We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little hotel in the heart of Seminyak” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Amala

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added The Amala to your Saves list
The Amala
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Jalan Kunti 108 | Seminyak, Seminyak, Bali 80361, Indonesia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
LIMITED 33% DISC!!
Ranked #17 of 107 Hotels in Seminyak
Hong Kong, China
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Great little hotel in the heart of Seminyak”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

Myself and 5 friends stayed at this resort for 3 nights past week as a association retreat. We stayed at the 3 bedroom Amala residence and also took two more rooms, one a Spa Studio and another the Spa Villa. Overall, the hotel is very well priced and excellent value. The rooms are generally spacious, with bathrooms outside for the spa bedroom and villa which I really enjoyed. The big residence also had a full kitchen, living/ dining room, and a lounge on the 2nd floor which was great to do some yoga or meditation. Though it cannot be compared to 5-star properties like St. Regis/ 4 Seasons or Banyan Tree, it offers a very personal service that definitely comparable to the big boys. Best of all, it was available for 1/2 or 1/3 of the price.

Some complaints - Food generally was not good. Breakfast is a-la-carte but selection small. It also took us at least 45 minutes to get all the dishes for a lunch for 7. Meantime, the toilet on the ground floor really reeked.... old pipes need some serious flushing out i suppose. The pool is quite clean and calming, yet the decking is weathered.... the sun lounge cushions were also abit worn and may need to be replaced.

Overall, I think it is an excellent choice for what they charge and would recommend to most travelers.

Room Tip: Definitely get a Spa VIlla, so much better than the Studio. The 3 Bedroom residence is great for fa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madlen E, Manager at The Amala, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
Dear Nelson204,
Thank you very much for taking the time to share you’re your feedback with the TA community and us. I really appreciate that you have taken the time to point out what you have enjoyed and what was special to you during your stay and things which could be improved. I am glad that you have enjoyed your association retreat here with us and I truly hope that we will have another opportunity to welcome you back to The Amala.
Once again thank you very much for staying with us for your company meeting and we truly hope to see you soon again on the wonderful island of Bali.
Have a great weekend and best regards
Madlen & The Amala Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

334 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    234
    70
    21
    5
    4
See reviews for
15
214
25
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2014

Stayed in both studio and villa for the 3 nights in Bali. Studio room is a little small and you get to shower in the open (of course in your private compound). The perk of this room is that you will receive an hour of spa from the hotel (total two hours for two persons). However, the aircon in the room is rather weak as it takes a long time to cool the room. Also, the water pressure in studio is really weak, taking a shower can be rather frustrating.

Similar issue I find with the pool villa - airconditioning. However, pool villa is much more spacious with a private plunge pool, bath tub, steam/shower room and a WC. If you can afford and would like to spend a lot time in the room, pool villa is definitely worth it. If you are going to be out for the whole day and only need the room for shower and rest then studio would be sufficient, not forgetting the free spa it comes with.

The service is great, everyone is really prompt and Butler service is 24 hours. Still recall that I called for a bathtub clean up late at night so that I can enjoy it. Breakfast taste great and more importantly, you can have it delivered into your room so that you can dine within your own room (not recommended for studio is space is limited).

Overall, great place with dedicated service. If you are after the beach, then this location would not be a great.

Room Tip: Pool villa 6 is a corner villa, should be bigger. :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madlen E, Manager at The Amala, responded to this review, May 23, 2014
Dear Michelle L,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a detailed review on trip Advisor, war appreciate it very much that you have taken the time to point out the services you really enjoyed with us, and things which could be improved.

All your recommendations for improvements are things we can easily upgrade. Once again thank you very much for staying with us and leaving your feedback.

Sunny greetings from the sunny island of Bali
Madlen & The Amala Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

We stayed there as 3 girl friends and it was great but it is targeted to more of a romantic getaway.
Transfer was very easy and great from the airport
Hotel room was great with the toilet and shower outside
Food was awesome
Massage was extra awesome
And the service and staff where extra extra awesome
I would highly recommend this hotel to people who are looking for a quiet and very relaxing holiday, especially couples

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madlen E, Manager at The Amala, responded to this review, May 17, 2014
Dear Travelas3,
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your review with the Trip Advisor community. We are indeed very much tailored for couples, honeymooners and romantic getaways, but I am happy that you and your friends had a great time here with us and that we could pamper you with our Spa treatments & food options.
We hope that we will get another opportunity to welcome you back to The Amala.
Sunny greetings from the Island and happy weekend
Madlen & The Amala Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haarlem, The Netherlands
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

We spent our last 2 days in Bali at The Amala and these were 2 wonderful days.
I did not expect to find anything so peaceful in the middle of the city. The rooms are perfect, services (including butler service) could not be better and good choice of vegetarian food. Besides all of this we also had daily massages included on our packages which made our stay even more enjoyable.
We had a late flight and we got a late check out without any extra charge. The Amala staffs really do everything they can to make your stay wonderful experience. We definitely recommend The Amala and we will for sure return again. Thanks a lot to all , we had a wonderful stay with you

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madlen E, Manager at The Amala, responded to this review, May 17, 2014
Dear sonia f,
Once again thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor. I am glad we were able to provide you with the free late checkout and that it made such a positive difference to you. Our Chef Gede is very happy to see that you enjoyed his menu, and our Butlers are very proud to be mentioned on your feedback too.
The entire Amala team and I, hope to welcome you back soon again – enjoy your weekend and sunny greetings from Bali
Madlen & The Amala Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014

We recently stayed at the Amala for 4 nights in May and were blown away by the quality of the villa's. This was our 3rd villa/ Hotel which we stayed in during our visit and was by far the best experience. The Villas are well appointed, spacious & private.
We found the quality and choice of food, particular breakfast was the best quality verses the other villas we stayed at on this stay. The greatest asset at the Amala though is the staff. what a great team led by Madlen the resort Manager. I can highly recommend the Amala and we will definitely be back.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madlen E, Manager at The Amala, responded to this review, May 17, 2014
Good Afternoon coxyx2,
Thank you very much for sharing your feedback on Trip Advisor and especially pointing out the Amala Team and myself… very flattered :)
Personally the magic of Bali and the environment here at the Amala is such bliss that it is just a pure joy to work here, and this definitely reflects on to the team.
I am very happy to read that you had a wonderful time with us and we are looking forward to welcome you back.
Enjoy a fantastic weekend and sunny greetings from Bali
Madlen & The Amala Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hannut, Belgium
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014 via mobile

The Amala was our first hotel in Bali and so far we haven't met its equal in service, comfort and quietness. This is a marvelous place to relax. The staff most helpful and attentive while being very discreet! The room was tidy and clean, very large and the private pool and outdoor bathroom is a blessing when you suffer from the heat. We were spending part our honeymoon there and we had special attention, that was really nice! The food was absolutely divine... It was so good we never wanted to eat out... The chef will come to greet you and cook anything to your liking. On top of that, it's pretty cheap for the quantity and quality you get.The Amala is the perfect hotel to start or/and end your trip in Bali!! Thanks a lot to all staff, we had a wonderful stay with you...

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madlen E, Manager at The Amala, responded to this review, May 16, 2014
Dear Cotewest,
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor, and to share with the community your honeymoon experience. I am very proud that we had the possibility to be part of your honeymoon and that we could reach your high expectations and make your stay comfortable and enjoyable.
I hope we will have the possibility to welcome you back to Bali for your first Anniversary celebrations :)
Once again thank you for staying with us it was a pleasure to get to know you
Best regards from the sunny island of Bali
Madlen & The Amala Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014

Recently spent 5 days at the Amala and absolutely loved it. The staff were warm and friendly and the villa was beautiful. Great to have a courtesy car to drop us off at our favourite bars and restaurants...a nice touch.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madlen E, Manager at The Amala, responded to this review, May 2, 2014
Dear Iain W,

Thank you for taking the time to give The Amala a review on Trip Advisor – very much appreciated. We are happy to see that you have enjoyed your stay with us and that you rated us 5*- what a great compliment.
Once again thank you for staying with us and hopefully we will be able to welcome you again to the Amala in the near future.
Enjoy a great weekend and sunny greetings from Bali
Madlen & The Amala Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Amala? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Amala

Address: Jalan Kunti 108 | Seminyak, Seminyak, Bali 80361, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Seminyak
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Spa Hotel in Seminyak
#17 Romantic Hotel in Seminyak
#17 Luxury Hotel in Seminyak
#19 Family Hotel in Seminyak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Amala 4.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the ancient Sanskrit language Amala means pure and unspoiled.The word has endured over the centuries and today graces the very latest luxurious wellness spa retreat on the magical island of Bali.The small and discreet Amala offers its guests an oasis of tranquility, a world away from the stresses and pains of daily life.The Amala is an exquisitely designed collection of 12 modern luxurious villas, including the magnificent Amala Residence.At the heart - and soul - of the resort's lush and peaceful grounds stands a modern holistic spa with one of the widest and most creative ranges of treatments in Bali.The Amala is indeed pure and unspoiled, making it the perfect place to unwind, for your body and mind to rejuvenate in blissful luxury ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, AsiaRooms, HotelTravel.com, Ctrip TA, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your The Amala reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Amala Hotel Seminyak
The Amala Bali/Seminyak

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Amala, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.