We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm Hospitality!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Amala

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Amala to your Saves list
The Amala
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Jalan Kunti 108 | Seminyak, Seminyak, Bali 80361, Indonesia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
5D4N PURE WELLNESS
Ranked #13 of 115 Hotels in Seminyak
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Warm Hospitality!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

Just stayed at the Villa Residence, had a wonderful service from the whole team (front desk, butlers, service staffs & chef). However one major flaw from being a perfect holiday, poor shower and WiFi. Throughout the stay, there was weak water pressure and WiFi signal, a must have for every holiday. :(

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madlen E, Manager at The Amala, responded to this review, March 30, 2014
Dear Jonchua,
First of all thank you for staying with us for your holiday, we really appreciate that you have taken the time to share your comments about the things you liked and things which could be improved here at The Amala. I am truly sorry that you have encountered water pressure issues during your stay with us, unfortunately the water pump which we tried to repair could not be fixed and a new pump was installed after your stay. In regards to the WIFI, after a lot of complaints last year we have chosen a new provider and upgrade our WIFI services, all in all we have received a lot of positive comments in regards to the wifi, however we will definitely follow up with our Internet provider to see if it’s a hardware problem or just a general Bali problem.
Once again thank you very much for taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor. Your feedback has been very much appreciated.
We truly hope to welcome you again to The Amala , have a great week
Madlen & The Amala Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

371 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    262
    78
    21
    6
    4
See reviews for
18
242
25
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Willow Vale, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

we just returned from staying at the Amala for 5 nights an i can highly recommend these villas.
We have stayed in other hotels in Seminyak but the Amala was just fantastic.The staff were brilliant so helpful and lovely knowing all the little things about us but not too much. Nothing was any trouble. We will be coming back here next february for my husbands birthday
the villas were so private it was just great thank you to all the wonderful staff for making our stay so enjoyable and relaxing.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madlen E, Manager at The Amala, responded to this review, March 28, 2014
Dear Anniegeoff,
Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor, we are so happy that you have enjoyed your time with us. It is an amazing compliment for us to have your trust to be recommended to your friends and the Trip Advisor community. We would be truly honored to welcome you back to the Amala to celebrate your husband’s birthday with us. Do not hesitate to contact me or the reservation team anytime if we can be of any help.
Once again thank you and have a great weekend.
Madlen & The Amala Team
madlen.ernest@theamala.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

Our travel agent suggested the Amala for our honeymoon and we are glad they did. We arrived at the airport and a rep from the Amala was there to greet us and take us back to the resort. On arrival at the Amala we met the manager who was very helpful and told us about some of the places we should visit in seminyak. The butler who showed us our room was very informative and told us everything we needed to know about our stay. The meals were excellent although we ate out most of the time except for breakfast which was included. The resort is nice and quiet and it was hard to believe we were so close to a busy road. The main pool wasn't working for the last few days we were there but we had our own plunge pool we could use instead. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful and were more than happy to book tours for us, nothing ever seemed lile it was too much trouble.

Room Tip: spa villa is perfect for couples
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madlen E, Manager at The Amala, responded to this review, March 30, 2014
Dear Heaves,
“Perfect for a honeymoon” is possible the best compliment we can achieve, thank you so much for sharing your thoughts with us and the Trip Advisor community. We are very proud that we could be part of your honeymoon and make your stay with us memorable.
The entire team and myself hope that we will have another opportunity to meet you again here at The Amala, maybe for your first Anniversary :-) ..
Once again thank you so much for entrusting us with your honeymoon vacation, have a fantastic week.
Sunny greetings from Bali
Madlen & The Amala Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
perth,wa
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

Stayed here for 3 nights in the spa villa, and it was bliss.

I was met at the airport by the Amala's driver, and he was very friendly and informative, when i arrived at the Amala, i was welcomed, and shown to my villa, and the butler explained everything.Full bathroom amenities were supplied, complimentary drinks in the fridge, dvd, flatscreen tv, sound system all worked perfectly.

It's not a large property, but so perfect, well maintained, and having the choice of breakfast in your own villa was great, terrific start to the day as they were nice and fresh, and the juices were yummy. As i went solo, i didnt go out at night so had a few meals in dining, and very nice they were.

The plunge pool was more than adequate for me, but couples may like the bigger pool in the deluxe villa, i did have a look at one , and although bigger pool and villa, i wouldn't hesitate to recommend the spa villa. So relaxing splashing around at night under the stars.

WIFI worked well, can't miss out on my facebook now can i ? lol

Amala is in a great position, close to the shops, and there's a deli at the petrol station just across the road if you don't feel like walking a few metres to the bali deli, where there's also a money changer.

I had a welcome massage and then booked a full massage which was fantastic.

The staff here are remarkable, so friendly and helpful, and i would not hesitate to my friends to stay here, ----truly a most relaxing stay, thank you everyone for making me so welcome, hope to see you all again..

Room Tip: Pool villas are bigger all round, and the bathroom is enclosed unlike the open air ones in the spa v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madlen E, Manager at The Amala, responded to this review, March 28, 2014
Dear Tarni,
Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a wonderful and very detailed review on Trip Advisor. Our prime location in Seminyak is definitely a big plus for our guests, being close enough to the beach but having the possibility to indulge into a great shopping & dining experience all around - that’s what Seminyak is all about. We are very happy to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us, that our services and team could reach your high expectations.
We truly hope to welcome you soon again back to The Amala, to pamper you with more spa treatments and to welcome you with the world famous Balinese smile.
Have a great weekend and sunny greetings from Bali
Madlen & The Amala Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

My husband & I only had one night at The Amala but wished it had been more. From the time we arrived all the staff were friendly and helpful and took the time out to welcome you. When we were shown to our studio room the staff member took the time to explain how everything worked and what was and wasn't included (a refreshing change). We were given complimentary water, fruit, soda water and cookies. The Amala is a very peaceful and relaxing place to stay and the surroundings beautiful. Breakfast (also included) was very good and in an beautiful area. The studio room has an outdoor bathroom but very private and tranquil. The following day we had a complimentary massage and the girls were very good and always concerned of your comfort. Would recommend this hotel/villa to anyone.

Room Tip: The studio room is their smallest room but still spacious enough for two people.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madlen E, Manager at The Amala, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Dear Aussie E,
One night is indeed not enough to enjoy all the services we have to offer here at The Amala. I am happy you had the chance to experience our amazing spa services. To know that you would trust our services to recommend our Villas to your friends and family is one of the best compliments we can achieve. Once again thank you very much for staying with us and for spending time to review us on Trip Advisor. We truly hope to welcome you back soon again – hopefully not just for one night. :)
Have a great week, sunny greetings from Bali
Madlen & The Amala Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yokohama, Japan
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

A very relaxing and peaceful stay in the spa studio after a busy week working. A beautiful ambience away from the hustle and bustle. A very good location, close to shops, restaurants. Excellent breakfasts and generally delicious food. A lovely stay!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madlen E, Manager at The Amala, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Dear Jac2020,
Thank you very much for taking the time to give a quick review for your stay with us. We appreciate that you have enjoyed your stay with us and our special Spa Studio deal. Our location is indeed very convenient if you are looking for something close to the center but not to be too close to all the noisy action.
Once again thank you very much for choosing us for your stay after a hectic work week.
Have a great and successful week, sunny greetings from the island of gods
Madlen & The Amala Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

My husband and I stayed 8 days in a Spa Villa which was perfect! Our first experience staying in a villa, and The Amala didn't let us down. Secluded and private, couldn't feel more relaxed. The hotel is far enough away from the hustle and bustle of Seminyak area but close enough to walk to the shops, only meters away from the Bali Deli.
Car service to take you anywhere in the local area was great, gave us easy access to all major and popular venues within Seminyak.
The 24 hour butler service on call, where nothing was too much trouble, every time we requested something it was delivered with enthusiasm and a smile. Fantastic breakfast, delivered and served in our villa, and we often ate lunch at our villa, the food never let us down.
High commend the management and staff in running a warm and welcoming boutique style resort!
We would stay here again!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madlen E, Manager at The Amala, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Dear Viv M,
We can’t wait to welcome you back to The Amala, we truly hope that you and your husband will find soon time again to have another get away. I am very happy to read that you have enjoyed every moment of your stay with us. I have forwarded your feedback in regards to your dining experiences to our culinary team guided by Chef Gede, and all of them were super happy to hear your comments.
Once again it was our pleasure to welcome you to The Amala, thank you for staying with us. We send you sunny greetings from the Island.
Madlen & The Amala Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Amala? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Amala

Address: Jalan Kunti 108 | Seminyak, Seminyak, Bali 80361, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Seminyak
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in Seminyak
#13 Luxury Hotel in Seminyak
#14 Romantic Hotel in Seminyak
#21 Family Hotel in Seminyak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Amala 4.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the ancient Sanskrit language Amala means pure and unspoiled.The word has endured over the centuries and today graces the very latest luxurious wellness spa retreat on the magical island of Bali.The small and discreet Amala offers its guests an oasis of tranquility, a world away from the stresses and pains of daily life.The Amala is an adult only exquisitely designed collection of 12 modern luxurious villas, including the magnificent Amala Residence and additional 3 units Deluxe Rooms.At the heart - and soul - of the resort's lush and peaceful grounds stands a modern holistic spa with one of the widest and most creative ranges of treatments in Bali.The Amala is indeed pure and unspoiled, making it the perfect place to unwind, for your body and mind to rejuvenate in blissful luxury ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Despegar.com and Jetsetter so you can book your The Amala reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Amala Hotel Seminyak
The Amala Bali/Seminyak

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Amala, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.