We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fell a bit short of expectations” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Amala

Save Saved
You added The Amala to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Amala
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Jalan Kunti 108 | Seminyak, Seminyak, Bali 80361, Indonesia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
SUPER PROMO 50% DISC
Ranked #20 of 94 hotels in Seminyak
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Fell a bit short of expectations”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

We stayed at the Amala for about 3 nights in June. The hotel is tucked away off Jalan Sunset Road, and they have created a lush series of small courtyards and outdoor corridors that help you forget the world outside.

Jalan Raya Seminyak (the main restaurant and shopping road) is within 10 minutes walk, and along the way there are a number of local furniture, craft, and clothes shops. The beaches are a 10 minute taxi drive away. It’s a comfortable base from which to explore the shops and restaurants.

We stayed in a villa with a pool; these are individually contained by semi-detached … and it does have to be said that noise can jump from villa to villa. The TV and lounge of these villas is in a covered (but not enclosed) area of the villa, and on our first night we were able to hear our neighbour’s movies very clearly and loudly. We did ask the hotel to see if they could find the source, but perhaps it was off-site, as the situation didn’t change for most of the evening.
Only the bedroom is fully enclosed, so some door-closing management is required to fend off the mosquitoes.

During the day, your neighbours conversations are muffled slightly by the fountains of each villa that automatically start in the mornings. We found the pool a necessity after a morning or afternoon walking around in the heat. There is also a central communal pool.

The main living space had a dining setting for four, and enough space to get some work done very comfortably … plus free wi-fi.

The breakfast setting and the food were an excellent start to each day, and we loved the spa treatments - these are definitely worth a try.

We found it a comfortable spot to launch into the rest of our trip around Bali, and we’d consider staying again.

(Overall rating would be 3.5 / 5.0)

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madlen E, Manager at The Amala, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
Dear Gilbert & Jorge,

Thank you very much for your time and effort to evaluate the Amala. We are very happy to hear that you would consider our Resort again or perhaps one of our other Lifestyle Retreats in Bali. Since your stay we had time to renovate all of our Villas, and we are very confident that we have successfully solved the problem of noise which you experienced at your stay with us.
We are very pleased to hear that you have enjoyed the location of the Amala and that our extra services which we offer.

We really hope that we can welcome you back in the soon future, and we are very confident that this time your stay with us will be above your expectations.

With best regards
Madlen & The Amala Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

301 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    205
    67
    20
    5
    4
See reviews for
13
192
24
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Totowa, New Jersey
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for part of our honeymoon. The room was beautiful,the pool was refreshing and the food was good.

Service lacked from the supposed butler. We asked if he could arrange a taxi for us at 1730 for dinner. When the time came, no taxi. We had to wait for the young lady at the front desk to clean up his mess. Another time, I inquired about arranging a spa treatment and was told that he would ring us back in 5 minutes. 2 hours later, I had to call back and get the front desk to take care of it again.

However, the service at the Spa was great! The girls know how to work wonders! My wife says that the massage was the best she ever had and I agree 100%!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madlen E, Manager at The Amala, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
Dear Nasa 808,
Thank you for choosing the Amala for your Honeymoon, and for taking the time to evaluate our Villa Residence. Please let me express how sorry I am that you had to experience such a chaos with our front desk service. During your period of your stay we have encountered some shortage of staff members, which should be neither reason nor explanation for the unprofessional service you and your wife have received. Let me guarantee you that since that we had intensive staff training to ensure the best customer orientated service, with the warm and friendliness of Balinese culture.
Without the help and feedback of our valued Customer it would be not possible to constantly improve ourselves and our services.
Thank you very much and we hope to welcome you back sometime to Bali
Yours sincerely
Madlen & The Amala Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune, India
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

After our stay in Ubud, this hotel didn't do much for us.

The first night was terrible! The pool was filthy, the crapper in the toilet look wron, and the mosquitoes! OMG! No repellent will save you! We got to this hotel at 3pm. Checked in. Asked them to change the toilet seats and clean the pool and clean the bath tubs which had something in it that I couldn't identify. We were entitled to a spa treatment and were only given one open slot in the 4 days we were there. 5am, first night. I got fed up! Was chewed up by mosquitos. Really badly! Went to the reception, no one was there. Finally at 6ish someone came. I complained and they said the manager would come by at 9 to see me.

From there on... the hotel redeemed itself! The manager (forgot his name) was out of this world! Was awesome service. He fixed everything. Gave us the option of staying in two rooms (a day room and a night room) he got the pool cleaned, put up mosquito nets, cleaned up the place and most of all... made us feel like we were the only reason he was alive! He was just awesome. But if you're on your honeymoon... i'd give Seminyak a skip. Spend the day there but stay at Ubud... its just more romantic. Seminyak is like anyother city.

The villa was quite large, 3 rooms, open kitchen and living room. Large dirty pool and awesome compound for kids to play in if you're going with the whole family or with a bunch of friends. The place is very private so you can let loose once inside you're villa ;)

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madlen E, Manager at The Amala, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
Dear Ajay Kamat,
Thank you for taking the time to evaluate our services and The Amala. We are very sorry to hear that you have experienced such a rough start at our Residence. We are very pleased that with our personal service and efforts we could at the end make your stay special. Special it’s supposed to be as we really want that every guest coming to The Amala is supposed to feel unique and special to us.
I totally agree with you that Seminyak is the more happening place with a lot of happenings around the clock, and that Bali has a lot of more secluded and romantic places especially if you would like to enjoy togetherness. If you consider another trip to Bali, try out next time our Resort at Nusa Dua “Tha Bale” and you will not be disappointed – another lifestyle retreat in pure romance.
We truly hope that we will have another possibility to host and treat you with our services as you deserve it.
Yours sincerely
Madlen & The Amala Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012 via mobile

We stayed in the spa villa at the Amala.. the experience was absolutely amazing!! we were blown away by our "little estate"- which included a jacuzzi pool outside, an outdoor bathtub(!), an outdoor shower, sunbathing chairs, and inside our room-- a lovely four-poster bed with curtains, a sofa, and the other necessities.. we were able to have breakfast delivered to our room and enjoy the delicious breakfast in our own yard while still in our pjs^^ .. the staff were all very friendly.. they were always quick and efficient in responding to our needs-- making reservations at outside restaurants/spa, arranging transportation to get places with car rental or taxi, and even with just planning a days event in general.. the location of the villa is also very convenient, with a supermarket (bali deli) right across the street and many restaurants and shops just down the street or not too far away.. the beach is also within walkin distance.. Potato head beach club is also a must-go (taxi ride from Amala is around 20k-25k Rp).. we will definitely stay at The Amala again!!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madlen E, Manager at The Amala, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
Dear Valued Customer, Dear twzgrl,
Thank you very much for staying with us at the Amala, and taking the time to evaluate our services. We are very happy that hear that you have enjoyed our services and Spa Villa at the Amala, and that you would use our services again in the future. With the extraordinary architectural design of our Residence Villas we tried to create an sanctuary of relaxation and retreat while being at the heart of the happenings in Seminyak.
Once again thank you for staying with us and we truly hope to welcome you back again soon to The Amala, where our team is waiting to please your needs.
With best regards from Bali
Madlen & Your AMALA Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, India
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

We spent two nights at The Amala in their studio rooms, which is a neat little space with a small open outdoor bath. The service is quick and efficient. The staff are very attentive and efficient. I highly recommend the Javanese massage at the Spa. The masseuse has magic in her hands! It is located at a convenient spot and very close to the popular Bali Deli.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madlen E, Manager at The Amala, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
Dear Cavery 12,
We are very happy to hear that you have enjoyed your stay and our services with us. We are so pleased to hear that our massaged treatments could impress you, with a constant training and upgrading to the best natural products available to achieve highest customer satisfaction possible.
Our team truly hopes to welcome you soon back the The Amala to welcome you with a true Balinese smile.
With best regards
Madlen & The Amala Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tangerang, Indonesia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

Me and my husband were spending our honeymoon here. We actually planned to spend two nights at their spa villa, but their upgrade us for one night at the pool villa and one night at the spa villa. Both are great great great! They picked us at the airport, gave refreshing welcome drinks (I think it's ginger ale + lemongrass), the food is delicious and fresh, the place is beautiful and clean, the staffs are friendly. They even helped us to contact some restaurant at jimbaran for our dinner (they picked us too and drove us back) and some local car rental + tour guide for our trip around bali. So unforgettable!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madlen E, Manager at The Amala, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
Dear RiskaA,
Let me express our thanks to you and your husband to choose our Resort for your honeymoon. We are very happy that we had the possibility to upgrade your stay and introduce to you our different kind of Villa accommodations.
We are very pleased to hear that we could impress you with our customer service and front desk duties. We are proud that we can be part of your unforgettable memories of Bali, it’s an amazing compliment to us too have achieved that.
Thank you for your time to feedback to us. We hope we can welcome you back to The Amala or any of our other Lifestyle Retreat properties.
Yours sincerely.
Madlen & The Amala team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brasschaat, Belgium
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

It is a wonderful hotel, very beautiful room, a great room service, very clean, the people of the hotel are very friendly. It is a great location to go the Seminyak or Kuta beach. The breakfast is fantastic, everything is fresh made. Tip go to the GADO GADO the best food with the best view.
Don't go to the tourist trap restaurant 'Ganesha café' at Jimbaran bay. They want to pick you up and bring you back to the hotel. Just the worst experience of our trip trough Bali.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Amala? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Amala

Address: Jalan Kunti 108 | Seminyak, Seminyak, Bali 80361, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Seminyak
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#18 Romantic Hotel in Seminyak
#18 Spa Hotel in Seminyak
#19 Luxury Hotel in Seminyak
#23 Family Hotel in Seminyak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Amala 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the ancient Sanskrit language Amala means pure and unspoiled.The word has endured over the centuries and today graces the very latest luxurious wellness spa retreat on the magical island of Bali.The small and discreet Amala offers its guests an oasis of tranquility, a world away from the stresses and pains of daily life.The Amala is an exquisitely designed collection of 12 modern luxurious villas, including the magnificent Amala Residence.At the heart - and soul - of the resort's lush and peaceful grounds stands a modern holistic spa with one of the widest and most creative ranges of treatments in Bali.The Amala is indeed pure and unspoiled, making it the perfect place to unwind, for your body and mind to rejuvenate in blissful luxury ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Jetsetter, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, AsiaRooms, Tingo, HotelTravel.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your The Amala reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Amala Hotel Seminyak
The Amala Bali/Seminyak

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Amala, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.