We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A slice of a dream” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Amala

Save Saved
You added The Amala to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Amala
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Jalan Kunti 108 | Seminyak, Seminyak, Bali 80361, Indonesia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
SUPER PROMO 50% DISC
Ranked #19 of 91 hotels in Seminyak
Copenhagen, Denmark
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“A slice of a dream”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

I highly recommend the Amala to anyone travelling to this area. If you are looking for a peaceful place of beauty, healthy food and superb service, this is what you are looking for.

After a long journey from Brussels, we landed in Denpasar in the early Friday night. In the arrival hall we immediately spotted our driver from the Amala (for privacy reasons, the Amala does not put your name on the sign, but merely that of the hotel, which is very nice). When he installed us in the car, he offered us cold, moist towels to refresh ourselves along with iced jasmin tea and water. Then he drove us patiently through the busy Seminyak traffic to soft, Balinese music. We immediately relaxed.

Upon our arrival at the hotel, we were quickly received by Aditha (apologies for any misspelling) who kindly gave us a fulfilling introduction to the hotel and even provided us with some local currency to buy some special items not available at the hotel. Just a couple of minutes after our arrival, we felt so welcomed and well-treated, like we had arrived in our fantasy of what an oasis like the Amala in bustling Seminyak would be.

The Amala provides very high standard accommodation, some of the best service I have ever experienced and an atmosphere of a sweet dream. This hotel is well located - close to busy, exciting Seminyak, but 10 minutes walk away which ensures peace and quiet. some of the bonuses about the Amala is the great breakfast and healthy food options - plus their juices are fantastic! I also highly recommend the Amala's spa - the surroundings are modest, but very stylish and clean and the treatments very amongst the very best we had in Bali. Again, the Amala has that little extra something: after the massage our therapists gently told us to relax a little and take our time, which was the perfect finish.

Next time we are in Bali or in the area, we will make a detour to stay at the Amala.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madlen E, Manager at The Amala, responded to this review, June 20, 2014
Dear Ida N,
Once again thank you so much for staying with us and we are so happy so read that you have enjoyed your stay with us. As well thank you for taking the time to write such a detailed review on Trip Advisor and to share it with the Trip Advisor community. Thank you for pointing out what you have enjoyed the most and I am glad our service and team could impress you and meet your high expectations.
To read that you would take a detour to stay at the Amala at your future visit, means a lot to us – what an amazing compliment – thank you so much!
It would be our utmost pleasure to welcome you back to the Amala Do not hesitate to contact us directly anytime, we would be very happy to apply the repeater booking benefits for your next stay with us.
Have a great weekend and sunny greetings from Bali
Madlen & The Amala Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

297 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    203
    66
    19
    5
    4
See reviews for
13
188
24
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

My boyfriend and I chose to stay at this Villa based on the reviews we read. I'm so happy we did, as our stay was more than we could have imagined. From the moment we stepped off the plane, we had our friendly butler drive us to the hotel where we were greated with the friendliest of staff. We were lucky enough to stay in a one bedroom villa and we were simply WOW'd. I'm a sun bunny at heart and unfortunately the only thing I would say that I didn't enjoy was that the high walls limit the amount of sun light you get in your villa. Saying that, it forced me to go down to the local beach and enjoy the local delights of Bali. We'll definately be back and I can't wait to head back. Thank you Amala!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madlen E, Manager at The Amala, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Dear Lauren D,
Thank you very much for posting your review on Trip Advisor, I am sure a lot of people will find you review very helpful. I am glad to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us and that you had a great time in Bali.
We truly hope to welcome you back soon again to our little retreat in the heart of Seminyak.
Once again thank you for staying with us and have a great weekend ahead.
Sunny greetings
Madlen & The Amala Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

We recently stayed here for 4 nights from the 20/5/14 to 24/5/14. I have nothing but positive things to say about The Amala Seminyak! From the moment we booked online to the moment we left, everything was very organised and nothing fell short of my expectations. I initially hesitated about booking the studio room instead of the villa, as that was the only room left, but we were very surprised with how spacious and how clean/neat the room was. We were picked up at Denpasar Airport on arrival (we were delayed by 2 hours and were still greeted with a friendly smile from our driver Robi). We had breakfast every day at the restaurant which was also fantastic. The menu is made to order and there are plenty of options. Our butler also arranged all of our bookings for tours and restaurants which really helped. Overall, I would highly recommend a stay here if you are to visit Bali. I would also like to extend my gratitude towards Putra who was one of the staff. He was exceptional! He was kind, helpful and extremely respectful. Thank you!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madlen E, Manager at The Amala, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Dear April-My-Thoa-Nguyen,
Thank you so much for taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor, your feedback is very important to us and helps us to improve. I am so happy that you have enjoyed your stay and that our team could add the additional touch to make your stay memorable. Putra & Robi were very excited to see their names mentioned on Trip Advisor and both of them are sending their regards to you. We truly hope that we will have the pleasure to welcome you back to the Amala soon again. Wishing you a great weekend ahead. Once again thank you for staying with us.
Sunny greetings from the Island of Gods
Madlen & The Amala Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

Stayed in both studio and villa. Studio room is a little small and you get to shower in the open (of course in your private compound). Lighting can be a scarcity at the open air WC and shower. It relies on the lighting from the room and can be challenging especially for non-couple. The perk of this room is that you will receive an hour of spa from the hotel (total two hours for two persons). However, the aircon in the room is rather weak as it takes a long time to cool the room. Also, the water pressure in studio is really weak, taking a shower can be rather frustrating.

I would strongly recommend the Villa if budget is not an issue. Really enjoyed the environment and attentive 24hrs butler service.

Room Tip: Corner villas are larger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madlen E, Manager at The Amala, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Dear Yong Y,
Thank you very much for taking the time and posting your feedback on Trip Advisor, as well thank you for sharing with us what could be improved and what you have liked the best during your stay. Some of the things mentioned can be easily adjusted and fixed and we will follow up accordingly.
Our Spa Studios are indeed our smallest category but indeed the Spa treatments included are a great addition. I am happy to see that you have enjoyed the villa experience and that you had an excellent stay with us.
We truly hope to welcome you back to the Amala in the near future. With sunny greetings from Bali
Madlen & The Amala Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

We were a group of 5 girls, and stayed for our final night of our trip at the private Amala Residence villa on site - the staff were all really helpful, and the spa facilities were excellent - especially the two ladies who gave us our massages!

We had our own butler who showed us around, brought our lunch, dinner and breakfast too us, all of which were delicious, and the facilities in the Amala Residence were fantastic!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madlen E, Manager at The Amala, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
Dear travellergirl1989,
Thank you very much for staying with us and letting us be part of your girl’s getaway holiday. We are very happy that you have enjoyed your stay with. The Amala Spa is indeed a total bliss and I am glad you found some time in between shopping :) to experience the relaxing massages.
As well thank you for taking the time to rate us on Trip Advisor, I truly hope that we will have another opportunity to welcome you back the The Amala.
Sunny greetings from the Island and have a great weekend
Madlen & The Amala Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

Hi There,

Travelling for a living, constantly using trip advisor to see where to stay, I figured it is my turn to provide feedback following a trip.

My girlfriend and I stayed at the Amala May 9th-12th. After reading fabulous reviews about the property on this site, we were excited for our stay. We were eager to stay in Seminyak the first few nights after long flights over from Canada (closer to the airport).

Upon arrival, transportation with the hotel name was waiting at arrivals. This, even with our 10 hour delay from flights. 20 minutes later we arrived at The Amala and were welcomed like family. With the small number of Villas, they knew our names as soon as we stepped out of the vehicle. They knew about our travel delays, my girlfriends birthday, it was very impressive.

We had a plunge pool room which was perfect. Like having your own apartment in Bali. Hotel was very clean, very quiet, and great for couples. Breakfast had great variety (which we learned to appreciation staying at other properties following).

Location is walkable to restaurants and shops. About a 20 minute walk to the actual Seminyak Beach.

Thank you to the Amala for making our stay so warm and welcoming. Birthday cake, knowing us by name throughout the stay, the cleanliness, quietness, make me have no reason to not provide you a 5 star rating for delivering on everything it was you promised.

Adam and Justine

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madlen E, Manager at The Amala, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
Dear Adam & Justine,
Thank you so much for taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor, and giving us 5 stars. I am so happy that we could give you this great experience after your rather bad and long flight experience. Being a boutique place gives us the opportunity to really get to know our guests and make them part of our little Family and I am so happy that we could transmit that over to you.
Once again thank you for choosing Amala for your home away from home
Have a nice weekend and travel safe wherever you go
Madlen & The Amala Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014

I booked my stay for 4 days and on the 1st day i decided that i need to move out of this room and i did leave the room second day, very poor hygiene, insects inside the room, lizard inside the room, lights are not working, no sealed ceiling or windows or main door, not a clean spa, poor room service (comes late and say no to important stuff like water and lights).
The hotel itself is in a very good location, walking area to shopping & restaurants. I gave my feedback to the hotel manager before i leave and hope they can do some maintenance and this hotel will be a great one.

Room Tip: Spa Villa room, also i checked the Pool villa and not good as well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madlen E, Manager at The Amala, responded to this review, May 26, 2014
Dear Ramy_Safwatm,
First of all let me say that I am very sorry that our Resort has not met your expectations and that you did not enjoy your stay with us.. Unfortunately, being on a tropical island brings its own challenges when it comes to insects and unfortunately cannot be avoided. You may be able to avoid such encounters with lizards and other insects if you book your stay in a totally enclosed hotel room, but in a semi open villa style with outdoor bathroom, which we provided for your stay, it will be very difficult to avoid the little buggers.
Unfortunately we did not get the chance to meet, since your check in was Saturday evening and you have checked out on Sunday, which was my day off. I would have very much appreciated to hear your feedback personally.
Its sad and disappointing that you felt the need to make such a negative comment on Trip Advisor, after all the help we offered to you and your wife. We tried our best to accommodate and be flexible with your situation and your wife’s fear of lizards, unfortunately we did not have the possibility of upgrading your stay to a pool villa, since all our units were fully booked, but we took appropriate measurements for your stay and were flexible with your non - refundable nights.
Should you have any further concerns, do not hesitate to contact me directly via madlen.ernest@theamala.com
Regards
Madlen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Amala? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Amala

Address: Jalan Kunti 108 | Seminyak, Seminyak, Bali 80361, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Seminyak
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#17 Spa Hotel in Seminyak
#18 Romantic Hotel in Seminyak
#19 Luxury Hotel in Seminyak
#19 Top resorts Hotel in Seminyak
#20 Family Hotel in Seminyak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Amala 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the ancient Sanskrit language Amala means pure and unspoiled.The word has endured over the centuries and today graces the very latest luxurious wellness spa retreat on the magical island of Bali.The small and discreet Amala offers its guests an oasis of tranquility, a world away from the stresses and pains of daily life.The Amala is an exquisitely designed collection of 12 modern luxurious villas, including the magnificent Amala Residence.At the heart - and soul - of the resort's lush and peaceful grounds stands a modern holistic spa with one of the widest and most creative ranges of treatments in Bali.The Amala is indeed pure and unspoiled, making it the perfect place to unwind, for your body and mind to rejuvenate in blissful luxury ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Jetsetter, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, AsiaRooms, Tingo, HotelTravel.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your The Amala reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Amala Hotel Seminyak
The Amala Bali/Seminyak

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Amala, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.