We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cosy place, friendly staff, convenient location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bonsai Villas

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Bonsai Villas to your Saves list
Bonsai Villas
Jl. Raya seminyak gang keraton 188 | seminyak, Seminyak, Bali 80361, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #48 of 111 Hotels in Seminyak
Hong Kong, China
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Cosy place, friendly staff, convenient location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

Just came back from a great 4 days stay at Bonsai villa. Staff is lovely and helpful, location is great if you are into shopping and nightlife, and value for money is excellent. Villas are spacious and have a cool decoration, although some facilities could use a little refresh (paint on walls, doors hard to open/close... but minor details). Plus we were a couple of guys and the venue is obviously gay friendly, did not get frowned upon at all. Would definitely recommend and possibly go back.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    110
    46
    6
    6
    2
See reviews for
14
92
13
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

I stayed in March after reading reviews. This is a great little boutique property with the villas set around a pool. (Nice and warm which is what I like!) Very private villas (only 5??) and the staff were very good and welcoming. The villas are large, open living and dining, outdoor bathroom with a/c bedroom. The towels made into animals are very cute. It is situated behind the bintang supermarket so it is a good position to get to either seminyak or legian. The villa we stayed in probably needs a bit of spruce up with a touch of paint, but nothing that deters from the stay. The only annoying part is the continual announcements from the bintang supermarket, but you cant hear them in the bedroom, and nothing that the villa proprietor can do about them. (This is really minor and would only bother the really sensitive).
Would definately stay again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bonsaiseminyakbali, Owner at Bonsai Villas, responded to this review, May 4, 2014
Thank you for your very informative review.many enquirers we appreciate your remarks , the outside wall you refer to has been repainted which in our climate must be done several times a year.We look forward to your return sometime.
Kind regards
rudI
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

Adorable little place hidden away but convenient for everything - lovely friendly staff - great pool - the kitchenette was perfect as we have kids and could keep fresh food there too - we loved our few days there

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bonsaiseminyakbali, Owner at Bonsai Villas, responded to this review, May 4, 2014
Thank you very much for your lovely review ,many enquirers will no doubt follow you to Bonsai.
Kind regards
Rudi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Maitland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

Just returned from a wonderful 5 night stay at Bonsai Villas, Seminyak. Fantastic Japanese designed Private Villas in great Semiyak location. Facilities are great and all staff incredibly friendly and helpful. We thoroughly enjoyed our time at Bonsai Villas and could highly recommend to those seeking privacy and location. All staff are very welcoming and will assist you with a great smile and genuine caring attitude. Thank you Rudi, Benny, Muss and all the team for making our stay so memorable.
We sincerely hope to meet with you all again soon.
Judy & Gary
Villa 2

Room Tip: If you are sensitive to Mosquitos then choose Villa 3 or 4, Villas 1 & 2 have open air bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

We read great reviews on tripadvisors hence we decided to book a villa from Rudy directly thru email. We stayed for 3 nights and upon arrival we were shock as how spacious it was, check in was a breeze settle it in our villa within 5 minutes. We were served warm towels and a glasses of orange juice.

The bedroom was spacious even we an extra bed in it, air con with ceiling fans work really well no complains we all had a very good night sleep. Every morning, the room will be cleaned by the very efficient stuff and whenever we returned to our rooms, we will be greeted by cute animal towels sitting on our bed.

The only complains we had is that the bathroom gets pretty dark during the night as it is 'sort of' outdoors, but we made do with it with the portable hand light provided. If you are staying in a group of 3 be warned that the water heater usually last till the second person. But we made do, but making the third person wait a little longer before she showers.

The staff and management are really helpful, they would guide us to the best place to eat/shop/sight see, they are not out to make commission out of you. The staff were so kind to drop us at the nearby massage shop in their bikes for free, whenever we want to go somewhere they will hire us a cab so that we don't have to go out. Futhermore, when we have our morning swim in the pool they will prepare us a hot cup of cappuccino on the house.
I recommend that you book a driver provided by them for a day, I regret not remembering his name, but thanks to him we had a great time exploring Bali the Balinese way.

Be warned that they don't serve breakfast which is a shame, but bintang supermarket is located nearby so stock up in your cereals and eggs! As it is located in the heart of seminyak we are surrounded by restaurant and lots of boutique so there isn't a dull day.

We highly recommend Bonsai, and we will surely return when we come back to Bali to recharge our batteries.

Room Tip: If Wi-fi is essential stay in villa nearer to the office as signals are stronger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

We both fell in love with these lovely villas in the heart of Seminyak. The staff and management were so friendly, happy and helpful and did everything they possibly could to ensure our stay was the best it could be. We loved our villa as it was large and well set out, beautifully furnished and decorated and although it is just behind the main road it is very private and quiet. We swam each day in the pool directly in front of our villa and hired a driver for two half days (organised by Rudi the manager) who took us to Ubud for the day and also for a very memorable trip to some of the best surfing beaches I have ever seen. The Bintang supermarket is a few doors away which was so convenient as we bought fresh tropical fruit for breakfast each day and enjoyed many nice, cold, local ' Bintang' beers which were so cheap and so nice to enjoy after a busy day out. We highly recommend Bonsai and will return.

Room Tip: Ask for a mosquito net as although the rooms are sprayed and coils provided it is nice to have a mo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bonsaiseminyakbali, Owner at Bonsai Villas, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
Thank you for a great review. We always appreciate positive comments and the lovely people making them.It will be our pleasure to welcome you back again.
Kind regards
Rudi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, BC
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

Bonsai offers lovely 1 bedroom villas surrounding a quiet courtyard garden .it has a small kitchen and a really lovely sitting area. Both the sitting area and bathroom are outdoor, so you will appreciate the mosquito coils and the staff will spray each evening. If you dont want the spray you have to tell them, though.

In noisy, crowded south Bali this place really is a hidden gem. It is hard to find, though, but thats no different than mosr small places in Bali. Make sure you haemorrhage the phone number fervour taxi driver!

There are a few drawbacks, the hot water was a bit unreliable, but the staff were so dedicated and worked until theygotitfixed. The staff were actually also a highlight, they were so friendly and cheerfully helpful.
Otherwise this was a great place, we would have stayed longer and I would definitely return!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bonsai Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bonsai Villas

Address: Jl. Raya seminyak gang keraton 188 | seminyak, Seminyak, Bali 80361, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Seminyak
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#37 Romantic Hotel in Seminyak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bonsai Villas offers spacious uniquely designed Asian and Japanese style fusion accommodation.Built with natural teak timber and tasteful antique furniture gives a serene relaxing atmosphere.In this quiet haven you will feel a sense of special friendliness free from everyday pressures.Situated in the centre of Seminyak,within walking distance to shops,restaurants, night life and all the excitement of this area.You will arrive as guests and leave as friends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Bonsai Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bonsai Villas Hotel Seminyak
Bonsai Villas Bali/Seminyak

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bonsai Villas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.