We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extremely disappointed” 1 of 5 stars
Review of The Akasha Villas

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The Akasha Villas to your Saves list
The Akasha Villas
5.0 of 5 Villa   |   Jl.Batu Belig no.999ab, Seminyak, Bali 80361, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #133 of 306 Specialty Lodging in Seminyak
Perth, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Extremely disappointed”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

We booked in for three nights in may before we flew home.
After checking in and being shown or villa we turned on the air cons and found half didn't work and did not have a hope in keeping any of the rooms cool.
They showed us another villa that they said was 90% renovated but when we had a look it was not fit to stick your dog in it.

So they showed us another one which was as big improvement but still had plenty of faults.

Check out the pictures to see how the good one looked.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KeanCH_11, General Manager at The Akasha Villas, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
Dear twkitch,

We are sorry that your stayed was not as your expectation. Our management and team are taking prompt investigation and action to every guests comment and make sure it will not happen again to other guests who stay at our villa.
For your information in May we had some newly renovated villas and our occupancy rate was very high. Except one of our villa still under renovation. When you saw the villa, it was not ready to accommodate guests yet. We were started to accommodate guests in mid June 2014 to make sure that all are cleaned up properly after we done the refurbishment.
We have received very good comments from our guests who have stayed and experience our newly refurbishment villas. If by a chance you plan to visit Bali again the future, we would like to invite you to stay and experience our newly renovated villa.

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    16
    6
    3
    3
See reviews for
22
9
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014 via mobile

Well what can I say ! Most Amazing place , we had a 4 bedroom villa for 8 people with own pool very spacious and they was amazing service , butlers very friendly , it is a distance from seminyak square but it's worth it , walking distance to beach , I plan to return soon .

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

felt like Royalty, Great private Villas with your very own pool. Heaven on Earth.
Wonderful private chef every morning preparing us complementary breakfast.
definitely recommend to anyone who likes a heaven experience on earth :)

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014 via mobile

The 4 villa complex I stayed and it was outstanding , Excellent Food And The Service is compared to None they are beautiful , I Renewed my vows and it was over and beyond what expected thanks to Sandy Defiantly Returning and the pool was amazing and big .

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

Initial perception of the hotel was great - the layout of the rooms and the pool is really good. The kitchen is outstanding. The shame is that this place seems to be going down hill and it doesn't look like anyone is too bothered. Normally i wouldn't whinge like this but it was such a let down based on the price we paid and we had our iphone stolen from our luggage in our room - perhaps this place was great 5 years ago?

Service - Some of the staff were great, mainly the staff who cooked breakfast and room service. really friendly and they really try (although sometimes the breakfast was cold) - the hospitality staff were rubbish (to say the least). We had to ask for towels and toilet paper (the towels were small and thin) and even after we asked, it took them hours to deliver it. Lastly, they were smoking out the villa next door with what seemed like burnt plastic but perhaps it was to kill the insects - there was this smoke EVERYWHERE and we were trying to swim with our 6 month old in the pool. What was it? DDT? something noxious... I cant think what else they were doing?

The Villa - Great layout - Pool is awesome - Kitchen is dreamlike - Great room sizes - Great beds - BUT..... going down hill fast. Termites are destroying the wooden floors (the are buckled in the rooms) - Outside showers either don't work at alll or the shower heads spray water against the top of the wall instead of down. Inside bathroom was really nice which made up for it.

Overall - they really can rescue this place but it needs some money spent on it and needs someone to do something with their hospitality staff . Lastly - fix your wireless!!!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KeanCH_11, General Manager at The Akasha Villas, responded to this review, December 19, 2013
Dear Nigel157

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the The Akasha Villas. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

First we would like to apologize that you lost your iphone. As you may aware our management have taken very serious action to this case. We have reported to the police and they have been doing some investigation and interviewed our all staff including check our security and SOP.
Police officer was also asked the possibility that you left your iphone during dinner or shopping or sight visit outside villa area. Until now we are still asked the police officer to continue the investigation among our staff and villa.

Regarding smoke that you saw from your villa, our neighboring villas had a scheduled fogging to minimize or kill mosquitoes during rainy season.

Thank you for your concern to our villa especially wooden floor. Our chief engineer with management have checked and taken further action to any facilities which may no longer appropriate or may need to refurbish or replace to make sure our guests a comfortable stay.

Once again Thank you for sharing your experience, and we hope you will stay with us again in the future so we can show you the changed of our services and facilities.

Best regards,
Akasha Bali management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

When we first arrived to the villa, we thought it was big and beautiful. A big villa with a private pool, the room looked nice and tidy. But we did notice the air-conditioning was not strong enough in the bedroom.

In the next day or so we started to notice other things; there were ants/termites every where! It was rather disgusting. The bath towels were old and ragged. Despite having a private pool, no pool towels were provided without calling reception. We ran out of toilet paper and it took over an hour after our call to reception for more to arrive. The wi-fi keeps dropping out. The doors don't shut properly. The floor boards were loose and warped in the bedroom, making it very noisy to walk around when there is a sleeping baby in the room. Breakfast was prepared in the kitchen area of the villa, but it is almost always cold (I believe they just microwave everything). And worse of all, our mobile phone was stolen from our bedroom.

The lesson here; never have them clean your villa without you being present.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KeanCH_11, General Manager at The Akasha Villas, responded to this review, December 19, 2013
Dear thaifly0306,
Thank you for taking time to share your experience during stay with us.
First much regret that you lost your iphone. After we received your reported, We have taken very serious action to this case. We have reported to the police. Immediately They have gone through some investigation in our villa and interviewed all staff. Check security and villa SOP, have been done.
The police officer was also asked the possibility that you brought your iphone during went out for dinner or to the shops or sightseeing outside our villa area.

With regard to your comment to our breakfast, please be informed that breakfast is prepared and cooked at your villa kitchen 30 minutes before your breakfast time start. When time for breakfast ready but our guest still felt on sleep, our butler will leave the breakfast at dining table. To keep our guests privacy, we do not want to disturb or wake up our guests especially there is a baby sleeping.
But of course if you inform our butler and allow them to wake you up when breakfasts are ready, they would be happy to call you in the room not let the food cold.

Thank you for your valuable review which we believe it will encourage our team to continuously improve our services and facilities to make our guests a comfortable stay.

We do hope to welcoming you again at our villa in the future.

Best regards,
Akasha Villas Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Akasha Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Akasha Villas

Address: Jl.Batu Belig no.999ab, Seminyak, Bali 80361, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Seminyak
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #133 of 306 Specialty Lodging in Seminyak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Akasha Villas 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Akasha Luxury Private Villas is a 5 minutes walk from Batu Belig Beach and restaurants. Villa is designed in a modern Balinese style, villas come with a private pool, complete kitchen, 24-hour butler services.The Akasha Luxury Private Villas is within a 5-minute drive from the entertainment district in Seminyak, fine dining and a 15-minute drive from Kuta and Denpasar. Ngurah Rai International Airport is a 20-minute car ride away.Villas come with a separate living room with a home theater system, while barbecue can be enjoyed at the sun terrace. In-room spa treatments can be arranged. Spacious bathrooms feature a bathtub and outdoor showers. Toys for children are available.The resort's tour desk assists in sightseeing arrangements and water sports activities by the beach. Yoga lessons are also available on request. Bicycles are available for rent for a leisurely cycle in the surroundings.Guests can enjoy the convenience of room service, which offers a local Indonesian or Western menu. Selection of Villas are available start from One Bedroom Villa, Two Bedroom Villa, Three Bedroom and Four Bedrooms Villa. All villas feature a private swimming pool with 10.5 X 4 meters size, outdoor shower, grand bathroom, open kitchen, dining and living area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Akasha Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Akasha Villas Hotel Seminyak
The Akasha Villas Bali/Seminyak

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Akasha Villas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.