We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent accommodation 5 minutes walk from the beach.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chandra Luxury Villas Bali

Save Saved
You added Chandra Luxury Villas Bali to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Chandra Luxury Villas Bali
4.5 of 5 Villa   |   Jalan Sari Temuku (Gang Sandat), Seminyak, Bali 80361, Indonesia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 295 Specialty lodging in Seminyak
Somerset, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Excellent accommodation 5 minutes walk from the beach.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

Chandra Bali Luxury Villas.

Set in the back streets of Seminyak, these villas are well insulated from the bustle of the thoroughfare. There are 3 bedroomed and 2 bedroomed villas. We stayed in a 2 bedroomed villa, number 7.
I was pleased to find that the villa itself compared well to the pictures on the web site. Quite often, one finds that the real life appearances of accommodation are a bit disappointing, but not this time. The pool/outdoor dining area is more than adequate in size, for a party of 4, and the high walls around the villa give complete privacy without screening out too much light or sun.
Friendly staff cook your breakfast to order, in your villa each morning, then clear up and service the pool and bedrooms. The pool is not heated, of course, and is a good place to cool down during the 30C humid heat you'll be experiencing each day.
Each villa has a mains water filter but the owners still advise you to take drinking water from the cooler located in the outdoor dining area of your villa.
Reception staff are friendly and good humoured, even if you manage to lock yourself out of your bedroom as I did!
The wifi worked well for me. There are 2 access points, providing good coverage to villa 7, at least, and I had approx 1Mbit of both upload and download bandwidth most of the time.
There is a chef who can cook evening meals for you at your villa, from a limited menu, for a little more than the cost of dining out. This can make for a very romantic evening.
The accommodation is about 5 minutes walk from the beach. Bali is a volcanic island and the sand may be a bit darker than you're used to.
There are plenty of shops and restaurants within walking distance. However, I'd advise you to take a taxi if you don't like being accosted by street traders. It's also often easier to take a taxi than cross the road! The taxis are very inexpensive: USD 2.50 should get you anywhere in Seminyak, and an empty taxi will pass you every 30 seconds most hours of the day.
Trying to find a downside. Well, this is a big ask! If you don't like staff coming to feed you and service your pool and apartment each day, then this may not be for you. However, let me tell you that it's very easy to become accustomed to the lifestyle of the rich and famous, which is what you'll experience here, at a very good price, in my opinion!

Room Tip: If you have any problem whatsoever with your room, the staff will fix it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    73
    17
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
43
18
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at the Villas in early May and We were blown away by the beautiful accommodation and excellent service at Chandra.

The villas are beautifully appointed and we loved having our own pool and day beds.

The staff were wonderful. The ladies at reception catered to our every need by booking tours, making dinner reservations and allowing us to use the free shuttle for drop offs to the surrounding area.

The location was perfect. Just a short five minute stroll to excellent dining options and bars. Some nights we would return late but we felt very safe walking back to our Villas.

Well done to the 8hotels group on this great establishment. We will stay again next time we are in Bali.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2012

Just recently return from a 5D/4N stay at the Chandra.  The whole experience from booking (Larry Mullet) to the ground staff (Made, Wayan, Sari, etc) was an example of customer service, hospitality, and accommodation. We were unfortunate enough to arrived on a three day raining binge.  However this did not dampened what we thought of Chandra.
There was seven of us so we had a 3-bedroom villa with an extra nanny's domicile. We were in villa 9 which was the first villa after the reception.  The villa is exactly as it is pictured. The evening pool and garden lighting are very nice. The HUGE amount of candles left for evening ambiance made the the evenings surreal.  Fully equipped kitchen plus an extensive take out menu that never took more than 30 mins each time we ordered. Morning breakfast was really great,  nice selection of food choices but the chef is more then happy to make anything extra you might wish. Rooms are very nice. Minor wear and tear here and there but nothing severe. Staff and service are the core to what made staying at Chandra so special. I can tell you a few stories but will only give you an example. On our 1st day out, we got lost and it was pouring cats and dogs. After being drenched, we stopped for lunch and I called Chandra for directions. They sent a van to pick us up immediately. They were so quick that the poor driver had to sit and wait for us to finish our lunch before taking us back. This leads to the only slightly downside to Chandra. It's location. It took as a few days (in the rain) to figure out how to walk the narrow, and sometimes flooded, streets in and out of the villa.  The narrow (1 car) lane through other villas located in the vicinity can be trying. Anyone staying beyond 4 days would master it as we did. Might I suggest that Chandra management actually have staff walk and give their guest directions to the lay of the land instead of just pointing them out during our arrival from the van.  But in a whole, we had a superb stay at Chandra. Will definitely stay there again. Well done guys and thanks a bunch. Cheers. 

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, LA
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2012

I loved Bali! I have traveled extensively around the world and have been to many beach /tropical locales including Bora Bora, Moorea, South of France, Italian Coast, Florianopolis, Brazil, Venezuela, etc..
The vibe and culture of Bali cannot be topped and Chandra Villa was an excellent choice. Visited my best friend who lives in SIngapore and we took a trip to Seminyak. Chandra Villa was her choice after an extensive search and we were thrilled with the staff and accommodations. All of the villas are hidden by walls and once the "door" is opened you walk over stepping stones nestled on rocks surrounded by water to reveal the open air common space consisting of kitchen, dining , living areas with private pool, sun deck and fountain. Bedrooms are adjacent and have sliding doors and AC, ample closet and dressing space. The bathroom features marble sinks and a soaking tub under the roofline but open to the outdoor garden shower..absolutely stunning. There is no restaurant on the property but each villa is attended by staff who prepare breakfast to order in the morning. The property is in walking distance to the Oberoi Hotel which is a must for lunch or dinner and other fine dining establishments. Seminyak was a surprise in that there are truly fine restaurants and shopping in what I had expected to be a remote locale. This is a great place for a honeymoon or to relax with friends. I highly recommend this property and island.

Room Tip: Every room is a good one
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2012

We stayed for 2 months at Chandra, which means we probably know more about the strengths (many) and weaknesses (very few) of the place than most people.

We were blown away by the attention to detail and personal service. Our fantastic "housekeeper" (we'll miss you Wayan!), the always helpful and patient babysitter (Ayu), the general manager (thank you Mr Londra), the booking manager (Thanks Mr Mullett) who helped us book initially, everyone was so friendly and so dedicated to their jobs. What a lovely place to spend your vacation.

Feeling appreciated as a guest is not as common as it should be. At Chandra, they let you know that they appreciate your business, every day of your stay.

The only negative things I can think of are an internet line that is a bit slow by european standards and a line of shampoo, soap etc that could be improved upon. Fairly petty grievances I think.

We stayed in 1 2BR (villa 6), and it was lovely. Mr Londra generously allowed us to stay in villa 8, a 3 bedroom on our last night since they had t prepare villa 6 for new guests the day we were set to leave. A nice touch.

Going the extra mile and providing personal service is what Chandra seems to be all about. As far as the cost goes, they are priced competitively and the location is the best in Seminyak for sure. Quiet, and undisturbed, but very close to the beach (5 minute walk), Ku de Ta (5min walk), restaurants and bars (5 min walk). You just can't go wrong staying here.

HH

Room Tip: Villa 5 and 6 are nice 2 br, villa 8 is the best 3 br imo.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChandraManagement, Director of Sales at Chandra Luxury Villas Bali, responded to this review, May 10, 2012
Hello frankern,

Thank you for taking the time during your stay at Chandra Luxury Villas, part of 8Hotels, to write a review about your accommodation experience.

I really appreciate your kind words about our staff. It was a pleasure having you and your family stay at Chandra. I also appreciate your input and recommendations. Compared to most Chandra guests, 2 months is a long stay and therefore you have a great understanding on ways Chandra exceeds expectations and needs improvement.

Chandra's service, location and competitive rates are why we are a popular destination and or popularity continues to grow. Chandra is still new compared to our competitors but I feel confident stating, after a years’ worth of research, that Chandra is the best accommodation for its price and location in all of Seminyak.

I agree with your shampoo/soap suggestion and the management staff are currently researching an alternative. The wifi is ok but could be better. Gone are the days when holidays meant shutting out the world and putting your phone to voicemail. We understand that our guests need to work during their stay so faster wifi is at the top of our list!

I hope you get the opportunity to stay at Chandra again in the near future. I am always more than happy to help answer any questions and take care of your reservation.

Please feel free to contact me if you have further comments/suggestions - I would be happy to receive them.

Warm Regards,

Larry Mullett
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2012

Having never been to Bali we were originally apprehensive as to the standard of accommodation over there.

arriving at Chandra (6 people in 3 bedroom villa) we were overwhelmed by the beautiful villa we stayed in. Wifi did drop out a few times however villa staff would fix the issue within minutes. Rooms very well kept, comfortable beds. beautiful pool. High quality sound system (we played music through the villa during the day from our ipods)

Looking at the 8 hotels website the villas looked rather impressive, upon arriving to view the villa's they definitely exceeded our expectations!

also very good location, within walking distance to main street.

Room Tip: ask for the biggest 3 bedroom villa, its the better of the two 3 bedroom properties..
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2012

We stayed in villa 1 and there was no noise (as reported in other trip advisor entries). We really enjoyed the group villa. We were 4 families, so we had 2 x3 bed villas and this worked out suprisingly well. The 4th bedroom that is mentioned is actually really spacious. The lack of connection between the rooms was a bit anxiety provoking for us with a young family (2 little kids in their own room that was not connected to our room was not ideal) especially because if they wake up and decide to go for a swim you would have no idea.

The evening barbeques were good. The breakfast is only OK.

The staff were always v helpful.

We LOVED seminyak. Near to Potato Head, Sarong, Ku de ta etc All were superbe.

Room Tip: Villa one was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Chandra Luxury Villas Bali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chandra Luxury Villas Bali

Address: Jalan Sari Temuku (Gang Sandat), Seminyak, Bali 80361, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Seminyak
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 295 Specialty lodging in Seminyak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Chandra Luxury Villas Bali 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury Villas in Seminyak. Situated in the Oberoi area of Seminyak, north of Legian, our two and three-bedroom villas represent the very best in luxury holiday accommodation. You’ll enjoy the independence of your own exquisitely decorated home and the easy-living convenience of maid service, with chef on demand. Relax by your private pool or stroll to any of the local beaches – Seminyak, Petitenget, Gado-Gado or Kudeta.If you’ve been yearning for a Bali villa holiday, Chandra will bring your dream to life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Chandra Luxury Villas Bali reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chandra Luxury Villas Bali - By 8 Hotel Seminyak
Chandra Luxury Villas Bali Seminyak

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chandra Luxury Villas Bali, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.