We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Villa going down hill” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Akasha Villas

Save Saved
You added The Akasha Villas to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Akasha Villas
5.0 of 5 Villa   |   Jl.Batu Belig no.999ab, Seminyak, Bali 80361, Indonesia   |  
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
50% OFF + 5% min. 7Night
Ranked #147 of 292 Specialty lodging in Seminyak
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Villa going down hill”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

Initial perception of the hotel was great - the layout of the rooms and the pool is really good. The kitchen is outstanding. The shame is that this place seems to be going down hill and it doesn't look like anyone is too bothered. Normally i wouldn't whinge like this but it was such a let down based on the price we paid and we had our iphone stolen from our luggage in our room - perhaps this place was great 5 years ago?

Service - Some of the staff were great, mainly the staff who cooked breakfast and room service. really friendly and they really try (although sometimes the breakfast was cold) - the hospitality staff were rubbish (to say the least). We had to ask for towels and toilet paper (the towels were small and thin) and even after we asked, it took them hours to deliver it. Lastly, they were smoking out the villa next door with what seemed like burnt plastic but perhaps it was to kill the insects - there was this smoke EVERYWHERE and we were trying to swim with our 6 month old in the pool. What was it? DDT? something noxious... I cant think what else they were doing?

The Villa - Great layout - Pool is awesome - Kitchen is dreamlike - Great room sizes - Great beds - BUT..... going down hill fast. Termites are destroying the wooden floors (the are buckled in the rooms) - Outside showers either don't work at alll or the shower heads spray water against the top of the wall instead of down. Inside bathroom was really nice which made up for it.

Overall - they really can rescue this place but it needs some money spent on it and needs someone to do something with their hospitality staff . Lastly - fix your wireless!!!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KeanCH_11, General Manager at The Akasha Villas, responded to this review, December 19, 2013
Dear Nigel157

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the The Akasha Villas. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

First we would like to apologize that you lost your iphone. As you may aware our management have taken very serious action to this case. We have reported to the police and they have been doing some investigation and interviewed our all staff including check our security and SOP.
Police officer was also asked the possibility that you left your iphone during dinner or shopping or sight visit outside villa area. Until now we are still asked the police officer to continue the investigation among our staff and villa.

Regarding smoke that you saw from your villa, our neighboring villas had a scheduled fogging to minimize or kill mosquitoes during rainy season.

Thank you for your concern to our villa especially wooden floor. Our chief engineer with management have checked and taken further action to any facilities which may no longer appropriate or may need to refurbish or replace to make sure our guests a comfortable stay.

Once again Thank you for sharing your experience, and we hope you will stay with us again in the future so we can show you the changed of our services and facilities.

Best regards,
Akasha Bali management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    31
    14
    6
    3
    3
See reviews for
19
9
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

When we first arrived to the villa, we thought it was big and beautiful. A big villa with a private pool, the room looked nice and tidy. But we did notice the air-conditioning was not strong enough in the bedroom.

In the next day or so we started to notice other things; there were ants/termites every where! It was rather disgusting. The bath towels were old and ragged. Despite having a private pool, no pool towels were provided without calling reception. We ran out of toilet paper and it took over an hour after our call to reception for more to arrive. The wi-fi keeps dropping out. The doors don't shut properly. The floor boards were loose and warped in the bedroom, making it very noisy to walk around when there is a sleeping baby in the room. Breakfast was prepared in the kitchen area of the villa, but it is almost always cold (I believe they just microwave everything). And worse of all, our mobile phone was stolen from our bedroom.

The lesson here; never have them clean your villa without you being present.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KeanCH_11, General Manager at The Akasha Villas, responded to this review, December 19, 2013
Dear thaifly0306,
Thank you for taking time to share your experience during stay with us.
First much regret that you lost your iphone. After we received your reported, We have taken very serious action to this case. We have reported to the police. Immediately They have gone through some investigation in our villa and interviewed all staff. Check security and villa SOP, have been done.
The police officer was also asked the possibility that you brought your iphone during went out for dinner or to the shops or sightseeing outside our villa area.

With regard to your comment to our breakfast, please be informed that breakfast is prepared and cooked at your villa kitchen 30 minutes before your breakfast time start. When time for breakfast ready but our guest still felt on sleep, our butler will leave the breakfast at dining table. To keep our guests privacy, we do not want to disturb or wake up our guests especially there is a baby sleeping.
But of course if you inform our butler and allow them to wake you up when breakfasts are ready, they would be happy to call you in the room not let the food cold.

Thank you for your valuable review which we believe it will encourage our team to continuously improve our services and facilities to make our guests a comfortable stay.

We do hope to welcoming you again at our villa in the future.

Best regards,
Akasha Villas Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

We were lucky enough to rent a 4 bedroom villa and could not believe our good fortune, as the place was amazing!!! .. The staff were exceptionally helpful and accommodating. The villa was spacious and so beautifully designed and so comfortable, that we didn't want to leave.

Sandy, the manager, was wonderful in assisting us with our onward accommodation. We went to Sanur and returned again, as we missed the beautiful villa, the spaciousness, the friendly staff, the privacy, awesome breakfasts, afternoon teas and cleanliness.

Thank you Sandy and staff at Akasha.. We will be back!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

This is my 4th trip to Bali and over the years I've stayed in villas, hotels, 3 stars and 5 stars. Akasha was pretty disappointing.

First of all, I thought we got a pretty good deal on Agoda, we sent an email to reconfirm only to find out the 3 bedroom villa was actually a residence and had no pool and there was NO pool on the property. We had to cough up 250USD per night to upgrade to the 3 bedroom villa. I felt pretty conned because there was no mention of residence nor any photos of the residence on Agoda when we made the booking. So please beware.

The Akasha Residence

The Good
- lovely
- big
- clean
- free cookies

The Bad
- the AC in one of rooms was not working and they took hours to fix it... we were stuck because they left our main door wide open and we didn't feel safe just dropping everything and heading out. After 3 hours, we gave up and told them to please keep our things safe and they offered us a free breakfast for the trouble. We got back the beach and they still weren't done. Finally, after dinner everything was done but they didn't really clean up the mess they left behind. We moved the kids into master room with us because the smaller bedroom was soooo noisy with bikes and construction noise nearby.

The next day we move into the villa and my Mom who was traveling with us proclaimed it SWANKY. And it was. It's huge, lovely, beautiful BUT VERY VERY FLAWED. They just didn't maintain it. We were in Villa #8, perhaps we were unlucky but sigh...

The Bad
- the floors!!! In the master bed room this was a huge issue. The floors were warped, I love wood floors, I'm not sure how bad this quality was or if it was really thin wood on top of plastic but there were waves and dips and slopes! All the other rooms have warped floor but not as bad as the master.
- My kids took a bubble bath and it was filled up to only a foot of water (thankfully) and then they had their nap, I came back in and the toilet was flooded, urgh. I didn't dare take a bubble bath after
- TV only had good reception in the living room
- floor boards around the pool popped up
- Pool wasn't clean
- the rain showers were a joke, water spitting out from the sides
- the outdoor showers in the 2 other bedrooms you had to reach the shower area only after you walked on pebbles (a simple tile would have solved that issue)
- there are this huge rusted metal sheets over the wall that really made the whole pretty villa, not so pretty, they could have use bamboo for additional privacy not metal sheets!
- privacy was an issue. There are doorways and doors which lead to the kitchen and the pool and you have to remember to lock your bedroom doors when you go out and when you sleep. I've never stayed in a villa like this.
- mosquitoes - bring your own mosquito coils. Yes, they provide OFF and they spray your room during turn-down service but they do not provide or light the coils like most places in Bali.
- the noisy AC units outside, argh....

The Good
- The kitchen was awesome, as was the living area and dining room
- The staff really did try
- It is in a great location, I just wish the walking to the shops and to the beach had some sort of safe pathway (which I'm sure would be filled with bikes so what's the point).
- it is so beautiful and huge just not kept well at all


I know I'll never stay here again, I don't think it's worth the money we paid which is such a pity because it could have been awesome but turned out just disappointing.

It's close to the beach and lotsa of massage places, cafes.

Oh and on the massage front. They don't have a spa, they get the nearby small massage shops to send someone over. The massage was okay but they didn't clean up after so there were pandan leaves and ginger in the bathtub. It was our last night and we didn't use that room so it didn't bother us but a bit strange. It cost us 35 over USD per pax but if you don't mind walking 2 mins it's 120,000 onwards so no more than 15 USD.

The breakfast was pretty decent, they cook and put it on the table and call one of the rooms when they are done.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theakashabali, General Manager at The Akasha Villas, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Dear Value guest (ze_succubus)

Thank you for taking the time to write about your unfortunate experience in related with maintenance, services and our facilities. Our apologize that your stay was not as expected.
There were misunderstanding on your booking for Residence /apartment not our pool villa. Our residence or apartment description might not so clear on online travel partner and mix up with villas. As we were fully booked, regret we were only be able gave 1 night free upgrade to 3 Bedrooms Pool Villa and 1 night with additional fee with free breakfast.

For your information our management had decided Not to advertise and taken off our residence/apartment from online travel sites since early June.

2013 is the most busy year we ever had, all our villas always fill up and nearly fully booked everyday. We had many repeaters coming back and stayed with us again. Thank you for all guests who had chosen The Akasha Villas.

We at The Akasha, strive to offer deluxe services experience to every guests that staying with us. Therefore your feedback is very important to us.

We will continue and put on top of our homework that refurbishment and an upgrade to our facilities and services will be continue to make sure all guests a comfortable stay.

Our Villa is designed in modern Balinese architecture which you might seen a lots of facilities and furniture made from wood or natural stones. This is the uniqueness of The Akasha Villas that why many guests comment said they love come back and stay with us again.

In the meantime, our pleasure to inform you that we have done some maintenance but unfortunately yet in villa that you stayed in. We plan to upgrade facilities of this villa very soon.

We would like to thank you for your compliment to our kitchen and staffs. Our kitchen is set in modern and fully equipped.

We appreciate your sharing your concerns and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future and show you the upgraded of The Akasha Villas.

Thank you and best regards,
Akasha Bali Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

We booked a 2 night accommodation at Akasha for a family of 7, and had a 4-room villa with a private pool to ourselves.

It was an amazing experience - service, food, etc were commendable. We had in-villa breakfast prepared for us in the fully equipped kitchen, in a grand dining hall/ living room area.

Highly recommended for couples, families who wish for tranquility, great service and a short 4-5 mins walk to the Seminyak beach.

Room Tip: Villa 1 can be noisy as it is closer to the main road
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bandar Seri Begawan, Brunei Darussalam
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

We booked the 4 bedroom villa for 9 of us including 3 kids.. The kids absolutely loved the place.. They couldn't wait to jump into the pool the moment we checked in...
The living room is huge and comfy...the kithcen was fully equipped if you needed to cook your meals.. microwave, fridge, stove, cutlery etc.. In fact, the staff cooked our breakfast every morning in the kitchen in plain sight...A wonderful experience indeed...
The bedrooms came with outdoor showers and bath tubs...The pool was nice and the staff kept it relatively clean as leaves and flowers would drop into the water when there s a bit of wind blowing...
The only downside to our stay was the Jacuzzi was out of action from the previous occupant who had "done something to it" we were informed by the staff... bummer.....
The beach is 2 minutes walk away but as the surfs were quite strong, you can only swim at designated spots on the beach which were marked by red/green flags... There are spas and bars nearby too..
3 minutes walk away from the resort s a little nice massage place which charges 50,000 rupiah (about USD5.00) for a full hour of body massage...What else could we ask for....I think it was called "Edelweis"
A further 5 minute walk away was our favourite foodie place "Naughty Nuri's" which served excellent BBQ ribs....If anything, this restaurant is most definitely the reason for me to go back to this villa if anything... the ribs were just too mouth watering goodness.....
The villa staff were very attentive and helpful...5 star service.....they were happy to drop us in Seminyak area for food/shopping but you have to take a taxi back to the villa...
TIP: book vide 3rd party websites which are sometimes at 50% of the rack rate...

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

We stayed in the 3 bedroom villa, it was amazing n spacious n so comfortable n clean our pool was huge. Breakfast was delicious n so much to chose from staff were very helpful and friendly I would recommend this hotel to anyone going to Bali for the first time I travelled with hubby n three kids in June weather was so nice n hot perfect for a holiday we would definitely go there again there are lots of nice restaurants near by to dine in. Luv it n miss it so much
Thank you to all the staff n managers that made our stay so relaxing n perfect
Rossielle & Nicholas

Room Tip: If u want a spa in your room you will need to rent the four bedroom coz the three bedroom didn't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Akasha Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Akasha Villas

Address: Jl.Batu Belig no.999ab, Seminyak, Bali 80361, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Seminyak
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #147 of 292 Specialty lodging in Seminyak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Akasha Villas 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Akasha Luxury Private Villas is a 5 minutes walk from Batu Belig Beach and restaurants. Villa is designed in a modern Balinese style, villas come with a private pool, complete kitchen, 24-hour butler services.The Akasha Luxury Private Villas is within a 5-minute drive from the entertainment district in Seminyak, fine dining and a 15-minute drive from Kuta and Denpasar. Ngurah Rai International Airport is a 20-minute car ride away.Villas come with a separate living room with a home theater system, while barbecue can be enjoyed at the sun terrace. In-room spa treatments can be arranged. Spacious bathrooms feature a bathtub and outdoor showers. Toys for children are available.The resort's tour desk assists in sightseeing arrangements and water sports activities by the beach. Yoga lessons are also available on request. Bicycles are available for rent for a leisurely cycle in the surroundings.Guests can enjoy the convenience of room service, which offers a local Indonesian or Western menu. Selection of Villas are available start from One Bedroom Villa, Two Bedroom Villa, Three Bedroom and Four Bedrooms Villa. All villas feature a private swimming pool with 10.5 X 4 meters size, outdoor shower, grand bathroom, open kitchen, dining and living area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Venere, Travelocity, Tingo, Agoda, BookingOdigeoWL, HotelTravel.com, Expedia and Otel so you can book your The Akasha Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Akasha Villas Hotel Seminyak
The Akasha Villas Bali/Seminyak

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Akasha Villas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.