We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Appropriately enjoyable experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Seminyak Beach Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Save
You added The Seminyak Beach Resort & Spa to your Saves list
The Seminyak Beach Resort & Spa
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jl. Kayu Aya | Seminyak Beach, Seminyak, Bali 80361, Indonesia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 106 Hotels in Seminyak
Berlin, Germany
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Appropriately enjoyable experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

It is hard to sum up our feelings about this resort to one title line. You cannot deny how beautiful the ocean view is from the room and the pool, the friendly staff and the amazing breakfast. Still throughout our stay we were missing something, to take the experience to a 5-star level. When you pay a lot of money for your stay (~4.000 EUR for 12 nights in the ocean facing suite), your expectations are naturally high.

Maybe this comes from being a woman, but I was missing certain things to make me feel like a valued guest:
- the mini bar in the room is not free of charge (4 bottles of water are provided free of charge), which is kind of ridiculous considering the room price
- there were no complimentary gifts in the room (fruits, flowers, candy). This would not cost much, but would make a nice touch
- the hotel tried to charge us for an airport transfer (as it was not included in the package), which also is relatively ridiculous considering the price

These very small things left me with a feeling that this resort is run very effectively as a business.

As general comments about Seminyak I would say that the area has reached the final stage of touristification. It takes a load of patience to travel anywhere from Seminyak, as you are sitting in a traffic jam for up to 1-2 hours (depending on where you're going). Take this into account if you're planning tours or diving trips. Seminyak does have excellent restaurants, and we ended up eating out every night except one.

The one experience that eventually left a good taste in my mouth was the dinner we had at the hotel on our final night. There were very few participants in the seafood buffet, so it was practically a private dining experience by the sea. The hotel had organised a very nice cover band as entertainment, and the cook was presenting the food. Definitely recommend to take advantage of the hotel buffet offering.

In the end, I would probably not return, as with this kind of money you have so many other options available (e.g. Mauritius, Maldives) but this also very much due to how Seminyak has developed.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheSeminyak, The Management at The Seminyak Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Dear Finnish_in_Berlin,

Thank you for taking the time to write us such a kind review here on TripAdvisor. I am very happy to hear that you had such an enjoyable experience at our resort.

We have well noted all your concerns and will follow up with related departments for further improvement and rectification to ensure that we maintain a high quality of service to all of our guests.

Please do not hesitate to contact us directly at reservation@theseminyak.com should your travels bring you back to Bali.

Warm regards,
The Seminyak Beach Resort and Spa Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

686 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    403
    200
    50
    18
    15
See reviews for
96
358
29
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (250)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
HK
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014 via mobile

We r at the ocean view suite. Very spacious, great ocean view shower and jacuzzi, comfortable bed. I was worried about the breakfast, reading some -ve comments here. Well, I basically can find all that I need, and I’ve never seen any hotel of this price range provide poached eggs of 3 options: soft, medium and hard.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheSeminyak, The Management at The Seminyak Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Dear Francis L,

We certainly appreciate your kind review of your recent stay with us.

Delighted to hear that your had the opportunity to enjoy the services and facilities in the resort, we look forward to welcome you back to our resort the next time your travels bring you back to Bali.

Please do not hesitate to contact us directly at reservation@theseminyak.com for booking assistance.

Warm regards,
The Seminyak Beach Resort and Spa Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

Stayed in the ocean front villa unit for a few days and it was paradise. The facility was great and the staff was incredibly friendly and professional. Many good restaurants are within walking distance. The resort is popular with couples and they have special facilities for weddings.

Room Tip: Spend the extra money for a villa suite (preferably ocean view). It's an amazing experience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheSeminyak, The Management at The Seminyak Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Dear Stephen D,

Thank you for sharing such a complimentary review of your recent stay with us.

We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your overall stay with us, and hope to welcome you back to our resort in near future.

Please do not hesitate to contact us directly at reservation@theseminyak.com for booking assistance.

Warm regards,
The Seminyak Beach Resort and Spa Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014

My husband and I had a beautiful stay at this resort last week and were very impressed by the staff, their friendliness and their willingness to help us any way they could. We were celebrating an anniversary and the manager upgraded us to a spa suite on our final two nights. Thank you so much we loved the room and facilities.
The pool area was fantastic so clean and well maintained. There was no problem finding a lounge chair to sit on with staff on hand to provie towels and drinks etc. I attended the yoga classes at the chapel which had a spectecular view of the ocean. The buffet breakfast was varied to include an egg and pancake station and the fesh fruit was delicious. The location was great within walking ditance to some of the best restaurants in the area. We used the shuttle a couple of times and found the driver friendly and accomodating. We did not use the spa because we thought it was expensive for Bali. Another bonus was the business centre for guests to use that helped us keep in touch with family at home. I would definately recommend this resort to others and hopefully if we go to Bali again we will be more than happy to stay at this resort. Thank you to all the lovley staff they are the best part of this resort.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheSeminyak, The Management at The Seminyak Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Dear Vicky F,

Thank you for sharing your experience of your recent stay with us.

Our staff indeed our great asset and we always take great pride in knowing that they endeavor to deliver an exemplary level of personalized service to all our guests every day.

I'm thrilled that you had enjoyed a most memorable time with us and certainly look forward to having you with us again soon. Please do not hesitate to contact us directly at reservation@theseminyak.com for booking assistance.

Warm regards,
The Seminyak Beach Resort and Spa Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aachen, Germany
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014

Oh such nice. Much wow. So Ocean. So Beach. Amaze.

Very good hotel - infinity pool is gorgeous and it´s right by the beach. Staff was more than helpful and friendly. Area around the hotel however does not have too much to offer except for clothing stores.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheSeminyak, The Management at The Seminyak Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
Dear Maha1987,

Delighted to hear of your compliments and trust that you had enjoyed the services and facilities available at the resort.

We hope that your memorable memories will bring you back to our resort, please do not hesitate to contact us directly at reservation@theseminyak.com for further assistance.

Warm regards,
The Seminyak Beach Resort and Spa Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

We stayed for 9 nights and although the resort was a lovely place, with good food, lovely helpful staff and our room (beach wing) was beautiful, I was totally disappointed with the state of the beach (rubbish). I did not set foot on the sand and would not swim in the water. Maybe the staff need to clean the beach early morning before guests went for a walk, but it was the sewerage which totally put me off. Maybe I have been spoilt with the lovely clean blue beaches of FIJI.
Overall I will not be returning to Bali but will still recommend this resort. My husband and I decided that we must be the minority that did not enjoy Bali at all.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheSeminyak, The Management at The Seminyak Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
Dear Lidia S,

Thank you for taking your time to share us your experience on your recent stay with us and we greatly appreciated your positive comments about the resort.

I would like to apologise for falling short of your expectations in relate with beach cleaning and will inform our team of your feedback to ensure better experience for our guests.

Despite your disappointment about the beach, we thank you for your generosity to keep recommending our resort.

Warm regards,
The Seminyak Beach Resort and Spa Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

We stayed here for two weeks, and could not have enjoyed our stay more. Living in the garden wing was not a problem, and the room was large and had gorgeous decor. Breakfast was really good, with a wide selection of hot and cold alternatives. We loved the infinity pool, and the gazebos in the garden. The beach in front of the hotel was kept clean, and the surf there was decent for beginners according to my partner. Service by the pool and at breakfast was good, and we loved the towel animal/flowers/sweets housekeeping left for us.

I have to say that the staff is wonderful. When I became ill and needed a doctor they were really sweet and caring, asking me if I needed anything etc. They were generally really helpful with everything, and always friendly.

The worst bit about this wonderful resort was actually leaving it, so if we ever come back to Bali, there is no doubt we will stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheSeminyak, The Management at The Seminyak Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
Dear helena_sg,

We absolutely love your review and thank you for taking your time to share it here at TripAdvisor.

Delighted to read that you had such a enjoyable experience with us, and glad that our team took a good care of you when you were sick.

We look forward to welcome you back to our resort the next time you return to Bali, please do not hesitate to contact us directly at reservation@theseminyak.com for further assistance.

Warm regards,
The Seminyak Beach Resort and Spa Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Seminyak Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Seminyak Beach Resort & Spa

Address: Jl. Kayu Aya | Seminyak Beach, Seminyak, Bali 80361, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Seminyak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Seminyak
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Seminyak
#12 Family Hotel in Seminyak
#21 Spa Hotel in Seminyak
#22 Romantic Hotel in Seminyak
#23 Luxury Hotel in Seminyak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Seminyak Beach Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Seminyak is stylish beachfront resort that represents a new era in Bali's evolving hospitality industry. The property is all about tropical sophistication with a choice of elegantly appointed guest rooms, suites and villas designed to accommodate the needs of today's savvy travelers. Set within a charming landscape that encompasses native greenery, lily ponds and traditional thatched pavilions.The Seminyak is a modern retreat with distinct Balinese touches that provides a welcome escape from the outside world. A signature brand of hospitality together with heartfelt service promises a truly unrivaled experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, AsiaRooms, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Odigeo, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your The Seminyak Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Seminyak Beach Hotel Seminyak
The Seminyak Beach Resort And Spa
The Seminyak Beach Resort & Spa Bali

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Seminyak Beach Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.