We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I Have Died and Gone to Heaven” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Seminyak Beach Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The Seminyak Beach Resort & Spa to your Saves list
The Seminyak Beach Resort & Spa
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jl. Kayu Aya | Seminyak Beach, Seminyak, Bali 80361, Indonesia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 114 Hotels in Seminyak
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Jakarta, Indonesia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“I Have Died and Gone to Heaven”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

[The following review is for The Kahyangan Spa at The Seminyak Resort & Spa. I submit the review here since I cannot find The Kahyangan Spa account at Trip Advisor]

Kahyangan in Bahasa means Heaven. It’s the equivalent of Mount Olympus in ancient Greek mythology. I assume the name was chosen to depict the heavenly treatment the spa has to offers.

When I enter the lobby, I can see that they are keeping up with the name. The lobby is a mixture between the elegance of Indonesia old heritage with a touch of Arabian Night ambience. The aroma therapy is indulging you with floral scents. The fountain in the middle of the foyer is in the shape of blooming lotus while the ceiling is filled with colorful Batik patterns which you can lost in your own thought for admiring them. Architectural-wise the scale of the lobby is successfully creating a perfect ambience for an upscale spa. Not to mention the high ceiling that creates a divine building proportion.

After you sign for treatment, they will lead you the waiting room through a sheer curtain. You can’t help feeling that you’re lost in a luxury of ancient palace. In the waiting room, you will be asked several questions regarding your body condition and what you’re expecting from the treatment. You will be served a fresh cold towel with peppermint scent and a cup of ginger lime tea.

You will proceed to the locker room – which I really love. The locker room is elegant and spacious. You can find all the amenities you need. The high-ceiling shower room with rain-shower is simply divine. In the locker room, you change your attire with a – I assume – high quality silk kimono. I can’t even describe the quality of the silk. You have to feel it for yourself.

The open-air Jacuzzi is quite unique. Instead of solid walls, two sides of the Jacuzzi room are covered with metal sculpture with tinted glass facing the garden of the resort. There are two different set of temperature, 15◦C and 35◦C. Originally, for best result, it is suggested to dip in the high temperature and the follow with the lower one. However, since it was an open-air Jacuzzi and Bali’s heat is unbearable, I dipped myself in the cold Jacuzzi.

Later, you will be escorted to the treatment room. The corridor is exquisite. The dim lights, the wooden floor, and the carving for each number of the room are really depicted old-heritage Indonesian ambience.

My treatment room is the best one because it has ocean view. The treatment room also has an open-air bathroom area for washing-feet treatment and also for flower bath. The treatment I had is the signature treatment of the spa which called “Kahyangan Spa”. The 75 minutes treatment literally took me away to the dreamland because I was actually fall asleep. It was really relaxing and remedial at the same time.

After the treatment, you will proceed to the same ritual when you’re came in, which is to the locker room to take a shower and then back to the waiting room when you served with another ginger lime tea while answering questions regarding your satisfactory.

It was a heavenly experience indeed.

Room Tip: The ocean-view treatment room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheSeminyak, The Management at The Seminyak Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Dear The-travelo,

Thank you very much for visiting our hotel and trying our SPA at Kahyangan Spa.
It's our pleasure to offer you a complete refreshment from the tiredness of urban life, and we are very glad that you enjoy the treatment we offer and the service provided by our friendly and professional therapist.
We are sincerely welcome you to stay with us next time.

Thank you again for visiting us and leaving the valuable comments.

Sincerely yours,
The Seminyak Beach Resort & Spa Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

766 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    456
    216
    55
    22
    17
See reviews for
101
407
34
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (273)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

Had a fantastic holiday here. The idea was to relax & recharge. Couldn`t have picked a better location. Hotel is located between Ku De Ta & Potato Head, with Eat Street at the back door. As it was very hot at this time of year, we spent a lot of time at the pool [two of them], which are infinity pools, right on the beach. Magnificent sunsets ! We were upgraded to a Beachside Room which was nice. Buffet breakfast was fantastic, staff friendly & helpful & whole was very relaxing.
Would certainly recommend this place !

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheSeminyak, The Management at The Seminyak Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Dear Royboyperth,

Thank you for taking the time to express your important feedback. We are happy to know that you have enjoyed your stay. We continuously strive to provide the most memorable and unrivaled experience stay for our guests.

We appreciate your trust towards The Seminyak Beach Resort & Spa and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel.

Sincerely yours,
The Seminyak Beach Resort & Spa Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth Western Australia
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

My husband, daughter and son in law and I stayed at The Seminyak in February this year for eight days.
When we stayed the hotel renovation was still occurring although there was no noise or disruption that we noticed.
From the airport pick up to the drop off when we left our stay was pretty much without fault although some of the staff are clearly new and still learning.

Our rooms were ready when we arrived even though it was well before check in time and they were fabulous.
From the large bathroom and balcony to the view (and sound of) the beach to the quaint little touches such as personalized hand written welcome notes and a daily newsletter outlining the weather and events of the day the experience was excellent.
Breakfast each morning was a very pleasant way to start the day.
A special thanks to Sari who made each breakfast service special, remembering all our names, our coffee preferences and even that the boys liked eggs Benedict.

The weekly cocktail party in the beach side chapel, attended by the management team, was a nice touch and what a beautiful venue and spectacular view!!!!

Another nice touch was the complimentary yoga class also conducted in the chapel.
My daughter and I were the only two participants but the instructor was excellent (both my daughter and I practice yoga at home so we know the difference) and we both had a great work out!!

The pool is spectacular with an uninterrupted view of the beach.
The boys whiled away many an hour hanging over the infinity edge watching the world go by,often with an ice cold Bintang in their hand.

This brings me to my only negative comment - service around the swimming pool was a little hit and miss and you often had to go looking for someone to order a drink or a meal.

Another big positive was the front desk/concierge staff who remembered our names and for whom no request was too much trouble.
So much so that on several occasions when we were going to Bodyworks for a treatment (about 10 minutes walk away) they offered to drive us and comeback and collect us at the end of our treatments!!
They also dropped my daughter and I up near the Bintang supermarket to do some shopping one morning - awesome...

My only disappointment now is the prices for a stay at The Seminyak.
We have looked to stay here on two subsequent visits but found the prices far too high in comparison to the likes of The Oberoi etc which are similarly located right on Seminyak Beach but are much more established and have earned their 5 star status and price tag.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheSeminyak, Management at The Seminyak Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Dear MelGeorge,

Thank you very much for visiting our resort during our soft opening time in the early 2012.
We are very glad that you enjoy the service provided by our friendly and professional staff. We have conveyed your compliments to all the staff members and they are certainly pleased to see that their efforts are so well appreciated.

We have noted the inconvenience you have experienced with the service in the pool area, which has been reported. Be rest assured that your next stay with us will be even a more pleasurable one, as we continuously strive to provide the most memorable and unrivaled experience for our guests.

We are sincerely welcome you to stay with us next time. You may check our website for the special offer or you may contact us directly to info@theseminyak.com for any promotion during the period you needed.

Thank you again for visiting us and leaving the valuable comments.

Sincerely yours,
The Seminyak Beach Resort & Spa Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

Stayed here as part of a large work trip November 2012 for 3 nights and I highly recommend this hotel.
Location is beach front, close to trendy restaurants/bars and the renowned Potato-Head Club (worth a visit). Very spacious grounds, very well kept, although take sandals as the pathways get very hot.
The restaurant for breakfast is surprisingly cool in the humidity of Bali, very good selection of food and staff are very helpful and quick to offer more tea/juice etc.
Rooms are large, and the Jacuzzi rooms have the best views as they overlook the gardens and the beach. Had a nose round my colleagues beachfront suite and although spacious with its own pool, I'd actually recommend the room I had! The pool on the beach front is ideal, large size and reasonable bar service.
Would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone who fancies spending a little extra. Great location and the staff couldn't do enough, especially as there were about 70 of us, thank you!

Room Tip: Take the Jacuzzi rooms and make sure they have a sea view balcony, worth the extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheSeminyak, The Management at The Seminyak Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Dear Byron_DAF,

Thank you for taking the time to express your important feedback.
We are happy to know that you have enjoyed your stay in our spacious room with Jacuzzi overlooking to the garden and the sea, which it is our The Suite.

We appreciate your trust towards The Seminyak Beach Resort & Spa and we look forward to welcoming you back to the resort, where we can assure you a more pleasurable one as we continuously strive to provide the most memorable and unrivaled experience for our guests.

Sincerely yours,
The Seminyak Beach Resort & Spa Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

We stayed here for 5 days in November 2012 and can highly recommend this hotel. We walked in to our beach side suite ( we had been upgraded from a standard room) to be met with the best balcony view of the palm trees against the beach back drop. The room was spacious and every detail had been attended to. The bed is the most comfortable hotel bed I have ever slept on - firm with a pillow top, and perfect pillows. So we had the best night's sleep.
The pool is fabulous; it gives the impression of finishing in the ocean and is so relaxing. There were always plenty of loungers and towels available.
There didn't seem to be any kids at the hotel- I didn't see any guest under the age of about 25 and few guests were over the age of 60. The breakfasts were good and in a lovely environment over-looking the immaculate gardens.
There is a complimentary shuttle bus in to Seminyak but we preferred to get a taxi which usually cost about 50 cents. Next door to Ku De Ta and easy access to other great restaurants, it's hard to beat.

Room Tip: Always choose a beach side room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheSeminyak, The Management at The Seminyak Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Dear Fushcia99,

We highly appreciate your stay and valuable comment. it is our honor to provide such luxury facilities and thoughtful services and we are delighted to know that you had a impressive stay with us in our spacious room, The Suite, with Jacuzzi and balcony overlooking to the lush tropical garden and the sea.

Thank you once again for sharing your feedback with us and thereby giving us the opportunity to enhance our service quality and looking forward to welcoming you back

Sincerely yours,
The Seminyak Beach Resort & Spa Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

What a wonderful hotel, perfect location right on the beach, beautiful gardens and fantastic staff. Having booked a beach wing room, we found ourselves on the 2nd floor with the expected view but then asked to be moved to a ground floor room for better access to the pool - immediately the staff made the best effort to relocate us. The poolside cabanas were the perfect place to while away the day and watch the activity on the beach.

The location of this hotel gives great access to some of the best restaurants in Seminyak but don't avoid the hotel offerings as all the meals from breakfast to dinner were also very good. The shopping area of Seminyak is in easy walking distance and provides a good variety from high end boutiques to market type stalls.

Having visited Bali many times we would return to this location without hesitation. A great hotel for adults.

Room Tip: definitely beach wing ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheSeminyak, The Management at The Seminyak Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Dear mlh1760,

We are delighted to learn that your overall stay with us was enjoyable.
We are also glad that you have enjoyed your Beach Wing room in the ground floor with a spacious terrace overlooking to the lush tropical garden and easy access to the swimming pool.

Your valuable feedback is important to ensure that we continually deliver the unrivaled experience and exceed your expectations for future visits.

Thank you once again for sharing your feedback with us and thereby giving us the opportunity to enhance our service quality and looking forward to welcoming you back.

Sincerely yours,
The Seminyak Beach Resort & Spa Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Thank you once again to the wonderful staff at The Seminyak Beach Resort. It was our third stay here, in a beach view room, and this time we bought our adult son and his partner. We stayed for 2 weeks, our son for one week and we all had a great time. The gardens are now well established, breakfast is delightful, as is every member of staff you meet throughout the day. We will be back!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheSeminyak, The Management at The Seminyak Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Dear JenV97,

It is a delight to learnt that you have enjoyed your stay with us in our Beach Wing Room at The Seminyak Beach Resort & Spa.

Your comments are well received and we appreciate that you have taken valuable time to share with us your feedback. We have conveyed your compliments to all the staff members and they are certainly pleased to see that their efforts are so well appreciated

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future and to create yet another an unrivaled experience stay.

Sincerely yours,
The Seminyak Beach Resort & Spa Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Seminyak Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Seminyak Beach Resort & Spa

Address: Jl. Kayu Aya | Seminyak Beach, Seminyak, Bali 80361, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Seminyak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Seminyak
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Seminyak
#15 Family Hotel in Seminyak
#24 Romantic Hotel in Seminyak
#25 Spa Hotel in Seminyak
#27 Luxury Hotel in Seminyak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Seminyak Beach Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Seminyak is stylish beachfront resort that represents a new era in Bali's evolving hospitality industry. The property is all about tropical sophistication with a choice of elegantly appointed guest rooms, suites and villas designed to accommodate the needs of today's savvy travelers. Set within a charming landscape that encompasses native greenery, lily ponds and traditional thatched pavilions.The Seminyak is a modern retreat with distinct Balinese touches that provides a welcome escape from the outside world. A signature brand of hospitality together with heartfelt service promises a truly unrivaled experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your The Seminyak Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Seminyak Beach Hotel Seminyak
The Seminyak Beach Resort And Spa
The Seminyak Beach Resort & Spa Bali

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Seminyak Beach Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.