We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Amala

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added The Amala to your Saves list
The Amala
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Jalan Kunti 108 | Seminyak, Seminyak, Bali 80361, Indonesia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
YOU DESERVE AN UPGRADE!
Ranked #14 of 112 Hotels in Seminyak
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Perth Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Lovely”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

A lovely hotel very peaceful.
We had the Spa Studio Room and found everything very comfortable. It came with a free spa treatment every day and it was the most amazing massage in Bali.

My only gripe was the outside toilet -there were a lot of mosquitoes and I was worried about getting bitten every time I used the toilet. The hotel did provide spray and coils and plug in deterrents however the bathroom was totally outside and you are fighting a losing battle with nature really. Not really a deal-breaker though the hotel was very lovely they provided you with transport into the centre of town if you wanted it and free airport shuttle. Very nice stay would recommend.

Room Tip: Spa Studio rooms are smaller if you need a bunch of room perhaps go for the Villa
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madlen E, Manager at The Amala, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Dear BTownPerthAustralia,
Thank you very much for your comments and feedback in regards to your stay with us. I am very happy that you had a relaxing & enjoyable time with us and that you especially enjoyed our unique Spa Studio offer with daily Spa benefits. Unfortunately every paradise has a downside and here in Bali I believe it is the mosquito problem they are indeed a very annoying problem and unfortunately a general problem on the entire island. However I am happy you did not let the mosquitos spoil your moments of relaxation and you still had a fantastic time. We all hope that we will be able to welcome you back soon again.
Once again thank you for staying with us and with best regards from the cloudy Bali
Madlen & The Amala Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

349 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    245
    74
    21
    5
    4
See reviews for
15
227
25
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bowral, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

We used Trip Adviser to help find the Amala Spa. We loved it. We would stay again and hope to do so. Great professional massage team. Warm, highly attentive and friendly staff the whole time - 3 days of our stay. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff, with free regular shuttle to cafes and restaurants.
Daily fresh fruits, fresh juices, healthy teas, were all great. We met head chef Gede twice, who tailored menus for our allergies.

Room Tip: We stayed in a studio room which fitted our budget.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madlen E, Manager at The Amala, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Dear DairyBelleCottages,
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your comments and positive experience during your stay with us. Thank you for pointing out to us your special needs and diet ideas, which made it much easier for us to customize the menu. We all, but especially the culinary team guided by Chef Gede are very happy that you have enjoyed the food and everything was to your satisfaction. We truly hope to welcome you back again soon for some more relaxation time.
With best regards – greetings from the island of gods
Madlen & The Amala Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

A lovely clean and quiet villa complex with outstanding service from start to finish. Breakfast is ordered from a menu and was fantastic - a nice change from the usual breakfast buffets. Great coffee (lattes) as well. Staff are lovely and friendly and make you feel at home. We combined the free spa treatment (one hour massage per day) and received a fantastic 2 hour massage which was pure bliss. Free airport pickup/dropoff was a welcome service. We highly recommend this place if you want a little bit of luxury and pampering. They just need a gym to make it perfect!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madlen E, Manager at The Amala, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Dear K1WiTraveller,
Your comments are a true motivation kicker for us, thank you so much for taking the time to share them on Trip Advisor. We are very happy and pleased that you have had a wonderful time here at The Amala and that your stay with us was special to you. Once again thank you very much for staying with us and for your valuable feedback. We truly hope to welcome you soon again here at the Amala in Seminyak.
With best regards and sunny greetings
Madlen & The Amala Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014 via mobile

Had a luxurious stay in the 6 bed villa. Staff were thoroughly attentive and recommended local places of interest. Rooms were fabulous. Service was not as perfect early in the morning; we had to reconfirm breakfast twice before our early departure.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madlen E, Manager at The Amala, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Dear CatherineCreedon,
Thank you very much for staying with us and taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor. I personally appreciate very much your feedback in regards to breakfast service, this can be easily adjusted and trained, thanks to your feedback we are able to improve and work on it.
I hope with your next return we will be able to welcome you back to The Amala and impress you all the way with service as you expect it.
Once again thank you for your feedback and best regards
Madlen & The Amala Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2014 via mobile

Possibly the best hotel we have stayed in. Staff were so helpful and couldn't do enough to make us comfortable. Villa was beautiful and clean and actually looked like the photos we had viewed online. Breakfast was consistently good and room service was reasonable and food was great quality. Only downside was the wifi, slow and sometimes no connection at all but this might be a good thing if you want some quiet time. Can't wait to return

Stayed February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madlen E, Manager at The Amala, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Dear Elaine K,
What a compliment to read your Trip Advisor review, thank you very much. We are, the entire Amala Team, extremely happy that you have enjoyed our services and stay with us. We appreciate very much your feedback and that you shared with us what you have enjoyed the most and what could be improved.
We truly hope to welcome you back The Amala Villas soon again, once again thank you for staying with us. Good luck to all your travels to come
Best regards and greetings from Bali
Madlen & The Amala Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

The intimate small retreat is very quiet and nice, attentive service from the staff and most importantly, a very good spa treatment thrown in for free when you book the studio room.

The only thing is the room layout was a little weird - the wash basin is in the middle of the room, with shower and lavatory outside.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madlen E, Manager at The Amala, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Dear Mediocre_Gal,
Indeed you had a short getaway only, but hopefully you can plan another long weekend away from Singapore soon. Thank you very much for taking the time to share your comments with the Trip Advisor community. We are happy that you have enjoyed our services especially the relaxing moments at our spa. We truly hope to welcome you back to The Amala again on your next trip.
Take care and happy working week, best regards
Madlen & The Amala Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

We stayed at the Amala for two nights in early January 2014. We had found it recommended by Mr and Mrs Smith and it suited us because it was quite close to the airport (we arrived quite late in the evening). Although The Amala is just off a very large round the complex itself is very quiet and peaceful. The staff were warm and welcoming (we particularly appreciated the cold towel and drink when they picked us up at the airport). We had booked a Pool Villa and it certainly lived up to expectation. The pool and living room were quite large though the bedroom was quite small but with great air-conditioning. The food was generally excellent and the breakfast and lunch menu provided ample choice. There is even a free option to have breakfast in your room just cm away from your pool! The hotel staff were also very helpful and good at organising for a car with driver so we could go and see Tanah Lot and the Royal Temple. Their advice on places to go for drinks and dinner was also great and they are able to book registered caps even at short notice. We would definitely recommend The Amala though we generally felt that staying in Seminyak for two days was enough. It is certainly the busiest (and most expensive) part of Bali.

Room Tip: Pool Villa :-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madlen E, Manager at The Amala, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Dear Sophie20142014,
Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review on Trip Advisor. It was our pleasure to have you here with us and we are very happy that we could make your stay comfortable and relaxing. Seminyak indeed is a busy spot, the shops, restaurant & nightlife could easily overwhelm you with impressions, we are very happy to hear that you found the right balance and relaxation at our villas during your stay with us. Once again thank you very much for staying with us and recommending our services to other fellow travelers. We truly hope to welcome you back again someday to the islands of gods.
With best regards from Bali
Madlen & The Amala Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Amala? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Amala

Address: Jalan Kunti 108 | Seminyak, Seminyak, Bali 80361, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Seminyak
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in Seminyak
#14 Luxury Hotel in Seminyak
#14 Romantic Hotel in Seminyak
#22 Family Hotel in Seminyak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Amala 4.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the ancient Sanskrit language Amala means pure and unspoiled.The word has endured over the centuries and today graces the very latest luxurious wellness spa retreat on the magical island of Bali.The small and discreet Amala offers its guests an oasis of tranquility, a world away from the stresses and pains of daily life.The Amala is an adult only exquisitely designed collection of 12 modern luxurious villas, including the magnificent Amala Residence and additional 3 units Deluxe Rooms.At the heart - and soul - of the resort's lush and peaceful grounds stands a modern holistic spa with one of the widest and most creative ranges of treatments in Bali.The Amala is indeed pure and unspoiled, making it the perfect place to unwind, for your body and mind to rejuvenate in blissful luxury ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Odigeo, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your The Amala reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Amala Hotel Seminyak
The Amala Bali/Seminyak

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Amala, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.