We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place .. great experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Amala

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added The Amala to your Saves list
The Amala
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Jalan Kunti 108 | Seminyak, Seminyak, Bali 80361, Indonesia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
LIMITED 33% DISC!!
Ranked #17 of 107 Hotels in Seminyak
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Place .. great experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

I chose this place as a destination for my 9 days honeymoon.. I think Im so luck to choose this place .. it is a cultural experience by itself. the secluded rooms ( you don't hear anyone, and no one hears you ) , the ambiance, the landscape, the so-friendly staff.. it is just GREAT.. while visiting Bali's attractions is something everybody pay attention to, choosing the right hotel is another assignment .. staying in the Amala provided us with the perfect compliment to our honeymoon trip.

everything about this hotel is great: the privacy, the food, the friendly staff, the daily exotic fruit basket, you know what i mean when you go there :)


its a a very cool place .. my wife and I loved and would definitely recommend it to others, and would definitely stay there if we happen to go to Bali again.

Ryan & Lubna

Room Tip: spa villa or pool villa if you're couples ..
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madlen E, Manager at The Amala, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Dear Ryan,
First of all let me express our deepest gratitude for entrust us with your honeymoon. We are very happy to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us and valued our services.
To bring our guest closer to the local customs and Balinese tradition is definitely one of our important goals. Bali being so rich on cultural influences and tradition, on exotic food & Fruits – it can be overwhelming being the first time in Bali.
We truly hope that we will have the chance to see and your wife back at THE AMALA or one of our other Lifestyle retreats in Bali.
The Amala Team and myself thank you for the time spend on evaluating us
Yours sincerely
The AMALA Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

334 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    234
    70
    21
    5
    4
See reviews for
15
214
25
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

stayed June 2012, stayed in all 3 room types available

this is right in seminyak, but completely walled off from the hustle and bustle of the streets.

Really beautiful surroundings and very good service.Staff were friendly and helpful, very attentive without being intrusive.

arranged pickup from the airport and transfer to Ubud for us at a very reasonable rate

food was quite good

perfect to relax and unwind

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madlen E, Manager at The Amala, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
Dear Diefee81,
First of all thank you for traveling with your family to Bali and using The AMALA as your Home away from Home. We are very happy that our competitive rates and prime location suited your travel ideas. We are constantly trying to improve our concierge services, and we are glad to hear that you and your families were satisfied with our services.
We truly hope that we can welcome you back to our Resort or any of our Lifestyle Resorts in Bali in the near future.
Our best regards to your family
Sincerely
Madlen & The Amala Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

My wife and I spent 8 days at the Amala. From the airport pick up in a clean air conditioned vehicle, with cold towels and drinks, to the shower just before being taken to the airport at 8.00pm (even though we had checked out at 6.00pm), its hard to fault The Amala. We were greeted by the manager, Lisa, on our arrival and checked in promptly. If you are not into resorts and prefer villas, The Amala, is the place to go. We actually stayed in 2 villas as our original one had a fault with the hot water system. We were immediately assigned another villa.
The pool villas are spacious and comfortable. The bed room is enclosed and air conditioned. The bed’s comfortable. The dining / living area is under cover but open in a typical Balinese style. There are ceiling fans in this area. The pool is beautiful and has water feature which along with the manicured gardens gives the villas an air of tranquillity. The bathroom/ shower/ toilet are stylish and clean.
Meals can be had at the small restaurant, near the main pool and spa area, although we preferred to have breakfast and our other meals in our villa. The meals, especially breakfast are excellent. Breakfast was included in our tariff and the other meals are very reasonably priced. Every day you are introduced to a new tropical fruit along with its history and how to eat it. And for the not so healthy minded, the free biscotti are fantastic. Try stopping at one. `
Not being a fan of massages I was dragged along to our complimentary spa session by my wife. I’m a convert! It was probably the highlight of our stay. The entire experience lasted about an hour and half. On my way to the spa I was wondering how I could possibly endure it for an hour. I was genuinely disappointed when it finished.
The Amala is well positioned. It’s just off Sunset Road on Jalan Kunti. It’s walking distance to the main shopping area and across the road from the Bali Deli if you need a fix of western food. There are plenty of restaurants near by and if you want to go to the more up market eateries on Jalan Petitinget, such as Sarong, Sardine, Metis, etc, they’re all a 10 minute cab ride away.
Our Flight didn’t leave until 10.40 pm. We were given a late checkout (6.00pm). We went down the street for dinner and by the time we got back we were both hot and sweaty. We were offered a shower before being taken to the airport.
All our bookings to restaurants and rafting were done by our concierge (butler), efficiently and correctly. The staff couldn’t be more helpful or friendly.
If we are back in Bali, we’ll go back to the Amala.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madlen E, Manager at The Amala, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
Dear Catapane,
Thank you very much for taking the time to review our services in such detail. We are so pleased to hear that you and you wife have enjoyed your stay with us. Little details are so important and we are thrilled to see that you have enjoyed them to the outmost. Our Spa is definitely one of our most important parts of our Lifestyle retreat theme, and its rewarding to hear that we could change your opinion about massages with our treatments.
We hope that we will have soon the opportunity to welcome you back to the Amala.
Once again thank you for staying with us
Madlen & Your Amala Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

We recently had two weeks in Bali. First week in seminyak and the second in uluwatu. We were booked to stay at amala for 6 nights but left after 3 and went to the legian instead. Amala was ok, but we wanted better than ok for our one holiday a year. Couldn't get a refund on the extra nights so it was an expensive mistake to book here in the first place. Don't mess around with second rate places like this in Bali. A little bit more money takes you from average to really special. The legian is still amazing after all this time, so much better than this.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madlen E, Manager at The Amala, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
Dear SamR145,
First of all let me express how sorry we are to hear that you have not enjoyed your stay with us. To avoid misunderstanding with our valued customers we mention very clearly upon booking our cancelation policy, if it is in our powers we try to refund, but unfortunately this is not always possible. We value the feedback of our customers very much and constantly try to improve our services, and the attention to details. We are happy to hear after all you did enjoy your stay in Bali at the Beach hotel of your choice.

With best regards form Bali
Madlen & The Amala Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

We stayed at the Amala for about 3 nights in June. The hotel is tucked away off Jalan Sunset Road, and they have created a lush series of small courtyards and outdoor corridors that help you forget the world outside.

Jalan Raya Seminyak (the main restaurant and shopping road) is within 10 minutes walk, and along the way there are a number of local furniture, craft, and clothes shops. The beaches are a 10 minute taxi drive away. It’s a comfortable base from which to explore the shops and restaurants.

We stayed in a villa with a pool; these are individually contained by semi-detached … and it does have to be said that noise can jump from villa to villa. The TV and lounge of these villas is in a covered (but not enclosed) area of the villa, and on our first night we were able to hear our neighbour’s movies very clearly and loudly. We did ask the hotel to see if they could find the source, but perhaps it was off-site, as the situation didn’t change for most of the evening.
Only the bedroom is fully enclosed, so some door-closing management is required to fend off the mosquitoes.

During the day, your neighbours conversations are muffled slightly by the fountains of each villa that automatically start in the mornings. We found the pool a necessity after a morning or afternoon walking around in the heat. There is also a central communal pool.

The main living space had a dining setting for four, and enough space to get some work done very comfortably … plus free wi-fi.

The breakfast setting and the food were an excellent start to each day, and we loved the spa treatments - these are definitely worth a try.

We found it a comfortable spot to launch into the rest of our trip around Bali, and we’d consider staying again.

(Overall rating would be 3.5 / 5.0)

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madlen E, Manager at The Amala, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
Dear Gilbert & Jorge,

Thank you very much for your time and effort to evaluate the Amala. We are very happy to hear that you would consider our Resort again or perhaps one of our other Lifestyle Retreats in Bali. Since your stay we had time to renovate all of our Villas, and we are very confident that we have successfully solved the problem of noise which you experienced at your stay with us.
We are very pleased to hear that you have enjoyed the location of the Amala and that our extra services which we offer.

We really hope that we can welcome you back in the soon future, and we are very confident that this time your stay with us will be above your expectations.

With best regards
Madlen & The Amala Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Totowa, New Jersey
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for part of our honeymoon. The room was beautiful,the pool was refreshing and the food was good.

Service lacked from the supposed butler. We asked if he could arrange a taxi for us at 1730 for dinner. When the time came, no taxi. We had to wait for the young lady at the front desk to clean up his mess. Another time, I inquired about arranging a spa treatment and was told that he would ring us back in 5 minutes. 2 hours later, I had to call back and get the front desk to take care of it again.

However, the service at the Spa was great! The girls know how to work wonders! My wife says that the massage was the best she ever had and I agree 100%!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madlen E, Manager at The Amala, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
Dear Nasa 808,
Thank you for choosing the Amala for your Honeymoon, and for taking the time to evaluate our Villa Residence. Please let me express how sorry I am that you had to experience such a chaos with our front desk service. During your period of your stay we have encountered some shortage of staff members, which should be neither reason nor explanation for the unprofessional service you and your wife have received. Let me guarantee you that since that we had intensive staff training to ensure the best customer orientated service, with the warm and friendliness of Balinese culture.
Without the help and feedback of our valued Customer it would be not possible to constantly improve ourselves and our services.
Thank you very much and we hope to welcome you back sometime to Bali
Yours sincerely
Madlen & The Amala Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune, India
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

After our stay in Ubud, this hotel didn't do much for us.

The first night was terrible! The pool was filthy, the crapper in the toilet look wron, and the mosquitoes! OMG! No repellent will save you! We got to this hotel at 3pm. Checked in. Asked them to change the toilet seats and clean the pool and clean the bath tubs which had something in it that I couldn't identify. We were entitled to a spa treatment and were only given one open slot in the 4 days we were there. 5am, first night. I got fed up! Was chewed up by mosquitos. Really badly! Went to the reception, no one was there. Finally at 6ish someone came. I complained and they said the manager would come by at 9 to see me.

From there on... the hotel redeemed itself! The manager (forgot his name) was out of this world! Was awesome service. He fixed everything. Gave us the option of staying in two rooms (a day room and a night room) he got the pool cleaned, put up mosquito nets, cleaned up the place and most of all... made us feel like we were the only reason he was alive! He was just awesome. But if you're on your honeymoon... i'd give Seminyak a skip. Spend the day there but stay at Ubud... its just more romantic. Seminyak is like anyother city.

The villa was quite large, 3 rooms, open kitchen and living room. Large dirty pool and awesome compound for kids to play in if you're going with the whole family or with a bunch of friends. The place is very private so you can let loose once inside you're villa ;)

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madlen E, Manager at The Amala, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
Dear Ajay Kamat,
Thank you for taking the time to evaluate our services and The Amala. We are very sorry to hear that you have experienced such a rough start at our Residence. We are very pleased that with our personal service and efforts we could at the end make your stay special. Special it’s supposed to be as we really want that every guest coming to The Amala is supposed to feel unique and special to us.
I totally agree with you that Seminyak is the more happening place with a lot of happenings around the clock, and that Bali has a lot of more secluded and romantic places especially if you would like to enjoy togetherness. If you consider another trip to Bali, try out next time our Resort at Nusa Dua “Tha Bale” and you will not be disappointed – another lifestyle retreat in pure romance.
We truly hope that we will have another possibility to host and treat you with our services as you deserve it.
Yours sincerely
Madlen & The Amala Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Amala? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Amala

Address: Jalan Kunti 108 | Seminyak, Seminyak, Bali 80361, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Seminyak
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Spa Hotel in Seminyak
#17 Luxury Hotel in Seminyak
#17 Romantic Hotel in Seminyak
#19 Family Hotel in Seminyak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Amala 4.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the ancient Sanskrit language Amala means pure and unspoiled.The word has endured over the centuries and today graces the very latest luxurious wellness spa retreat on the magical island of Bali.The small and discreet Amala offers its guests an oasis of tranquility, a world away from the stresses and pains of daily life.The Amala is an exquisitely designed collection of 12 modern luxurious villas, including the magnificent Amala Residence.At the heart - and soul - of the resort's lush and peaceful grounds stands a modern holistic spa with one of the widest and most creative ranges of treatments in Bali.The Amala is indeed pure and unspoiled, making it the perfect place to unwind, for your body and mind to rejuvenate in blissful luxury ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, AsiaRooms, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your The Amala reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Amala Hotel Seminyak
The Amala Bali/Seminyak

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Amala, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.