We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“'FANTASTIC"” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bonsai Villas

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save Saved
You added Bonsai Villas to your Saves list
Bonsai Villas
Jl. Raya seminyak gang keraton 188 | seminyak, Seminyak, Bali 80361, Indonesia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #33 of 102 Hotels in Seminyak
Otaki, New Zealand
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“'FANTASTIC"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

My husband & I stayed at Bonsai Villas in March 2013 - this was our second stay - we enjoyed the villas so much on our last visit in 2011 that we automatically rebooked here. This villas - although only within a couple minutes from the shops - including the supermarket - are so quiet and relaxing. The kitchen/lounge area is open & very spacious and comfortable - I had a daily massage in our villa which was so convenient - which was immediately organised by Rudi upon request. Rudi was very helpful in organising many of our trips - and his knowledge of the local restaurants etc. was wonderful. This saved us alot of time & all the recommendations he made were great - which obviously will make us stay at the villas again. The fact that there are only 4 villas there is such a bonus - as the majority of the time we were the only ones in the pool - hence there was never any noise factor. The staff were wonderful - they were so helpful at all times. Thank you Rudi & your great staff - when we come back to Bali next year - we will indeed be rebooking at Bonsai Villas.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    109
    39
    6
    4
    2
See reviews for
14
83
13
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

This well-priced villa is in an excellent location, perfectly quiet and relaxing and with wonderfully friendly, gentle staff who are always most obliging. Rudi, the owner, is a delightful man and most accommodating. Love the Japanese decore and the fact that delicious Bali coffee is supplied in your villa, so together with the purchase of some delicious bread and jam from the nearby Bali Deli, gives you the opportunity of have a simple breakfast in your villa if you want a change from all the wonderful breakfast places in Eat Street! The open area of your villa is very comfortable and we had very few mosquitoes due to the staff's diligence in burning the coils each night. Information regarding laundry, massages, nearby restaurants is all available and an excellent service is offered by Rudi in that your refrigerator is stocked with water available to purchase at nearby supermarket prices. You are also given two bottles of water each day. All in all, a delightful place. John & Lois

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

My partner and I stayed at Bonsai Villas for 9 nights in April 2013. The villas were clean with a beautiful decor, and the grounds and pool were wonderful. Even though you are in the heart of Seminyak it's completly peaceful with little to no city/traffic sounds. The staff were beyond helpful and assisted us in any task to an exceptional standard. Each morning the room was cleaned and the staff left beautiful towel sculptures on the bed! It really was a relaxing and care free experience! Its located right next to the Bintang supermarket and down the road from 'Eat Street' and many great beach clubs which we found very helpful. I highly recommend staying at the Bonsai Villas.
Thank you, Rudi and the boys. We will be back to stay with you again!! :o)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

We stayed in number 4 villa at the start of April. The villas are located behind Bintang supermarket on Legian street. There are 4 villas around a central pool which was far to hot for a refreshing swim. No shaded area to relax around pool anyway. The pool needs to be two thirds covered by shade sail to be around a good refreshing temperature I would think. The villas lounge and kitchen area are open at the sides and not air conditioned so in the humid weather not very comfortable. The owner has let design rule over function. I would think bifolding doors and aircon is a must for this area in all villas. The air con in the bedroom, which is the only room you can relax in the humid season, was not up to the task during the heat of the afternoon when you like to relax from the hot streets and shopping. The one redeeming feature was the all male staff which were fantastic and the clean rooms. I think if the owner fixes the problems mentioned he would vastly improve his villas. Unfortunately the Japanese theme has overtaken functionality in this case.
.

Room Tip: Number two villa is the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

This villa was excellent value. We have stayed in some really expensive places in Bali and whilst they were just divine, paying $600 AUD is just not feesible when we go so often. I was looking for somewhere that was close to all the action at a reasonable price and thought I would give this place a go. What a pleasant surprise. For $100.00 per night it was just perfect. beautiful, clean villa with an airconditioned bedroom and an open lounge/kitchen. Staff was great and you really can't get a better spot location wise. Good for eating, shopping anything you need. Even though it is in the heart of Seminyak when you are at your villa it is quiet and serene. There are only 4 villas ( I think ) and no late partying or others keeping you up. We will definitly book here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013 via mobile

This place was excellent value for money. The rooms are decorated excellently, the pool was fantastic and the service was exceptional! This is the best place we have stayed at in all our trips in Bali

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

My wife and I stayed at Bonsai Villas for 4 nights the end of January 2013, it was fantastic, the villas were clean, it was very quiet and close to the Bintang shopping centre. The staff were fantastic, very friendly and helpful, we loved the cappuccinos every morning. We recommended it to my sister in law who is there now. We will definitely stay again.

Room Tip: There are 4 villas, if you need the free wifi choose either villas 1 or 4.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bonsai Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bonsai Villas

Address: Jl. Raya seminyak gang keraton 188 | seminyak, Seminyak, Bali 80361, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Seminyak
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#25 Romantic Hotel in Seminyak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bonsai Villas offers spacious uniquely designed Asian and Japanese style fusion accommodation.Built with natural teak timber and tasteful antique furniture gives a serene relaxing atmosphere.In this quiet haven you will feel a sense of special friendliness free from everyday pressures.Situated in the centre of Seminyak,within walking distance to shops,restaurants, night life and all the excitement of this area.You will arrive as guests and leave as friends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Bonsai Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bonsai Villas Hotel Seminyak
Bonsai Villas Bali/Seminyak

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bonsai Villas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.