distance from this zone. The hotel is in easy walking distance from a supermarket, laundry and money exchange. The main shopping street is a bit further away though.

The room was spacious and had excellent air conditioning. The bed was completely surrounded with a mosquito net (mosquitoes are a fact of life in Bali and i had as many bites in our previously plush hotel) and they lent us mosquito spray for the room. Bathroom area was big and clean with a powerful, warm shower. We also had our own porch area which was handy for late night drinks.

Considering how busy Seminyak is the hotel is delightfully quiet!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    7
    2
    0
    2
See reviews for
1
12
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013 via mobile

Raja is simply beautiful - a really small hotel with basic Balinese style rooms and open bathrooms with great showers!! The cheapest rooms are lovely but don't expect air con or a mini bar - they are very traditional - fan and mosquito net, if you want aircon they have a few more expensive rooms but If you want something glitzy and western stay somewhere else and leave this place to us!! The pool is stunning and always clean and fresh! While the price is probably more expensive for the room features you are paying for the ambience, seclusion, security and fantastic location- well worth it!! Have stayed here before and will stay here again!!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

I tell you what, I stayed at Grandma's Hotel the first time around for $2 less a night and I feel like such a fool! Raja Gardens is beautiful, spacious, and very comfortable. It's located really close to the beach and easy access to bars, restaurants, and shops. I loved our little room! The bathroom was probably the cleanest I have seen since I got to Bali 3 weeks ago. It almost felt like you were taking a shower outside as they have beautiful plants and stones decorating part of the bathroom. We had a very decent sized room and a nice little porch with a couple of chairs to relax and overlook the pool. The only downfall is the lack of A/C in our room, which made for a very hot evening. The nets they put around the bed refuse any air from the fan to enter, so I ended up getting bit by some very lucky mosquitos. Other than that, it's definitely worth the stay!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

We found this accommodation by accident , and I am glad I did. The air conditioned Bungalows were spacious, clean and well maintained. The family run business provides an adequate breakfast and the staff were always helpful. A little bit of Bali paradise. Will I be back? DEFINATLY

Room Tip: For a few $ more, the aircon rooms are good value
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

Not being happy with our booked accommodation next door we stayed here and were absolutely delighted, spacious, clean and close to beach, restaurants and shops. The grounds are superb, great pool and staff. Could only suggest a shade sail or Umbrella at the pool. Love this place.

Room Tip: Great value
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Lombardia, Italy
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

Very nice hotel with lovely swimming-pool, beautiful garden and close to the beach. It's a pity that the room is full of mosquitos and net over the bed is filthy and doesn't help that much. The pillows of the arm-chairs inside need laundry badly. It's rather cheap according to Seminyak standards so it's OK for a couple of days.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2012

We came down to Seminyak after 10 days in Ubud and spent our last 4 days lounging around at the beautiful beach. The staff were so obliging and helpful we felt really at home, and our air conditioned room was perfcet - comfortable, spotlessly clean and very handy for the pool and the little lane running down to the beach.

We splashed out and went for the A/C room after 10 days in the heat with only a fan, but their other rooms looked equally comfortable and clean. The garden setting is simply beautiful and the taxi place across the road meant that the short distance into seminyak 'proper' was never a worry, although the walk was pleasant with plenty to see on the way.

The biggest asset is definitely the proximity to the beach, and you don't need to go far once you're on the sand - the spot nearest the guesthouse is one of the nicest stretches of beach in the area. A stroll along brings you to plenty of nice restaurants and there's more surfing than you can ask for in the immediate area.

We also found that there are plenty of opportunistic Balinese people hoping to sell their wares on the sand - don't be annoyed at this, its part of the whole experience. They're lovely people and why not spend £3 on a great foot massage or £2 on a manicure? you're on holiday, let loose.

Our stay at Raja Gardens was the perfect end to our honeymoon. It was quiet, relaxing and perfect for couples looking for a private getaway in lush surroundings.

Room Tip: Splash out and go for the air-con room, and enjoy the book exchange at reception too!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Raja Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Raja Gardens

Address: Jalan Abimanyu (Dhyanapura), Seminyak, Bali, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Seminyak
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #113 of 306 Specialty Lodging in Seminyak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Also Known As:
Raja Gardens Hotel Seminyak
Raja Gardens Bali/Seminyak

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Raja Gardens, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.