We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Indian food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Gateway of India

Gateway of India
JL Abimanyu No. 10, Seminyak, Bali, Indonesia
+62361 732940
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #192 of 332 Restaurants in Seminyak
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Seminyak, Indonesia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great Indian food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

I came on Sunday night and they have all you can eat buffet every sunday. The food was delicious, very authentic.
The restaurant is quiet but I enjoy my dinner though.
Try thus when you visit Bali !

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    31
    16
    8
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Nice food not particularly cheap by Bali standards”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013 via mobile

Food was yum but a little pricey in comparison to other places. We were also short changed which was a little assuming by the waitress for her tip. Nice Indian food and good service food was service quickly.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
197 reviews 197 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
“Good Indian food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

Six of us ventured to Gateway of India in Jalan Dayana Pura, Seminyak for dinner in late August and enjoyed a really good night.
The Bintang was cold; the lassi drinks were tasty and the food was very good.
We dined on the usual Indian fare - started with chicken tikka which was juicy and good; abundant assorted fried treats; chicken makani; rogan josh and tasty vegetable curries supported by rice and garlic nan breads.
In truth we over-ordered a bit but the feast was good and the service very acceptable.
For fans of Indian food, which we are, Gateway provides a genuinely enjoyable meal at excellent prices.
It is a pleasure to recommend it; not fine dining, but great tasty comfort food.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Great find for Indian food lovers”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

We are big Indian food fans and spotted this one early as one to try because of the authentic naan and roti operation at the front of the store- and we were not disappointed! Excellent curries, delicious naan and very authentic! Garlic naan is a must, and the vege kathiroll was also a big winner!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Diamond in the rough - Great Taste but poor ambiance”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Kudos to the Chef !!! The food was excellent and could give tough competition to any restaurant that boasts about offering best Indian food. The ambiance is very poor and its a total bummer to me as to why they are not improving it. Average meal is about 10-15 USD per person. The dinner buffet on Sunday for 10 USD is value for money. I would definitely love to go there again.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gateway of India also viewed

 

Been to Gateway of India? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gateway of India, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.