We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All you can ask for in a villa” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Amala

Save Saved
You added The Amala to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Amala
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Jalan Kunti 108 | Seminyak, Seminyak, Bali 80361, Indonesia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
AMALA RESIDENCE 50% DISC
Ranked #15 of 86 hotels in Seminyak
1 review
“All you can ask for in a villa”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012 via mobile

We stayed in the spa villa at the Amala.. the experience was absolutely amazing!! we were blown away by our "little estate"- which included a jacuzzi pool outside, an outdoor bathtub(!), an outdoor shower, sunbathing chairs, and inside our room-- a lovely four-poster bed with curtains, a sofa, and the other necessities.. we were able to have breakfast delivered to our room and enjoy the delicious breakfast in our own yard while still in our pjs^^ .. the staff were all very friendly.. they were always quick and efficient in responding to our needs-- making reservations at outside restaurants/spa, arranging transportation to get places with car rental or taxi, and even with just planning a days event in general.. the location of the villa is also very convenient, with a supermarket (bali deli) right across the street and many restaurants and shops just down the street or not too far away.. the beach is also within walkin distance.. Potato head beach club is also a must-go (taxi ride from Amala is around 20k-25k Rp).. we will definitely stay at The Amala again!!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madlen E, Manager at The Amala, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
Dear Valued Customer, Dear twzgrl,
Thank you very much for staying with us at the Amala, and taking the time to evaluate our services. We are very happy that hear that you have enjoyed our services and Spa Villa at the Amala, and that you would use our services again in the future. With the extraordinary architectural design of our Residence Villas we tried to create an sanctuary of relaxation and retreat while being at the heart of the happenings in Seminyak.
Once again thank you for staying with us and we truly hope to welcome you back again soon to The Amala, where our team is waiting to please your needs.
With best regards from Bali
Madlen & Your AMALA Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

294 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    202
    65
    18
    5
    4
See reviews for
13
186
23
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bangalore, India
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

We spent two nights at The Amala in their studio rooms, which is a neat little space with a small open outdoor bath. The service is quick and efficient. The staff are very attentive and efficient. I highly recommend the Javanese massage at the Spa. The masseuse has magic in her hands! It is located at a convenient spot and very close to the popular Bali Deli.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madlen E, Manager at The Amala, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
Dear Cavery 12,
We are very happy to hear that you have enjoyed your stay and our services with us. We are so pleased to hear that our massaged treatments could impress you, with a constant training and upgrading to the best natural products available to achieve highest customer satisfaction possible.
Our team truly hopes to welcome you soon back the The Amala to welcome you with a true Balinese smile.
With best regards
Madlen & The Amala Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tangerang, Indonesia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

Me and my husband were spending our honeymoon here. We actually planned to spend two nights at their spa villa, but their upgrade us for one night at the pool villa and one night at the spa villa. Both are great great great! They picked us at the airport, gave refreshing welcome drinks (I think it's ginger ale + lemongrass), the food is delicious and fresh, the place is beautiful and clean, the staffs are friendly. They even helped us to contact some restaurant at jimbaran for our dinner (they picked us too and drove us back) and some local car rental + tour guide for our trip around bali. So unforgettable!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madlen E, Manager at The Amala, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
Dear RiskaA,
Let me express our thanks to you and your husband to choose our Resort for your honeymoon. We are very happy that we had the possibility to upgrade your stay and introduce to you our different kind of Villa accommodations.
We are very pleased to hear that we could impress you with our customer service and front desk duties. We are proud that we can be part of your unforgettable memories of Bali, it’s an amazing compliment to us too have achieved that.
Thank you for your time to feedback to us. We hope we can welcome you back to The Amala or any of our other Lifestyle Retreat properties.
Yours sincerely.
Madlen & The Amala team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brasschaat, Belgium
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

It is a wonderful hotel, very beautiful room, a great room service, very clean, the people of the hotel are very friendly. It is a great location to go the Seminyak or Kuta beach. The breakfast is fantastic, everything is fresh made. Tip go to the GADO GADO the best food with the best view.
Don't go to the tourist trap restaurant 'Ganesha café' at Jimbaran bay. They want to pick you up and bring you back to the hotel. Just the worst experience of our trip trough Bali.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

My mom and I stayed here in January and were blown away by our beautiful and spacious villa. The breakfasts were probably our favorite part, YUM-- the asian style scrambled eggs and the banana pancakes were our favorite, and we loved trying a different smoothie every morning. The location is central, but still a drive away from anything (beach, restaurants, shops, etc.) Service was friendly and we loved the "boutique" feel...tucked away off the road so it was our only tiny slice of tranquility.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

My partner and I recently stayed at The Amala for 8 nights. I am so pleased we chose this property, as we loved it, it was very hard to leave. It is beautifully maintained, the gardens are stunning, the villa was clean, quiet and and very comfortable. The bed was SO comfortable, we had fabulous sleeps. The Amala is set back away from the noise and hustle and bustle of Seminyak's main shopping/dining area, but all within 5-10 mins walking distance. The staff were knowledgeable, friendly and very customer service oriented. The room service food was also good, especially the fresh Bali coffee and banana pancake! We also had a number of spa treatments at The Amala spa which were fabulous!! I strongly recommend The Amala and would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Choose Spa Villa
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
norway
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

I stayed at the Amala for 3 nights in july with my boyfriend. We wanted a quiet and romantic spot, and we got it. We booked a spa villa, which was great, we had a little splunge pool,steam shower and the room was really nice. The shower and bathtub is outdoors, so remember mosqito repellent. (we didnt get a single bite).The staff is really helpfull and welcoming. The hotel is located in seminyak, its about 20 min walk to the beach and 10-15 min to restaurants. Taxis is really cheap, just remember to drive with bluebird-taxis.The hotel is really quiet, which was really nice. The breakfast is good, a lot of choices. We just called before 10.30 to book what we wanted, and they brought it to our room, fantastic:)
We booked a candlelight dinner at our room one night, it was nice but its quite expensive and the food was not that great compared to the price, but the staff really made it romantic with candles and flowers all over. One downside at the amala was the wifi, it was free, but only one person could surf on the internet at the same time.(no big deal). The pool could also have been a bit cleaner, it looked a bit dirty at times. There is no gym, but there is a fitness center close by(sunset fitness)
I can recommend some restaurants in seminyak close to the amala: Ultimo(italian) la lucciola(also italian) Red carpet champagne bar(drinks). I also got some other tips for places to eat, but be prepared to book: sarong, metiz,ku de ta, sea circus,mamasan.
I would stay again!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Amala? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Amala

Address: Jalan Kunti 108 | Seminyak, Seminyak, Bali 80361, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Seminyak
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in Seminyak
#15 Luxury Hotel in Seminyak
#17 Family Hotel in Seminyak
#17 Romantic Hotel in Seminyak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Amala 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the ancient Sanskrit language Amala means pure and unspoiled.The word has endured over the centuries and today graces the very latest luxurious wellness spa retreat on the magical island of Bali.The small and discreet Amala offers its guests an oasis of tranquility, a world away from the stresses and pains of daily life.The Amala is an exquisitely designed collection of 12 modern luxurious villas, including the magnificent Amala Residence.At the heart - and soul - of the resort's lush and peaceful grounds stands a modern holistic spa with one of the widest and most creative ranges of treatments in Bali.The Amala is indeed pure and unspoiled, making it the perfect place to unwind, for your body and mind to rejuvenate in blissful luxury ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Asiatravel.com Holdings, AsiaRooms, Priceline, Tingo, Despegar.com, Jetsetter, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your The Amala reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Amala Hotel Seminyak
The Amala Bali/Seminyak

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Amala, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.