We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful, Healthy & Relaxing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Amala

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Amala to your Saves list
The Amala
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Jalan Kunti 108 | Seminyak, Seminyak, Bali 80361, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 121 Hotels in Seminyak
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
“Beautiful, Healthy & Relaxing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

The Amala Villas are such a beautiful place to stay. The staff were both kind and extremely helpful with everything that we needed. From the moment we arrived we felt like we were on holiday.

Complimentary breakfast is both healthy and delicious, offering a number of different options to choose from. We had it both in the privacy of our villa and in the beautiful bamboo restaurant.

The rooms are spacious and the bathroom is absolutely gorgeous, we loved having a bath after a long day of activities.

Highly recommend the Amala villas to anyone thinking of booking a trip.

Room Tip: Definitely choose a pool villa, the spa studios are good but I would only recommend for a short stay...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madlen E, Manager at The Amala, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Dear Ruby W,
Thank you very much for taking the time to review your Amala experience here at Trip Advisor. I am glad to see that you have enjoyed your stay with us. Indeed our Spa Studios are our smallest room category and the perfect venue for short term stays or massage lovers – since we offer the room including spa treatment benefits. I am glad you have enjoyed our Pool Villa and services and that we could make your stay special.
The team and myself hope to welcome you back soon again, don’t hesitate to contact us anytime if you consider to come back, it would be our utmost pleasure to offer our repeater booking benefits for your next stay.

We are wishing you a great weekend, and once again thank you for staying with us.
Best regards from the Island of Bali
Madlen & The Amala Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

421 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    298
    90
    22
    7
    4
See reviews for
20
280
30
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth Hills, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

I stayed with 4 friends for 5 nights at The Amala Residence and it was truly AMAZING! The staff couldn't do enough for us. The rooms were beautiful and spacious. The food was Fantastic, and we loved the room service for breakfast. The best experience was the private cooking class we had at the residence by the head chef! The Amala really made our holiday something to remember.

Room Tip: The Amala Residence
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madlen E, Manager at The Amala, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Dear Cherie1610,
Thank you very much for your beautiful Trip Advisor review. We are very happy to see that you have enjoyed your stay with us and that we could leave a positive and long lasting impression with you. I truly hope that you are now spoiling your friends back at home with your Balinese home cooking skills, and that it tastes as good as the original :-).
Once again thank you for staying with us and we hope to welcome you back soon again to the island of gods.
Have a great weekend – sunny greetings from Bali
Madlen & The Amala Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
64 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

We spent the last 3 nights of our Bali honeymoon at the Amala Seminyak. Let me preface my review by saying that this could easily have been a 4* review, if only on our first two nights we were not allocated Villa no. 7. Apparently (as Madlen the manager explained when we addressed to her our complaint), this villa is the only pool villa which is spread over two levels, which I would not have booked had I known in advance, as we did not enjoy having to climb stairs to get from the pool area and living space to the master bedroom and outdoor bathroom. But that was not the dealbreaker per se. What disturbed us was the lack of privacy of the outdoor bathroom located on the first floor, if looked at from a certain angle from the common areas (i.e. from outside the villa). We went to Madlen with our complaint, who promptly aknowledged it and was willing to change us to another villa, which unfortunately was not available for the first two nights of our stay.
The second villa, in which we stayed for our final night, was truly beautiful and as expected, with the pool area visible from the bed, great marble floors all over, an amazing outdoor bathroom and overall great design.
Breakfast was made to order, of excellent quality if of a bit limited range (compared to other villas we stayed at in Bali).
Shuttle service was drop-off only, the property does not offer pick-up service so we had to make our own arrangements for our return to the villas. This was not much of an issue for us, as we are keen walkers and gladly walked back to the villas, but it might be a downside for other guests.
Service was excellent in every level, both the butlers and the manager were very eager to help with reservations, suggestions for activities etc and Madlen in particular was very helpful in handling a negative situation (our experience with the first villa).
Location is very good, walking distance from the centre of Seminyak but quite at the same time.
In short, I would recomment the Amala and would stay there again but make sure you know what type of villa you request at the time of booking.

Room Tip: If you do not like the villa being spread in two levels, make sure you say so at the time of booking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madlen E, Manager at The Amala, responded to this review, June 27, 2014
Dear FannyV_Athens
Thank you so much for taking the time to post such a detailed review on Trip Advisor, and to share with the community what you have enjoyed during your stay and what could be improved. Once again I am really sorry that you did not like the layout of our Villa 7, and that we were only able to change your accommodation on your last night with us because we were fully booked. I can re-assure you that your privacy has not in any way been compromised, and I understand how new and foreign it might have felt for you to experiencing for the first time a semi outdoor bathroom. In regards to our drop off service, on special occasion, upon request and availability we offer a pickups as well, however Balis offers a wide range of transportation and for example with Blue Bird Taxis you can catch any time a safe and very reasonable priced ride.
Once again thank you for staying with us, best regards from Bali
Madlen Ernest
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dammam, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

Let me start with the positives first Location is good and they provide shuttle service to the airport and to Seminyak area.Negatives:They have a room called studio in fact it is not, it is only a very small room with a toilet outside which is really uncomfortable .Also they have a SPA villa but the Jacuzzi is not working which make it useless Breakfast choices are limited and location is very small with no view and no comfort.I would not recommend it for honeymooners, couples
, families and business trip

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madlen E, Manager at The Amala, responded to this review, June 27, 2014
Dear amerlakhaldi,
We appreciate you took the time and effort to share your impressions about your recent stay with us. It is sad to hear that you could not enjoy anything at our property, especially since this was your honeymoon.
Even though we have discussed these matters during your stay, please let me explain it to you again:
The Spa Studio which you booked is indeed our smallest and most reasonable category. Room size, facilities as well as pictures are shown on our website as well as on other social media.
We offered you a special friendship rate for the in-house upgrade fee. Our Chef did everything to accommodate your special needs, but with both services you were not happy.
For the last night, you then decided to upgrade to Spa Villa, where according to you the water temperature of the Jacuzzi as well as the water pressure of the Jacuzzi water circulation were not up to your standards.
As a sign to show you our interest to make your stay a memorable on, we moved you to another Spa Villa, which was also not satisfactory.
The entire Amala team and myself make it our goal to have guest leaving the Amala with a positive and memorable experience.
We certainly always walk the extra mile to ensure our guest satisfaction. Unfortunately, none of this helped to make you happy, maybe Amala was just the wrong choice for you.
With best regards
Madlen Ernest
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

This is a very long overdue review however I wanted to share our amazing experience at The Amala.
From the moment we booked until the last day of our holiday The Amala went above an beyond!!
The transfers from the airport were on time, clean and the staff were friendly and helpful.
Our lovely poolside villa was immaculate and so very peaceful you felt as though you were the only villa in the complex.
Breakfast has a great variety and always on time.
The staff at Amala are EXCEPTIONAL!! they assisted us with all of our restaurant bookings, offered us free transfers into town and nothing was too big of a problem.
We had booked another villa for the second part of our trip and it was a disaster! So much so we went back to The Amala and asked if we could come back! They were so accommodating, fit us in a room, sent an english/indonesian speaking driver to pick us up (from the middle of nowhere!) and communicate with the non-english speaking staff of the other villa. We then stayed in both the Spa Villa and Amala residence and both again were fantastic! The Spa villas have more shade so for the sun lovers I would recommend the pool villas. If it weren't for Amala we would have had a terrible end to our holiday.

The location is great, on the quieter side of Seminyak and the beach is a walkable distance. Only a short (and inexpensive) taxi ride to the heart of Seminyak!

I could not recommend this place highly enough and it is a fabulous place to stay especially for those who have not been to Bali before as their reception service is phenomenal.
We will be back!!!

Room Tip: Pool villas are great if you can afford as they are lovely and sunny!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madlen E, Manager at The Amala, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Dear katedef,

First of all let me apologize for my late respond to your wonderful and very detailed Trip Advisor review. We were very happy to see you again and that you moved back with us for your last couple of days in Bali, and that we were able to make your stay comfortable and relaxing. You really did try all our villa categories during your stay and I am glad to hear that each of our different villas styles could comfort you.
I truly hope to welcome you back to The Amala soon again, don’t hesitate to contact us directly for your next booking we would be very pleased to offer repeating booking benefits with your next stay.
Once again thank you very much for taking the time to review us in such detail.
Sunny greetings from Bali & a happy weekend
Madlen & The Amala Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
48 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

I highly recommend the Amala to anyone travelling to this area. If you are looking for a peaceful place of beauty, healthy food and superb service, this is what you are looking for.

After a long journey from Brussels, we landed in Denpasar in the early Friday night. In the arrival hall we immediately spotted our driver from the Amala (for privacy reasons, the Amala does not put your name on the sign, but merely that of the hotel, which is very nice). When he installed us in the car, he offered us cold, moist towels to refresh ourselves along with iced jasmin tea and water. Then he drove us patiently through the busy Seminyak traffic to soft, Balinese music. We immediately relaxed.

Upon our arrival at the hotel, we were quickly received by Aditha (apologies for any misspelling) who kindly gave us a fulfilling introduction to the hotel and even provided us with some local currency to buy some special items not available at the hotel. Just a couple of minutes after our arrival, we felt so welcomed and well-treated, like we had arrived in our fantasy of what an oasis like the Amala in bustling Seminyak would be.

The Amala provides very high standard accommodation, some of the best service I have ever experienced and an atmosphere of a sweet dream. This hotel is well located - close to busy, exciting Seminyak, but 10 minutes walk away which ensures peace and quiet. some of the bonuses about the Amala is the great breakfast and healthy food options - plus their juices are fantastic! I also highly recommend the Amala's spa - the surroundings are modest, but very stylish and clean and the treatments very amongst the very best we had in Bali. Again, the Amala has that little extra something: after the massage our therapists gently told us to relax a little and take our time, which was the perfect finish.

Next time we are in Bali or in the area, we will make a detour to stay at the Amala.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madlen E, Manager at The Amala, responded to this review, June 20, 2014
Dear Ida N,
Once again thank you so much for staying with us and we are so happy so read that you have enjoyed your stay with us. As well thank you for taking the time to write such a detailed review on Trip Advisor and to share it with the Trip Advisor community. Thank you for pointing out what you have enjoyed the most and I am glad our service and team could impress you and meet your high expectations.
To read that you would take a detour to stay at the Amala at your future visit, means a lot to us – what an amazing compliment – thank you so much!
It would be our utmost pleasure to welcome you back to the Amala Do not hesitate to contact us directly anytime, we would be very happy to apply the repeater booking benefits for your next stay with us.
Have a great weekend and sunny greetings from Bali
Madlen & The Amala Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

My boyfriend and I chose to stay at this Villa based on the reviews we read. I'm so happy we did, as our stay was more than we could have imagined. From the moment we stepped off the plane, we had our friendly butler drive us to the hotel where we were greated with the friendliest of staff. We were lucky enough to stay in a one bedroom villa and we were simply WOW'd. I'm a sun bunny at heart and unfortunately the only thing I would say that I didn't enjoy was that the high walls limit the amount of sun light you get in your villa. Saying that, it forced me to go down to the local beach and enjoy the local delights of Bali. We'll definately be back and I can't wait to head back. Thank you Amala!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madlen E, Manager at The Amala, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Dear Lauren D,
Thank you very much for posting your review on Trip Advisor, I am sure a lot of people will find you review very helpful. I am glad to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us and that you had a great time in Bali.
We truly hope to welcome you back soon again to our little retreat in the heart of Seminyak.
Once again thank you for staying with us and have a great weekend ahead.
Sunny greetings
Madlen & The Amala Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seminyak hotels
1.3 mi away
The Seminyak Beach Resort & Spa
0.6 mi away
TS Suites Leisure Seminyak Bali
1.8 mi away
W Retreat & Spa Bali - Seminyak
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
The Kunja Villas & Spa
The Kunja Villas & Spa
#3 of 121 in Seminyak
5.0 of 5 stars 460 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Trans Resort Bali
The Trans Resort Bali
#5 of 121 in Seminyak
5.0 of 5 stars 351 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Legian Bali – a GHM hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Amala? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Amala

Address: Jalan Kunti 108 | Seminyak, Seminyak, Bali 80361, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Seminyak
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Seminyak
#13 Spa Hotel in Seminyak
#16 Luxury Hotel in Seminyak
#24 Family Hotel in Seminyak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Amala 4.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the ancient Sanskrit language Amala means pure and unspoiled.The word has endured over the centuries and today graces the very latest luxurious wellness spa retreat on the magical island of Bali.The small and discreet Amala offers its guests an oasis of tranquility, a world away from the stresses and pains of daily life.The Amala is an adult only exquisitely designed collection of 12 modern luxurious villas, including the magnificent Amala Residence and additional 3 units Deluxe Rooms.At the heart - and soul - of the resort's lush and peaceful grounds stands a modern holistic spa with one of the widest and most creative ranges of treatments in Bali.The Amala is indeed pure and unspoiled, making it the perfect place to unwind, for your body and mind to rejuvenate in blissful luxury ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your The Amala reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Amala Hotel Seminyak
The Amala Bali/Seminyak

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Amala, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.