We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hotel to spend 5 days” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Seminyak Beach Resort & Spa

Save Saved
You added The Seminyak Beach Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Seminyak Beach Resort & Spa
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jl. Kayu Aya | Seminyak Beach, Seminyak, Bali 80361, Indonesia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #30 of 94 hotels in Seminyak
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Wonderful hotel to spend 5 days”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

So relaxing and so peaceful and only a short walk to shops and restaurants if you need them. Beautiful gardens and infinity pool with staff only too accommodating when you need them. Very friendly and welcoming on check in, and after an upgrade to a suite our holiday was almost perfect. Breakfast is delicious with such a variety. Our only complaints are the white towels in our room , they were a disgusting grey colour and hot water system very poor. Would love to see a bar in the hotel for an evening drink or two....this is our second visit to this hotel and hope to be back before end of the year

Room Tip: Stay in rooms on the beach side
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheSeminyak, The Management at The Seminyak Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Dear Barbs0607,

First of all, thank you for choosing our resort again as your holiday destination in Bali. It was a heartwarming to read your lovely comments about the resort and the staff. We are happy to learn that our staff took a good care of you during your stay with us.

We do apologize for the shortfall during your stay due to stained towel and hot water issue, yet we were facing a big challenge on the beginning of the month due to our central hot water system was corrupted. However the system now has been fixed properly and hot water distribution is back to normal.

We look forward to welcome you back to our resort, please do not hesitate to contact us directly at reservation@theseminyak.com for any assistance.

Warm regards,
The Seminyak Beach Resort and Spa Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

545 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    308
    162
    44
    18
    13
See reviews for
77
277
27
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (198)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

This was our first trip to Bali in 20 years ( the first time for our two children) and were keen to stay in Seminyak having heard so much about it from other friends. Our travel agent recommended this hotel. Based on other TA comments we opted for the Beach Wing rooms rather than the Garden Villas. Upon arrival we were advised we would not be able to get interconnecting rooms which had been requested prior to arrival. Not such a huge deal for us as our children are 14 and 11 but if they were younger it would have been a problem. Our beach wing rooms were next door to each other, ground floor, facing the beach with a shared verandah. They were lovely rooms with a king size bed in each (although this meant the boys were sharing a bed which wasn't ideal), bathrooms were spacious and clean with a lovely deep bath to relax in. The rooms are serviced daily with a turn down/bathroom clean in the evenings additionally. The grounds are beautifully maintained and the beachfront location is perfect. The surf out the front can get quite big so recommended for strong swimmers/surfers. I wouldn't take toddlers to the beach as there was often an undertow. I agree with other comments that the pool area, whilst lovely, can get busy and it is often difficult to get a lounge. Having said this, I noticed staff packed up towels when lounges appeared to be not in use for a period of time. The breakfast buffet was fabulous with a huge variety to chose from (a highlight for our boys!!). All staff were very friendly and helpful. When both boys copped a dose of Bali Belly during the week the hotel were very helpful organising medical attention. There are buffet nights most nights plus a casual light menu available throughout the day and evening. Room service was efficient with a good variety. All in all, a gorgeous hotel, highly recommended.

Room Tip: We loved our ground floor beachfront room and enjoyed the sound of the surf.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheSeminyak, The Management at The Seminyak Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Dear Rhonda F,

Thank you for sharing such a candid review of your stay with us.

We are thrilled to hear that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for the kind words about our staff, service and food. We are very proud of the team and will certainly share your remarks with everyone.

We do appreciate your comments regarding the room assignment and the sun lounger availability, rest assured we will work with the team to improve on the various area.

Looking forward to welcome you back to our resort in the future, please do not hesitate to contact us directly at reservation@theseminyak.com for any assistance.

Warm regards,
The Seminyak Beach Resort and Spa Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014 via mobile

We felt lucky to get a sun lounger sometimes because the grounds have been poorly designed and common space has been sacrificed to cram in awkwardly placed guest villas and a giant Las Vegas style wedding chapel. There is only a thin finger of loungers by the main pool which are practically on top of each other.

No 5 star touches like freshly rolled towels already on the loungers, cold water brought to you when you sit down.

The guest to staff ratio at the pool makes it feel a bit like a packed restaurant back in London.

They have a quieter cabana area the other side of the Chapel but the roofs of the cabanas were falling to bits.

The drinks menu is in broken English, yet cocktails are more expensive than Ku De Ta next door.

Even adverts for the place which we saw in local magazines had embarrassing spelling and grammar errors. This has no bearing on the quality of the hotel, but just makes the whole operation look a bit amateurish.

It's a good hotel, but not a truly 5 star experience in our opinion. We stayed in other resorts on the island during our trip which were cheaper and felt more polished.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheSeminyak, The Management at The Seminyak Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Dear hpw84,

Thank you for taking your time to share this review with us.

I would like to personally apologise for falling short of your expectations and for the inconvenience you had faced during your stay with us. Kindly be assured you that your comments will be shared with our team, so that we can ensure a seamless guest experience in the future.

Looking forward to welcome you back in the future, please do not hesitate to contact us directly at reservation@theseminyak.com for any assistance.

Warm regards,
The Seminyak Beach Resort and Spa Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

This hotel will not disappoint. The rooms are beautiful. We were lucky to be upgraded to a suite which was just so lovely - but I'm sure the other rooms are just as nice, The pool and pool area are so pretty and one of the best I've visited - I was worried the shape was boring as we're used to large lagoon pools - but it really was just lovely.
The locals selling goods on the beach were a little annoying but we just tried to see the funny side.
Breakfast wasn't perfect - but I ate so much at the amazing near by restaurants all day and night that I was grateful not to pig out at breakfast too. Lunch and cocktails by the pool were brilliant and well priced. We didn't eat in the hotel at night as near by places so good.
Perfect location - lots of great places to eat, drink and shop in walking distance. We particularly liked Potato Head and Ku De Ta.
Staff at hotel so accommodating.
Seminyak a perfect location in general too - we did 6 nights here and 3 in Ubud which was also wonderful for different reasons and a great way to split a holiday. Plenty of excursions and things to do. Loved cooking class, massage lessons, temples, rice fields, boat rides and monkey sanctuary.
I dont see how anyone could have a bad holiday at this hotel. Total luxury and value for money.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheSeminyak, The Management at The Seminyak Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Dear DMJ1980,

Thank you for sharing your marvelous experience of your recent stay with us.

It is a heartwarming to read that you enjoyed your stay with us, we also love location near shopping, dining and landmark location. We also thank you for your constructive comment regarding the breakfast and will surely share it with the team form an improvement.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your future visit to Bali, please do not hesitate to contact us directly at reservation@theseminyak.com for any assistance.

Warm regards,
The Seminyak Beach Resort and Spa Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

We are regular travellers to Bali and other destinations, arriving at The Seminyak and being taken to our pool villa was a great thrill. This hotel is beautifully kept and is in a great location, it is a short stroll to a range of restaurants and Seminyak Square.
The room had a private plunge pool and outside sitting area allowing for easy access to the beach or to stay in the privacy of our own "mini compound". Breakfast offers a great selection and with top quality ingredients and presentation.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheSeminyak, The Management at The Seminyak Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Dear Jeff P,

Thank you for sharing this glowing review of your stay in October 2013.

It is a heartwarming to read that you and your family enjoyed your stay in our villa and your compliment towards our breakfast quality is very much appreciated.

We look forward to welcoming you and your family back to our resort, please do not hesitate to contact us directly at reservation@theseminyak.com.

Warm regards,
The Seminyak Beach Resort and Spa Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

On my 4th visit to this resort. Wife & 3 year-old daughter loves it, whether we're staying at the villas or the Garden Wing across the road. The buggy ride from the Garden rooms to the main lobby is an experience my daughter enjoyed even though it took less than a minute. Service is great, as expected of Balinese; but the enthusiasm of the staff to please and go the extra mile deserves mention.
Minor Irritation #1: computerised key locks are problematic no matter where you stay. I was locked out once after climbing 3 flights of stairs to the 3rd floor of the Garden rooms. Needs fixing definitely.
Minor irritation #2: Reception staff answers in perfect English as if everything is fine; but never trust that seemingly reassuring smile; for nothing is fine when you get to the bottom of things. They've given me key card which wouldn't work, and room reservation information which differed from one staff to another e.g. whether the 2 rooms you booked have connecting doors.
Other than those minor irritations, everything else is what one would expect of Balinese hospitality + 50% at this place.
Infinity pool overlooking the ocean, Bali sunset, walk down to the beach with security watching over you, 5 minutes to a massage, Wha Wha wagyu mini-burgers across the road (wife and friends loved that), VIN PLUS down the road for supplies of wines, Ku De Ta and La Luciola within 5 minutes walk etc.

Room Tip: Depends on your budget and mindset.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheSeminyak, The Management at The Seminyak Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Dear asje-trvl,

First of all, thank you for choosing us as your accommodation whilst in Bali and for taking your time to share us your recent experience.

Glad to learn that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us and certainly appreciate your feedback since it will allows us to improve the service quality and guest experience.

Looking forward to welcome you back on your 5th visit, please do not hesitate to contact us directly at reservation@theseminyak.com.

Warm regards,
The Seminyak Beach Resort and Spa Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

Overall we throughly enjoyed our stay. Breakfast was amazing - so much choice. Rooms were large, clean and we felt like we were well looked after.

The only disappointing aspect were the price of food and drinks. They were much much much higher than normal bali prices.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheSeminyak, The Management at The Seminyak Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 5, 2014
Dear Leigh2323,

Thank you for the positive insight of our resort.

It is pleasing to read that you enjoyed your overall stay and that our team looked after you very well. Your feedback regarding price of food and drink is very much appreciated since it allows us to improve our property and service quality.

We look forward to welcome you back in the future.

Warm regards,
The Seminyak Beach Resort and Spa Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Seminyak Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Seminyak Beach Resort & Spa

Address: Jl. Kayu Aya | Seminyak Beach, Seminyak, Bali 80361, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Seminyak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Seminyak
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Seminyak
#19 Family Hotel in Seminyak
#23 Romantic Hotel in Seminyak
#27 Spa Hotel in Seminyak
#28 Luxury Hotel in Seminyak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Seminyak Beach Resort & Spa 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Seminyak is stylish beachfront resort that represents a new era in Bali's evolving hospitality industry. The property is all about tropical sophistication with a choice of elegantly appointed guest rooms, suites and villas designed to accommodate the needs of today's savvy travelers. Set within a charming landscape that encompasses native greenery, lily ponds and traditional thatched pavilions.The Seminyak is a modern retreat with distinct Balinese touches that provides a welcome escape from the outside world. A signature brand of hospitality together with heartfelt service promises a truly unrivaled experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, AsiaRooms, HotelTravel.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your The Seminyak Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Seminyak Beach Resort And Spa
The Seminyak Beach Hotel Seminyak
The Seminyak Beach Resort & Spa Bali

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Seminyak Beach Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.