We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Amala

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added The Amala to your Saves list
The Amala
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Jalan Kunti 108 | Seminyak, Seminyak, Bali 80361, Indonesia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
LIMITED 33% DISC!!
Ranked #17 of 107 Hotels in Seminyak
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2014

Couldn't fault this place! From the moment I booked, communication with the Amala was outstanding. We were there for our honeymoon & stayed 5 nights in one of the pool villas (no. 8) which was clean, spacious and beautifully appointed. Daily breakfast at the restaurant was included as well as complimentary drinks, cookies & fruit in our room. The staff were very warm, friendly & accommodating. Highly recommend booking a cooking class - the dishes were so delicious & we got to keep the recipies as well as our apron! The staff had a lovely surprise waiting for us when we returned one day from shopping - they filled our bathtub & decorated the bathroom full of rose petals and candles, it was so romantic!!! Would highly recommend The Amala to anyone staying in Seminyak.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madlen E, Manager at The Amala, responded to this review, September 7, 2014
Dear Amanda M,
First of all thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor. I am very happy to see that you have enjoyed your stay and especially our cooking class with Chef Putu, I hope you will have the opportunity to cook all the yummy food with its ingredients back home as well.
We truly hope to welcome you back soon again, once again thank you for staying with us
Sunny greetings from the Island
Madlen & The Amala Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

334 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    234
    70
    21
    5
    4
See reviews for
15
214
25
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

We returned to the Amala after a 2 year break. You can tell its a not brand new anymore but it's still a great place to stay. We stayed in one of the pool villas which are very comfortable.
The staff are attentive, helpful and friendly.
It was my wifes birthday on our second day and just before lunch the whole crew came in carying a birthday and singing happy birthday. I had no part in organising it, but happily took the credit.
We stayed for a week and ate out most nights at the wonderful nearby restaurants. Most nights we were driven by one of the Amala staff in their courtesy car.
The breakfast menu which is included in the daily tarrif is terrific.
We had a late flight out of Bali.The Amala let us stay in one of the Spa rooms until 9.00pm at no extra cost.
I look forward to our next stay at the Amala

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madlen E, Manager at The Amala, responded to this review, September 7, 2014
Dear Cattapane,
First of all thank you for returning to Amala and staying with us again. We appreciate that you took the time to evaluate us and to share what you have liked during your stay with the Trip Advisor community. I am very happy that we could arrange for you the late check out, and that the birthday surprise worked out perfectly.
We truly hope that we will be able to welcome you back again to the Amala, do not hesitate to contact me directly for any further information or booking via madlen.ernest@theamala.com
Sunny greetings from the Amala
Madlen & The Amala Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

We stayed in one of the pool villas at the Amala for 3 nights and loved our time there - our villa as well as the rest of the hotel were excellent. We arrived, after a delayed flight, and we were met by the driver at the airport and then by the reception staff with a welcome smile and a very 'can do' attitude. This positive attitude set the tone for our stay and never wavered from the staff over our trip. The best thing about the hotel is their staff - they are very, very good. An example is that we saw an item in the Amala that we wanted for our home. I asked the reception desk as to where we could buy it. Within minutes the front desk offered to source it for us - they then ordered it, collected it and delivered it to our room within the day, very impressive.
All of the staff at the Amala were very good; the spa ladies, the restaurant staff as well as the front desk concierge.
A particular highlight was an evening BBQ for 2. I don't think that we had any thought as to where this BBQ would be held but the chef and staff came to our villa and cooked next to our pool. The food was excellent, there was a lot of it and the price was very reasonable.
The hotel is a 20 minute walk from the busy part of Seminyak and a 15 walk to the beach but they will lay on a driver to take you there.
One final thing - obviously its a lush country, it rains and you have a pool in the villa - therefore it stands to reason that there can be mosquitoes around the villa. Housekeeping tackle this by lighting coils throughout the place in the evenings and this was pretty effective. We also followed their advice and kept our bedroom door closed just in case and we were fine.
Loved the place and if we go back to Seminyak we will stay there again.

Room Tip: Pool villas are excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madlen E, Manager at The Amala, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
Dear Keir M,
“Simply Outstanding”, what a beautiful way to describe your stay with us. I am very happy to read that our team has left a positive impression with you and that you enjoyed your time here with us. The private BBQ and Candle light dinners are one of our highlights and I am glad to hear that you have enjoyed your dinner delights.
We truly hope to welcome you back soon again to Bali and to The Amala
Happy and safe travels wherever you go.
Sunny greetings from Bali
Madlen & The Amala Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

A great hotel for Seminyak. Our spa villa was fantastic with the room centred around an outdoor courtyard. Staff very friendly and helpful. We enjoyed the walk to the beach through the town which was about 20 minutes but the hotel would drop you in town whenever required. Complimentary breakfast in the room was a daily highlight.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madlen E, Manager at The Amala, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Dear Jeremy H,
Thank you very much for staying with us and taking the time to post a review on Trip Advisor. I am very happy to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us and that you had a fantastic time in Seminyak. I hope you will be able to travel soon again and explore more beautiful hot spots in Bali. Once again thank you for staying with us.
Sunny greetings from Bali
Madlen & The Amala Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

The Amala is a humble but beautiful property located in a quiet area of Seminyak. We stayed at the Amala for 4 nights and wanted to extend but did not. We had our reasons, including the fact that we booked online and the room we booked was unavailable for 1 of the 4 nights, leaving us having to shift rooms twice in the 4 days. I will add that the staff were extremely helpful in assisting us with this shift, but that aside, it reduced our stay to a painful inconvenience more so than a serene getaway.

Our experience of the spa was beautiful and relaxing and having the spa studio with the spa benefit was great. However, I cannot help but feel that it did not make up for the lacklustre room. I believe the spa studio--for what it costs--is not on par with others. It is however comfortable and clean.

We asked if we could be upgraded to the villa for a similar price given that there was no one staying there and we agreed to stay there for the remaining 4 days of our trip without the spa benefit. Despite agreeing to this with the manager and trying to avoid moving around, we were then told that this wasn't happening and we were to return to the spa studio.

We checked out.

Now, it's not all doom and gloom, there were some positives and it would be amiss to not mention them. Firstly, the staff were super kind. Further, the food was healthy and delicious (most of the time--one extremely overlooked duck in red curry was my only qualm). The setting is gorgeous and the location within Seminyak is much quieter than the majority of the area. We lost some Jewellery which was of great value and were tremendously worried about leaving without it. The staff, including the manager, were very helpful in helping us find it. The driver around Seminyak which comes as a free addition to your stay at the Amala is also a fantastic benefit.

Notwithstanding the negatives that framed our experience of the Amala Villa's, we could not avoid the benevolence of the staff and the trusting smiles on their faces. Would I stay here again?

Funnily enough, I would -- just not in the spa studio.


Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madlen E, Manager at The Amala, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
Dear Nickmcgill,
First of all thank you very much for taking the time to post such a detailed review on Trip Advisor. I appreciate that you have pointed out in detailed things which could be improved or you did not like but you also mentioned and pointed out things you have very much enjoyed with us. July is indeed the high season here in Bali and Seminyak is booming with tourists. I can very much sympathize with the fact moving rooms during the short time stay can be very inconvenient, even though we tried to make it as comfortable for you as possible and moved all your things for you, you still had to move the room. During your booking request we have pointed it out that we only had the requested room category available for a certain amount of nights and that you would have to move, therefore I believe its fair to say that we have given you the choice in advance to decide if you would like to go ahead with this booking or rather search for another option. Of course we were very happy that even though you had to move your room, you decided to stay with us, and reading your evaluation above about, you have enjoyed our services very much, which makes me and the team very happy.
I truly hope that we would be able to welcome you back at the Amala, and I hope you will let me know your future travel plans to bale, and hopefully next time your preferred room category will be available throughout your stay. Do not hesitate to contact me directly any time via madlen.ernest@theamala.com and I would be very happy to apply repeater booking benefits for your next stay.
Safe and happy travels wherever you go, have a wonderful weekend
Madlen & The Amala Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nottingham
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

I would reccommend this hotel for a stay in Bali but i only stayed one night so review based on that night, i booked the studio spa room ok for one night very dark room but was explained about the electricity low voltage. the toilet outside ummm not sure about that in the middle of the night being bitten on the as... by mozi but was fine again for one night. i did have an evening meal but was totally alone and I think at one stage had been forgotten! it was very zen and a little to quite for me traveling alone and 60 but nice for couples. The spa massage however i would give 5 stars best ever I have had. If staying here for any length of time book a villa room not the studios, food ok healthy drinks brill.

Room Tip: Not the spa studio
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madlen E, Manager at The Amala, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Dear berti26,
Thank you for taking the time to review your one night stay with us. Your feedback is important to us and the only way to improve our services, therefore thank you for pointing out what you have enjoyed and what could be improved. I am glad you enjoyed our Spa treatment, and we could transmit relaxation and zen to you.
We wish you great travels wherever you go and have a fantastic weekend.
Sunny greetings from Bali
Madlen & The Amala Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

The Amala Villas are such a beautiful place to stay. The staff were both kind and extremely helpful with everything that we needed. From the moment we arrived we felt like we were on holiday.

Complimentary breakfast is both healthy and delicious, offering a number of different options to choose from. We had it both in the privacy of our villa and in the beautiful bamboo restaurant.

The rooms are spacious and the bathroom is absolutely gorgeous, we loved having a bath after a long day of activities.

Highly recommend the Amala villas to anyone thinking of booking a trip.

Room Tip: Definitely choose a pool villa, the spa studios are good but I would only recommend for a short stay...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madlen E, Manager at The Amala, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Dear Ruby W,
Thank you very much for taking the time to review your Amala experience here at Trip Advisor. I am glad to see that you have enjoyed your stay with us. Indeed our Spa Studios are our smallest room category and the perfect venue for short term stays or massage lovers – since we offer the room including spa treatment benefits. I am glad you have enjoyed our Pool Villa and services and that we could make your stay special.
The team and myself hope to welcome you back soon again, don’t hesitate to contact us anytime if you consider to come back, it would be our utmost pleasure to offer our repeater booking benefits for your next stay.

We are wishing you a great weekend, and once again thank you for staying with us.
Best regards from the Island of Bali
Madlen & The Amala Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Amala? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Amala

Address: Jalan Kunti 108 | Seminyak, Seminyak, Bali 80361, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Seminyak
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Spa Hotel in Seminyak
#17 Romantic Hotel in Seminyak
#17 Luxury Hotel in Seminyak
#19 Family Hotel in Seminyak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Amala 4.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the ancient Sanskrit language Amala means pure and unspoiled.The word has endured over the centuries and today graces the very latest luxurious wellness spa retreat on the magical island of Bali.The small and discreet Amala offers its guests an oasis of tranquility, a world away from the stresses and pains of daily life.The Amala is an exquisitely designed collection of 12 modern luxurious villas, including the magnificent Amala Residence.At the heart - and soul - of the resort's lush and peaceful grounds stands a modern holistic spa with one of the widest and most creative ranges of treatments in Bali.The Amala is indeed pure and unspoiled, making it the perfect place to unwind, for your body and mind to rejuvenate in blissful luxury ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, AsiaRooms, HotelTravel.com, Ctrip TA, Despegar.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your The Amala reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Amala Hotel Seminyak
The Amala Bali/Seminyak

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Amala, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.